The Rivers State Government has accused the immediate-past administration of Rotimi Amaechi of spending N82 million to host Nobel Laureate, Prof. Wole Soyinka to a 3-hour dinner.
This was disclosed by the Commissioner for Information and Communication, Dr. Austin Tam-George, while addressing Government House correspondents in the state capital, Port Harcourt on Tuesday.
He questioned the rationale behind spending such a whooping amount of money on a dinner while the government under Amaechi could not pay workers’ salary.
According to him, the figures were contained in a hand over note prepared by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Information and Communication under Amaechi.
“A government that did not pay salaries, closed the courts, but the administration had the courage to expend N82million to fund a dinner for Prof Wole Soyinka,” he queried. “These are facts on ground. The Amaechi administration expended the money under the heading of borrowed funds.”
While accusing the opposition All Progressives Congress in the state of trying to steal the people’s mandate, the commissioner stressed that the APC was deliberately misinforming the people of the state through a “massive propaganda machine”.
culled:theheraldng.
Wike face your work and stop trying to distract the very busy Minister!..lol
besides they should show proof because Judging by the state of affiars between the former and the present,its a dog eat dog thingy...
N82 million dt's too much, but i dn't believe this about my Prof.
ReplyDeleteHave they showed any proof for all the people they've been taken in? Or you suddenly have a mouth. All you propaganda machine will one day meet your Waterloo
DeleteEnd time chop chop
DeleteWait didn't this Wike fool get fired?
DeleteStella stop bin biased...
ReplyDeleteWe all know amaechi is your boo but make we hear word abeg..
Don't mind @SDK....
Delete@Ameachi used the money to host his in laws @Soyinka.....
@Soyinka's daughter is his bed mate
I have never seen a human being as petty or as hateful as this Nwike guy! Kai! #Greed&ambition
ReplyDeleteYou must be very stupid for calling Wike names!
DeleteOh! You are certainly the stupid one.is Nwike your mother's boyfriend?
DeleteLmao @ is wike ur mothers boyfriend? Chai
DeleteHahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha...is wike ur mother's boyfriend.This people make una no scatter my belle with laf oh
DeleteWat?????
ReplyDeleteA whopping N82m jus to host One person?
Adonbilivit
Stella leave him to worry the minister oh. If he stole he should answer for it.
ReplyDeleteWhy won't you support Amaechi when he is person? 82M for 3 hour dinner? Thief
ReplyDeleteIf it is true, that is a lot of money to spend on dinner na
ReplyDeleteStella you are just bn biased!!!
ReplyDeleteHim re run time remain small.
ReplyDeleteThey have started again, they want to start fight that they can not win.
ReplyDeletea.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
Prove abeg....
End time query
ReplyDelete82 mil ok
ReplyDeleteStella,stop to dey support bad tin abeg!
Mtchewwwwww!
82m? Inukwa!
ReplyDeleteLet the law take its course if it's true.
Sterra you are bias o...
ReplyDeleteN82M 3-much.
FFK and Metuh talk dem send EFCC now that Wike has spoken will they take him serious, APC remember Eze puo another Eze abata.
They'll debunk it and even if its not N82M, less than it is still 4-much.
Same claims were made by the commissioner on THE FORUM on Nigeria Info today. Like he said,the Rivers State government will write to Prof Soyinka to ascertain if he received any cash at the dinner and ask him to refund same to the government if he did. Let's get it right, the Government is accusing the former administration,not prof Soyinka per se. In the end whoever has questions to answer should do so. That's too much to spend on a dinner please!
ReplyDeleteWhile the amount sounds outrageous and unacceptable..Why will they ask Soyinka to refund a gift that was bestowed him? Whether in cash or whatever? Abeg that's baseless. They should face the government and not the individual.. like u rightly said.
DeleteYour correct my dear...why disturb a man for a gift given to him. Besides he was not there when amaechi collect money from metal cooler.
DeleteOh, so did u ask for proof when they were slandering diezani?
ReplyDelete82m just to host a person.. Unbelieveable
ReplyDeleteStella please stop your useless defence of Amaechi. If this was about someone else, you will be screaming instead of asking for proof. Why are Nigerians so shameless? Changing from black to white depending on who corruption was levelled against. In your little capacity you can not be fair to all, yet you complain about your leaders.
ReplyDeleteStella shut up! Leave Wike alone. Stop posting anything about wike if u can't be reasonable.
ReplyDeleteQuestion is wike still Rivers state governor
ReplyDeleteWow!! Stella did you really make that last comment? If "Wike should face his work & leave Amechi alone" then don't you think Buhari should face his work & leave Dasuki & Metuh alone.
ReplyDeleteAfterall, all the allegations on all the above mentioned names are yet to be proven.
They say there is a handover note in which The dinner hosted for Wole Soyinka by Amechi swallowed a whooping #82 ml & you are not mortified? Choi! I think you should issue Rotimi Amechi a memo. Did Wole Soyinka eat houses?
I guess Wike jacks off whenever he mentions Amaechi. High libido level.
ReplyDeleteWike still on Amaechi's neck?
ReplyDeleteWike so you are still talking. Since you are about to leave, what is your business?? I know Amaechi very well, he knows exactly how to deal with you
ReplyDelete@stella don't tell me Ur defending amechi.becoz u sound like APC member who use dere brain to smoke garri
ReplyDelete@stella ur souding like someone who dey gave part of d money spent.Am specting u wit Amechi.
ReplyDeleteThis Wike is a disgrace to us in this Rivers State. Please tell him to go and finish the Rukpoku road for which he collected money during Amaechi's tenure and didn't construct. Besides, isn't Soyinka worth celebrating? Or they think its 2naira to arrange such ceremonies?
ReplyDeleteStella stop being biased and supporting evil.. Am Rivers not Ikwerre though, Amaechi messed up Rivers State, If the judiciary doesnt make me answer for it, God Almighty will make him Amaechi answer for it. Its different when you work and steal money, but Amaechi didnt do jack. My brother works with RVSG, was owed several month salary, Wike cleared it immediately he got in, What about Roads, Amaechi tried taking the glory of the roads Odili contracted out and paid for. Amaechi didnt construct or award any new road project, even to patch the existing roads no way. Look, i wont continue its just too much, abandoned students on scholarship outside the country. Wike got in an sent them money, cleared their tuition fees and because Amaechi gives you money you are here celebrating him. If you like you post my comment if you like fashi it, you never do when you are called out. I will keep calling you out when you support evil because only people that love you will tell you your faults. Soyinka's state how much have been spent to celebrate his birthday or who in Rivers state birthday has ever been celebrated which such ridiculous amount. Anon 11:34 ,why don't your kindred people celebrate soyinka with at least 1m .
ReplyDelete#thatnigerdeltagirl