Na the gbagaun sure pass. It's more expressive Who correct English help? Lol. Thank you mrs korkus, I haff read 'em. Not prepared to change. Kikikikikiki
Noted. Only guilty of "Data is" . Honestly, I'm not willing to be corrected on that. How can I say " My Data are finished? Wetin, am I Zebrudaya? My Data is finishing o jare lemme rush off.
Shorthand is something that I've never been comfortable with. It affected me at a point.A lecturer will be dictating, and I'll be busy writing in calligraphic longhand.
I'm guilty of some but who uses 'an year' and 'cope up'...Well, I use anyways only wen its in4mal cos I knw its nt correct... Thanks for helping us improve our grammar and our health...Daluso
ANYWAYS is an adverb BROADCASTED when used as a transitive verb past tense ALRIGHT is both an adverb and adjective DATA is plural why not Data are plural because its a continuous source of contention LOOSE is to loosen e.g. loosen your shoe lace or sth YOU NEED NOT e.g. you need not worry about your appearance Discussing about... depending on the context
Stella thanks please explain further you know sm pple use blog as reference point so you should be very sure.
Anyways is correct in informal North American English
Data is/are is correct (in modern English), depending on usage. When data is used as a countable noun, it makes sense to use a plural verb e.g. 'the data (or facts) WERE analysed...'. When used as an uncountable noun however, it makes sense to use a singular verb e.g. 'this data (or information) was collected...'
How safe are your children's toys? Click my name to find out
I beg Stella, English no be my papa language. I dey gbagaun am eni hw he enter my mouth. Tie wrapper 4 waist, tie waist 4 wrapper na posin dem speak 2 go use him brain remove d wheat 4 d shaft. I beg sista Stella mke we remove mouth 4 dis mata.
The one-word spelling 'alright" appeared some 75 years after "all right" itself had reappeared from a 400-year-long absence. Since the early 20th century some critics have insisted 'alright' is wrong, but it has its defenders and its users. It is less frequent than all right but remains in common use especially in journalistic and business publications. It is quite common in fictional dialogue, and is used occasionally in other writing
Anyways is a colloquial variant of the adverb anyway. It has a casual tone and may be considered out of place in formal or serious writing. In such contexts, anyway is safer.
Although considered informal, anyways is not wrong. In fact, there is much precedent in English for the adverbial -s suffix, which was common in Old and Middle English and survives today in words such as towards, once, always, and unawares. But while these words survive from a period of English in which the adverbial -s was common, anyways is a modern construction (though it is now several centuries old).
Anyways is sometimes useful for creating an informal or colloquial tone, which may be what these writers have in mind:
Anyways, it’s time to move on. [NY Times]
Whatever. Home Improvement sucked anyways. [Bleacher Report]
But in writing that is not intended to have a colloquial tone, anyway works in its place—for example:
Why is Google building a Google phone, anyway? [The Atlantic]
It can be nearly impossible to see from publicly available data which banks are extending or restructuring loans they believe will one day fail anyway. [Wall Street Journal]
Anyway, I think it’s pretty hard to make a bad Hurley episode. [Chicago Tribune]
Hmmmmmmmmm... "Alright" as a word is quietly gaining ground in formal British settingsetting. Won't be surprised if it's officially accepted as a word soon.
Sdimokokorkus@gmail.com Mobile Phone +4915210724141
I am guilty of some words
ReplyDeleteEnglish is a borrowed language
Am guilty
DeleteHmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
DeleteWe keep learning everyday
I am guilty of some
DeleteEqually guilty of all.
DeleteAbeg, that data one.. What's d singular? Datum?
DeleteGuilty of some
DeleteSome people are not only guilty, they have life sentence
DeleteEnd time gbagaun
DeleteEven when I type a lot, my phone automatically corrects it and put the space between a and lot
ReplyDeleteAuto correct na bitch sef. Yesterday I said to a friend, hello dear! Auto correct carry hand wished her death o. Chai English, na wah
DeleteI'm guilty of some.Thanks Stella for this.
Delete"Puts"
DeleteI'm def guilty of number one.
DeleteNot guilty of any...my English language is sound
DeleteNa wa o!
ReplyDeleteI'm guilty of so many up there...
We learn everyday you know...
Thanks for sharing stelz!
Am guilty oo..oyibo wu agbara.
DeleteNa the gbagaun sure pass.
DeleteIt's more expressive
Who correct English help?
Lol.
Thank you mrs korkus,
I haff read 'em.
Not prepared to change.
