Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Study Reveals That Zobo Kills Cancer Cells

Friday, December 25, 2015

Study Reveals That Zobo Kills Cancer Cells

Scientists, led by Chun-Tang Chui from the Institute of Biochemistry and Biotechnology in Taiwan....

A recent study published in THE SUN found that Hibiscus sabdariffa leaf extract inhibits human prostate cancer cell invasion.
Another study by the same team of researchers, found that the polyphenols present in hibiscus leaves may inhibit growth of and destroy melanoma cancer cells without damaging healthy human skin cells, scientists from Taiwan have found.

Hibiscus leaf is a rich source of polyphenols, which are thought to have hypolipidemic (lipid-lowering) and antioxidant effects. The scientists claimed that this was the first study focusing on the polyphenols and their anti-melanoma mechanisms.

Commonly called roselle or zobo, Hibiscus sabdariffa belongs to the plant family Malvaceae. In folk herbal medicine, it is used to treat hypertension, pyrexia, and liver disorders, and is used for its immune-modulating effect in Asia.

An aqueous extract of dried flowers of H. sabdariffa L. has been used as an effective treatment against leukemia and gastric carcinoma, due to its high content in polyphenols.

76 comments:

1. Wow, and I made Zobo drink mixed with pineapple and watermelon. What a great taste. I have always known that Zobo is wonderful.

2. These are the things that Nigerian Government should begin to invest in through proper research. Stella, why can't we have zobo tea in sealed tea bags and make it a promoted Nigerian brand? No oh! We go dey wait for oil. Mscheew!

1. Good to know. Now i have a sound medical reason why i should make and drink zobo.

3. Wowowoowowoowowoowowowowoowowowowoowoowow
    I love zobo

4. For real? Zobo drink, here I comeeee!

5. Zobo very nutritious and saving lives since 1500

6. Very nice. I always wondered what zobo really contained.

1. Is this who I think..?

2. Is this who I think..? But You always knew it was medicinal each time I made my special recipe for you all.#Wink#wink

7. Oh, how nice..
    I think I'll have to increase my zobo intake..

8. Recently many plants have been found to inhibit cancer growth yet still a study showed almost everything causes cancer. Who are we now 2believe?

Truth is,na God dey save person

9. Yesooo. Thats my favorite. My kids loves it so much.

10. Thanks for sharing Stella,
    No more Wine, Juice or Maltina for my Guest, Zobo all the way

1. Lol, you're funny...small time nw the price go increase for market

2. Lol
      Some people will think you are offering them zobo because you don't have money to buy drinks.

11. Very good. Never tasted it though.

1. You miss.
      Was taking Coca Cola everyday @ work and was fearing for my sugar life oo.
      Then one blessed day someone told me about zobo; as natural as it is.
      I never regret.

12. God has blessed Africa with everything. We just need to sit up.
    Very soon now they'll come here, take it, plant in their country, produce the drug and sell it back to us. God if you for give me admission Since na this thing I for dey do. Chai

1. I'm telling you! Such a pity politicians won't invest in their own country... give research grants, develop the educational sector etc and see how great Nigeria/Nigerians can be. Sigh God help us

13. Would love to learn how to make this at home.

A simple quick recipe. Tired of sodas.

1. Below are ingredient used for the preparation of zobo

zobo leaves
      water
      orange flavor or any flavor you wish to use
      Pineapple
      ginger

The zobo leaves are always very dusty so you need to wash it thoroughly in cold water to get rid of the dust. as you wash, it will feel as if you’re rinsing out all the color in the zobo leaves but not to worry, dried zobo leaves is very rich in flavor/color; so much that you can dry and reuse.

2. After you’ve washed your zobo leaves, peel your pineapple into thin slices. You may also cut the pineapple peels into thin slices so you can add them to the drink but it is advisable you don’t as the pineapple peel may have dirt that may be hard to get out due to their thorny nature. However, if you can go through the stress of washing the peels thoroughly, you can always add them to the drink. Also slice your garlic and ginger into very small pieces.

