Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Report On Aero Flight With Ladder

Monday, December 21, 2015

Report On Aero Flight With Ladder

This picture went viral last week remember?

I Received this interesting report on my email...please read and know what happened and why these people disembarked from the flight with a ladder.

REPORT ON FLIGHT NG136 – ABUJA TO BAUCHI

On Thursday 17th December 2015, a charter was booked and confirmed from Abuja to Bauchi on a Boeing 737 -500 series aircraft. The charter was booked by a group of young people, part of a wedding party, attending this important event in Bauchi.

On Friday 18th December 2015, confirmed arrangements were made by our Head of Ground Operations, Mr. Peter Omata for the handling of the flight through the airport manager of Bauchi, Mr. Abubakar. He confirmed on many occasions the availability of the airstairs and cost. The aircraft to be used for the flight was 5N-BLG, a Boeing 737-500 series aircraft. This aircraft was positioned into Abuja on the evening of December 18th 2015.

Saturday 19th December 2015.
Schedule time of departure for Bauchi was 09:00. Passengers arrived late at the airport after departure time and this delayed the flight’s departure.

Crew on Board the flight were: Captain Nikcevic VLADO
First Officer Adeoye AJIBOLA
Purser Joy LAWSON
Cabin Crew Christie Anne BASSEY
Cabin Crew Arit Tom ATON
Flight Dispatcher Eunice KANTIOK

Actual Time of Departure: Off Blocks 09:30 Airborne 09:57

Prior to leaving Abuja, the Flight dispatcher contacted the Airport Manager to advise that the aircraft was taxing out and he confirmed that they were ready to receive the flight.

The flight was uneventful en-route.

At 10:42 the aircraft touched down on Runway 35 at the Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa International Airport. The controller advised the crew that due the absence of marshallers and no ramp officials of any sort that parking would be at their own discretion.

At 10:44 the flight dispatcher on board contacted the Airport Manager to advise him that they were on the ground, to which he confirmed that he was seeing the aircraft on taxi and that they were waiting.

After parking the Captain reports that they waited for up to 10 minutes for the stairs to be brought to the aircraft but no assistance or stairs came to the aircraft. The Captain reported that he informed the passengers of the situation as they were beginning to get agitated. What was not known to the crew at the beginning of the flight was that the Groom of the wedding was on board the flight. The wedding was to be started in another 20 minutes.

At 10:57 the crew called the controller to enquire as to why there was no one to position the stairs to the aircraft and he was told then that the stairs had “just broken down” and that the Fire services are making provisions to sort it out. 

After waiting for another five to seven minutes the passengers became furious as they were now getting very late for the wedding ceremony. The Captain went to the cabin and explained to them that he may have to take them back to Abuja as they cannot disembark due lack of stairs. The group insisted that he cannot keep them on board the aircraft and he considered that their anger was becoming potentially threatening for the crew to take them back to Abuja.

The alternative which the Fire services provided was a ladder which the passengers took as an option and on their own free will decided to use the ladder to disembark against the wishes of the Captain and crew. The Captain allowed this procedure in order to reduce what he thought was a volatile situation.

At 12:55 with the airstair connected to the aircraft, passengers boarded the return flight to Abuja. The aircraft taxied out at 13:10 and was airborne at 13:24arriving into Abuja at 14:05.

Below is an email which we received from one of the passengers in the group, please note his contact details. 

On Sat, Dec 19, 2015 at 16:28, Sadiq Waziri
*********@hotmail.com wrote:

Good evening sir, 

Ajibola Adeoye (F/O on our flight) contacted me to ask about what happened today and I must say we are solely responsible for the decision to disembark using a ladder.
We were running late, and could not spare time for the repair of the air stairs 
 However, there was only one air stairs in the whole of Bauchi (a so called international airport) and the air stairs was not even serviceable 
  I think this is more of NAMA, FAAN, NCAA and all the responsible bodies for aviation in Nigeria's fault.
They should look into providing better standards and services especially with how ridiculously they charge companies for services that are not even rendered or if at all rendered, only partially.

Besides the slight inconvenience on arrival, the service provided by your company was very satisfactory 

Best Regards, 

Waziri Sadiq

The following has been reached in the last 24 hours;

An investigation into the event has been called, the results of which could lead to changes in our operational procedures.
Following the findings of this investigation, it will become a part of our training and CRM re-currency training exercises.
The decision to perform any further charters into Bauchi is suspended on B737 equipment but we can consider charters into Bauchi on Q400 or Dash 8-300 aircraft.

Any future charters to destinations that are not areas of scheduled commercial flight operations must have at least one permanent Ground Handling company on ground before we will consider. 

We will continue to operate our aircraft safely and within the guidelines of the law and the company must continue to ensure the safety and security of our crews and equipment at all times.

71 comments:

1. Their cup of burukutu....disgraxing nigeria with the slightest opportunity....stella I'm back and u must enjoy me

1. Na who go read all this story?

*Sips burukutu*

2. Loll back in time for Christmas giveaway abi?

Chill, collect the one you won on LIB and the come and hustle here inugo?

2. Ladder ladder ladder eeeeh our Lord Jesus is my ladder... Brother follow follow d ladder to heaven.

3. Thanks stella for passing this information to the public,people really need to know stuffs before accusing aero contractors wrongly. Aero is the best in Nigeria aand I'm saying this because I know how they operate,from their good salary to staffs to standard welfare package and first hand safety measures,i give it to them. For me it's aero contractors and the others

4. I taught it happened on Saturday 19th December? Anywhere, they have no reason,and it can only happen in Nigeria. I've never entered bus with ladder not to talk of airplane.It's uncalled for.

