Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Suspected Drug Addict Says He Makes N300,000 Monthly Begging In Lagos

Monday, January 25, 2016

Suspected Drug Addict Says He Makes N300,000 Monthly Begging In Lagos

A suspected drug addict arrested by the Rapid Response Squad of the Lagos State Command has disclosed that he made over N300, 000 monthly from begging in Ikeja.

Kehinde Olatubosun, 56, from Ibadan, Oyo State, was arrested on Saturday night along with 18 other drug addicts at a joint in Ipodo, Ikeja.

A team of Rapid Response Squad Decoy had on Monday night traced a stolen phone to the joint, leading to the arrest of a three-man gang mobile phone thieves, three hard drug peddlers and 13 drug addicts, the police said in a statement on Sunday.

Mr. Olatubosun stated that he made over N10, 000 daily begging at the Mobolaji Bank Anthony Roundabout; beside the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital; Toyin Street; and Opebi.

“All days of the week, I’m always in Mobolaji Bank Anthony Roundabout, Toyin Street roundabout and Opebi. At times, I collaborate with beggars. Whatever we make, we share but I get a larger share,What I do is that, I get LASUTH drug prescription papers. I get it from their waste bin. With this in my hand, I convince motorists, passengers and passersby that I have a relative who is in dire need of money to buy drugs and I show them the prescription papers.

“This is what I have been doing since I was deported from Germany in 2004. Before the deportation, I was working as Electrical Engineer in Cologne, Germany. I was in Germany for 12 years before I was deported.”

Mr. Olatubosun‎ said his deportation from Germany was after he was caught in possession of hard drugs.
“I have four children. Two are in Germany with my wife. One is in Texas, United States and another in Nigeria,Unfortunately, all the money I make from this begging goes into drugs. Day after day, I am always there, seven days a week. I make more money on Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays. I make more than N10,000:00 on weekends.As I speak to you, I’m not on drugs but I am experiencing withdrawal symptoms.......

The suspect said he was at the Ipodo drug joint when the RRS operatives raided the place and added that it was the first time he would be arrested.
“I am praying that RRS release me. I promise I won’t go back to drug again. Where I live presently was given to me by my in-law.”

Another drug suspect, Dada Ajayi, arrested at the drug joint during the police raid, said that addiction had destroyed his life.
“‎I am trying to get over it now; drug has been the cause of my stagnation in life,” said Mr. Ajayi, 48, who said he had been hooked on drugs for over 17 years.
“‎I frequent that joint because I have nowhere to go. I have lived the better part of my life consuming drugs.As I talk to you, the remains of my wife is in Ikeja mortuary. She was taken to Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja. I was asked to bring N150,000 for surgery but I didn’t have N50,000 on me then. She died in the process.

“Right now, I have lost my family because of my drug addiction. I don’t know where my children are or how to start my life again. I can’t stop going to that drug joint because it is the only place where I get consolation. It is the only place I’m at peace with myself.

“If anybody want to help us, they should arrest the drug barons or dealers. Arresting us won’t solve drug problem because without the sellers there won’t be the takers.You arrest the dealers, I mean the merchants, then, you have cut the supply and thus saved us from getting drugs. Without that, we would always find our ways there whenever we are released.”

culled:premiumtimes

Hmmm what  sad stories and the only thing that came to my mind was El Chapo but hey thats even going too far,the drug bosses in Nigeria must surely have a face?

46 comments:

1. Hmmmm,some of them earn more! Atleast they were caught. They should face the law.

1. Kai!...see what addiction does to human being!
      So sad especially for the family...what a shameful thing to contend with

Uberhautelooks.blogspot.com

2. Thats how one was caught in abuja and said on a bad day she makes between 10 and 15k.
      Theres 1 man thats always at gtb area11 branch, garki 2 beside jevenik. That man has been there so long people now know him. Saw him last week in wuse 2 cos hes market isnt movin anymore in garki.
      Some orphanages even rent babies to women to use to beg cos every1 will have sympathy for babies that way they make more.
      Me i only give as my spirit leads me, no more random giving

3. This earns like times....... of what I get.
      Send them to prison, they will get their selves within months

2. Stella na your German brother. And my money is among the 300k he makes a month. Stupid thief. You will keep purging if you enter prison finally.