Kikikikikiki
Noted
ReplyDeleteYou see. And it was corrected as soon as I typed it. Lol
ReplyDeleteEven when I type a lot, my phone automatically corrects it and put the space between a and lot
ReplyDeleteI'm so guilty of almost all..expect 'an year' why should I say that
DeleteUpandan is not there. Dem plenty. Blog visitors I hail ooo
ReplyDeleteWe know say na gbagaun but e dey sweet nah
DeleteSherry's Daughter
Love me...nooooo. Upandan isn't in this category.
DeleteIt belongs to:
Issorait
Richard card
Gbenshing
Totoh
DH
Nyash opening.
Those blog languages.
Very nice.
ReplyDeleteThanks Stell I know some though (eg anyway) thanks for correction
ReplyDeleteWho says "an year"?
ReplyDeleteAbi...me sef wonder ooo
DeleteLol. I'm guilty of none
DeleteVery nice 😊
ReplyDeleteDefinitely guilty
ReplyDeleteI'm trying,my English isn't that bad
ReplyDeleteThis is good.
ReplyDeleteGulity as charged...
ReplyDeleteCome on Barny Correct Yourself.
OKK....
ReplyDeleteNot perfect tho but i pass the test..
GUILTY AS CHARGED
ReplyDeleteGuilty of
ReplyDeleteyears ago and anyway
lol
I'm guilty of 'alright'.
ReplyDeleteHaha.
DeleteAm so used to "issorait"
Alright is in the dictionary now.. alternate form of 'all right' I really do not understand what makes it incorrect
DeleteMe too "alright"
DeleteSamehere.
DeleteGuilty of revert back/reply back. uses it often at the office.
ReplyDelete"Use"
DeleteEven your sentence is one kind.
DeleteAm guilty of some....tnx 4 d info
ReplyDeleteThanks stellaStella, I always say my data is finished
ReplyDeleteContented not content.
ReplyDeleteStuff not stuffs
Staff not staffs
Definitely, not definately.
DeleteSherry's Daughter
Chei! Broadcasted is wrong? I've ben gbaguning for long ooo
ReplyDeleteNoted. Only guilty of "Data is" . Honestly, I'm not willing to be corrected on that. How can I say " My Data are finished? Wetin, am I Zebrudaya?
ReplyDeleteMy Data is finishing o jare lemme rush off.
Buhahahahahahahahaaha
DeleteYour comment really got.me in stitches babe
Buhahahahahaha. seriously I just can't imagine myself saying my data are finished biko.
DeleteHahaha
DeleteHahahahahahahahaha see how u made me swallow my tomtom hiney lemon
DeleteThis got me lol
DeleteI taya o, I said d same thing up there, lol.
DeleteSherry's Daughter
Abi o.
DeleteSeriously I really laughed out loud.
DeleteA hahahahahahhaah Abi ooo....
Deletethelma enemuwe...
ReplyDeleteCompulsory course
Eng 401
No room for carry overs...
*faithful bv enemuwe thelma*
Am guilty of many of them o.
ReplyDeleteNoted!
ReplyDeleteEwo!
ReplyDeleteI'm guilty of 'alright'.
Allright.Noted... hehehe
Though my autocorrect doesn't recognise it o. Well, it will,if I keep using it..lol.
Thanks, mami.
'All right'
DeleteSpace hun. All right.
DeleteLet me quickly bookmark it and hope I remember to correct myself when I am typing hastily.
After my "shorthand" in Uni while jotting down notes,i tried with so much difficulty to get read of my badly written English. Example: ê(the)
Thanks darls.
Delete'All right'...hehehe.
Shorthand is something that I've never been comfortable with. It affected me at a point.A lecturer will be dictating, and I'll be busy writing in calligraphic longhand.
I'm a faster writer now though, thankfully.
*rid*
DeleteIssokay,lol
Lol...reminds me of my English lecturer..Chioma okapra great UST..she is good at English...
ReplyDeleteGreatest UST students!! Prof chioma Okpara will make you laugh at yourself
DeleteGbagaun of life. If I don gbagaun and I notice, I dey correct myself sharp sharp...#alinko
ReplyDeleteSo guilty of all right and years ago.
ReplyDeleteThanks for this....I am guilty
ReplyDelete@Galore
Are some british/america spelling??
ReplyDeleteEnd time gbagauns
ReplyDeleteWe learn evryday, but who says "an year"
ReplyDeleteThank you.
ReplyDeleteMy night school teacher will always tell us; MOST CORRECT ENGLISH DONT SOUND CORRECT ON THE LIPS WHEN THEY ARE PRONOUNCED.
