Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Why History Should Be Taught

Friday, December 18, 2015

Why History Should Be Taught

There is never a scarcity of shocking events, revelations, encounters and experiences in the course of the interesting times we seem destined to live in. But nothing can perhaps be more shocking than a recent encounter I had with a young man. He had remarked quite innocently to my hearing that he wondered what all the noise was all about over the late Chief M.K.O. Abiola.
 “Who is he?”, he asked. I almost passed out. 

“Who is Chief M.K.O. Abiola? How old are you? When were you born?”, I retorted, trying to figure out whether it is indeed possible for anyone in this country not to know who MKO Abiola is.  I followed up with another question. 
“You mean you don’t know who MKO is?” 

“Why should I know him? Does he know me?”..LOL

By now, I was sweating. It turned out that the young man was born in 1995, two years after the 1993 Presidential election, and he was still a toddler by the time of the return to civilian rule in 1999. Now 20 years old, and a university graduate, he has grown up inside Nigeria, never knowing the late MKO Abiola, the martyr of the struggle for democracy: the main man whose sacrifice and heroism resulted in a long, civil society protest against military rule.

Abiola was in addition, a major African philanthropist, a promoter of sports and one of the most remarkable figures in Nigerian history in the latter part of the 20th Century. I tried to explain Abiola’s significance to the young man.

“Good for him”, was his response. I could sense that he wasn’t excited. 
       I had to take on the additional task of further urging him to check out the name on Google: the knowledge made-easy platform on which the young ones rely for quick information. I dare not ask him to read some books about that period in Nigerian history, knowing what new technology has done to many of our youth, who find it difficult to read anything that is more than a few easy paragraphs. My encounter with this particular young Nigerian ended with the sad feeling that there are many like him out there, already out of university and busy thinking of next steps in their lives but who know next to nothing about the history of their country.  

I have had similar encounters in more recent times: young Nigerians who do not know the author of Things Fall Apart, and who have never heard of Lord Lugard, Ahmadu Bello, Bola Ige or Kaduna Nzeogwu. The other day, I stumbled on an exercise on social media in which someone posted the picture of Samuel Ladoke Akintola, and asked that he should be identified. 

This generated some confusion as some referred to him as Adegoke Adelabu, and some of those who could identify him said Akintola was the one that uttered the famous phrase: “peculiar mess”, which got translated by his Yoruba listeners to “penkelemesi”.  The only relief I took away was that nobody said the picture was that of Aminu Kano or Sa’ad Zungur. 

I imagine, at this rate, that a day may well come in the future when some young Nigerians may never have heard of Murtala Muhammed, or any of the present-day historical figures. 
      This is one of those self-inflicted omissions in our development process. Close to two decades ago, history was removed from the primary and secondary school curricula as a core subject. The teaching of history also became threatened at the tertiary level, as it got labeled as one of those disciplines that cannot get anyone a job in the oil and gas sector or the banks.  In an attempt to remain relevant and avoid being shut down by the National Universities Commission, History Departments became creative by changing their content and nomenclature to History and Diplomatic Studies, or History and International Relations.  

A succeeding generation of History graduates never failed to emphasize the suffixes. At the primary and secondary levels, history was replaced with social studies (which is at best a study of civics), or made optional, until it was even completely removed from the syllabus.  Years of lamentation by history teachers has not made any difference, but the point needs to be made ad nauseam, that the school curriculum must be reviewed to place a better emphasis on the learning and teaching of history. 

It is in fact quite ironic that Religious Studies occupies a more privileged place in the Nigerian school curriculum: we are busy teaching our students and the future generation, the two major religions, and many of them grow up force-fed with only that kind of history that the religious books teach, along with the dogma. Today, we are harvesting the dangers. 

History is the connecting link between the past, the present and the future.  Serious nations take time out to teach students and the general populace the history of the people and their country, for it is only when a people know where they have been, where they are, and where they are going that they can better prepare themselves for challenges. The history of mankind is repetitive, another way of saying there is nothing new under the sun, by learning from other ages, we build the confidence to forge ahead.  

Every country that cherishes memory and the art and culture of remembrance of all things past and present strengthens nationalism, a sense of citizenship and the current of knowledge in the public space. History is a truckload of mistakes made, from which we can draw lessons and accomplishments from which we can draw inspiration. It is also an instrument of power: colonialists in Africa did not teach the history of the colonized, they taught their own history, and insisted that Africans had no history, and no culture. It took a whole generation of African historians to insist on the existence and the authenticity of African history, and to tell our story to the world as a means of affirming identity, cultural heritage and independence. And yet today, this aspect of the struggle against mental slavery and domination has been abandoned.

