Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Supreme Court Upholds The Election Of Governor Samuel Ortom Of Benue State

Friday, January 15, 2016

Supreme Court Upholds The Election Of Governor Samuel Ortom Of Benue State

Nigeria’s supreme court on Friday upheld the election of Samuel Ortom as governor of Benue State in a ruling that lasted less than 10 minutes.

The court, in a judgment delivered by Justice Sylvester Nguta dismissed the
appeal of Terhemen Tazoor, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate in the April 11, 2015 governorship election.

The PDP candidate argued that Ortom was not a member of the All Progressives Congress as at the time he emerged the party’s governorship candidate.
He therefore asked the apex court to declare that the APC had no candidate in the election and he be declared the winner.

But the apex court, just like the Benue State Election Petition Tribunal and the appeal court ruled that Tazoor has no locus standi to file the case since he is not a member of APC.
“The appellant has no locus standi to challenge the process of another party”, the court said in its unanimous judgment delivered by a seven-man panel.

culled:pmnews

26 comments:

1. And they keep tormenting all pdp governors
      Okay

2. PDP made a mistake when they gave governorship candidacy to Tazoor, Ortom is well loved by his people hence his winning that election.
    PDP should shush it.

3. All these conflicting judgements up and down shows that even the judiciary has issues.
    IMO the court erred bcos if he was challenging the process of the primaries then he has no locus standi. If he is saying that as at the time a name was submitted by apc as their candidate the guy wasnt even a member, then he has a case.
    In football, madrid recently fielded and ineligible player and they were penalized by being removed frm d tournament even though the won.

4. Happy for him.Born again governor,congrats!

5. Congratulations his excellency...

6. U is his face looking like that though..

7. Now that this over, mr governor give your people governance.

8. I don't see any need challenging the Man's election in the 1st place bcos I know PDP can't win the case even if we are right

9. I read your blog everyday and I must commend u..How I wish I can give out too..all I want is to pay my brother sch fees ND d deadline is dis January ending. I just pray God should c me tru...

10. All for the love of money n power.

11. I heard this guy has a big dick. I wish that I could meet him so that he can drill my ass.

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Nna only in naija i swear....