Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Simple Words - Please Correct Yourself!

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Simple Words - Please Correct Yourself!

If you have an award for Gbagaun,please read through this......

choi...i am so guilty of this

Culled from facebook.

112 comments:

1. I am guilty of some words

English is a borrowed language

2. Even when I type a lot, my phone automatically corrects it and put the space between a and lot

1. Auto correct na bitch sef. Yesterday I said to a friend, hello dear! Auto correct carry hand wished her death o. Chai English, na wah

2. I'm guilty of some.Thanks Stella for this.

3. Not guilty of any...my English language is sound

3. Na wa o!
    I'm guilty of so many up there...
    We learn everyday you know...
    Thanks for sharing stelz!

1. Am guilty oo..oyibo wu agbara.

2. Na the gbagaun sure pass.
      It's more expressive
      Who correct English help?
      Lol.
      Thank you mrs korkus,
      I haff read 'em.
      Not prepared to change.
      Kikikikikiki

4. You see. And it was corrected as soon as I typed it. Lol

5. Even when I type a lot, my phone automatically corrects it and put the space between a and lot

1. I'm so guilty of almost all..expect 'an year' why should I say that

6. Upandan is not there. Dem plenty. Blog visitors I hail ooo

1. We know say na gbagaun but e dey sweet nah

Sherry's Daughter

2. Love me...nooooo. Upandan isn't in this category.
      It belongs to:
      Issorait
      Richard card
      Gbenshing
      Totoh
      DH
      Nyash opening.

Those blog languages.

7. Thanks Stell I know some though (eg anyway) thanks for correction

8. Very nice 😊

9. I'm trying,my English isn't that bad

10. Gulity as charged...
    Come on Barny Correct Yourself.

11. OKK....
    Not perfect tho but i pass the test..

12. Guilty of
    years ago and anyway
    lol

13. Replies
    1. Alright is in the dictionary now.. alternate form of 'all right' I really do not understand what makes it incorrect

2. Me too "alright"

14. Guilty of revert back/reply back. uses it often at the office.

15. Am guilty of some....tnx 4 d info

16. Thanks stellaStella, I always say my data is finished

17. Contented not content.
    Stuff not stuffs
    Staff not staffs

1. Definitely, not definately.

Sherry's Daughter

18. Chei! Broadcasted is wrong? I've ben gbaguning for long ooo

19. Sapele Babe in Lagos24 December 2015 at 15:52

Noted. Only guilty of "Data is" . Honestly, I'm not willing to be corrected on that. How can I say " My Data are finished? Wetin, am I Zebrudaya?
    My Data is finishing o jare lemme rush off.

1. Buhahahahahahahahaaha
      Your comment really got.me in stitches babe

2. Buhahahahahaha. seriously I just can't imagine myself saying my data are finished biko.

3. Hahahahahahahahaha see how u made me swallow my tomtom hiney lemon

4. I taya o, I said d same thing up there, lol.

Sherry's Daughter

5. Seriously I really laughed out loud.

6. A hahahahahahhaah Abi ooo....

20. thelma enemuwe...
    Compulsory course
    Eng 401
    No room for carry overs...
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

21. Ewo!

I'm guilty of 'alright'.

Allright.Noted... hehehe

Though my autocorrect doesn't recognise it o. Well, it will,if I keep using it..lol.

Thanks, mami.

1. Space hun. All right.

Let me quickly bookmark it and hope I remember to correct myself when I am typing hastily.

After my "shorthand" in Uni while jotting down notes,i tried with so much difficulty to get read of my badly written English. Example: ê(the)

2. Thanks darls.

'All right'...hehehe.

Shorthand is something that I've never been comfortable with. It affected me at a point.A lecturer will be dictating, and I'll be busy writing in calligraphic longhand.

I'm a faster writer now though, thankfully.

22. Lol...reminds me of my English lecturer..Chioma okapra great UST..she is good at English...

1. Greatest UST students!! Prof chioma Okpara will make you laugh at yourself

23. Gbagaun of life. If I don gbagaun and I notice, I dey correct myself sharp sharp...#alinko

24. So guilty of all right and years ago.

25. Thanks for this....I am guilty

26. Are some british/america spelling??

27. We learn evryday, but who says "an year"

28. My night school teacher will always tell us; MOST CORRECT ENGLISH DONT SOUND CORRECT ON THE LIPS WHEN THEY ARE PRONOUNCED.

