The federal government says it is aware that those who mismanaged the wealth of the country have been using their influence to frustrate its anti-corruption campaign.
Speaking in Lagos on Sunday, Lai Mohammed, minister of information and culture, said the current administration would not be discouraged by the ploy of its opponents. Describing as an incentive, the commendation which John Kerry, US secretary of state, gave to President Muhammadu Buhari on his anti-graft fight, Mohammed said the battle must be won for the nation to achieve sustainable growth.
At a speech delivered during the just-concluded World Economic Forum (WEF) annual meeting in Davos, Switzerland, Kerry lauded the current administration. Mohammed said he would soon kick-start a series of town hall meetings across the country to take the sensitisation campaign, which he launched in Abuja last Monday, directly to Nigerians. ”The federal government is delighted that the anti-corruption war being led by President Muhammadu Buhari has been acknowledged and applauded on a global stage,” he said.
”It is particularly gratifying that in that speech, Mr Kerry made the link between corruption and terrorism. We agree that corruption is indeed a radicaliser because it destroys faith in legitimate authority. “Let me remind you, gentlemen, that radicalisation is a key causative factor of terrorism… ‘We know that those who stole us dry are powerful. They have newspapers, radio and television stations and an army of supporters to continuously deride the government’s war against corruption. “But we are undaunted and will not relent until corruption is also decimated.”
Mohammed said corruption was responsible for the endemic poverty in the country, noting that whereas Nigeria’s national budget has increased from just over N900 billion in 1999 to over N6 trillion in 2016, poverty has also increased almost by the same proportion. “The reason is not far-fetched: Appropriated funds have mostly ended up in the pockets of a few looters,” he said. ”When the money meant to construct roads is looted, the end result is that the roads are not built and the people suffer and even die in avoidable road accidents. When the money meant to provide electricity is looted, we all are perpetually sentenced to darkness.
When the money meant for healthcare is pocketed by a few, we are unable to reduce maternal and infant mortality. These are the costs of corruption.” He faulted the view that the government was dwelling too much on the war against corruption to the detriment of other areas of governance. “The situation is very grim indeed, as far as corruption is concerned. That is why the federal government is embarking on this sensitisation Campaign,” he said. “Our approach – which is to count the cost of corruption – is not to vilify anyone but to use facts and figures to give Nigerians a sense of what corruption has done to their lives.”
www.thecable.ng
Lie lie Mohammed
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
That will include his own political godfather also.
ReplyDeletewhy don't I believe whatever this man says? Its even too long sef.Next plzzzzz.....!
ReplyDeleterolling my eyes....
ReplyDeleteFor how long will this man continue this, it's not easy o
ReplyDeleteGod help us.
ReplyDeleteOld cargoes. He is right thou
ReplyDeleteI believe this latest outburst by this man is a carefully crafted propaganda. intended to make the masses stop demanding that APC fulfill it's countless campaign promises. Eg
ReplyDeleteMaking $1=N1.
Bringing down the price of fuel to N1 per litre.
Interrupted power supply.
Money maker why did you change your moniker?...
DeleteI doubt it, moneymaker would have gbagauned by the fifth word, this person has put together several words without one error, definitely not moneymaker...
DeleteMoney Oloshi. Coward had to change ID bcos of ihg 10k. Kwa kwa kwa kwa. Broke mofo!!!!
DeleteMr Muhammed should either start telling us the names or just shut up.
ReplyDeleteBroke ass u run change name? Buwahahahahah!!! Dem don say make u no dash money again oh! Promising wat u can't give. U did it for attention n ran. Oh oh oh oh oh oh
DeleteEnd time Lie
ReplyDeleteAm sure he is referring to his Oga Tinubu that is walking a free man...
ReplyDeleteNonsense talk!...
Abeg close your yellow eze ure!...
This Lai abi na liar should just shut up already.
DeleteAnd we ve not heard anything again concerning the list of corrupt Nigerians that an sitting APC governor claimed the US govt gave them. Was it a hoax after all?
ReplyDeleteWhen will this govt start doing more than just talking?
Oh oh oh oh oh sharap dia!!!
DeleteEmpty barrel illiterate!! Broke azz dude like u. Irrelevant rat!
Ifeanyi
DeleteThis grandfather should be resting in the village
ReplyDelete131 comment 2016
ehen
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Really?
ReplyDeleteOK o.
And he said they own TV and Newspaper houses____ Lobatan___ He is refering to Tinubu then because he own Nation Newspaper and TVC
ReplyDeleteThiefnubu is number 1
ReplyDeleteOne side corruption
ReplyDeleteI only saw his rotten teeth. Dis man should go and rest biko .
ReplyDeleteOk.
ReplyDelete~Barr charles
a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
God bless yu man....
APC all talk and no action, this lai, abi liar, should face the national issues at hand! Corruption, corruption we no go hear word! We are waiting to enjoy all the wonderful things we were promised by APC.
ReplyDeleteLai Mohammed.Have you mention Jonatah name today?
ReplyDeleteEnd time corrupt cabals
ReplyDeletePointing with one fingers,whilst the rest pointing inwards.