Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ex-DSS Spokesperson, Ogar Sues FG Over Sack

Thursday, February 18, 2016

Ex-DSS Spokesperson, Ogar Sues FG Over Sack

Former Spokesperson of the Department of State Service, DSS, Marilyn Ogar, has dragged the Federal Government before the National Industrial Court, NIC, sitting in Abuja, over the abrupt termination of her employment by the President Muhammadu Buhari led administration. 

Ex-DSS spokesperson, Marilyn Ogar Ogar who formerly held sway as the Deputy Director in charge of Public Relations at the DSS under ex-President Goodluck Jonathan, was on September 3, 2015, demoted and compulsorily retired by the Federal Government.

She was sacked alongside 44 other top directors in the security agency, who were beneficiaries of a promotion exercise that was carried out by Jonathan’s administration in March last year. Ogar’s elevation to the rank of a deputy director followed a commendation by ex-President Jonathan who was impressed with her public enlightenment campaigns on anti-terrorism. 

However, shortly after his election victory, President Buhari fired the then Director General of the DSS, Mr. Ita Ekpeyong, and appointed Lawal Daura in his stead. Upon his assumption of office as DG of the DSS, Daura, immediately demoted all the personnel that benefited from the promotion exercise that was okayed by ex-President Jonathan, even as he summarily retired Ogar. 

The promotion was said to have been done with little regard to due process and extant rules guiding such exercise. Prior to her retirement, Ogar was reportedly redeployed to Maiduguri, Borno State, after her demotion. Her ordeal was perceived in some quarters as a consequence of alleged partisan role she played towards the build up to the 2015 general elections. Meantime, in the suit she lodged before the NIC, the former DSS spokesperson insisted that she was illegally removed from office. Ogar, through her lead counsel, Mr. Ahmed Raji, SAN, is praying the court to set aside her purported demotion from Assistant Director to Chief Security Intelligence Officer. 

Besides, she wants the court to declare that her employment with the DSS,    “has statutory flavor and same may only be lawfully determined strictly in accordance with the relevant provisions of the public service Rules”. In her originating summons, Ogar further prayed the court to not only nullify her sack, but to also reinstate her with all her ranks, salaries and benefits. Moreover, she is asking the court to determine whether she is a public officer and whether she can be lawfully demoted, sacked or retired by the defendants.

Joined as defendants in the matter were; the Attorney General of the Federation, Mr. Abubakar Malami, SAN, the DSS, as well as its DG, Daura. Already, the President of the NIC, Justice Babatunde Adejumo has assumed jurisdiction over the suit which is expected to come up for hearing  on Thursday.
Vanguard reportage.

*If they promoted her without following due process,is it not okay to remove her without due process?...The way Jonathan promoted people before he left office calls for raised eyebrows abeg...The truth should be said and shoulders dusted!

31 comments:

1. Stella, how do u know she was promoted without due process. Abeg let's not be talking anyhow pls.

1. Don't mind Stella, be running her mouth like a broken pipe. Always feeling like a talker...hissssss

2. Lmao @ broken pipe. Thesd BVNs ain't loyal

3. Marylin Ogar should go and learn how to draw her Eyebrows first before taking nonsense. I don't blame her nauuu, why did it take her so long to do it?
      It is because she found out that people like Eka joy that are daft will drum support for her provided she is against Buhari administration.
      Idiot woman, how many people took her to court when she was sky rocketed to the position she held at DSS? Why was she meant to jump her seniors? What special assignment did she do?
      Let them take her back and send her to sambisa forest, I can see that she has finished spending the money she stole. Ewu gambia.

4. "Ogar’s elevation to the rank of a deputy director followed a commendation by ex-President Jonathan who was impressed with her public enlightenment campaigns on anti-terrorism"

A big fat lie! Stella ur comment tho, don't say what you no na- dah about...

2. PARENTAL ADVISORY
    ^^^Adult Content^^^

Na she sabi

3. Hahaha.
    She shld go and sleep joor.
    The guilty always crying foul

4. Stella eh I like u but sometimes u talk without reasoning or knowing ANYTHING about Nigerian para military. In the civil service, especially the DSS, u cannot be terminated like that. Not even the DG should have the powers. As an officer she's entitled to 35 years of service b4 retirement. The promotion she got was done by Ita not Jonathan and it was after due process, taking exams and all. Daura came in and fired everybody as personal vendetta, how can u send her to Borno knowing she was once a spokesperson, therefore bulleye for boko haram??? It's unfair and unprofessional. Ogar should add Attempted Assassination to the suit sef. Daura is a clueless illiterate, go and see how he owes officers their salaries and pays late. Scrapping all the Information Technology set in place and taking DSS back to the stone age. Common diesel Daura cannot provide when light goes off for generator. That there's no money. Yet he is building house in Kaduna and renovating in Gwarimpa Abuja. Stella just shush when u don't know. U don't live in Nigeria and will never know what is really happening here.

1. You really got the point

2. Thank you for telling her as it is! Smh sometimes Stella talks as if she enjoys pples woe/humiliation

5. Gbam Stella! I am very well against victimis(z)ation of any sort but if you were promoted without due process,you should be demoted,follow due process or be fired.

6. Stella even u too? No comment again

1. No mind Stella, she'll be talking like she knows what's going on in Naija civil service.

7. Someone should please help me tell our President not to channel all his energy in this corruption thing and look into this Naira depreciation ish. ...Because am so feeling it right now.

Sorry if my post gets u mad.

8. Someone should please help me tell our President not to channel all his energy in this corruption thing and look into this Naira depreciation ish. ...Because am so feeling it right now.

Sorry if my post gets u mad.

1. What caused the depreciation of the Naira? Is it not corruption?
      He will just come and sit down ontop of the Naira. The president cannot do much now ooo except to keep recovering stolen funds.
      We had oil boom and didn't save or create jobs, now the oil prices are flat and unfortunately oil is the ONLY thing we export so what do you want him to do????
      Yet everyday people will be praising GEJ, that's how shallow we are. It would have been worse if Buhari wasn't here.

9. I am tired of Nigeria. The more you look the less you understand.

10. I am tired of Nigeria. The more you look the less you understand.

11. Stella have not spoken any ill statement asper the post but we should look inward as well, if she was sacked without due process or her promotion didnt follow due process let the court decide and moreso she was promoted within the shortest time possible before the election and the former IGP was also sacked after the election, just few week before hand-over. since the matter has been taken to court, we are here to read more revelation of her or the FG. Please stella get water and soap and let see who's dirty linen will be wash. that my 2 cent contribution.

12. Anonymous...my response is to u! Did Ms Ogar tell u she wrote anything exams b4 she was promoted? I laugh @ ur ignorance. Those who vehemently queue up behind illegality will be d first victims of it when it boomerangs. As for ur other assertions...pls sack ur sources.

1. Lol welcome Daura pikin. Child of an illiterate

13. Yes she wrote the exams! Her promotion was due and she got it.... Stella Abeg nor dey talk anyhow

14. Even if the promotion did not follow due process, demoting and sacking a civil servant without due process is "corruption" itself,
    So why the "change vs anti corruption saga" when the crusaders are also routine, abegi

15. Even if the promotion did not follow due process, demoting and sacking a civil servant without due process is "corruption" itself,
    So why the "change vs anti corruption saga" when the crusaders are also routine, abegi

16. EFCC should probe her bank accounts, finances, properties and those of her family members.