@MARTINS ABOY

29. LaFresh and Fresh Roses, thank you darlings, for the enlightenment on the Eid-el-Maulud post.

Now,i know better. :D

30. Most of us are guilty of these.

31. I say "Anyways" all the time. I don learn today.

32. This comment has been removed by the author.

33. I'm guilty of some but who uses 'an year' and 'cope up'...Well, I use anyways only wen its in4mal cos I knw its nt correct...
    Thanks for helping us improve our grammar and our health...Daluso

34. alright is on my Android dictionary iwatago and also some mistake on this post are made by idiots e.g an year anyways

#GODWIN™

35. Hehehe,guity of some,noted sha
    #thanks

36. Chick Felix wia a u?

I don tire to dey wear helmet for you and Stella.

Merry Christmas

37. Stella used "anyways" today. You are really guilty.

38. This is very misleading...

ANYWAYS is an adverb
    BROADCASTED when used as a transitive verb past tense
    ALRIGHT is both an adverb and adjective
    DATA is plural why not Data are plural because its a continuous source of contention
    LOOSE is to loosen e.g. loosen your shoe lace or sth
    YOU NEED NOT e.g. you need not worry about your appearance
    Discussing about... depending on the context

Stella thanks
    please explain further you know sm pple use blog as reference point so you should be very sure.

39. Alright is correct when used informally

Anyways is correct in informal North American English

Data is/are is correct (in modern English), depending on usage.
    When data is used as a countable noun, it makes sense to use a plural verb e.g. 'the data (or facts) WERE analysed...'.
    When used as an uncountable noun however, it makes sense to use a singular verb e.g. 'this data (or information) was collected...'

How safe are your children's toys? Click my name to find out

40. I beg Stella, English no be my papa language. I dey gbagaun am eni hw he enter my mouth. Tie wrapper 4 waist, tie waist 4 wrapper na posin dem speak 2 go use him brain remove d wheat 4 d shaft. I beg sista Stella mke we remove mouth 4 dis mata.

41. The one-word spelling 'alright" appeared some 75 years after "all right" itself had reappeared from a 400-year-long absence. Since the early 20th century some critics have insisted 'alright' is wrong, but it has its defenders and its users. It is less frequent than all right but remains in common use especially in journalistic and business publications. It is quite common in fictional dialogue, and is used occasionally in other writing

42. am guilty of reply back.lol

43. My data are finished, how can I possibly say that, how does it sound to u guys

44. Most of our electronic gadgets use American English while Nigeria use British English.

45. Wow..... am so guilty of some...
    Thanks for sharing

46. Anyway vs. anyways

Anyways is a colloquial variant of the adverb anyway. It has a casual tone and may be considered out of place in formal or serious writing. In such contexts, anyway is safer.

Although considered informal, anyways is not wrong. In fact, there is much precedent in English for the adverbial -s suffix, which was common in Old and Middle English and survives today in words such as towards, once, always, and unawares. But while these words survive from a period of English in which the adverbial -s was common, anyways is a modern construction (though it is now several centuries old).

Anyways is sometimes useful for creating an informal or colloquial tone, which may be what these writers have in mind:

Anyways, it’s time to move on. [NY Times]

Whatever. Home Improvement sucked anyways. [Bleacher Report]

But in writing that is not intended to have a colloquial tone, anyway works in its place—for example:

Why is Google building a Google phone, anyway? [The Atlantic]

It can be nearly impossible to see from publicly available data which banks are extending or restructuring loans they believe will one day fail anyway. [Wall Street Journal]

Anyway, I think it’s pretty hard to make a bad Hurley episode. [Chicago Tribune]

47. My English isn't bad....my data are finish? Chai ....

48. It is noted...English is a borrowed language,anything speak able is correct.Thanks anyway.

49. ALRIGHT is correct!

50. Lol............Nawah oooo.........End time english........Stella, take note!

51. Hmmmmmmmmm...
    "Alright" as a word is quietly gaining ground in formal British settingsetting. Won't be surprised if it's officially accepted as a word soon.