Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Jonathan Presidency Was A disaster foretold (1)

Sunday, February 21, 2016

Jonathan Presidency Was A disaster foretold (1)

This is A MUST READ and there is memo attached to Reuben Abati and Okonjo Iweala.

“In every community there is a class of people profoundly dangerous to the rest. I don’t mean criminals. For them we have punitive sanctions. I mean the leaders. Invariably, the most dangerous people seek power.”Saul Bellow. 

VANGUARD BOOK OF QUOTATIONS, VBQ, p 124. 
“Dele how can you Nigerians hand over your country to all those crazy people?” 

Nigerian-American calling from the US. Former President Goodluck Jonathan An old friend called  from the United States last week. He is a naturalized Nigerian American who had not been in Nigeria since he left about twenty years ago. He had been following the revelations concerning the arms deal and withdrawals of millions of dollars from the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, allegedly purely for the PDP campaign. 

He went on to inform me, as if I don’t know, that even Nixon’s Watergate scandal, which many still regard as the most shameful event involving an American President was a mere child’s play compared to this. Still thundering, he asked, “You mean the President of Nigeria can actually ask somebody to go to the Central Bank and take money out for distribution to his party members and nobody asked questions until now? No wonder your country is underdeveloped. And, is it true that this Jonathan guy has a Ph.D?” Feeling thoroughly embarrassed, I meekly answered, “Yes, he has a doctorate in Zoology.” Permit me if the expletive he uttered in response to that declaration is unprintable. 

I felt ashamed of my Fellow Countrymen, especially all those who made the Goodluck Jonathan presidency possible from 2011 to 2015. Only a totally conscienceless and unpatriotic Nigerian can fail to admit that this disaster will for ever haunt this generation of Nigerians. Posterity will always ask if we ourselves were not crazy to have elected such an individual as our President; they will definitely judge all those who worked for his re-election as insane – even if with benefit of hindsight. 

As my caller was ranting on, and calling Nigerians a bunch of unflattering names, I eventually got in a word. “My friend, this disaster was foretold, as early as 2009; followed up in 2010 and repeated in 2011 and 2015.” However, before getting into my “I told you so sermon”, let us pause and identify those who produced the catastrophe called Jonathan Presidency, because if history is ever to do justice to this generation of adult Nigerians, it must single out the major culprits of this monumental calamity. 

Step forward Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, GCFR, ex-President of Nigeria, and dictator of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, from 1999-2011. Baba, always full of words, but lacking the wisdom to distinguish between what needs to be said or left unsaid, was the architect of Jonathan’s emergence as Vice-President in 2007. The Americans have always regarded the VP position as a “heart beat from the presidency”; not the “spare tyre” which an uncouth Nigerian called it. And, when Yar’Adua’s heart stopped beating in 2010, Jonathan stepped up to the Presidency. 

A man whose lean credentials could not have fetched him Head of Department in a decent university, who had never been in charge of anything, never unilaterally achieved any objective, became the President of the largest black country on earth. Never had the job and the new helmsman been more mismatched in recent history. It was akin to sending an ant to go lift a truckload of sugar. It takes what it can for itself. Wisdom would have dictated that the nation would stomach the obviously unprepared fellow for a year and then through a free and fair election choose someone with a great deal of experience and all the leadership qualities Jonathan lacked or had not developed. But, OBJ, then Chairman of the Board of Trustee of the PDP, would not allow commonsense to prevail.

Operating with self-assumed superior sagacity, he hardly allowed Yar’Adua’s body to be laid to rest when he started yelling. “Jonathan, you must run for the Presidency; don’t tell me you won’t run.” Well, Jonathan ran; Obasanjo supported him and he won the election in 2011. As the reports on Jonathan, Obasanjo’s 2011 candidate for President, trickle in, objective observers of “Ebora Owu” must ask: “Where is the common sense in recommending and pushing a disaster on the people?” Wisdom is obviously lacking in the selection; patriotism is suspect. And, let nobody deny Baba Iyabo’s (and where is Iyabo?) role in the whole of a mess in which we find ourselves. Among those now gloating over the revelations of grand larceny under GEJ are those “progressives” who once belonged to a political party called Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN. 

