I failed about five of these....I wonder how many you know already .....
Sunday, December 27, 2015
Pronunciation Made Easy
Pronouncing words are easy right?..Well that's what i thought until i went through this list.
108 comments:
I knew all except chutzpah. What is chutzpah? Never heard of that.
ReplyDeleteMake I take pidgin tapia am for you.
DeleteNa d kain mumu liver wey awon angry bvs dey get come under your yarn dey vomit yabis anyha anyha.
Google is your friend dear.
Hahaha
Merry Xmas
Lol...@Xp,see why I call you one of my English teachers?Thank you jare!! Kee maka ndi 'Anyambra?'A n'agbakwa ofuma?
DeleteXhlrted, na correct warri girl you be oh
DeleteHahaha... you something else
DeleteLmao
It's like a slang for someone that is courageous in an arrogant way. Just someone with an effrontery to do certain things. "Thick guts"
DeleteI use that word when provoked. On 9th Dec 2015 under Waje's post i used it.Go to Google and type "Waje says Plastic Surgery on SDK Blog". Scroll to my comment. Gbam. E dey there.
DeleteYou guys should not mind me o. Gat too much time to play around, offloaded my kids in my parents place, it's ME-TIME all the way. So I got my eyes roving on this blog for now.
#xmas break is so chillaxing#
Thnx Stella i don learn English small.Simple mistakes we all make
ReplyDeleteTell the Americans the KOOPUN bit and they will almost kill you. So annoying. In England the pronunciation has always been Koo - pawns. A lot of my Netherlands and German friends say AIRON. Language interference.
DeleteGini Gbasara onye n'ere Gala with Gala night?? **wink**
ReplyDeleteI will try to learn if its written in igbo language...buhahahaha! or yoruba!! Kikikiki
@MARTINS ABOY
Nwanne onwedi ihe jiko akwa ogazi na Quail egg hoha!
DeleteSee me laughing at my self
ReplyDeleteWow I learnt alot
DeleteThis comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
ReplyDeleteI'm a dried crayfish. Will save this for my kids
ReplyDeleteInteresting
ReplyDeleteWow
ReplyDeleteEducative. But Stella you come repeat am all again. Na make e sink well into our brains?
ReplyDeleteAfi break fust na.... please nobody should come and twist my tongue upside down cos I want to sound like what? That first one, "lingerie" heard the right pronunciation from my man and I was like "say that again"... then bouquet, plenty people don't know how to pronounce it. That Engineer up the, I won't pronounce it that way mbok! Call me olodo I agree.
ReplyDeletePlease what's the meaning of mbok? I keep hearing it but don't know the meaning.
DeleteMbok means please (abeg)
DeletePlease or abeg
DeletePlease...that's what mbok means
DeletePlease, abeg, biko, joor, doallah,
DeleteFa ncha b'ofu ife afu
Interesting
ReplyDeleteNa who proper pronunciation help?
ReplyDeleteAboki
DeleteStella Nwunye Korkus u r d best...
ReplyDeleteStella after going through them u still made mistake! Madam it's pronunciation nt pronounciation !
ReplyDeleteThank You oh!! This is what is called seeing free expo and still failing.....
DeletePls kip sharing more of ds. Ability to speak well commands lotta respect. Am bookmarking ds page right away.
ReplyDeleteNawa ooooo. There's God.
ReplyDeleteNice one guilty of most of dem
ReplyDeleteNice one Stellz, nice one.I had fun.
ReplyDeleteYayyyy I know how to pronounce them all :)
ReplyDeleteThats how i learn french.
ReplyDeleteWow... nice one. Thanks for this
ReplyDeleteStella has come again. I think I can safely say I got the ones I know because I try to get my pronunciations right but then how do I begin to pronounce words I have neither ever used nor whose meanings I know? Chai! I still need to go back to school o.
ReplyDeleteA beg, fellow members of BVN, what is CHUTZPAH? Wetin be MOJITO?Google is my friend right? Mojito- I Don thief reach. Lol.
I know about lingerie, restaurant, entrepreneur, pronunciation Wednesday. The others, I do this... Bring me that coupon abi, co u pon, whatever its called for me.... Hehehehe,
ReplyDeleteNa wah o.na english be dis self.if u pronounce like this in naija na problem o
ReplyDeleteYour blog visitors can barely spell, you wan enter pronunciation??? Hohohooooo.
ReplyDeleteAbeg leave dem as dem be, make dem no swallow their tounge.
Lol,no b only tounge
DeleteAnon 15:46 my thoughts exactly
DeleteThey murder the language without mercy, they say things like "woman on red dress" Stella now wants them to learn words they can't use in context
Lol..oyibo
ReplyDeleteThe pronunciation of restaurant marked wrong is actually correct in both British and North American English.
ReplyDeleteThe pronunciation marked correct is common in North America English.
Exactly. It's transcription is "rest(ə)ront". That schwa sound in bracket can or cannot be pronounced. So its correct not wrong. All the other words, we know already. Lol
DeleteIrrelevant.
ReplyDeleteGhanian BV where unah dey?
ReplyDeleteThe pro nun cia shun sounds like Chinese abi french. I like my own like that biko. Learnt something though
ReplyDeleteAll right
ReplyDeleteNice. I got most.