The teaching of history needs not be formal: indeed in developed countries, more history is taught informally, bits of history are inserted into the landscape of social being in various forms. These include different types of museums: natural history, art, aviation, technology, war. Monuments are erected at chosen locations to remind the people of the past. Homes and birthplaces of famous achievers, including writers, statesmen and war heroes are marked and described. Public buildings welcome visitors with history. Cultural products, including movies, are also used to promote national history and energize the populace. By the time a child grows up in the midst of all this, he develops a sense of awareness that guides his relationship with country. It is also for the same reason that professions, including the military, teach their own history, to project tradition and achievement.  

The historical narrative, thus represented in many shapes, has defined many societies. We visit such societies, enjoy their spectacles, absorb their narratives, and even buy their mementoes, but here back home, we have no museums, telling any significant story. We have no public places preserving the memories of our heroes past. Every child in Ghana knows who Kwame Nkrumah is, because his legacy is well-preserved in the public space. Where are the Nigerian equivalents: we don’t even keep official records anymore. Where is Nigeria’s National Presidential library? A nation without a conscious promotion of its history, culture, landmarks, icons, symbols, monuments, and heroes is a society deserving of extinction. 

In the absence of a deliberate and structured effort to see history as a tool for national development, we have over the years left the telling of our story to revisionists playing games with national unity and promoting the enemies of amalgamation.  Revisionists are propagandists, masters of dogma, and promoters of falsehood and lies. They deliver their narratives in convenient short-hand formats and through rumours. Many of the young men today who are clamouring for secession have never read the history of the civil war; they are victims of a false single story, which says other Nigerians do not like Igbos.  

The Yoruba landlord who does not want an Igbo tenant may not have heard that Igbos once represented Yorubas in parliament, or that Igbos have always been strong stakeholders in Lagos politics - all he knows is that silly story that Igbo tenants take their landlords to court, as if Yoruba tenants don’t do the same. 

Those young men and women who allow themselves to be turned into foot-soldiers by Pastors and Imams, and who turn religion into a vehicle of violence have never been taught that those who did the same in the past in this same country got gunned down. Those religious groups who take over the highways and our streets, claiming they are holding a special revival or a procession, and who do not care about the rights of other road users and citizens have probably never read stories about the tension generated by such encounters between the state and religion. They all do not know that turning religion and ethnicity into enemies of the Nigerian state will ordinarily attract dire consequences because the state has a responsibility to allow freedom of expression but also an equal responsibility to prevent any form of abuse.

By the same token, those trigger-happy security men who indulge in extra-judicial murder, have never read how such conduct indeed violates the dignity of the state, and sets a condition for the failure of government and state.  
     The historical sociology of the Nigerian condition points to much repetitiveness of social and political conduct with very little change in capacity to manage same, from the colonial period to the present.  Those who ignore history and fail to learn from it are bound to repeat it. 

And so, we keep repeating the same errors because we forget too easily. The process of national re-orientation must include a promotion of our history for national development purposes. It is not enough to admit that some of the worst fanatics using religion and ethnicity to threaten national integration are university graduates: this indicates a great omission in the curriculum; in form of the failure to use the education system to produce Nigerians who are first and foremost citizens with loyalty to country. 

BY REUBEN ABATI

Wow what an article!...Thank God i know the History of Nigeria and i have passed what i know to my kids.The duty to pass on falls on us as parents.if we do not know,then wahala dey!
But then again,the danger of going on google is that ''the single false' story might be all they find and thus the circle of a misinformed generation continues.

58 comments:

1. All this long epistle on top history???
      I no read

2. I stopped when I saw Abiola; take it or leave it, he was a tribalist. Don't bother analysing my comment . I won't read or reply

3. I totally agree
      I saw the movie beasts of ni nation and i was dazed. Its a movie but i was really sad, wasnt even that sad when i watched titanic.
      I can only imagine what people that actually experienced the war had to go through and here some people are urging for war. One thing was made clear, when theres war, some people benefit financially from it but the average person suffers financial, emotional, psychological etc loss and might never recover. Those war lords corner resources, enrich themselves at the life of their so called foot soldiers who die daily. Also, arms are procured which also adds money to those that are in that line of business.
      No on should pray for war or support any form of it. You can only come on sdk cos theres peace ooo. Imagine bullets are raining outside your house, will u even think of this blog?
      Lets be wise.