They certainly don’t want to be reminded about their own ignominious role in Jonathan’s victory in 2011. But, the history of this era and this unfortunate episode will be incomplete and falsified if their contribution to our present predicament is left out. Theirs was a purely mercenary one as will be briefly described. The party in 2011, as most people with short memory would recall, had its own Presidential candidate, one unfortunate stalking horse called Mallam Nuhu Ribadu. Ribadu’s was once a highly regarded corruption fighter as the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, who had been badly rough-handled by the PDP government – mainly because most of his victims were PDP governors. 

So, ACN adopted him as their flag-bearer – despite raised eyebrows by people who thought a swindle was in progress. The way the merchants of ACN dropped Ribadu, a few days to the 2011 elections can best be described in the words of O. Henry, 1862-1910, “It was beautiful and simple as all truly great swindles are.” (VBQ p 239). The party had canvassed for votes for election into various offices and had largely “captured” the South West – until the Presidential Election. Suddenly, supporters started receiving multiple text messages; party workers went from door to door; and, a few days to the election the party faithful were ordered to cast their votes for Jonathan. Poor Ribadu was seating in Yola expecting an avalanche of votes from Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti; Edo also. 

The man must have thought something was wrong with his eyes and his TV set as the results came in from those ACN strongholds. I was recuperating in a hospital in Abuja when it happened and as AIT brought the results, I had to ask a nurse if I was going mad. Jonathan cleared all ACN states except Osun. Later, we learnt from the OWNER of the party that they sold the votes and Nigeria for N17 billion when Ribadu was considered a loser. So, the South West votes in 2011 also helped GEJ to become President. ACN, please step forward to receive your traitors’ medal… 

POSER TO TWO PEOPLE 
Forget the conscienceless others. I would like to know how Okonjo-Iweala and Reuben Abati feel now about being associated with GEJ. Were they aware all these things were going on or were they ignorant? I pity them. GEJ covered them with “gold”; now he is splashing them with guilt. The money will end at the grave site; the dishonour for ever.

Culled from Vanguard
By Dele Sobowale

62 comments:

1. Everyone wants to use GEJ to become a writer.

He was not good for us and we've voted him out. Can we just channel this energy and time to thinking of ways to better this country.

I don tire for this blame game

2. Mtccccchhhhhhhheeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwww

3. I am also almost tired of the blame game but this write up is not part of it. Posterity will always be a judge.

4. Yea @kiks.

I don tire to hear GEJ oooo

5. Hmmmm.. loaded and direct. I wonder too Mr writer. Reuben will talk about any other thing but will refuse to give account of his "stewardship". Always selective in his articles. Let his conscience deal with him.

2. The author of this write up must be an idiot... #Successful

1. And you my dear must be a coward.
      if you have a response, why not write it for us to read? Who died and made you judge? Did he lie?? The evidences of all he said are there. That is why the Naira is depreciating.
      Buhari hasnt even started with y'all.

And by the way, hurry up and leave Nigeria for Biafra. I can't even wait.

Someone will now marry you and open her mouth to call you husband as stupid as you are. Gosh!

3. Can't read all these please. Same old story with no solution. Lord, I'm tired of this country.

4. A totally stupid and senseless write up. The bitter truth is that the economy did much better during the Jonathan govt.
    Buhari is totally vision less. Nothing is working under him. Even the dollar is now N400.

1. You my dear are stupid.
      Tell me how Jonathans presidency did better. Oil was more expensive and we made more money as a country. Where is that money?? Where?? People were sharing your future and you are hailing Jonathan.
      is Buhari the reason for the drop in oil price? Or are you not aware that is the main reaaon for the dollar rising? Idiots all over this blog and most of them igbo men. Arhhh!

2. Shows how narrow minded and tunnel visioned you are. Economy is not like remote control that plays pause and stop and play.
      If past administration took wrong decision, it affects the in coming administration. This rot started even way before GEJ came in, but his was the last straw. You are not wiser than Ben Bruce. Idiot,have you ever seen dollar in your life before?
      How much was global oil price during jonathan administration? How much is global oil price now? What sector does our economy depend on? You daft fool,go and study!

3. Sorry I have to say this, you are the one who is utterly idiotic here. Please how is Gej tenure better than this administration? I think we have the kind of unscrupulous politicians we call leaders.

