Monday, January 04, 2016

World News Headlines Today - 4/1/2016

Welcome to the first Monday in 2016...May God order your footsteps like that of a righteous man In Jesus Name!

THE NATION

*RRS arrests suspected traffic robbers

*$2.1b arms contracts: EFCC detains top military officer

*Ambode: Lagos will grow despite bleak outlook

*Naira loses 10% value

*Banks to lose N100b revenue as zero COT begins

*Mixed reactions trail decision to avoid plea-bargain with treasury looters

*Lawyers to INEC: allow neutral workers to conduct Bayelsa rerun

*We didn't ask for severance package from Buhari's admnistration, says Shekarau

*Aisha Buhari urges children to study hard

*Oil marketers defy govt orders, sell fuel above N86.50

*AfDB calls for stronger anti-corruption measures in Africa

*NIPOST chief promises quality services

*Buhari entering 2016 with high support

*Why Buhari should grant convicted soldiers amnesty

*Edo 2016: Scramble for Oshiomhole's seat

NIGERIAN PILOT

*APC sweeps Zamfara LG Council polls

*IS threatens Britain in new executions video

*I believe Buhari means well for Nigeria ' Publisher

*Maku calls for removal of immunity clause from constitution

*Dry season farming yields more money ' Expert

*Lagos will take rightful place among major cities in 2016 ' Ambode

*Borno hunters want to join military fight Boko Haram in Sambisa

THE CABLE

*Allow us into Sambisa, Borno hunters beg army

*Presidency: Buhari's opinion on Dasuki 'personal

*PMB picks Danjuma, Dangote to resettle IDPs

*Buhari will not ban hijab now, says presidency

*UI, OAU, UNILAG missing as UNIPORT makes Africa's top 30 universities

*9-time Grammy winner, Natalie Cole, dies at 65

*Fans praise Mikel Obi: He is 'becoming a Chelsea god

*Ex-Cote d'Ivoire player, Gohouri, 'found dead

*Salami absent as Oliseh names final CHAN 2016 team

*Pinnick: No more bonuses for U-17, U-20 teams

*ALERT: B'Haram to 'bomb Borno with beggars

*DPR begins 24-hour surveillance on filling stations

*Adesina: Things could get tougher but Buhari'll get it right

*Buhari asks agencies capturing biometrics to issue single identification numbers

*NNPC loses at least N263bn in 2015 as pipeline vandalism persists

*Biafra: Igbo Muslim group warns easterners  'Pulse

DAILY TRUST

*Tongues wag as Gov Ayade pays salaries from abroad

*No crisis in Kaduna APC - Uba Sani

*Im not entitled to FGs severance as ex minister - Shekarau

*Lawmakers pictures missing in N/Assembly website

*2016 budget favours youth - APC chieftain

*Why Yorubas must support North-East people

*IMF boss visits Nigeria over economy

*Katsina woos new business entrants with 5-yr tax holiday

*Dangote upbeat on economic revival, seeks more investments

*Ighalo wins Premier League Award

*Chelsea thrash Palace to go up

BBC

*Saudi Arabia breaks off ties with Iran

*Sweden introduces border controls

*Mexico governor takes over local police

*Haiti vote 'stained by irregularities

*Earthquake hits India's Manipur state

*The little car you can drive without a licence

*CAR election puts ex-PM Touadera ahead

*Algeria buries independence hero

*Rwanda's Kagame to run for third term

*'People have no idea of the calories in alcohol

*Anti-IS group' claims BBC site attack

*Valencia 2-2 Real Madrid

*Striker Vardy out for up to two weeks

MASHABLE

*Woman makes the sweetest wraps to cuddle and calm orphaned baby bats

*6.7 magnitude quake hits India's northeast

*It's 2016, so naturally Mark Zuckerberg wants to build himself an AI butler

*Aussie politician calls journalist a 'mad f*cking witch' in accidental text

*Saudi Arabia cuts ties with Iran after protesters burn Saudi embassy

*California cracks down on hoverboards with new safety restrictions

*Donald Trump brushes off use of his words in extremist recruitment video

*Militia group led by Bundy brothers seizes federal building after protest

*Australia is obsessed with this cricket fan who devoured an entire watermelon

*Game of Thrones' author George R.R. Martin is just too busy to finish his latest book

