Residents of Port Harcourt have been advised to stop drinking garri soaked in cold water for now, because rats that carry the highly contagious Lassa fever virus also like exposed dry garri.
Dr. Furo Green, the Chairman of Rivers State branch of Nigerian Medical Association, NBA, gave this medical advice, while speaking on the Lassa Fever scourge in Port Harcourt, the Rivers State Capital.
Dr Furo Green said the call became necessary as rats that cause Lassa fever are mostly in contact with garri.
“Because you are not sure which garri has been infected by rats, its advisable to stay away. When you want to sip garri, you only pour cold water, add sugar and milk as the case may be.
“When you do that you only succeed in gulping a life virus that can cause Lassa fever. The virus is empowered easily to attack you. Rather, garri should be consumed in the traditional way prepare it well boiled hot water or pour the garri in a pot of boiling hot water and steer it.”
Dr. Green also advised members of the public to store food in closed containers to keep rats at bay. “When you buy foodstuffs like garri, you should pour it into a container that is covered to avoid the garri from being contaminated infected rats”.
He warned members of the public to keep personal hygiene of washing hands, keeping our environment clean of leftover food and other measures.
Since the outbreak of Lassa fever disease, three people have died in Rivers state, claiming the life of a medical doctor with the state-owned Braithwaite Memorial Specialised Hospital (BMHS), Livy Ijamala, on Wednesday January 13 night.
The medical doctor was said to have contracted the fever from a pregnant woman that conducted an emergency Cesarean Section unknown to him that she was infected.
The death of Ijamala brought to three, the number of persons who have died from the disease in the state, as a nursing mother and her two-week-old baby died earlier from the virus.
culled:pmnews.
*How can anyone have heart to soak garri with this Lassa fever going round?I have suspended all garri drinking for now cos i dont know where the garri is coming from...Please i urge you all to comply with this News!
ReplyDeletePARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^
Them dey drink garri with hot water b4....Lolll
lol
DeleteI drank garri ystday sef. I thought since we've had it b4 the lassa fever thingy, it's safe. But once this one finishes no more garri in this house oh.
DeleteLol @ dont drink garri with cold water. Funny statement
ReplyDeleteYes o! Me that like to drink garri av even stopped since.
ReplyDeleteThe best for now is to advice peeps to store foodstuffs in containers in lids .
DeleteChaii. I so much love ijebu garri with akuoyibo, peak milk, kulikuli and chilled water. Mehn but i have to stop drinking it for now biko. My health first biko..
ReplyDeleteU know what's up. I miss drinking garri oh
DeleteGbam! Ijebu garri is the truth! Who drings yellow garri btw? Hian.
DeleteThank God I don't like drinking garri
ReplyDeleteIf garri hungry me to soak, i will soak it. Especially with coconut and milk
ReplyDeleteChei ur head they there
DeleteEven as the thing tough reach for ekpoma then we still dey soak garri.
ReplyDeleteI had garri and fried fish for dinner. Nothing ey happen
Hahahaha fear no let me drink again oh
DeleteWhen I dey drink the garri I no dey remember lassa sef
DeleteLa fresh which set u be ekponsky
DeleteLol@ your second comment La Fresh..lol
DeleteThanks for the info...
ReplyDeleteI was even thinking Garri and groundnut should be added to first aid box bcos those things saves life not knowing rat also has it own plan.
ReplyDeleteHow student go do?
God punish the devil.
That garri up there is enticing. nom nom
ReplyDeleteSome ppl just have garri to saok so Stella leave that talk, they would want to Mk do with what they have, anyway, lol @ ur heading, would they have soaked it with hot water before?
ReplyDeleteThey just spoilt my show, drinking garri with a word enough milk, sugar n groundnut is the koko. Lassa fever pack our load and go oh.
What are you saying in your 2nd paragraph?
Delete*with enough*
DeleteIt is well IJN.
ReplyDeleteIt's funny how people say they live drinking Garri
DeleteBack then in boarding school I never drank garri. I'll rather do gusgus
Who knows gusgus??
You put garri in a plate, add very very little water, salt, Maggi, dey pepper, sardine and blended kulikuli...
Mix well and enjoy
Chai.. After secondary school, even in the University I always ate that. Another northern food I miss is awara and taliya with plenty pepper but they don't sell taliya in my school, we look for ways to get someone buy and bring it for us.
Jesus is Lord. This meals are delish
I really miss taliya and awara
I still do gusgus
I miss my kind hausa friends
They called it danbu
DeleteIsorit!!! Thanks for the info
ReplyDeletemake them get out abeg
ReplyDeleteGarri,cold water,groundnut and peak milk powder na the way forward
#GODWIN™
Noted.
