Kano higher sharia court on Tuesday sentenced Abdulaziz Dauda, popularly known as Inyass, to death by hanging after he was convicted of blaspheming Prophet Mohammed.
The trial was conducted in camera.
Inyass was arrested on August 18, 2015 in Abuja and brought to Kano to face trial on a two-count charge of blasphemy and inciting crisis.
Hundreds of Muslim youths had burnt the sharia court located at Rijiyar Lemo area of Kano in protest against the “blasphemous comments” allegedy made by Inyass, a leader of the Tijjaniyya sect.
He reportedly committed the offence at the Maulud festivity on June 31, 2015.Counsel to the state government, Lamido Abba Soron Dinki, said five witnesses, including the police, testified before the court.
Dauda’s counsel, who concealed his identity, refused to comment on the judgment.Nine suspected accomplices were sentenced to death by the same court which delayed further judgement against Inyass.
He was at large at the time of the initial trial.They all have the right to appeal against the death sentence.
culled:the cable.
This Judgement is harsh..Too Harsh!!
Na wa o... Hmmmmm.
ReplyDeleteDefinitely harsh
DeleteToo harsh in my opinion
DeleteGhen ghen. This nation don dey take style turn to sharia nation, no more freedom of worship abi na freedom of expression den callam. Na sidon look i dey.
ReplyDeleteThere is a thin line between Freedom of worship and inciting violence. That is why we are battling with Boko Haram today.
DeleteThey too are exercising their own freedom of worship by killing others.
All they are good at is Just to kill,kill,kill....Take lives. Tufiakwa
ReplyDeleteN Nigerian law will keep quiet? Whose law do we even follow in Nigeria, Sharia or d constitution?
ReplyDeleteMy dear forward dis question to d president of Nig.
DeleteIranuuuuu...Abashaaaaa!
ReplyDeleteNa wao o....
ReplyDeleteThey say islam is a religion of peace?Ok*in lil kesh's voice*
ReplyDeleteMay God help us
ReplyDeletef u don't know what to say, just keep shut. There has always been Sharia Law in the North...Although, Yes, the judgement is HARSH.... Moreover, the person in question is a high Islam cleric, so he knows the impliction.
ReplyDeleteShut up biko. He knows the implications? Really? What do u people serve?
DeleteMotunde can you listen to yourself?
DeleteYou people are in slavery in the name of religion. Gosh!!! God is LOVE...
So is kano not part of Nigeria? Why are they using sharia law and not d Nigerian law???
ReplyDeleteVery good
ReplyDeleteThis is what will eventually transcend to other parts of the country in no distant time if we keep quiet for peace to reign. We are gradually turning into an Islamic state under our watchful eyes. We have a choice though @BIAFRA......... beckons
ReplyDeleteOh lord have mercy on him.
ReplyDeletewhy blaspheme againt Mohammed when you know these animals can die for any blasphemy. God receive the soul of Inyass when he is killed.
ReplyDeleteHian! Unto what nau....
ReplyDeleteDeliberate killings upandan...
ReplyDeleteI don't even understand what is going on in this country again, which law are we even practicing in Nigeria? Well, they shall die by their own sword.
ReplyDeleteThe constitution binds every Nigerian. However,shariah law binds both moslems and practitioners of other faith who submit to its authority. Submission to the authority of shariah law by non moslems isnt uncommon especially where it relates to business transactions or commonly where a crime is committed against the state.
ReplyDeleteThe story long sha but this is supposed to be a response to bv chidimna grace and pidgin bae.
Hmmmm this Muslims eeeeehhhhhh
ReplyDeleteMay I also add that shariah law is recognised and given full effect by the Nigerian constitution to protect the rights of moslems. Please note that Nigeria os supposed to be a secular state but in practice...
ReplyDeleteSay it now? Are you afraid?
DeleteMuslims always crying foul, with their bloodthirsty religion. Mteeeewww!
Is Nigeria really a secular nation. Where do we draw the line between religion and fundamental human right
ReplyDeleteWicked set of people
ReplyDeleteThat doesn't concern any non-muslim bcos even all d accuse were Muslims. And d law is not meant for entire Nigeria, is meant for any state that care to follow sharia. Ridiculing prophet Muhammed is not allow at all in Islam.
ReplyDeleteThe accused was first human before he became a Muslim. If Your "Allah" is "god" enough, let him fight for himself. Why do you keep shedding blood in his name and yet you are supporting it. You see why it contradicts "the religion of peace" mantra? If he's the God the whole universe like you all claim, but worshiped in another way, am sure he's not happy about this.
DeleteDear God, pls create another planet and stuff it with only Muslims. Let them eat themselves if they like. Thank you.
More like the accused is first a Nigerian before a Muslim. Smh for those people that even have the mind to defend these barbaric acts. Tomorrow, they will tell u their religion is a religion of peace. Mtsheeeeeew.
DeleteAnon 10:39, why did the israelites keep fighting the palestines in the bible? Why didn't they leave God to fight it for them?
DeletePhilistines you mean? That was then, since christ came, all forms of shedding of blood in the name of God was abolished. That is what is expected of any sane and humane religion.
DeleteSince human beings have been ruling themselves based on what seem right and sensible, arbitrary killings have long been stopped at all levels.
Why Islam is still thousands of years back is what I don't get. A why it followers still follow blindly and "mumuishly" is so absurd to me.
Nee more clarification?
violent religion...all they know is violence, kill and force...
ReplyDeleteYou forgot to add bloodsucking....
DeleteDear father Abraham, your mistake of going into Hagar who gave birth to Ishmael is costing the whole world PEACE....
Can it be reversed sir?
Sharia is more important now.nobody will talk concerning this.these Muslims can kill given the slightest excuse.are they God if U blasphem against God allow God to fight himself makeuna no dey carry the matter on their head.they just love to she'd blood
ReplyDeleteEnd time judgement
ReplyDeleteIn this modern time? Ok na
ReplyDeleteMuslims! Kai.
ReplyDeleteWhich one is Tijaniyya sect again? Must this people form sect within their own religion abi is this Tijaniyya sect a non-islamic group? I dont understand abeg. If they are also muslims, where is the blasphemy against Muhammed coming from or aren't they his followers too?
ReplyDeleteBTW, the report says the blasphemy occurred during Maulud celebration in June,,,so which other Maulud did they celebrate again on Dec 24th abi dem born Muhammed two times in one year? Kai, these people are just too confused.
If they are also muslims, let them continue killing themselves jare.
If truly that was the offence he committed then he committed grave sin
ReplyDeleteThese Sharia law is against the principle of a democracy.
ReplyDeleteSharia law governs Muslims
ReplyDeleteAnd not those who aren't Muslims
I'm sure he knew the implications since he is a Muslim
But the law is harsh
Very harsh I must say
For we are not suppose to fight God's battle
Christians don't have time to start having laws to govern the because we believe in following the laws of the land...
God take control
ReplyDeleteAmerica should vote for Donald Trump so that he can implement some of the things he said. That way, some Africa countries will sit-up and enact good laws that will help 'em.
ReplyDeleteBlasphemy ke! #smh
This unacceptable. Nigeria is a circular state. As a citizen of this country the man in question has a freedom to say whatever he wants to say. if Mohammed is powerful he should come and fight for himself not bunch of saikos and derailed minded fanatics should come and fight for him under the pretence of religiousim.