2. Too long to read, make una read and explain biko

3. Abeg Mr Reuben... Pick a struggle

.@Galore

4. Too long. But yes, Nigerian history should be thought in schools

5. *yawns*

Your comment will be visible after approval.

1. Hello Alloy. Good to see a familiar blog counterpart. As for that long epistle up there, I managed to read half. History is a compulsory subject in Kenya. We are africans and should always be in touch with our beautiful heritage. I remember hoping I would run into someone who spoke swahili in Atlanta those two years I spent there. It feels so good to be back in Nairobi.

Lucinda

2. Stella why did u refuse to post my comment to lucinda? Kontinu

6. thelma enemuwe said...
    Abati should shut his mouth up
    Y'al in power go about stealing billions and making life difficult for Nigerians and you're expecting a hungry struggling poverty stricken hustlers to bother their heads with reading up history
    Who the history don help?
    You Sidon inside Ac dey enjoy ur life and u want mke one hustler wey dey find him next meal com dey read history.
    Na history dem wan chop?
    Yeye dey smell
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

7. thelma enemuwe said...
    Abati should shut his mouth up
    Y'al in power go about stealing billions and making life difficult for Nigerians and you're expecting a hungry struggling poverty stricken hustlers to bother their heads with reading up history
    Who the history don help?
    You Sidon inside Ac dey enjoy ur life and u want mke one hustler wey dey find him next meal com dey read history.
    Na history dem wan chop?
    Yeye dey smell
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

1. Most Nigerians die while living because of "Wetin dem wan chop" stop living to eat, Thelma.

8. History class, is one boring class.

1. I tell you..
      Endless nodding of head till its over lol
      Ineresting piece tho

2. I refuse to accept that Nwa Amaka...
      History,Government,Yoruba,Literature & CRS are the reasons I loved school,very interesting topics and eye openers...

3. Tosin, you just mentioned all them boring subjects.

9. Bros,don't waste your time.
    Some kids don't want to learn..

They crawl from one social media site to the other...dropping senseless comments,sending pictures,generally constituting nuisance or looking for one scam or the other to pull off.

"Learning is not attained by chance,it must be sought for with ardour and attended to with diligence" Abigail Adams

1. Thanks for quoting @Adams

Some go just lift person "Words" dem go dey form.kinkong without acknowledgement

2. Former first lady of the United States of America.

Tnx Galore,how this xmas go be na?

10. I love this article! Those who do not knw where they are coming from definitely wouldn't knw how to handle their future. History shuld be a vital part of our culture, made compulsory in primary to tertiary institutions becos we have to learn from the mistakes of the past to be able to correct our future. Nigeria is the only country that I've seen that is not proud of their past.

11. I remember when my grandfather use to tell us stories about the Benin empire and all the wars that were to get us to this present point... Gosh! Those where the days, it made us really proud to be binis

12. Oga Ruben sef dey lol. Thats nice atleast he learnt something while tweeting all those... during the GEJ era. Btw Sir, you truly are back *prostrates*
    I have always found joy in studying about the past. The closest thing the average Nigerian knows about history is that which is contained in the bible and Qur'an. Read! my people; we nor go die.

13. Yea I agree history should be taught in schools. I remember back then while in school (outside the continent) we were having history and we were being thought the biafra war. I was so excited to find out a lot of things I never knew which many people felt I should have known as I'm from naija.
    But this piece is too long abeg. Plus everybody knows Abiola for fuck sake. Thanks to June 12. Only those who have grown outside naija wouldn't know

14. Even the so called international studies and diplomacy dose not even focus on Nigeria history, rather they focus on relationships with nations and their interstate system
    So I think Nigeria history will soon fade out, if not introduce to primary and secondary and with the way this generation hate reading,i doubt they will ever read long epistle

15. I love history, thanks for this article

16. Well written, I love it. This generation of today are not into history because most do not care. Except it is something trivial, or on social media. They do not read books or understand intellectual reasoning. All I know history always repeat ' s itself. No wonder this generation are indeed called strawberries by the Chinese.

17. Just this few paragraphs you gud are saying too long, this is exactly what Rueben is lamenting about. AmPrettyMarcy....

