Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Explains Why Olisa Metuh Tore His Statement....

Saturday, February 27, 2016

EFCC Explains Why Olisa Metuh Tore His Statement....

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) on Friday gave an insight to why the spokesman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Olisa Metuh, tore the statement he wrote to his investigators.

The EFCC, at the commencement of Metuh’s trial before Justice Ishaq Bello of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), said Metuh tore the statement on realizing that he had implicated himself by admitting that he received money from the Office of the National Security Adviser (ONSA) and also because he had made reference to former Nigerian president, Goodluck Jonathan.

The PDP spokesman is standing trial on a three-count charge for allegedly destroying his statement and obstruction of investigation.

The first prosecution witness, Junaid Said, who was led in evidence by prosecution lawyer, Sylvanus Tahir, said he took statement from Metuh, who, he said, later tore a sheet of the four-sheet statement.
“My Lord, when he concluded writing his statement which was on four sheets of the EFCC statement form, I collected the statement and read over it.

“I then handed the statement over to my superiors – Musa and Wetkas. When I was handing over the statement, the defendant said he was surprised that he had written that much and that he felt he had given too much information.

“Because of the comment, I was worried I gave him the statement sheets one after the other for endorsement. He endorsed the first and second sheet, but he tore the third sheet.

“The third sheet was where the defendant (Metuh) disclosed that he received the money for PDP political activities, settled his personal needs and made reference to former President Goodluck Jonathan,” the witness told the court.

Dailypost reportage.

Next time EFCC should photocopy all statements made from those accused of allegedly looting government purse so that they can tender proof in case of doubt....As Metuh has allegedly 'eaten' the document now,whose report do we believe?

14 comments:

1. They should photocopy or even snap with their phone, who's fooling who

1. Stella, statements written dont count if not signed cos he can deny writing it

2. If this doesn't reek of desperation by the efcc to anyone then the person really doesn't have sense.

This is so stupid. Y'all stood there while he proceeded to tear his statement into pieces. You didn't restrain him after the first tear, but u stood and watched till he had successfully torn it into tiny pieces. You now collected d pieces.

Mehn! This story is for fools to believe abeg.

3. I believe the EFCC has nothing on this man. See childish stories they are peddling.
    This is nothing but political victimization. Mr Olisa has been a thorn in the flesh of this govt.

4. my own is that have they not gotten to the level of installing cctv in thier quarters? if there were cams,it would have captured the act and it'd be tendered in court.

5. I agree with you Stella! Incompetence of the highest order, why hand over for endorsement when he wrote the statement himself. Ode people in every sector!

6. The EFCC are just bunch of Abokis.

7. Super story! Enough of all these Ajambene from EFCC.

8. Stella,am a great fan of yours and advent reader of your column.However your inept research into some issues you post is a put off and waters down your professionalism .Its being cleared again and again that Metuh tore not ate the paper.According to the EFCC,their officers over powered him and seized the statement before he shredded it completely and those papers have been cello taped together and tendered as evidence in court.Kindly take time to follow the trial.Thank you.

9. Metuh in hot soup!thank God @the cellotaped statement.

10. Let EFCC show footage of him tearing d statement forms. Or there is no CCTV camera in there? Am sure there is, so let them show Nigerians.