Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senator Gbenga Ashafa's Opening Remarks At The Interactive Session Of The Sen. Committee On Land Transport With The MDA’S‏

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Senator Gbenga Ashafa's Opening Remarks At The Interactive Session Of The Sen. Committee On Land Transport With The MDA’S‏

PROTOCOLS

''On behalf of the distinguished members of the Senate Committee on Land Transport, I like to welcome you all to the 2nd interactive session of this committee. 

On 10th December, 2015 when we had our first interactive session, the Minister of Transportation and the Director General of the Nigerian Institute of Transport Technology were unavoidably absent but were duly represented.

However, in order to kick off on a proper footing, it was resolved by the members of this committee to reschedule the session to a date and time when all the heads of the Ministries, Departments and Agencies under the purview of our oversight functions would be in attendance.

The essence of the interactive session is neither farfetched nor is its importance lost on all of us here. There is a need for all the MDA’s to bring the committee up to speed on the extent of performance as regards the capital projects budgeted and the current performance levels of such projects.

Let me quickly add that this committee (in line with Federal Government’s mandate to effectively diversify our transportation sector with particular focus on Rail transport) is prepared to work assiduously to ensure the actualisation of this mandate through every available legislative framework.

Just yesterday in Port Harcourt, we witnessed the commendable launch of the Port Harcourt to Aba mass transit rail line.

While we are eager to see similar projects commissioned across the length and breadth of the country in a bid to alleviate the transport challenges being faced by Nigerians, the committee recalls that during the brief presentations made by the representatives of the MDA’s at our first interactive session, the issue of funding was identified as a major challenge in the actualisation of pending projects.

Consequently, the committee in performance of its oversight functions will leave no stone unturned in scrutinising the application of the funds earlier budgeted for projects  by the MDA’s and also work closely with the MDA’s in ensuring that the adequate allocations are provided for the transport sector under the 2016 appropriation bill.

We thank you all for coming and we look forward to having a harmonious working relationship with you.

Senator ‘Gbenga Ashafa

Chairman Senate committee on Land Transport

16 comments:

1. See d way amaechi is laughing.

That moment he remembers WIKE's Appeal was Dismissed.

2. Weld one SDK's boo.
    Stella, wetin u dey an tonight? I dey wait o

3. God bless my Senator.

4. Senator Ashafa give away is all I can remember, God bless you sir

5. but wetin dey make Senatoor Ashafa bleach? Very bad behavior

6. Amechi seems very happy now.

7. Person fair, you dey talk say him de bleach, na wa for some people

8. This man inadvertently did so much good on this blog..but his post will come up people won't comment. Lol help a man when he needs you and he will remember you..when he needs you again! God bless him.

9. So he's the ashafa ! God bless you soo much

10. May God bless you sir, for what u are doing on sdk blog.