ReplyDeleteIrrelevant to me.
ReplyDeleteI agree.
DeleteAs you no dey ever make common sense what's the point of sounding good on top of nothing?
Yes na you can't beg for giveaway on d post namsense
DeleteStella this is the first time I'm appreciating you,God bless you. But this on-truh-pren-yur,you sure say person go understand me when i pronounce it?
ReplyDeleteIf they don't understand point to anybody selling plantain chips, life is not hard.
DeleteOsaro. P Agbonkhuluemien
Learnt a lot
ReplyDeleteEnvelope-pronunced Onvelope
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm,na wa ooh
ReplyDeleteLessons learnt...why the repetition though? Aeegurl...
ReplyDeleteThanks Stella bae
ReplyDeletePls if u r in calabar.... Hollaaa
ReplyDeletePls if you are in calabar...... Holla
ReplyDeleteWo, e fi mi le jare
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteThanks Stella, na only the LINGERIE I know before.
ReplyDeleteNot surprised. Kikiki.
Delete@ Xhlrted P, ha ha ha @ not surprised. You are not serious. Merry Christmas.
DeleteAke Ake..."winks". Just admit it already, you've bought loads and loads for HER and HER now. We know.
DeleteStella oya chop kiss :-*
ReplyDeletegood to know
ReplyDeleteStella oya chop kiss ;-*
ReplyDeleteWow... Nice.
ReplyDeleteThat wrong pronunciation of engineer is very common with Yoruba people, lol.
If I carry free slap dash you
DeleteOk..
ReplyDeleteTor, munji
ReplyDeleteOkay oh. Good2know. Thanks!
ReplyDeleteWow.
ReplyDeleteLearning made easy
Saving some of em....
Oh how I love pronouncing Mojito,Jaunita etc
Entourage too.
Genre.....u too gbaski!
ReplyDeleteWow noted.
ReplyDeleteAunty Stella , thank Q
ReplyDeleteAbeg abeg abeg...@lingerie and iron, who get that kind time. Most people on this part of the world would not even understand you. Life is already difficult btw, stella wants to make it worse, hian...
ReplyDeleteI got only Wednesday right
ReplyDeleteI no sabi english na pigin I sabi and I am a graduate, chei.
ReplyDeleteSo you think you've got better pronunciations? Just so you know, there's no school for pronunciation. See how you pronounce most of those words...smd for you.
ReplyDeleteI failed more than five. *covers face*
ReplyDeleteWahala dey Oo.
ReplyDeleteWow!
ReplyDeleteThanks Stellz.
**Som Baby**
So educating..
ReplyDeleteAll jare. These ones ain't difficult na. Would have typed some very difficult ones but awon razzoids will jump into my thread and start typing Braggart. Mi o le pariwo. No be me choose my coming.
ReplyDeleteHad solid formative years with some kind of teachers for syntax and speech delivery so I know.
#Team Hillcrest Jos#
Teach me nah
DeleteWow Hillcrest! Impressive!!!
Delete@ Hillcrest?
DeleteThat's one of the top 10 most classy if not expensive middle/high school country wide. It has just AISL and a few others ahead of it.
Yes ooo. Hillcrest all the way.
DeleteI still miss the rusty, dusty and lonely Rayfield, now bubbling. The ride to school was everything. Jos has it all now.
The summary is that you can spell just about any word. And ooh, you can do no HATE.
#raised n soaked in LOVE.
All these people abusing me here, I pity them.
****Amaka I am still viewing you on 5D***. Continue.
I knew the first one long time ago
ReplyDeleteAbeg it depends
ReplyDeleteThanks stella. keep them coming. no one knows it all. learnt something new.
ReplyDelete*no condition is permanent*
Ugly pronunciations
ReplyDeleteNice
ReplyDeleteSome of d word tho, I dnt think I've hrd dem b4 and dey dnt look like words I'll hear in dis life n d next...lol
ReplyDeleteListen to the way British/English people pronounce words and spell words, it is their language so you can't argue with them on it. Americans speak the English language not the American language.
ReplyDeleteI know of pronunciation. nice
ReplyDeletePronounce determined and security @Steven Ohuche, I can go on and on, people in glass houses don't throw stones. Your obsession with Yoruba people will eventually kill you lot.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmmm
ReplyDeleteEnd time pronunciations
ReplyDeleteChutzpah - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
ReplyDeletehttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chutzpah
Chutzpah (/ˈhʊtspə/ or /ˈxʊtspə/) is the quality of audacity, for good or for bad. The Yiddish word derives from the Hebrew word ḥutspâ (חֻצְפָּה), meaning "insolence", "cheek" or "audacity".
You know that.
DeletePersonally I think Nigerians have the worse pronunciations on the planet. It shocks me that you were actually colonised by British. Even the most educated has a horrible pronunciation, no wonder everyone tries to fake it to make it. I mean how in the hell do you say POOR SHOE as in pursue. It is absolutely ridiculous -
ReplyDeleteGhanaians and South Africans have the best English accent in all of Africa (the educated ones of course). You actually hear everything clearly.
ps : and by the way it is Lend me, not Borrow me and it is the Day after tomorrow, NOT next tomorrow - Its SUV - not every freaking car is a JEEP.