18. Too long mbok!
    Someone shld pls summarize.

19. It's really sad a lot of youngsters nowadays don't even know NTA persay, and I'm talking of a 20yr old also. Who grew up watching dstv from when being born in 1995. I once even worked in one of dese British schools, won't mention name. They don't even do assembly as supposed to be done daily. They only do on Fridays, and it's just for announcements, they are seated while the principal and co are reading out announcement. On rare occasions they even sing national anthem. Can remember my own days, when we wld sing hymns, the principal will use prayer to scatter ur head dat your legs wld start shaking from standing. They will check ur uniform, hair, nails etc. your dressing is outta school guidelines you will kneel down. Kids of Nways are pampered by both teachers, principals and off course their parents. It's really sad that a child in Nigeria will perhaps know Mandela and Bill gates, Steve Jobs and not know MKO.

20. Same story of too long.... you want information but unwilling to read the whole story. You prefer to read the headlines and the juicy part but would not delve into the body to get out the plot and the full gist. That is why this generation is in serious trouble. Solution to you problem will be put right in front of you but sheer laziness will make you remain poor and backward.

Many of the misconceptions of the present (in social, religious and political life) are as a result that many failed to look at history... the origin of things

21. I sent a link to a friend of mine yesterday to read so that she can learn one or two things.... After few minutes I asked er if she has read it and she said no.... I asked er why, she said it was too long and it wasn't interesting.... I was like seriously? At dat very moment I felt so disappointed in er cos I wanted to bring out something from d post..... I understand d fact dat everybody has d right to his or er own opinion but we youth of nowadays are so lazy wen it comes to reading.... few days ago I heard abt one of the top Army's official who is building a house somewhere here in south west, d money he used in buying his Tiles alone is abt 17million naira..... not to talk of other things in d house.... everything he used in dat house are freaking expensive....This is a house that he will only be going to once or twice in a year cos it's one of dis small town in south west..... I heard he is one deputy something something ( I don't wanna talk).... Wat I'm trying to say is that I really wanna know who d person is ( not to know him one on one) but to know a government official thatt can use 17M just to buy tiles in a Bungalow house cos I'm sure he is part of the pple dat stole money meant for pple who are fighting in war front and pple who are struggling with thier weapon cos they were not giving a better one to fight wit.... the money meant to buy better weapon for them is wat dis useless top officials are using to build houses, buy more than 100million naira electronics nd co.... I had to google him under d formal deputy something something #wink# but google dey give me some stupid answer #lol# I will keep on trying till wen I get his name...This is not dem say, I was there and I saw d house myself.... they are yet to finish d house though but almost through wit the finishing fittings cos they wanna spend Christmas there..... *sigh*

1. Bia, how this ur story take concyn dis gist na?? Na question I ask o.

22. History is a compulsory subjects in High schools Abroad, I don't know why our educational system here is so dull.

23. History ko, civic education niii!!!
    I don't like anything long abeg,
    but, i manage 2 vnish ds 1
    #Ok_Bye!!!

*****MhizDerbyViaIG*****

24. Miss Pretty I support u a 100%
    The study of history is essential in Nigeria.

25. Students aboroad study history. I wonder what cpuld have happened to our own educational system. Through hiatory you learn of great men. Most of these great men, schools have been named in honoir of them. I bet ypu most of the students attending such schools dont know the history surrounding such names. Egs; Nnamdi Azikiwe, Obafemi Awolowo, Alvan Ikoku and a host of others.
    Well historical studies can be interesting if you are reading it at your leisure time sha.

26. Nice write

Never know Penkelemissi is from peculiar messy OMG

My mum always say if you have witness a war you will never advocate for one.

All these boys shouting needs to be turtor

27. Nice1 Abati, it's really a shame most children and even adults of nowadays know nothing about history. And with the kind of comments ppl drop even on this blog you'll realise we have a long way to go as a country. Ruben Abati you won't remember to say this if you were still in government because you'll be busy thinking of which bank to divert and stash your own daily and weekly share of national cake so shame on you for having this knowledge and never enforcing it when you had the opportunity. Our leaders I assume deliberately don't want Nigerians to know where they came from because if they do they'll demand for answers on where we are heading to. And the truth is we'll live to bear the consequences . Nnamdi Kanu of radio biafra is already teaching his listeners history and believe me whatever he tells them about Nigeria that they will believe whether he's wrong or right because they nothing about the past . And many more people like him will arise. Like the bible said, my people perish because of lack of knowledge. How market Nigeria?!!

28. I know a school in the South South region of Nigeria where history is taken as 1 of the most important subject. Drop ur child in this school and u can be sure u won't regret, visit here to get info abt de school www.topfaithonline.com