The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has rejected the judgment of the Court of Appeal, Owerri Division which declared Alex Otti, the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) winner of the state governorship elections.
GOV IKPEAZU... |
The commission has therefore asked the Supreme Court to set aside the judgment of the Court of Appeal and its place to uphold the judgment of the Abia Governorship Election Tribunal which upheld INEC's declaration of Dr Okezie Ipeazu of the Peoples Democratic Party as winner of the election.
In a brief or argument settled by INEC's lead counsel, Chief Adegboyega Awomolo, SAN who led a team of other senior lawyers including, Dr Livy Uzoukwu, SAN, A.B. Mahmoud, SAN, H.M. Liman, SAN, Ahmed Raji, SAN among others, the commission said that it was Ikpeazu who won the election and not Otti.
INEC informed the Supreme Court that another panel of the Court of Appeal upheld elections in respect of House of Assembly seats in Osisioma Local Government Area and Isiala Ngwa North Local Government Area which took place on the same day the governorship election was conduct.
It will be recalled that in declaring Otti winner of the election, the Court nullified the governorship election in the local government areas stated above.
INEC said: "Before concluding, we crave the indulgence of the court to very respectfully refer to an intriguing issue.
"It is the fact that the court below, though differently constituted confirmed on appeal elections in respect of House of Assembly seats in Osisioma LGA and Isiala North LGA which took place simultaneously with the Abia Governorship same day, time, in the same polling units and where voters were accredited using the same voters; registers and card readers."
INEC further said that the Court of Appeal was wrong in law when it cancelled the results of elections in three local government areas of Abia State.
It said "The conclusion that Otti and not Ikpeazu won majority of the valid votes cast at the election is neither borne out of the record nor justified under the law."
According to the commission, the court of appeal should have dismissed Otti's appeal having found that a Returning Officer has no power to cancel election results having regard to the provisions of Section 68 (1) of the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.
The commission also said that Otti's notice of appeal at court of appeal was incompetent and should have been dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.
*Please if you are in Abia state and have proof of any ongoing work in progress,send it to me,thank you.
This present judiciary delivering judgements that dont make sense
ReplyDeleteThe plot thickens..and 2 think is only pdp governors that they hunt for.
ReplyDeleteI don't have any photo. But from what I heard from my people in Aba, Dr Okezie is working. He has started road repairs in Aba which has been a major issue. Aba was abandoned for the past 16 years.The face of Aba within these short period as a governor is looking better.Lectures that was owned for many months from last administration, particularly in Abia polytechnic, has been paid. Let's give him a chance.
ReplyDeleteI was home for Christmas o! Abia d joke of Nigeria in only 7months looked very visibly different.
DeleteLet these people not take us bake to d dark ages. I am neither a politician nor from d same senatorial zone as Ikpeazu but my prayer is GOD BLESS THIS MAN, IKPEAZU!
Long live Abia State. Otti and cohorts, pls keep off!!!
*back
DeleteYes Stella, okezie is really working. The difference is so clear, all dis Apga pple shud rest.
DeleteOkezie is ready to work
Negodu politics. Wetin concern me
ReplyDeleteIf u need proof of ongoing work, come to Aba and u will find d proof everywhere.
ReplyDeleteOkay
ReplyDeletei just got back from abia yesterday and the present governor is working wonders there in this short period of time! you won't recognise the roads in aba again! my goodness! i couldn't believe it! they should allow this man stay and continue what he is doing! but they should round up the former governors and flog them in the market square! if ikpeazu can achieve so much in these few months, then what the hell have the others been doing for years!
ReplyDeleteOnu, Ejoor, Orji and Orji need to b flogged in public.
DeleteAswear, dey shud be thrashed openly.
DeleteEnter your comment...ikpazu is the governor whether Abians like it or not
ReplyDeleteThis otti gut Dat has suddenly turned pastor. Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeew. Every time, "we thank God that d devil has bin defeated" please who is D devil? D court should order a rerun abeg.
ReplyDeleteINEC is defending the money they are paid for rigging. Yes, okezie is working, but it's definitely a stolen mandate.
ReplyDeleteGbam!
DeleteEnter your reply...okezie is seriously working but then abians voted apga. wht otti is fighting iS what happened then not now
DeleteINEC has played its role.
ReplyDeleteNow kindly allow the court of law determine the winner.
Okay
ReplyDeleteOtti won! Even Ikpeazu knows it. Ikpeazu is working but with a stolen mandate. Abeg he should he should return what he stole
ReplyDeleteNigerians are too sentimental. He is working with a stolen mandate. If court rules in his favour he will stop working. He is only deceving gullible nigerians. ...... Am nt a politican, neither am i frm Abia state. Dis is jst my opinion
ReplyDeleteDo you have understanding issue? How is that stolen mandate? You nullify the results of three local governments for the gubernatorial election saying no election held that day yet you uphold the other election that held in the same local governments on the same day! Please how does that sound? Very ridiculous really
DeleteWe abians voted for Alex otti Bcos we are tired of pdp though okezie is working he stole the mandate hoooooohaaaaaaa. OTTI is d governor elect. Inec should continue defending d millions of naira d collected to help okezie rig the election.
DeleteAnon I want to leave you with one word," God cannot be mocked" you and ikpeazu should stop deceiving yourselves with the Apian way roads he is building that will not even stand the test of time. The kind of roads you are seeing in Aba is it the type you have where you are?
DeleteIt's good that Inec is contradicting themselves.
Stella, will proof of work eliminate the fact that this man rigged election? I don't know where you are coming from, please leave sentiments aside
Otti joined APGA "AFTER" he lost the PDP primaries to Ikpeazu. That move smacks of desperation and intention to loot. Even though I hate PDP, I don't like Otti and his crew. Them too like money. God please protect Ikpeazu, STOLEN MANDATE OR NOT!
ReplyDeleteIs it only aba that is in abia state. He should do that ikot ekpene - oboro road. D road is bad. Was there during d Christmas break
ReplyDeleteAunty Stella, your heading is not appropriate. It should have been "INEC appealed..." and not "rejected..." take note
ReplyDeleteIkpeazu is working bcos his ass is on fire. PDP has ruined that state, let another party work! Besides,the former governors should be probed especially that thief called Orji.
ReplyDeletePls otti is d winning of abia state governorship election, so ikpeazu should keep off. Ikpeazu is jst dere bcos of his god fathers who wouldn't let him work. But bring all d allocation to dem as pay back.
ReplyDeleteIkpeazu is working biko! Abia has changed within few months. Otti biko keep off. Go n drink champayne with ur oga/sponsor dangote. Abia pple know all ur plans with dangote.
ReplyDeleteI hope you have dug your grave already because the next gov. Of Abia is otti.
DeleteIS THIS NOT CONTEMPT OF COURT? IS INEC NOT TRYING TO PREEMPT SUPREME COURT JUDGEMENT AFTER BEING HEAVILY COMPROMISED BY T.A ORJI/IKPEAZU CAMP??? INEC IS MAKING A BIG RIDICULE OF ITSELF. IT WAS NOT COMPETENT ENOUGH TO CONDUCT A FREE AND FAIR ELECTION IN ABIA STATE, YET IT HAS THE EFFRONTERY TO COME UP NOW TO TELL US WHO WON AND WHO DID NOT WIN. I MUST CONFESS, THE ACTIVITIES OF INEC AND ITS OFFICIALS IN ABIA STATE HAS BEEN TO SAY THE LEAST, DISGUSTING.