MTN Group has hired a former United States Attorney –General, Eric Holder, to help challenge a $3.9 billion fine imposed by Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) for failing to disconnect unregistered users.
Citing people familiar with the situation, the Financial Times reported on Wednesday that Holder pleaded with Nigerian officials last month on behalf of MTN.
Africa’s largest mobile phone company was handed a $5.2 billion penalty in October, prompting weeks of lobbying that led to a 25 percent reduction to $3.9 billion, Reuters reported.
MTN, however, was still not prepared to pay the fine and launched a court challenge in December, saying the NCC had no legal grounds to order the penalty.
A judge in Lagos had last month gave MTN until March 18 to reach a settlement on the fine, which equates to more than twice MTN’s annual average capital spending over the past five years.
culled: Thenation
Na waah
ReplyDeleteStrong company MTN. Shame to Nija system
ReplyDeleteHmmmm! This Is getting serious.
ReplyDeleteSo sorry to divert,pls anyone should please prescribe a natural or herbal remedy for Ulcer/heartburn as I cannot afford my drugs or go to the clinic for now.Pls help a sister as this pain is really killing.
ReplyDeleteI don't know if the natural remedies really work. The fermented unripe plantain and all that. Just make sure you drink a glass of milk each morning. Omefast 20 is just N550 so you can get it too. Take one every morning
DeleteStella post my comment oh
Okay
ReplyDeleteThey have money to pay him!
End time Attorney
ReplyDeleteWhether they like it or not,they will pay the fine.
ReplyDeleteNigeria needs money.
End time reportage/ attorney
DeleteAww. I feel bad for mtn group. Their pleading didn't work and now they have resulted to going to court! When they would have just saved themselves the stress and do what they were suppose to do in the first place. Anyway they're capable of paying. With all the plenty subscribers they have
ReplyDeleteAni
FG should better match them up with a very good attorney.
ReplyDeleteI think that's against the law
ReplyDeleteThere is noway someone(lawyer) who is not a member of the NBA will defend a case in a Nigerian court of law
#PeterObiForPresident2019
Hian!
DeletePls confirm it oooo. Come n see us and mtn ooooo
DeleteMTN had better pay the money. yeye network provider
ReplyDeleteIntresting!
ReplyDeletelets see how dis plays out.
Stella omo daddy Adeboyes Prophesy is coming to pass oh . Remember he said there would be a new sexual transmitted disease. This Zika virus they say is transmitted through sex oh check an article online called the verge
ReplyDeleteCan't believe how silly you sound.please read more about Zika Virus
DeleteChai, see ur block head. U for use Google na. It was discovered last year. I guess ur adeboye heard about it before it became popular and decided to include it as part of his prophesy, forgetting that some sane people like Eka joy know aw to use Google.
Delete*dodges bullets from daddy's followers*
We need to fund our deficit budget by all means...
ReplyDeleteAll this one weh dem deh do so na story. MTN pay your money
ReplyDeleteMTN should pay up abeg. But I really wish it had been DSTV though.
ReplyDeleteI trust Bubu. He would respond with a Voltron. Federal prosecutors over to yew!
ReplyDeleteman have made lots of money here. they should pay already
ReplyDeleteWhy they are refusing to pay is not clear. They committed an offence against the land so they should face the music.
ReplyDeleteMTN pay uuuuuuppppppp.
ReplyDeleteThat is not possible, he may be a consultant but NO LAWYER, who has not be called to the NIGERIAN BAR can practice in COURT. If na Arbitration no problem, unless the court has referred them to Settlement through ADR.
ReplyDelete@Eka Joy, like are you for real. Am not joining issues with you on Zika Virus. Be careful how you speak about a Man of God. If you read your Bible very well, am sure you remembered what happened to Miraim, Moses' sister. A word is enough for the wise.