1. Yea he is right, dey shld arrest d dealers, wen NDLEA cms around dey pick innocent pple while d dealers settle with huge cash. Ipodo needs cleansing, dey shld cm n pack all of dem. I feel 4 d children raised in dat environment. Junky life

3. It's very sad the way drugs ruins lives. I really feel so sorry for people who are addicted to drugs.

4. It's very sad the way drugs ruins lives. I really feel so sorry for people who are addicted to drugs.

5. It's very sad the way drugs ruins lives. I really feel so sorry for people who are addicted to drugs.

6. Drugs is very bad,just look at how their lives have been destroyed

7. Reason I don't give beggars money, most Nigerians are thieves, I have no pity for alot of people, on this blog beggars have increased with so many concocted stories and lies at the end they say fake prayers , so who are the ones that curse people out, big liars and thieves

1. Dont mind them. i am hardly moved by their sob stories. they cuss people alot and stil beg the same people for food and other things.

8. Addiction is a terrible thing Stella. It is a fundamental issue that is beyond anyone. It's not easy to scold drug users and think that it will make them stop. Even counselling and rehab does little or nothing. That is why I feel sorry for them bcos it isn't easy.

Take for instance, if we had to discuss less serious addictions like those who smoke... it's not a day job to just quit like that. Not unless the user is ready, nothing can be done. I know a person who was asked to stop drinking and smoking because it became a health risk, matter of fact he was told pointedly that he would die if he didn't stop. For where? He still continued.. he said he just cannot go a day without both. Imagine, seeing death face up face, yet, u cannot control it. It's that bad.

The withdrawal syndrome can kill them. Which is why some are still supplied their dosage when put in isolation or whatever. A doctor once said to me that those who use drugs or any other form of addictive substance that helps calm their nerves, that not using it for days or trying to stop their supply abruptly can be more dangerous to their health. Like those who are addicted to codeine. To get off it they have to still use it but will have to reduce the quantity gradually.

I think it'll take divine intervention to break away from any form of addiction. Including the use of cocaine and the likes.

Even when there's no money to afford the dose they steal to get it. Many will even sell their properties or children sef, just to afford their addiction. It's a demon on its own

1. Addiction is not easy to kick.not at all.thats why i am not quick to judge them.they themselves wanna quit and get better.But then d Demon of Addiction..

These can be done
      *Divine Intervention.
      *Rehabilitation and *Regular Counselling and Routine Check-Up.
      *The Word.

2. You totally summarised the life of an addict.

I watch a lot of documentaries on this.

3. Crazy police you arrest drug user and want to send him to jail ,then what happens to the dealer

Dump ass police you send drug users to rehabilitation not jail.Addiction is spiritually and difficult to manage i know because am addicted to Nzu

9. Substance abuse is becoming one of Nigeria's major problems.

Most teenagers sniff fuel,take Codeine and even those pills prescribed for people with psychological problems.

The private Rehabs here are crazily expensive,to even find them sef na wahala.

But I put it to this "beggar" that came back from Germany that he is still peddling hard drugs in Naija...Never take from your own supply-Scar Face

10. You can be used in imagine.
    300k monthly,that's someone's 5months salary.

11. All these beggars that uses fake doctors drug prescription na God go punish una. One even said his wife is sick nd need money without knowing that someone who knew him was in the bus and shouted at him to get lost. He ran away. They full around yaba and ikeja. The yaba ones re very very annoying.

1. Oh! You know so well. Around jibowu... this old man that should respect himself is always moving from car to car, speaking his 'language' and showing everyone his #1700 bill. Lol.
      No style wey no dey Lagos.

