As the ongoing probe of $2.1billion arms deals continues, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) yesterday gave “ThisDay” publisher Prince Nduka Obaigbena a two-week ultimatum to refund N670million allegedly collected for unexecuted contracts.
Obaigbena told investigators that he never benefitted from slush funds from the Office of the National Security Adviser (ONSA).
He said the administration of ex-President Goodluck Jonathan paid the said sums to “ThisDay” and the Newspapers Proprietors Association of Nigeria (NPAN) as compensation for the bombing of the newspaper house by Boko Haram and the seizure of copies of many newspapers by the military.
He said there was a presidential proclamation by former President Jonathan that “ThisDay” will be compensated for the loss to Boko Haram.
He said Jonathan made the pledge after an inspection visit to the newspaper.
Obaigbena was quizzed for two days on the activities of General Hydrocarbons and inflow into the company’s account from ONSA.
A source, who spoke in confidence, said: “What we are investigating is General Hydrocarbons. Records from the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC) indicated that Nduka Obaigbena is a director of the company.
“ONSA reported that General Hydrocarbons was one of the companies that received payments purportedly for contracts without contract documents or approval.
“Between December 8, 2014 and May 23, 2015, Obaigbena received N670million from ONSA. The reasons stated on the payment mandates are as follows: First tranche of N150million(environmental security project) and the remaining tranches(payment for energy consultancy)
“Obaigbena said he was paid compensation of N550 million for the bombing of “ThisDay” office in Abuja but there is no nexus between this payment and the money he collected for contracts. None of the sums shows that what he got from ONSA was compensation.
“The complaint before us is that the company was given money without contractual agreement.
“By all records, Obaigbena was paid for unexecuted contracts. It is government’s funds and he has to refund the N670million, “ an EFCC official said last night.
Another source privy to the investigation said: “The EFCC has given Obaigbena a maximum of two weeks to refund the amount he collected from ONSA.
“Obaigbena has signed an undertaking to refund the money in question. The anti-graft commission has also granted him an administrative bail.”
On the payment made to NPAN, the source simply said: “Investigation is still in progress.”
The source added that EFCC operatives were courteous and Obaigbena was friendly and unperturbed during the investigation.
Thenationonline cullage
*They paid him this money because Boko Haram bombed his building?and the actual victims of boko haram got nothing?This is all BOLLOCKS,President Jonathan should just prepare his speech on defending all these allegations heaped on his head...Nigerians need to know what happened and why tax payers money was shared like cake amongst a few people..This is wrong!
BROAD DAY LIGHT STEALING!
Hisssssss!
Goodluck to him. EFCC is determined to collect the money. All other monies they have been collecting what have they done with it.
ReplyDeleteI am watching you guys in 3d
*prepare* u mean Stella.
DeleteThis matter don tire me. Nduka you haf enter one chance o
Pls what's the email add to send IHN?
DeleteBillions today, millions tomorrow. I no see any. I don tire.
ReplyDeleteLaFresh how you go see any with your strong face like man
DeleteI heard that the circumcised female blogger was told to return some N400M she collected
ReplyDeleteMay God heal your venomous soul, jelly evil soul. Till you die, you will NEVER make 1% of what she has. Angry frustrated person.
DeleteAnon 10.50, you sound like Laura Ikeji. Please shut up!
DeleteHis facial expression and the report though
ReplyDeleteNothing wey person no go hear!
ReplyDeleteThe more stories like dis come out,the more I wanna ask Oga Jona "How could u?" HOW?
ReplyDeleteUna wicked oooooo
Extremely wicked.
Delete@The Carpenter's wife, leave Jonathan out of your miserable life. Your fada give him money to keep for you,?
DeleteStella the same you that wanted Jonathan back... Shame on you and all gej supporters. The truth will b out soon while I watch from LA!!! May God help my country cause I'll love 2 go der some day. If you like don't post.
ReplyDeleteLet him pay back,bunch of thieves.
ReplyDeleteNa wa!
ReplyDeleteStella the same you that wanted Jonathan back... Shame on you and all gej supporters. The truth will b out soon while I watch from LA!!! May God help my country cause I'll love 2 go der some day. If you like don't post buh at least u've read it!!!
ReplyDeleteImagine!
ReplyDeleteBut he's wise to agree to refund.
Good to know
ReplyDeleteWhy didn't you people make noise when president Jonathan announced he was going to compensate him after his 2 offices were bombed in 2 different location??
ReplyDeleteI still remembered I watched it when the president visited and he told him they will compensate him Because he lost 2 buildings, materials and equipments.
The issue here is why compensate him with monies meant for arms when soldiers were dying at the war front??????
DeleteTo add to your point, how much were the actual victims who've lost lives, limbs, and virtually all their possessions compensated?!
DeleteDifference between Obaigbena and Metuh.
ReplyDeleteThis guy would not refund shishi, watch. He has blown the money on women and fine things of life. He's just buying time to see how he can blackmail his next victim. This uncle harsh no be small. My aunties hate his guts. And they swore that he would not pay
ReplyDeleteThen it's simple! He goes to jail and they use bail to reclaim the funds . The beautiful thing about this government is that they don't care if you rot in jail wearing handcuffs , justice must be served
DeleteAm not a fan of Buhari but who ever wanted Jonathan Back sure does not love this country, that idiot just opened Nigeria up for everybody to milk us dry. If GEJ, okonjo and madueke does not end up in kirikiri then Buhari has failed.
ReplyDeleteYou're not a fan so your opinions don't count anyway
DeleteThis is just the beginning for all these looters. Waiting for the major drama to unfold in March when EFCC releases list of politicians who have property in Dubai complied by Dubai govt. I see fayose and ffk heading for another serious court case
ReplyDeleteHmmmn all those him baby mamas and numerous girlfriends don chop de moni finish.