Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pronunciation Made Easy

Sunday, December 27, 2015

Pronunciation Made Easy

Pronouncing words are easy right?..Well that's what i thought until i went through this list.

I failed about five of these....I wonder how many you know already .....

108 comments:

1. I knew all except chutzpah. What is chutzpah? Never heard of that.

1. Make I take pidgin tapia am for you.
      Na d kain mumu liver wey awon angry bvs dey get come under your yarn dey vomit yabis anyha anyha.

Google is your friend dear.
      Hahaha
      Merry Xmas

2. Lol...@Xp,see why I call you one of my English teachers?Thank you jare!! Kee maka ndi 'Anyambra?'A n'agbakwa ofuma?

3. Xhlrted, na correct warri girl you be oh

4. Hahaha... you something else
      Lmao

5. It's like a slang for someone that is courageous in an arrogant way. Just someone with an effrontery to do certain things. "Thick guts"

6. I use that word when provoked. On 9th Dec 2015 under Waje's post i used it.Go to Google and type "Waje says Plastic Surgery on SDK Blog". Scroll to my comment. Gbam. E dey there.

You guys should not mind me o. Gat too much time to play around, offloaded my kids in my parents place, it's ME-TIME all the way. So I got my eyes roving on this blog for now.

#xmas break is so chillaxing#

2. Thnx Stella i don learn English small.Simple mistakes we all make

1. Tell the Americans the KOOPUN bit and they will almost kill you. So annoying. In England the pronunciation has always been Koo - pawns. A lot of my Netherlands and German friends say AIRON. Language interference.

3. Gini Gbasara onye n'ere Gala with Gala night?? **wink**

I will try to learn if its written in igbo language...buhahahaha! or yoruba!! Kikikiki

@MARTINS ABOY

1. Nwanne onwedi ihe jiko akwa ogazi na Quail egg hoha!

4. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

5. I'm a dried crayfish. Will save this for my kids

6. Educative. But Stella you come repeat am all again. Na make e sink well into our brains?

7. Afi break fust na.... please nobody should come and twist my tongue upside down cos I want to sound like what? That first one, "lingerie" heard the right pronunciation from my man and I was like "say that again"... then bouquet, plenty people don't know how to pronounce it. That Engineer up the, I won't pronounce it that way mbok! Call me olodo I agree.

1. Please what's the meaning of mbok? I keep hearing it but don't know the meaning.

2. Mbok means please (abeg)

3. Please...that's what mbok means

4. Please, abeg, biko, joor, doallah,
      Fa ncha b'ofu ife afu

8. Na who proper pronunciation help?

9. Stella after going through them u still made mistake! Madam it's pronunciation nt pronounciation !

1. Thank You oh!! This is what is called seeing free expo and still failing.....

10. Pls kip sharing more of ds. Ability to speak well commands lotta respect. Am bookmarking ds page right away.

11. Nice one guilty of most of dem

12. Nice one Stellz, nice one.I had fun.

13. Yayyyy I know how to pronounce them all :)

14. Thats how i learn french.

15. Wow... nice one. Thanks for this

16. Sapele Babe in Lagos27 December 2015 at 15:45

Stella has come again. I think I can safely say I got the ones I know because I try to get my pronunciations right but then how do I begin to pronounce words I have neither ever used nor whose meanings I know? Chai! I still need to go back to school o.
    A beg, fellow members of BVN, what is CHUTZPAH? Wetin be MOJITO?Google is my friend right? Mojito- I Don thief reach. Lol.

17. I know about lingerie, restaurant, entrepreneur, pronunciation Wednesday. The others, I do this... Bring me that coupon abi, co u pon, whatever its called for me.... Hehehehe,

18. Na wah o.na english be dis self.if u pronounce like this in naija na problem o

19. Your blog visitors can barely spell, you wan enter pronunciation??? Hohohooooo.

Abeg leave dem as dem be, make dem no swallow their tounge.

1. Anon 15:46 my thoughts exactly

They murder the language without mercy, they say things like "woman on red dress" Stella now wants them to learn words they can't use in context

20. The pronunciation of restaurant marked wrong is actually correct in both British and North American English.
    The pronunciation marked correct is common in North America English.