ReplyDelete@MARTINS ABOY
LaFresh and Fresh Roses, thank you darlings, for the enlightenment on the Eid-el-Maulud post.
ReplyDeleteNow,i know better. :D
U welcome
DeleteMost of us are guilty of these.
ReplyDeleteI say "Anyways" all the time. I don learn today.
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteI'm guilty of some but who uses 'an year' and 'cope up'...Well, I use anyways only wen its in4mal cos I knw its nt correct...
ReplyDeleteThanks for helping us improve our grammar and our health...Daluso
I'm guilty of some too.
ReplyDeletealright is on my Android dictionary iwatago and also some mistake on this post are made by idiots e.g an year anyways
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Hehehe,guity of some,noted sha
ReplyDelete#thanks
Chick Felix wia a u?
ReplyDeleteI don tire to dey wear helmet for you and Stella.
Merry Christmas
Stella used "anyways" today. You are really guilty.
ReplyDeleteThis is very misleading...
ReplyDeleteANYWAYS is an adverb
BROADCASTED when used as a transitive verb past tense
ALRIGHT is both an adverb and adjective
DATA is plural why not Data are plural because its a continuous source of contention
LOOSE is to loosen e.g. loosen your shoe lace or sth
YOU NEED NOT e.g. you need not worry about your appearance
Discussing about... depending on the context
Stella thanks
please explain further you know sm pple use blog as reference point so you should be very sure.
Weldone teacher
DeleteI agree with u
DeleteGod bless you!
DeleteAlright is correct when used informally
ReplyDeleteAnyways is correct in informal North American English
Data is/are is correct (in modern English), depending on usage.
When data is used as a countable noun, it makes sense to use a plural verb e.g. 'the data (or facts) WERE analysed...'.
When used as an uncountable noun however, it makes sense to use a singular verb e.g. 'this data (or information) was collected...'
How safe are your children's toys? Click my name to find out
Weldone teacher
DeleteNice, guilty of none
ReplyDeleteI beg Stella, English no be my papa language. I dey gbagaun am eni hw he enter my mouth. Tie wrapper 4 waist, tie waist 4 wrapper na posin dem speak 2 go use him brain remove d wheat 4 d shaft. I beg sista Stella mke we remove mouth 4 dis mata.
ReplyDeleteThe one-word spelling 'alright" appeared some 75 years after "all right" itself had reappeared from a 400-year-long absence. Since the early 20th century some critics have insisted 'alright' is wrong, but it has its defenders and its users. It is less frequent than all right but remains in common use especially in journalistic and business publications. It is quite common in fictional dialogue, and is used occasionally in other writing
am guilty of reply back.lol
ReplyDeleteMy data are finished, how can I possibly say that, how does it sound to u guys
ReplyDeleteMost of our electronic gadgets use American English while Nigeria use British English.
ReplyDeleteGuilty of one.
ReplyDeleteThanks SDK for the post.
Wow..... am so guilty of some...
ReplyDeleteThanks for sharing
Anyway vs. anyways
ReplyDeleteAnyways is a colloquial variant of the adverb anyway. It has a casual tone and may be considered out of place in formal or serious writing. In such contexts, anyway is safer.
Although considered informal, anyways is not wrong. In fact, there is much precedent in English for the adverbial -s suffix, which was common in Old and Middle English and survives today in words such as towards, once, always, and unawares. But while these words survive from a period of English in which the adverbial -s was common, anyways is a modern construction (though it is now several centuries old).
Anyways is sometimes useful for creating an informal or colloquial tone, which may be what these writers have in mind:
Anyways, it’s time to move on. [NY Times]
Whatever. Home Improvement sucked anyways. [Bleacher Report]
But in writing that is not intended to have a colloquial tone, anyway works in its place—for example:
Why is Google building a Google phone, anyway? [The Atlantic]
It can be nearly impossible to see from publicly available data which banks are extending or restructuring loans they believe will one day fail anyway. [Wall Street Journal]
Anyway, I think it’s pretty hard to make a bad Hurley episode. [Chicago Tribune]
My English isn't bad....my data are finish? Chai ....
ReplyDeleteIt is noted...English is a borrowed language,anything speak able is correct.Thanks anyway.
ReplyDeleteALRIGHT is correct!
ReplyDeleteLol............Nawah oooo.........End time english........Stella, take note!
ReplyDeleteI aff hear
ReplyDeleteSo guilty of Alright.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmmmmm...
ReplyDelete"Alright" as a word is quietly gaining ground in formal British settingsetting. Won't be surprised if it's officially accepted as a word soon.