3. Then you put your washed zobo leaves into a deep pot and add your diced pineapples. Add enough water and allow to boil for 5-10 minutes.

4. After 10 minutes of boiling, add your garlic and ginger. Leave to boil for another 30 minutes.

5. Then, remove from fire and leave to cool. Once it is cool, squeeze out the juice from the leaves and pineapples. Pour the juice through a sieve to remove particles. If you don’t have a sieve, a clean white cloth, tightly meshed net or a chiffon cloth will do too.

6. You can add sugar or any other artificial fruit flavors you want; that’s if you don’t like the natural tangy sour taste of the zobo drink.

Some add pepper and citrus fruits to the drink

2. Sexiest mother, you are a sweet heart! Gallops off to buy leaves. No more sugared drinks. Thanks.

3. And den let me teach u d hausa way. Do as d sexiest mother sed above bt minus the part whr u add garlic n boil for 30mins. Jst wash n boil wt dried ginger for 10 mins. Allow to cool dwn den seive and add water coz it can b vry sour. Add sugar n foster clarks (berries flavour) and den add guava flavour foster clarks add sugar. And refrigerate u can cut cucumber pieces or apples inside n refrigerate serve chilled

4. Thank you texted garki! Just wish I didn't have to add anything artificial ie flavour. Seems like a whole Lotta sugar though, will honey instead of sugar work?

14. Yaaay! Zobo rocks... will go get me some leaves soon for my home made Zobo. Who wants?

15. Zobo all the way. Been a while I made it

16. A bottle of zobo for me and dear hubby

17. And I no like zobo oooo......

18. I love zobo esp when I put banana and pineapple.
    I like to make mine and store in rubbers inside fridge but its been over a month I made last.
    *tsk tsk
    Off to buy plentiful zobo leaves.
    I cannot come and go and spare those killer cells.

Endtime cells.
    *shrugs

1. Viva pls share your recipe.

2. Where do you buy your leaves?

3. Was about typing but then sexiest mother has done that up there. Pls scroll up and read.

Anon 15:20
      I don't know your location but you can find it in any market.

4. Thanks viva, will check Ogba.

5. Check Agege market(Oja-Post office side)those hausas sell there.

6. Okay@agege market. Thanks. Anon 22:44

19. Ahem house please what natural way can I make it without adding aricial flavourings or sugar? Some say fresh pineapple. How many please? Cos as I see it odikwa onu

1. Just slice in fresh pineapples while boiling,it all depends on the quantity of zobo you wanna make.

2. As much as you like it sweet and you can still use natural flavouring too if you like.
      Merry Christmas all!!..

20. That simply means I gotta drink more zobo. Okay nah.

21. Na to go pack am from lagos Street b Dat o...

22. I love zobo. I knw thr was somthn special bout it. I make it maself most tyms.

1. Pls cn u gv us the receipt on how to make it, pls

2. Receipt kwa?

23. Wishing i knew this before ambrose died of leukemia....

24. I love Zobo drink, it is so refreshing when taken cold.

25. And its so pocket friendly. Thank God

26. I DON HEAR

NA FOR UNA WAY GET AM

#ONE OF A DOPE

27. Recipe? Without sugar and coloring?

1. Zobo has got its colour don't need colouring. You can use any citrus fruits of your choice.
      Merry Christmas! !!..

28. Zobo to the rescue.
    now Zobo go turn to gold.

29. Enter your comment...My make my zobo with a can of coke and crushed water melon and a dash of vanilla and some cloves, chilled. *shakes head* hmm..hmm*

30. Always love drinking zobo....

31. Hmmmmm, zobo all the way

32. Hmmmmm, zobo all the way

33. Zobo drink has always been healthy and nutritious. If and when u drink it, when it's chilled, then and only then will u appreciate Zobo.

34. Are you kidding me? *raised eyebrow* ZOBO go hear am....

35. Can you credit the picture please Stella. The picture is from Dooney's Kitchen. Thanks

36. And people will be hating on Northern Nigeria. Almost all of the hibiscus leaves(used to make zobo) used in Nigeria come from the North soooooo.........