Monday, December 14, 2015

World News Roundup Today - 14/12/2015

I love Monday headline News!

**LOCAL NEWS**

THE CABLE

*Tension in Kano over killing of Shi'ia leader

*Soldiers 'kill' Zakzaky's son in Zaria clampdown

*Probe Jonathan if you want to, and stop going round in circles, PDP tells Buhari

*FG: Naira depreciation caused by Jonathan

*Some broken hearts never mend

*Violence in Zaria as soldiers 'arrest' Shi'ia leader

*EFCC witch-hunting me just because I refused to join APC, says Tompolo

*REPORTER'S DIARY: Boko Haram victims' long, endless wait for respite

*Like Afghanistan and Iran, Gambia becomes Islamic republic

*Boko Haram 'ambushes' soldiers in Borno

*Sylva to INEC: Cancel poll in 'Dickson's zones

*Obaigbena: Dasuki's payments were for Boko Haram attack, 12 affected newspapers

*Asari-Dokubo to Buhari: Boko Haram will be child's play if Bayelsa poll is rigged for Sylva

*I won't support any form of media censorship, says Saraki

*At 260/dollar, naira falls to lowest in 42 years

*CBN 'to create jobs' for 1m graduates in 2016

*Yaya Toure joins Okocha, Kanu as 2-time winners of BBC award

*Platini loses appeal, cannot be FIFA president

*Who released, killed and ate our lion

*Appeal court sacks all Rivers PDP senators

*EFCC could declare Tompolo wanted 'in a week

*Grieving Stephen Keshi speaks on late wife: My love for her was at first sight

*In one day, 130 bills pass first reading at house of reps

*Ojukwu, Ifeajuna 'resurrect' in 'The Encounter

*Mourinho, Terry to attend Lampard's wedding

*Wande Coal: I love Don Jazzy' I miss him

PM NEWS

*Why we are buying N4.7billion worth of cars ' Nigerian Senate

*Ibrahimovic stars as unbeaten PSG thrash Lyon 5-1

*Christian female fighters take on IS in Syria

*One Week After: Whereabout of abducted Nollywood star, Prince Eke, unknown

*Bayelsa Polls: PDP faults Sylva's letter to INEC, says he can't be governor

*Buhari lauds Nigeria's Under-23 team

*Security situation in Zaria under control ' Nigerian Army

*Nigerian xenophobic victim in South Africa cries out for help

*Jonathan's govt had reached the point of impunity ' Ex-PDP national chairman

*Saraki, Okowa harp on unity, empowerment of Nigerians

*Nigerian troops arrest Shi'ite sect leader, kill 2 aides

*Jigawa to distribute 7,000 computers to students

*Oyedepo curses fraudsters taking advantage of his church

*Ashafa, Ayinde, others for NIS luncheon

*Massive looting by PDP cause of economic downturn, naira depreciation ' FG

*Gridlock: Lagos approves bridges for Ajah, Abule Egba

*Trending: Okonjo-Iweala dancing to 'Chop My Money

*Courts resolve 30 divorce suits in Kwara community

*Atiku congratulates Olu of Warri

*Buhari, Okowa charge monarchs on peace, security at coronation of new Olu of Warri

*Outrage over killing of Nigerian housewife in South Africa

*Don proffers solution to youth unemployment in Nigeria

*55 nations participated in Shiloh 2015 Convention ' Oyedepo

*Rivers APC dedicates victory at Appeal Courts to Adube family, other martyrs

*Fashola on a facility tour of Egbin Power Plant

*Fashola sets agenda for power, housing, road infrastructure in 2016

*Aisha's governorship will boost women participation in politics

*Sylva tells INEC to declare winner of Bayelsa poll

*78 persons regain freedom from prisons in Nasarawa State

INFORMATION NIGERIA

*The Nollywood Actress Who Wants To Marry Pastor Chris

*3 LASU Academic Staff Faces Suspension For Anti-Union Activities

*Endowed Actress Adaora Ukoh Holds Secret Baby Shower

*Kashamu Declares Support For Buhari's War Against Corruption, Probe Of Dasuki, Others

*Male Student Arrested For Impersonating Oyo First Lady

* Genevieve Nnaji Hook Up With Idris Elba, Iweala At Beast Of No Nation Premiere

*Mariah Carey Shares Loved-up Photo With Billionaire Boyfriend James Packer

*Nollywood Actress Chika Ike Splurges On Post Birthday Getaway

*Christian Elders Urge FG Biafra Agitators A Fair Hearing

*Meet The Woman Who Allegedly Broke Diddy And Cassie Up

*A Minister Under Jonathan Shared Over N1bn For Last Election ' Lai Mohammed

*Donald Trump & Saudi Billionaire Prince In Twitter Feud, Calls Trump 'A Disgrace To The US