4. Was it not the clueless gej administration that started the downfall? Devalued naira! I knew it would not be controllable. Abi was it not get that was sharing dollars for campaign? See, you guys should leave already. Nigeria is better without you.

5. Jonathan still remains the best President Nigeria has ever had. He ruled with a conscience. People should stop calling him names!!!

6. Jonathan is a Noble man.
    Let's call a spade a spade, Buhari (Mr. Change) is sinking Nigeria.
    Pleaassee!!!

1. Jonathan Regime punctured the ship that is sinking, Buhari was just unlucky to have come in when the holes were already there.
      The way Nigerians reason goes a long way to show that we will remain in this condition for a long time. And things will keep getting worse. Be blaming Buhari and keep hailing your killers. Fools.

2. Anon 15:32 did u just say Buhari was unlucky *smh* so wen he was campaigning and making bugous promises he didn't no the ship was punctured...APC never had any plan to rule this country, they never believed they will win hence dy had no laid down plan to rescue this country... Let the suppose strategy or strategies dy had that's if they had any start to manifest... I don't no wat will save us because as it is now Buhari has no answer to our questions no solutions to our problems...if GEJ embezzled money why can't they probe him...

3. Bia, Raphael! What do you mean that Buhari never believed he would win? Do you go for an exam and never believe you would pass? And yet you keep writing and rewriting the same exam? I don't know why young people are so gullible. Any thrash passed down by the old ones is swallowed hook, line and sinker. Don't you think? The fact that Buhari kept contesting means he believed he could win, that he would win, eventually. That's tenacity. Please I beg of you, think before you spew! Please!

7. A well written article but I have a little problem with it and that is why am throwing this question

Where were your likes during Obj, Abacha n Ibb regime, was Nigeria better than it is now?
    The persons that made Dubai the beautiful city it is today dont have two heads right
    Do you think one man can rule this country without underlying authority dictating from behind
    What about the tribalistic bigots
    Religion is not left out
    The problem lies with every Nigeria and the earlier we wake up to fight it together, the better for us.
    This is not time to portion blames but time to seek for geniun solution.
    Your anger wont take us any where cos we Nigerians are tired of being angry.

1. This is the first sensible comment I have read and it was written by a woman.
      I asked the same question. Where has he been?
      These are the people that should be ministers. Not the fools writing rubbish.

2. So women can't write sensible comments? Your statement is so derogatory. So you expected the first sensible comment to be written by a man? Chai! This is why women will always rule over you. Because you are so small minded. Sorry dear.

8. Yawns. Is this something new? It's about time we stopped beating a dead horse.

9. Who has time to read this nonsense??..,I didn't read and won't be caught dead reading this trash!...

1. We dont expect you to. You are not that smart.

2. Why will you when you are selling all your lifetime properties and that of your husband and yet it is not enough to fly Dana or sosoliso even as a death passenger. Your money still no reach.

10. Nice article.......one of many about the GEJ maladministration.
    It's beginning to look like a cycle with the current administration as well. I wonder if the wall our backs are currentl lying on is not prickly enough.......to do the needed soul-searching and react to make things better. I do not have faith in any of these "leaders" anymore. They inspire nobody and seem wrongly motivated for leadership. These set of misrulers not just APC and PDP folks cannot sell a vision that wil catapult a nation.

1. If I were a man, i would marry you already. The second sensible comment.

2. Anonymous,i dey gbadun u oooo.
      Abeg carry go jor.
      The truth is only meant for those who have wisdom and understanding of what the truth entails.

11. Hmmmm. Thank God the same west rewrite the wrong by voting him out in 2015 so that we can start the rebuilding allover but Jona people that knows the truth that he his a failure are calling the west betrayal.
    God bless the writer. God bless Nigeria, God bless SDK, God bless all SDK BVNs.

1. I wonder were your so called west was during the time of obasanjo, please if you don't have any meaningful to say just read and shut up. West ko West ni

12. Now I'm satisfied with this......

13. Na dem sabi, it is too. Long to read. It is well with dis our country ooo

14. Mtsheeeeeew. The title alone is enough for me not to read d post.

Anything to Sha not blame ur yeye president for d country's present predicament.

Jonathan bad, Jonathan bad, yet food was cheap.
    Jonathan bad, Jonathan bad, yet electricity started getting better.