1. Exactly. It's transcription is "rest(ə)ront". That schwa sound in bracket can or cannot be pronounced. So its correct not wrong. All the other words, we know already. Lol

21. The pro nun cia shun sounds like Chinese abi french. I like my own like that biko. Learnt something though

22. Replies
    1. I agree.

As you no dey ever make common sense what's the point of sounding good on top of nothing?

2. Yes na you can't beg for giveaway on d post namsense

23. Stella this is the first time I'm appreciating you,God bless you. But this on-truh-pren-yur,you sure say person go understand me when i pronounce it?

1. If they don't understand point to anybody selling plantain chips, life is not hard.

Osaro. P Agbonkhuluemien

24. Lessons learnt...why the repetition though? Aeegurl...

25. Pls if u r in calabar.... Hollaaa

26. Pls if you are in calabar...... Holla

27. Thanks Stella, na only the LINGERIE I know before.

1. @ Xhlrted P, ha ha ha @ not surprised. You are not serious. Merry Christmas.

2. Ake Ake..."winks". Just admit it already, you've bought loads and loads for HER and HER now. We know.

28. Stella oya chop kiss :-*

29. Stella oya chop kiss ;-*

30. Wow... Nice.
    That wrong pronunciation of engineer is very common with Yoruba people, lol.

31. Wow.
    Learning made easy
    Saving some of em....

Oh how I love pronouncing Mojito,Jaunita etc
    Entourage too.

32. Aunty Stella , thank Q

33. Abeg abeg abeg...@lingerie and iron, who get that kind time. Most people on this part of the world would not even understand you. Life is already difficult btw, stella wants to make it worse, hian...

34. I no sabi english na pigin I sabi and I am a graduate, chei.

35. So you think you've got better pronunciations? Just so you know, there's no school for pronunciation. See how you pronounce most of those words...smd for you.

36. I failed more than five. *covers face*

37. Wow!
    Thanks Stellz.

**Som Baby**

38. All jare. These ones ain't difficult na. Would have typed some very difficult ones but awon razzoids will jump into my thread and start typing Braggart. Mi o le pariwo. No be me choose my coming.

Had solid formative years with some kind of teachers for syntax and speech delivery so I know.

#Team Hillcrest Jos#

1. @ Hillcrest?
      That's one of the top 10 most classy if not expensive middle/high school country wide. It has just AISL and a few others ahead of it.

2. Yes ooo. Hillcrest all the way.
      I still miss the rusty, dusty and lonely Rayfield, now bubbling. The ride to school was everything. Jos has it all now.

The summary is that you can spell just about any word. And ooh, you can do no HATE.
      #raised n soaked in LOVE.
      All these people abusing me here, I pity them.

****Amaka I am still viewing you on 5D***. Continue.

39. I knew the first one long time ago

40. Thanks stella. keep them coming. no one knows it all. learnt something new.

*no condition is permanent*

41. Some of d word tho, I dnt think I've hrd dem b4 and dey dnt look like words I'll hear in dis life n d next...lol

42. Listen to the way British/English people pronounce words and spell words, it is their language so you can't argue with them on it. Americans speak the English language not the American language.

43. I know of pronunciation. nice

44. Pronounce determined and security @Steven Ohuche, I can go on and on, people in glass houses don't throw stones. Your obsession with Yoruba people will eventually kill you lot.

45. Chutzpah - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chutzpah
    Chutzpah (/ˈhʊtspə/ or /ˈxʊtspə/) is the quality of audacity, for good or for bad. The Yiddish word derives from the Hebrew word ḥutspâ (חֻצְפָּה), meaning "insolence", "cheek" or "audacity".

46. Personally I think Nigerians have the worse pronunciations on the planet. It shocks me that you were actually colonised by British. Even the most educated has a horrible pronunciation, no wonder everyone tries to fake it to make it. I mean how in the hell do you say POOR SHOE as in pursue. It is absolutely ridiculous -

Ghanaians and South Africans have the best English accent in all of Africa (the educated ones of course). You actually hear everything clearly.

ps : and by the way it is Lend me, not Borrow me and it is the Day after tomorrow, NOT next tomorrow - Its SUV - not every freaking car is a JEEP.