*Bishop Oyedepo Is Planning To Build
100,000 Seat Stadium-like Auditorium

*White Man Spotted In Benin Market Shopping For His Nigerian Wife

DAILY TRUST

*APC can still win Bayelsa governorship - Frank

*Kogi gov-elect promises industrial revolution

*Why we advocate capital punishment for treasury looters - NLC President

*APC defeats PDP at Jibia by-election

*PDP wants military roles in Bayelsa poll probed

*Enugu APC rejects LG care-taker cttees

*Appeal Court upholds Adajis election

*CBN bars BDCs from operating branch offices

*Masari dissolves boards of 15 state owned micro finance banks

*CBN, banks agree on N300bn for 2016 agric lending

*FG promises to pay electricity debts

*Fuel scarcity pushed inflation to 9.4% in November NBS

*Subsidy removal now will bring hardship to Nigerians

*CSR: Practice what you preach, CBN tells banks

*Buhari, Glo congratulate Dream Team VI
Victorious Dream Team return today

*Start Rio preparation now, Toro tells NSC, NFF

*Arsenal sweep aside Villa to go top

*Joshua crushes Whyte to take British heavyweight title

*Grevers sets world record in Duel

*McGregor knocks out Aldo, becomes world champion

**WORLD NEWS**

ALJAZEERA

*French far-right flops at regional election run-off

*Twitter warns of state-sponsored attacks for first time

*Finally, the EU stages an Israel
intervention

*Russian warship fires warning shots near Turkish vessel

*Dozens of Syrian civilians killed in air
strikes

*Islamabad's Christian slums face
demolition

*Gambia's president declares Islamic
statehood

*Why is OPEC refusing to cut oil
production?

*Russia: Old foe or new ally?

*Turkmenistan launches $10bn gas
pipeline to South Asia

*Saudi Arabia elects first female politicians

*Fighting ISIL needs more than air
strikes

*Visa-waiver ban won't stop terrorism

*Irish citizen on hunger strike turns 20 in
Egypt prison

*A Moroccan village's long fight for water
rights

*Letter from Paris: 'We want to move on'

*Fears grow over press freedom in South
Africa

GUARDIAN INTERNATIONAL

*French regional elections / Front National makes no gains in final round of regional elections

*Germany / Angela Merkel dismisses reported US request for
more help against Isis

*Russia / Warship fires warning shots at Turkish trawler to avoid collision

*US news / Three years after Sandy Hook, Congress stalls on guns but states offer hope

*Saudi Arabia / Woman wins seat in election

*Russia / No Turkish fabric to make anti-Turkish T-shirts, say
Russian designers

*South Africa / South Africa says
#ZumaMustFall after shock sacking of finance minister

*Tajikistan / Tajik president and his family to get life-long legal immunity

*Ethiopia / Violent clashes in Ethiopia over 'master plan' to expand Addis

*Another chilling year of killings and attacks on journalists

*National Churches Trust awards Grade A listed Scottish church
with £40,000 UK

*Ten children among 45 civilians killed by Syrian regime strikes - monitoring group Middle East and North Africa

*President Zuma hires South Africa's third finance chief in a week

*Man killed by LA County deputies was armed and presented threat, officials say

*Saudi Arabia elects up to 17 female councillors in historic election

*Spain arrests man known as 'The Nurse' for forced abortions on Colombia rebels

*Pakistan market bomb leaves 22 dead and scores wounded

ROUND UP

*1st women elected in Saudi Arabia - CNN

*A New World Beckons - Huffington Post

*Actually, Scalia had a point - CNN

*Africa's booming fast food scene - CNN

*African food: The next gastronomic trend - BBC

*Again, CBN Suspends Bdcs From Dollar Sales - Daily Independent

*Alibaba is buying South China Morning Post for $266 million - Business Insider

*American Pharoah Wins Sports Illustrated's Online Poll for Sportsman of the Year - Forbes

*American singer Raphael Saadiq pays tribute to Fela at BET Experience Africa 2015 concert - NET

*Are Apps The New Gurus' The Rise Of Self-Help Tech - Techcrunch

*Are Libyan factions being forced to sign a UN deal - Al Jazeera

*Are we already halfway to 'two degree warming - CNN

*Asian stocks fall as investors await Fed rate hike decision - Business Insider

*Assange to be questioned by Sweden - BBC

*At least 87 killed in latest Burundi violence - CNN

*Australian teen admits terror charge - BBC

*Before You Even Think Of Asking, Think Of Giving First': Secrets Of A Million Dollar Startup - Forbes

*Benitez bemused by latest Madrid defeat - Business Insider

*Big Sean gets note from the thieves who robbed his Los Angeles Home - NET

*BlackBerry's Treacherous Path To Survival - Forbes

*Cameroon advertise vacant coaching post - BBC

*Cheniere votes to replace CEO Souki: sources - Business Insider

*China football revolution hits Europe - BBC

*China's currency is weakening again - Business Insider

*Christmas Birthday... Blessing or Curse - Huffington Post

*Confidence levels across Japan's largest firms are holding up - Business Insider