ReplyDeleteThat bn said,can this awareness not come with a picture of soaked Garri and groundnuts?
The picture is highly enticing.
Thank u very much.
Hahahaha the pix was doing me soak garri soak garri. Chei its well
DeleteLolz. Akpiri
DeleteHahaha Jbaby and Blog Addict,akpiri Ibe m.
DeleteTrans:
Fellow long throats.
But it's llacking milk..so I no follow.. kikiki
DeleteThis is serious.
ReplyDeleteAbeg some people still depend on garri for survival!! For now all these people shld look for another meal.
ReplyDeleteWhat about the poor Nigerians whose only means of feeding is soaking garri daily??? This virus is terrible. Nigerians must work together to ensure a swift and complete eradication. Kenya is blessed!
ReplyDeleteLucinda
Ughe. I wish you understand what it means in my language.... I can imagine how blessed Kenya is.
Deletesstella I love garri with groundnut and milk....i take it everyday sef
ReplyDeleteAww.bad news for moi.me that can't do without garri.God,pls provide a permanent solution for us soonest
ReplyDeleteStella stop please.... you are sounding as if you don't know your people and turning deaf ear to what's vital to them. Na me this lassa do bad. Upon my severe eye problem, my love for garri ijebu is glorious.
ReplyDeleteDrinking garri my best... Groundnut, enough milk and Sugar.... yummy
ReplyDeleteFor all them garri drinkers.
ReplyDeleteEveryone should be careful especially those that usually taste garri before buying..
Wow see as the garri gallant
ReplyDeleteHahahaha
DeleteLol...
DeleteChai! See wickedness
ReplyDeleteThis is difficult meeh considering the fact that most people rely on garri soaking for daily survival.
ReplyDeleteSome people only have garri to soak.
ReplyDeleteWhich one is 'don't drink garri with cold water?' Garri with hot water na eba na.
ReplyDeletePeople should just quit drinking garri for now, that's all.
Sensitization workshop should be taken to the market place. Market women/men should be educated on the need to store their wares in a clean environment & properly cover them to prevent rat droppings & urine.
Exactly Market women, transporters, manufacturers
DeleteStory story.
ReplyDeleteOne thing must kill a man.
Garrison soaking has been suspended in our household till further notice. Lord save ur children.
ReplyDeleteSee what Lassa fever has caused to struggling Nigerian students. Wetin dem wan dey fall on when everywhere don dry.
ReplyDeleteGarri with cold water, groundnut and milk can quench taste and heat during hot weather.
And I drank garri two weeks ago hian God help your children oh
ReplyDeleteI drank on tuesday and less than 24hrs ago
DeleteThank God I have enough garri at home that can last me for six months.
ReplyDeleteHopefully, the virus will have been defeated.
#cantdowithoutgarri
Good to know
ReplyDeleteLucinda, Thanks for letting us know that Kenya is a very affluent country and there are no poor people in Kenya.
ReplyDeleteYou need to come down from that high chair you are sitting on. What is the population of Kenya? Compare it to Nigeria and tell us if things will be very different.
U actually believe she's from Kenya? Lol.
DeleteAbeg the people I pity are those selling garri o.
Abeg I still draBk gari yesterday.i asked Iya ijebu about her gari. I told her has she heard what the govt said about Gari! B4 I landed Iya Ijebu attack me oooh, say no be dis kain gari dem dey talk, say her own gari na pan fried, I say no problem, before I commot dere throw some put for mouth to dey sure of the crunchiness, na so I com reach house, bring out correct groundnut cold water sugar push am down oooh, really nice, 1hr later my sis ask me say I don drink the gari I say yes now, she sef come follow me do the same, na so dis headache start oooh! Eye come dey turn me! My sister come dey fear,she say why I no tell am before she sef drink the gari, who wan die *looool*
ReplyDeleteHahhhahahahahahaaha
Deletethis is so funny.😂
DeleteMehn... I miss Ijebu Garri together with milk, cold water and better dry groundnut. Anyway, would just take a chill pill till this who lassa palava ends. Meanwhile we are organizing our last free food business seminar for January Click Here to Reserve Your
ReplyDeleteFree Seat - Only 25 Slots Available
See as the groundnut in that picture just stand Akimbo.
ReplyDeleteAhh, have had my ijebu garri since last year and have been drinking it with beans. I never get time for am now. But I sure sey infected rat no near mine.
ReplyDeleteI've gotten over garri for years now...but nna ehn, dis image Stella used ain't helping matters. once I get home, na to go drink garri o.