The Bishop of Orlu Catholic Diocese, Most Rev. Augustine Ukwuoma on Fridayunveiled the African tallest statue of Jesus Christ weighing 8.5 metres (28 ft) at St. Aloysius Catholic Parish, Abajah, Imo.
The statue made of marble is bigger than the 20 metres (66 foot) Ramesses ii Abusimbel statue in Egypt.
Ukwuoma Performed the ceremony shortly after a mass attended by the Bishop Emeritus of Orlu Diocese, Most Rev. Gregory Ochiagha, and more than 100 priests at St. Aloysius Parish Abajah compound on Friday.
The News Agency of Nigeria reports that Chief Obinna Onuoha, who donated the Jesus statue had constructed 2, 000 seating capacity parish church at St. Aloysius in the year 2012.
Ukwuoma, who described the statue as magnificent, commended the Onuoha family for the gift and their benevolence to the church.
“This statue is a great symbol of Christian faith, and I pray that for the Catholics that the statue will continue to constantly remind us of what Jesus Christ stands for us.
“For other passers-by, looking at the statue will also bring them closer to Jesus,’’ the Bishop said.
-NAN
Very good
ReplyDelete*Larry was here*
Waste of resources and valueable time... That money wld hv ben better used to build schools & hospitals, instead of building a monument that'd do the community no good... With the one brazil has, imagine the level of crime rate in that country. Religion is poison to the brain.
DeleteThe statue ain't that big na. It's beautiful anyway.
DeleteAnon 9.24
Do you know how many Catholic missionary schools we have in Nigeria alone? Or hospitals? When you're done counting them, go and tell your pastor to put your tithes to good use.
Na only when una see Catholic news una go just dey jump upandan.
Good.
DeletePL d great quiet there. is this putting "ur" tithe to good use? Spending money on Idols n all. What's d diff btw u n d village dibia? Bia b careful o. And if Uve 1mil schools n hospitals who says plus 1 is a bad ideal?
DeleteWas this not the same thing God frowned at the Israelites while moses was busy writing the 10 commandments. Same reason he broke the tablets of stone In the first place, the bible made it clear on the 20th chapter of exodus DO NOT MAKE TO THYSELF ANY GRAVEN IMAGE or Likeness of anything in HEAVEN and on EARTH and IN THE WATER (be it God or man).
DeleteThen the second part says do not bow down to them or worship them. (for those bowing to the statue of Mary or Jesus christ).
Wandering opportunist spirits can get inside these images and keep receiving your glory in your ignorance and that is how we worship false gods unknowingly. Let us read the bible and get informed.
Thank you ooo, 9:24.
DeleteTotal waste!
And nobody knows how Christ look like! Before you know, some worshippers will be touching it's feet, or standing in front to pray or make the sign of the cross as they do in front of Mary's statue inside their cathedral.
They go against the preachings of the old testament, DO NOT MAKE ANY GRAVEN IMAGE OF ANYTHING IN HEAVEN, UNDER THE SEA OR ON EARTH!
Paganism has been cultivated into Christendom for centuries. Idolatry is one of them! I know, the staunch catholics will bleed under my comment. Abegy, no be today fowe yansh dey back!
Tell them PL the great. Does God bless people any different? Catholic or otherwise? Praise your God whichever way you want,and leave us to our faith.
DeleteComment4 in 2016
ReplyDeleteJesus is in heaven. Studying the bible will bring you closer to him
Please don't start
DeleteDefault smile you can say that because you are angel Micheal and you are right next to Jesus in heaven abi??? Ewu Ghana...
Deletestatue is statue oh... Either statue of Jesus or statue of anything... Still don't understand why Christians go out of the Bible context! okbye.
ReplyDeleteMy dear you spoke my mind,it's a sin to kneel before any image to pray it the image of Jesus,God or mary, the bible made it crystal clear
DeleteTell them.
DeleteIs weight now measured in metres and feet?! Also, how is 8.5 metres statue in Imo State taller than 20 metres statue in Egypt?!!!
ReplyDeleteBigger isn't the same as taller.
DeleteD writer was still hung over from all d new year drinks he took. Lmao
DeleteI was shocked when I read same also. Aunty Stella, what have you been smoking?
DeleteSounds like I was typing this comment. The measurements make no sense and Stella has to copy n paste senseless info. Na wah
DeleteEnter your comment...hope its not blood or illegal money ooo very soon they will knight him.
ReplyDeleteIssoraite
ReplyDeleteGood
ReplyDeleteEnter your comment...
ReplyDeleteThank God. The Spirit of God moves pples to do beautiful things
Mtchewww
ReplyDeleteJesus is in heaven and you should worship him in truth and in spirit, not any dumb statue
I wonder why we forget what's written in the bible a times as acclaimed Christians. So studying the word of God won't bring you closer to Jesus except you look at the statue eh? These people should teach what folks like me will understand bikonu.
ReplyDeleteWho is that statue made in the likeness of?
ReplyDeleteIt's not Jesus because nobody knows what he looked like.
So why are educated people falling for this brainwashing?
Even God in his commandments said whe should not make the likeness of anything in heaven, earth and in the water. So I don't even get it. Is it that our priests don't read the bible or what?
DeleteThis will not stop them from doing blood money.
ReplyDeleteGood for them
ReplyDeleteOkay.. Seen..
ReplyDeleteOh wow, I'm sure imo people will be the first To be attended to in africa On judgement day, kudos!
ReplyDeleteWhat's the need for all these craven images sef?
ReplyDeleteOK oh. Am not too comfortable with graven images.
ReplyDeleteHa my people is it because it's Catholic that we all remember the idol thing? Whether Oyedepo, papa Adeboye, Tb Joshua etc their followers carry their items all over like talisman everywhere they go, the Catholics don't worship these idols, they carry them about just the same way you see winners carry their own too its just that it's in a more overt manner. Let me add here that if all other denominations carry out charity work half of what the Catholics do this country would have been won over for Christ.
ReplyDeleteItems other people carry ARE NOT IMAGES CREATED IN LIKENESS OF A LIVING THING! I personally don't believe in all these sanctified items by other pastors. People, should worship God in truth and in spirit. Shikena.
DeleteThou shall not worship any graven image but Jehovah ElOl alone.
ReplyDeleteMy people perish for lack of knowledge