*Dan Loeb wants the CEO of Dow Chemical out - Business Insider

*Deadly truck crash causes smoky Portland railroad yard fire - Business Insider

*Dear White People, You Suck At Diversity - Techcrunch

*December Can Zap Our Happy, Joy, Merry and Cheery and Make Us Dread the Holidays Instead of Long for Them - Huffington Post

*Djokovic, Serena reign despite sudden impact shocks - Business Insider

*Does Elon Musk And OpenAI Want To Democratise Or Sanitise Artificial Intelligence - Forbes

*DuPont Dow Merger - Nobody Wins When Transactions Replace Leadership - Forbes

32 comments:

1. Stop dis already...ure b coming a nuisance!!

2. Pls stopeet! ! It's boring already!

3. Dollar @ 260..hmnnnn!! Dose who wld come for Xmas from yanki wld b d ones e go pay pass...

bridges for Ajah and Abule Egba..wow Dats gud news dou but hope it won't take forever for it to ger completed?

Neither silvia or Dickson can be pronounced winner yet..so u both shld go take a chill pill jare. I just hope it won't get bloody cos I no trust dose creek pple atall.

2. I love Fridays. In fact this Friday marks the beginning of my rest for the year. Can't wait. Stella it will be the beginning for your blogging bcos many will be home waiting for your every post. U dey not delay us oooo. Side eyes

3. Morning stella and sdkers beautiful Monday morning to you all ,hope we all have a splendid week.
    Ihn am waiting oooooo.

4. Tension in kano, God save our land. Gambia president declaration is an act of what now?

5. Even in Kaduna there is serious tension.

6. Naira continues depreciating..they say it's the fault of the previous administration, even if it is, let them do something about it because the hardship it is causing is unbearable.

Prince Eke's whereabouts still unknow? I pray he regains his freedom soon.

Which Nollywood actress wants to marry pastor Chris and which pastor Chris?

7. They should pity prince Eke's wife and family, that amount is ridiculous.

8. Wow! There's serious tension everywhere the govt shuld tread carefully o, cos Nigeria atm seem like a ticking time bomb... God help us

9. N4.7billion worth of cars for our senators...don't dey all av cars b4 ni?? Why d excess wastage ...am sure dey all av more Dan 1 car sef so why buying for dem again with such a huge amount going down d drain JUST for cars. Dese pple aren't dere to serve Nigerians aswear! !

10. Plz d ajah bridge should commence asap

11. Asari Dokubo the fearless fire breathing dragon.

BH will be child's play indeed.

12. Wats d Shi'ia leader's offence biko? His wife n child was killed him he naw escaped.

Gambia becomes Islamic republic....rili!!!!! Chai...maka why na??

Am sure Jonathan won't be probed!! But dose who surrounded him will be d ones to take d fall for him.

*Asari-Dokubo be running ur mouth like a spoilt tap, am sorry for u.

Keshi sorry abt ur late wife. This cancer disease sef, dnt pray my enemy gets diagnosed with it oo!! Alot of diseases more deadly dan AIDS sef!

13. Where's the looter's list o?

Na im I dey find.

14. It's well Keshi.

May God comfort you.

15. Awwww Wande!

* sniffles on your behalf *

Lol

16. Dear Nigerian Senate,

There is no justifiable reason for spurlging 4.7 milla, on cars, when the major problems of this country are unattended to.

Buhari, this is not the change we evisaged o.

Thanks.

17. Okonjo Iweala chose the worst possible time to be dancing to that song.

Come to think of it, I thought she doesn't listen to secular music, not to talk of dancing to them.

Hmmmm!

18. Yeah, the whites have no diversity.

Sadly, those agitating for Biafra, do not realise that our diversity is one of the things that make our country beautiful.

19. 'The Nurse' kwa?

That is an insult to our care givers.

'The Abortionist' would have been more appropriate.

20. FG promises to....

FG promises to.....

FG promises to......

When will they be fulfilled na?

Infact, no more promises till the previous ones have been fulfilled.

Kilode?

21. 55 nations!!!

Wow!

Shiloh 2015 must have been the bomb

Ehe,so I read someone's write-up on Facebook, that Oyedepo increased a woman's tiny boobs. The creature insisted that he was there when it happened.

You know, there are many comedians wasting away behind their device screens.

Lmao.

* smh *

22. How is the story of the white man shopping for his wife, news?

My dad and thousands of Nigerian husbands do so occasionally,so I don't see the big deal there.

23. Terrorism, when we baba goslow do something during his campaign he said he will crush them without stress

24. Why r they buying 4.7 billion worth of cars abeg? Why?