Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: WHO Says Zika Virus Outbreak 'Likely To Spread Across Americas'

Tuesday, January 26, 2016

WHO Says Zika Virus Outbreak 'Likely To Spread Across Americas'

The Zika virus is likely to spread across nearly all of the Americas, the World Health Organization has warned.
The infection, which causes symptoms including mild fever, conjunctivitis and headache, has already been found in 21 countries in the Caribbean, North and South America.

It has been linked to thousands of babies being born with underdeveloped brains and some countries have advised women not to get pregnant.

No treatment or vaccine is available.

The virus was first detected in 1947 in monkeys in Africa. There have since been small, short-lived outbreaks in people on the continent, parts of Asia and in the Pacific Islands.

But it has spread on a massive scale in the Americas, where transmission was first detected in Brazil in May 2015.
Large numbers of the mosquitoes which carry the virus and a lack of any natural immunity is thought to be helping the infection to spread rapidly.

Mosquito
Zika is transmitted by the bite of Aedes mosquitoes, which are found in all countries in the region except Canada and Chile.

In a statement, The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO), the regional office of the WHO, said: "PAHO anticipates that Zika virus will continue to spread and will likely reach all countries and territories of the region where Aedes mosquitoes are found."
PAHO is advising people to protect themselves from the mosquitoes, which also spread dengue fever and chikungunya. 

It also confirmed the virus had been detected in semen and there was "one case of possible person-to-person sexual transmission" but further evidence was still needed.

Around 80% of infections do not result in symptoms But the biggest concern is the potential impact on babies developing in the womb. There have been around 3,500 reported cases of microcephaly - babies born with tiny brains - in Brazil alone since October.

PAHO warned pregnant women to be "especially careful" and to see their doctor before and after visiting areas affected by the virus.

Colombia, Ecuador, El Salvador and Jamaica last week recommended women delay pregnancies until more was known about the virus.
Although officially PAHO says "any decision to defer pregnancy is an individual one between a woman, her partner and her healthcare provider".

Global threat
Prof Laura Rodrigues, a fellow of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences and from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, said some data suggested that up to one-in-fifty babies had birth defects in one of the worst hit areas - Pernambuco state in Brazil.
She said: "Until November we knew nothing, this has caught us by surprise and we're trying to learn as fast as we can.

"Wherever there is dengue, there is mosquito, then it will spread and not just in Americas I think there is a very real chance it will spread in Asia."
PAHO advice is to ensure all containers that can hold even small amounts of water should be emptied and cleaned to prevent mosquitoes breeding.
And that people should protect themselves by using insect repellent, covering up and keeping windows and doors closed.
The director general of the WHO, Margaret Chan, said the outbreak was "extremely worrisome".

BBC Reportage.

Na wah oh...every day new one!

46 comments:

1. Hian very soon, there will be defects children everywhere

1. Population control so they keep inventing new diseases. How on earth will you tell a married couple not to get pregnant?

2. God help mankind. Amen.

*Crosses myself*

3. Thnk God I didn't see africa there,can the world come to an end already.

1. Are you ready? You might think you are but end up in hell

4. God save us.. different virus.

5. Evry animal dey help spread virus now.na wa ooh.

Have a great day y'l

6. End time is really near.God have mercy.

Sometimes i ask my self why God created us in the first place and allowed all sort of bad things to be happening. I thought a mother protects her children. Am just thinking...

I hope this philosophy class is not changing my ways of thinking Seriously cos i just dont understand.

1. It was Adam and Eve that caused these katakata for us all ooo

Uberhautelooks.blogspot.com

7. End of the world...we can deny it all we want but it's the obvious truth. Make ur ways straight with u creator; that's the advice.

8. Which one us zika virus again na? This is serious

9. God help us to eradicate these viruses that pose a big threat to humanity!

10. Another means of stopping human population . Mtcheww

11. Stella pls gist us about wiz-kid's new baby mama na, alot of gist going round town u just dey fall person hand with stale n uninteresting news. This isn't what ur blog was known for o

12. In Nigeria we have Lassa fever and in America we have Zika fever but here in Nigeria instead of our leaders to look for the solution and the cure for Lassa fever they blamed the past govt of GEJ but in America everybody are putting heads togather to find the solution no one blame the past govt.

13. Pls they should stay in their country 4 now.
    They shld not bring it to Africa o. we just finish with Ebola wahala.

14. Pls they should stay in their country 4 now.
    They shld not bring it to Africa o. we just finish with Ebola wahala.

15. Just like wht Jesus fortold in the bible book of matt......... Pestilences......one of d signs dat shows that this ungodly world will soon Come to an end!

16. Viral disease transmitted by mosquitoes..
    Have mercy on us lord.

17. I'm sure airplanes would fumigate their countries. If it were in africa? Sorry..na raid n Bayton for sell.

18. Is it just me or is their a campaign to always associate bad things with Africa? WHO is telling us that the virus was found in monkeys in Africa but it doesn't affect Africans?
    In other news whatever this is, it brings to mind Thomas Malthus's proposition to control population and from the advise given by PAHO and WHO, thats all I see.

1. Don't mind them. Yet Nigerians were attacking Will smith for portraying something good about us!

2. Damn! *there

19. Every virus, they will link it to Africa!
    Btw, monkeys are really causing lots of disease from ebola to this one

20. No treatment or vaccine. ....now that's scary.

140th comment 2016

21. Hmmm could this be the Virus Daddy GO prophesied about? This kind fine name for terrible virus, God dey!

22. Purportedly made in Africa but the Americas and Asia are worse hit?

23. Jesu gba wa. All this animals can carry disease o.

24. No vaccine,
    No treatment available.

That's the worst part.

God take control.

25. Everyday one diseases or virus is declared. Na wa o. Baba God save ur children.

26. This is a time to get closer to God,u can imagine, mosquito causing virus! The end is here, accept christ now,tomorrow may be late

27. May God save us from every sickness n disease. Amen. Let's learn to keep our environment clean, it will save us from a lot of things n unnecessary expenditures. Cleanliness is godliness.

28. Once mosquito stats to transmit virus then believe me people if I spread it Shanna be deadly.. Oh lord!!!
    Please put a stop to this already..