*Group says BBC website hack was a test for attack on ISIS

*Oldest black rhino in North America celebrates her 45th birthday

*Bill Cosby's wife Camille may be required to testify in case against him

ENTERTAINMENT

**American Idol 's Kris Allen  and Wife Expecting Baby No.  2 'Eonline

*Adesua Etomi, Adekunle Gold, other artistes to watch out for in 2016 - Tribune

*AFEEZ OYETORO: Acting took away my dream of becoming a pilot - New Telegraph

*Alex Gibney explains why his Steve Jobs documentary may cause you to put down your iPhone for good - Business Insider

*Bills Fan Sets Himself On Fire - Gawker

*Chris Brown Speaks Out After Assault Allegations - Huffington Post

*Chris Rock Proves The Oscars Are Just Like New Year's Eve - Huffington Post

*Justin Bieber and Hailey  Baldwin May Have Just Made  Things Official 'Eonline

*Coco Defends Her ''Sexy''  Anniversary and New Year's  Outfit 'Eonline

SPORTS

*AFCON 2017: We Must Work Hard To Beat Egypt ' Igbonu - Daily Independent

*Agent: Italy is Lavezzi's preferred destination - Goal

*Aguero will return to best form for run in - Daily Trust

*Ajunwa calls for early athletes camping for Rio Olympics - The Sun

*Anderson beats Lewis to retain world title - Yahoo

*Arsenal clear at top of EPL as Leicester City stumbles - CNN

*Arsenal tops EPL as Koscielny strike downs Newcastle - CNN

*Arsenal wants 42m Dortmund star, Aubameyang - Guardian

*Barcelona draws blank against city rival Espanyol - CNN

*Benitez: Questions over my future are misguided - Goal

*Brown Ideye: I Was Arrested For Gambling - Daily Independent

*CHAN 2016: Eagles coaches keep players in suspense - The Sun

*CHAN: Eagles begin training in Pretoria - Vanguard

*CHAN: Oliseh Back with Eagles - Thisday

*Chelsea beats Crystal Palace 3-0 - Leadership

*Chelsea can still end season with two trophies, Hazard declares - Guardian

*Chelsea secures first win under interim boss Hiddink - CNN

*IfeanyiUbah players forced to receive 2 months pay 'Daily Trust

*Oliseh bubbling again - official 'Daily Trust

20 comments:

1. Alright seen, Still waiting for PMS to start selling at #86.

2. Ok, God guide our steps dis new week

3. Yea I think we are going to be in for hard times but we will be much better for it. I pray bihari gets it right. Hazard should just shut it. Just because you won your match yesterday doesn't mean you start opening your mouth anyhow

4. Amen ooo,God will always guide our steps dis week..

5. Amen to your prayer Stella. Which type plea bargain, they should all go to prison. They should allow those hunters because they sound so confident. Seriously saka? You couldn't have done it better. That is my belief too, things would be tough but for the better.

6. Waku is right ,
    things will get better that am sure, hazard okey o we dey watch na,
    Amnesty should be granted to those military guys abeg.

7. Borno hunters, really?

Hmmmm.

8. What's up with the Naira again?

We're watching as usual.

9. Yeah, i'm positive that Bubu will get it right.

Optimistic much!

10. Ermm, I don't understand.

Does BH want to make sure that Borno is no more on the map?

11. All I can think about this dry season, is mangoes.

My best fruit.

12. Same way women get away with accusing men of rape, if they want to, is how that lady is accusing Chrissy of battery.

Doesn't help that he has a history of domestic violence.

I hope it's a lie.

13. Alex Gibney, iffahear!

With the way people are crazy about iPhones.

14. All these footballers dying this year, May God help them all. I dont envy them at all. the money is good but you have to take care of your health.

DPR what are you monitoring? where were you when they sell fuel at N160.00 in Abia State and its environ. Make una go sit down. Useless people.

Now Oando has stopped selling fuel. SHAME TO APC

15. Chelsea can still end season with two
    trophies, Hazard declares. Yeah, I believe we can even win the Champions League.

*shines teeth*

16. People have no idea of the calories in
    alcohol. Yes na, that why we have pot-bellied men everywhere hehe

17. Oil marketers defy govt orders, sell fuel above N86.50. Those marketers should better comply o. What's wrong with them?

18. Ighalo wins Premier League Award.

Ighalo, making Nigeria proud!