5. Thank u stella. I hope nigerians and those so called bloggers read this. Some actually believe d airline shud provide d airstairs. Very funny

6. Always... the Nigerian factor *sigh*

7. Smh!

Your comment will be visible after approval.

8. hahahahahahahaha this is so funny.........i missed d santa post,got it late n i need ego gannnn. i do not mind if my blog helper can still locate me ooo

9. Only in Nigeria. So it's only one stairs that is available in the airport. Shame on.

10. When i heard the news, i know it must be Hausa people. Ndi araa just na echu nmadu na obodoa..

11. An international airport with just one air stairs??? Hmmmm
    Despite what was written above,still doesn't dispute the fact dt it was a show of shame

12. Long story.How can an airport not have different stairs for passengers to disembark from planes?

13. Aero and their way of operating though. But what must have brought the idea of ladder?

1. The airport and not aero is responsible for providing air stairs

14. Hmmmm
    Why will a groom take such a risk of traveling on the said day of his wedding?
    Well...

1. That groom story is fabricated ,who travels on the day of ur wedding in this Nigeria with so many unforeseen circumstances
      .abeggi.tales by moon light

2. Ziona shut your daft self up....hate your type who negates every story cos they have never experienced it or know someone who has......yes it has happened before and nothing strange about traveling on your wedding day......back to the matter, it's a shame that FAAN has only one airstair in bauchi....they need to wake up

15. That was an epic disgrace...
    Nothing works in this country!...how much is the air stairs that Bauchi people can't afford?...aboki people,the only thing they know is how to steal Nigeria blind!....

16. Very foolish excuse and explanation.
    Under no circumstances should this be allowed to happen.
    Very irresponsible decision by the pilot and airport staff.

1. I doubt you read through this piece,you were just in a hurry to comment.

17. I still weep for Nigeria my country

18. Long story...hehehehheh..the groom couldn't wait any longer..plus what kinda groom embark on a journey few mins to his big day, very irresponsible..well,who i'm I to judge though..good to knw no one fall off the ladder..heheheheh..the pic has been trending tho..all over my TL on twitter..

Stella bae..u might think i'm lying, but I saw u in my dream..u were so nice..i dreamt about u all tru d night..thats so weird as I hardly dream, maybe cuz I dosed off reading last SDKB news post last night..ur juju Don catch me ooo..now i'm love struck..

19. cool someone's doing something to clear the air

20. Chisus we dey use ladder take come down from plain. Haba naija

21. Hahahaha, Naija. We are over rugged.

22. story for the gods. This truth remains that this country is a zoo.

23. Okay. Desperate times call for desperate measures.

24. Jeez, what were they doing parked in a rail way. May their souls rest in peace

1. Learn to read and understand. Na u kill them? Which one be rest in peace again?

25. Pardon my ignorance, but are d stairs not normally attached to d aeroplane or something. Like does it not come down upon opening d door of the plane??

1. I'm not too sure but I think it's only helicopters that have stairs attached to the doors. Air Planes should be mobile stairs.

Bauchi. International airport?!?
      If I hear!

2. Eka Joy, really??? C'mon! It's a B737 series...

3. It depends on the aircraft I think.

4. Only bt a few are attached not all.

5. U r pardoned. Cos uv once said uv never been on a plane before. Local breed

26. Shame...at least they were able to clear their name.

27. Good explanation. We need to really upgrade standards here

Read 7 Anti-Ageing Foods everyone over 40 should eat

28. They used 'nepa' ladder to come down? Issorite

29. Okay oh, so what I deduced was that FAAN and other authorities shld be blame and not the airline.. also it was the passengers fault or choice to use it without the pilots decision.. Okay its all over the news now, and the person that took the picture ehn!!! Thank You, why would u have just one air stairs??

1. Yes, d airport authorities should be blamed because with the money they charge airline operators all these are supposed to be provided from inside.

30. On behalf of BV One Trillion..."End Time Plane"!

*Ghanaman signing out*

1. End time journey.
      End time wedding.
      End time passengers.

2. In fact, end time airport!

31. Just negodu. This question for experts within the aviation industry, aren't there a guidelines used in upgrading a airport from local to international? I ask because I don't trust our politicians who in a bid to score points would unilaterally take a decision to make it seem as if they are working.

32. Minister of aviation and all concerned bodies, plz to note to avoid this kind of embarrassment in future.

33. All these are products of corruption. There is no excuse for failure pls, mtchewwwwww

34. Replies
    1. Hahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahaha! Who dis person kwanu? U dey make me laff here too much o! Ahahahahaahahahahahhaah!!!

35. Singing ...Ladder ladder ladder ooo, follow the ladder to heaven. My sister follow.... follow the ladder to heaven...

36. May God not allow us be in some precarious situations in our lives IJN... It is well even in the well

37. The explanation still doesn't negate the fact of the 'ladder,' being a show of shame.
    If someone had gotten injured,the airline would still get their share of blame.

38. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    We wey never enter plane hw e take concern me abeg.....

39. Ladder ke?they should not be lacking in such area in order not to loose customers

40. Hahahahaha, it's a very funny sight to behold.

41. We are full of surprises in this country.