Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Government Ends Kerosene Subsidy, Pegs Price At N83 Per Litre

Monday, January 25, 2016

Federal Government Ends Kerosene Subsidy, Pegs Price At N83 Per Litre

The Federal Government over the weekend, hiked the price of Household Kerosene (HHK) to N83 per litre from N50 per litre, thereby, officially ending subsidy on the product.

The Petroleum Products Pricing Regulatory Agency, PPPRA , in its product pricing template released, weekend, however, stated that the N83 per litre price applies only to the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), meaning that other petrol stations and dealers can sell higher than the stipulated amount.

The hike in the price of kerosene came at a time when the price of crude oil had dropped to record low, with the price of petroleum products, such as kerosene, fuel and diesel, among others, dropping significantly in a number of countries, like the United States.

-Vanguard

Please can someone explain to me what this means?I mean removing subsidy or leaving it,what difference would it make?

38 comments:

1. This is good.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. This administration is a joke. It will surely get worst. Liar Mohammed will soon run out of lies.

3. Another hardship again, oga gan oo

4. Gud for dem.

Wizkid is a dad again, sdk where re thou?

5. Removing subsidy means it's no longer subsidized which means it's gonna be costly.

6. No difference at all. my people have been buying it for N130 per litre for the past 5 years. So removing the subsidy does not stop those idiots from selling above N100

7. Just so sad. Took my son to school and saw his Aunty marking assignment for other students. It's so heartbreaking. His books are 1500 so cheap yet I can't afford it. I feel very terrible right now.

8. Just so sad. Took my son to school and saw his Aunty marking assignment for other students. It's so heartbreaking. His books are 1500 so cheap yet I can't afford it. I feel very terrible right now.

9. I be think say this man say him no know wetin dem dey call subsidy, now him don dey remove am from kerosene. we are watching oh.

10. Mrs. Kork, both the petrol & kerosene subsidy are the. unimaginable frauds of the century, the so-called petroleum subsidy at the inception of Goodluck Jonathans administration is bound to top any list comprising institutional and official robbery in a governmental setting. The issue of oil subsidy scam is not even an allegation; it is a fact that the subsidy amount miraculously rose from N300 billion to N2.3 trillion in just six months of the Goodluck Jonathan regime where Allison-Madueke served with a juicy portfolio.

For several years now, the country has been incurring huge subsidy bills for kerosene and its citizens are not getting the benefit. Instead, the country has been financing ‘rent’ for the middlemen.

It's true that it was only sustained for personal gains and as another avenue for siphoning public funds!

Oga Jona & his cronnies really ran our economy aground! Kai!

*Ghanaman signing out*

1. I thought u'r from Ghana why not mind your country

11. None. 50 bucks was largely a phantom price anyway, getting at that price takes days of queuing or connection & at few stations.

Subsidy has been nothing but fraud from day one, & it's most glaring in kerosene where it was heavy & yet people buy at way above subsidised rate. Truth is subsidy benefits only the business people & select government officials, not the masses.

OBJ is largely to blame: he saw it for the fraud it actually is early in his first tenure, but because of personal gain & it being an easy way to fund his then budding party, he let it be, no, he institutionalized it. Of course bankers too knew, but what do they care!? Banks & bankers are in the middle of naija's fraud & corruption problems. I no wan tok, this rejuvenated harmattan calls for whisky laced tea! & deep making out...

12. Removing it or not, we've never bought it at 50 talk more of now that is being removed....meaning those filling station selling @ 120 per litre can now make it 150-170 per litre...... Rubbish

13. Hehehekiokiokiobababahahaha. Blame Gej please. Apc change

14. Abeg make dem come subsidize gas instead. Tired of paying 3k for 12.5kg that won't even last longer than 3weeks.

1. Wetin you dey cook? Ours last for 2months and it's just 2 of us

2. 3 weeks! Do you run a mama put? Or orphanage? Or ur family just loves food!? Change where u buy & see how long it lasts, try 2/3 different vendors if u must. No wonder ur always cranky!

3. My house is a full house oh, lafresh. Someone is always cooking something, like almost every hour of d day, If it's not indomie, it's plantain frying. Even tho we mix with using electric cooker, d longest time it could last is a month.

15. Let it come down to 40 naira per litre so I can buy a car finally. Nonsense apc

1. So when its 40 bucks u'll fuel your car with...kerosene!? Harmattan na bastard! You didn't read d article babe.u need hot tea, or sex, or hot tea after sex!

2. Anonymous yes o! My car go de use kerosene...

3. Abacha stove and firewood to my recue. Abeg. I no fit shout! If visitor say she will not eat my food because my pot is dirty, good, it means more for me.#side eyes to Sdk.#

16. Foolish government

Stupid APC supporters

No be the thing wen @Jonathan be wan do be that that time...when APC and gullible Nigerians no allow am do

Is that not what APC are now doing?

They better remove fuel subsidy too.... There should be no subsidy at all

17. Removing subsidy is better because the billions allocated yearly for subsidies is enough to building one refinery.

18. DPK has always been subsidized by FG to be sold at 50/L.....and remember that the masses usually buy it at 120/L
    When it's at 50/L we buy at 120/L,now that it's 83/L the price might now get to 180/L.

The bottom line is this;now that the subsidy has been removed.... DPK will now be more expensive

19. Its better self. there will now be a lot of competitors. The price will come down

20. The thing is still cheaper on the international market