Buhari saint, buhari saint, everything don cost.
    Buhari saint, buhari saint, we no see light use again
    Buhari saint, buhari saint, every now and then fuel scarcity.

All you buhari's supporters can fuck d hell off my face abeg.

1. HahhahahhhahhahhahaHhaahahah

They should better go and ask Jonathan how he kept the economy going despite the negative changes, instead of ranting. My problem with yoruba people is that they think in this line "I'm educated, I can raise my pen and talk good English, therefore I should air my opinion"

You don't see this threat among other tribes. This tendency to be loquacious. Keep your ill-analysed opinion to yourself. Nixon confessed about Watergate a resigned, Dasuki and Co are still in court, stop jumping the gun. Face your own reality, which is that things are extremely tough now and there is even a looming fuel scarcity. Have you eaten today? Profer solutions and tell your president to adjust his monetary policy and continue the good work of GEJ in agriculture or make his own policies. He should stop his hypocrisy and appoint experts and allow the experts handle things. Instead of coming here to tell a man who his house is burning about condom or icecream or hockey. Your words are meaningless right now.

Dunno why Stella gives these charlatan half baked writers a platform to air rubbish

15. Hmnnn,deep. In the meantime, all the people calling on the Naira to rise. Save your strength,the rot is deep. Let the Naira die first, be buried and then it can rise again.
    I thank God for giving us Buhari at this time but things will still be hard for sometime.
    I think GEJ was a good guy but he was surrounded by wolves who took advantage of his calm personality to milk us dry.
    Which way Nigeria!

1. Bless you!
      This has always been my standpoint. A good man surrounded by wolves.. Meanwhile ,you are right,there has to be a tear down before rebuilding.

I'll also say enough of the story about past admin... Let's face the future and make it better.

2. Ivory, I think they were using jazz for him. Till now I'm still confused how he was just approving and approving.

16. Abeg abeg abeg. I guess the end point of this is to lay the blame of the current economical meltdown in Nigeria upon Goodluck Jonathan.

17. Please stop all these horn blowing. Nigerian problem did not start with GEJ. Abacha looted the country, Abdulsalam Abubakar looted the country of which no one is talking about. Obasanjo's was something else, not to mention Yar'dua through Turai his wife. Why are you now making it sound as if GEJ was the first. Your friend abroad is not patriotic that's why he left his father's land, they are the ones given Nigeria bad name abroad. Let God help Buhari to do a clean up which I believe he will. I wish he will start from 1999 to date.

1. Women on this blog are making me happy today. Third sensible comment

18. What is the purpose of this trashy article? What makes it a must read?
    Buhari regime has not shown it's better. All critism should be directed to the current govt. Jonathan is gone.

19. Please stop all these horn blowing. Nigerian problem did not start with GEJ. Abacha looted the country, Abdulsalam Abubakar looted the country of which no one is talking about. Obasanjo's was something else, not to mention Yar'dua through Turai his wife. Why are you now making it sound as if GEJ was the first. Your friend abroad is not patriotic that's why he left his father's land, they are the ones given Nigeria bad name abroad. Let God help Buhari to do a clean up which I believe he will. I wish he will start from 1999 to date.

1. Though I am Buhari supporter, I agree with yo u r comment NKno. The rot has starTed from past leaders, and Nigerians complained then, this is the most current corruption of great multitude which left the world gasping for beeath, especially when the money was meant to fight BH. It shows lack of humane feelings.

20. I'll be able to spot those who didn't read full article by their comments.. And not those who will say too long to read o

21. Hmmmmm, n it never gets better

22. Hmm all I want is changes for the better

23. 'the money will end at the grave site; the dishonour forever.

24. 'the money ends at the grave site; the dishonour forever. Strong words for Nigerian leaders who see integrity as a waste of time.

25. Idiot wey dey another man country as slave, what good have u done for ur family let alone ur community?.GEJ was a good man but the idiots around him killed is administration.

26. The man no try at all....fear quiet people

27. One thing remain in my heart, are we one in this country?

28. I asked the same question?

29. You and your people will always have problems with Yoruba people because of your inferiority complex. Instead of you to better yourself you always look to bring down those who have bettered themselves and are better than you. Better yourself too so that you can stop feeling inferior.