12. With the way our economy is heading now, and buhari's administration being super clueless, with no economic policy, very soon every Nigerian will turn to begging including buhari.

1. U r a bastard!! Along dis fake linda aka monkey maker moron! Fools!!! U all will beg IJN

13. Sad Sad Sad!
    Just look how drugs destroyed Mr
    Ola's life. Kai.A former Electrical Engineer? Chai.

14. Sure they do but have their way around it.
    LUTH n other hospitals should ensure they shred papers before disposing them to avoid all these scams.

15. Some have no chill, they will try to open d handle of ur car door. If it's locked, they rap on d window n do 'oga I nver chop' n one hand no good o!

16. Hmmmm, the first guy deported from Germany saying he won't go back to drugs will go back if released, so they should just keep him in prison to dry out. It only takes the Grace of God for people to maintain sobriety. Imagine getting deported for drugs and you continued the same thing in Naija, na wah oh. And I'm sure his wife and kids sends money to him.
    Funny enough, the last time I was in Naija I saw one of those beggars by the general hospital Ikeja with a long prescription list and I gave her money. Hiss.

1. I don't give no matter what. Especially when the beggar is healthy. If you can stay out in the sun to beg then you can also sell sachet water to raise cash

If I see a disable person selling anything, if I have cash, I buy from them even if I don't need it, just to encourage them.

17. Stellalinda nah your country person b that nah heheheheheh

18. Woaw, i never knew Begging was such a lucrative business ooohhh
    Say No to Drugs

19. Was coming from the airport one day and I saw a man and a little girl begging with hospital report. I just told my sister that his face his familiar, that I've seen him somewhere begging with this same hospital report. Before the traffic light showed green I know how many people gave them money.

I don't like giving beggars money at all especially in lagos.

God don finally catch am.

1. I get what u mean by not liking to give beggars money.i was almost like u at a point.But not all beggars are swindlers.

It's people like dese that dissuade givers from giving.It's the heart that God judges.the intent.keep those genuine beggars in mind when next u open ur purse to help.And not the wayo ones.

20. So begging is a lucrative business. Ikeja spot is better than Surulere or Akpongbon own.

May God help his children from the menace of drugs. Amen

21. I am glad I read this post. The first guy kehinde olatunbosun is from ibadan Aromolaran area. His mother is an Alhaja. His twins sister Taiye is in usa. So sad to read it here that he is still in this reckless life situation. His mother very rich then... infact am short of words... what a waste. .what a life..

22. They had it all good but allowed the addiction demon to ruin them

23. Drug addiction is a very dangerous trend that is eating deep into our society. Both young and old, male and female are all trapped in it.
    Lost an ex to cancer of the lungs because of substance abuse. R.I.P UgoGod!
    Lost an uncle last year because of the same thing. His was so bad that the Doctor told him that any puff or sip will kill him. He stopped for some months and continued. He died last year . RIP uncle Anthony!

24. It is really funny how it is the beggars on this blog that are the people judging and condemning the most

25. Tony Ihekire, may ur wishes and prayers come to pass in ur life and d life of all ur family members. It is your desire to beg,, and u and urs shall beg before ur needs are met.

It's ur desire and wish, not for Nigerians, so it is restricted to you and your family alone.

26. olori isis,i now know how stupid and shallow minded u are.... addicts are to be pitied and like he said, they need to cut off the suppliers...its an addiction and they will do anything to get a fix...beg, borrow or steal...the women even go as far as prostitution.....easy for people to insult common people, look at what drugs did to whitney houston...the best thing is not to even go there

27. If you don't want to hear him speak his language get the hell out of his state asshole.

28. The first guy said he lied to people that he needs to buy drugs"medications" and in actual fact the money he gets is used in buying drugs"substance abuse". Drug na drug Jare. As for me I won't be moved again when I pass around the hospital and see people begging for money. Unfortunately, it won't be fair on those who are begging for genuine reasons.