Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Prices Of Foodstuffs Soar Across The Country Soar Because Of Christmas!

Saturday, December 19, 2015

Prices Of Foodstuffs Soar Across The Country Soar Because Of Christmas!

Prices of tomatoes, turkey and rice yesterday soared by over 100 per cent in most markets in Lagos, according to a survey by New Telegraph. The survey showed that a big basket of tomatoes, which previously sold for N3,000 at the Mile 12, and Ogba Sunday markets now sells for N7,000.

A medium-sized basket of fresh pepper now sells for N10,000 from N5,000, while turkey goes for N9,000 as against the N6,000 it sold for in the preceding weeks. A jute bag of onions goes for N12,500 from N11,000 while a 20-litre keg of vegetable oil goes for N6, 100 as against N6,000 previously.

A fourlitre paint measurement of garri still sells for N300. A bag of rice now goes for between 9,400 and 9,600 as against the commodity’s initial price of between 6, 300 and 7,000. In like manner, a 120 kilogramme bag of beans now costs N24,500.00, from the N22,000 it sold for in the preceding weeks.

The traders attributed the high cost of transportation to the lingering fuel scarcity AND THE YULETIDE SEASON as reason for the increase in the prices of these items.

Na wah oh.The painful thing is that once the prices go up,they never come down again!
Christmas in Nigeria is too stressful abeg.For the past years,I dont even bother about Xmas,i jut plan a trip away from home and wake up with my family on Xmas morning in a hotel room with breakfast waiting.. #Beautiful ...Hehehehehhehe

31 comments:

1. Stella, it's not a new thing here... Prices of goods escalate during festive season

2. Its better to buy ahead of time

1. The prices come down abeg. Last year there wasn't so much skyrocketing of prices, this year the economic condition (i.e) exchange rate ain't helping issues.

Well, I have never been a fanfare person... I carry on like it's any other day. That way, I survive the inflation + hustle and bustle.

3. Waking up to a breakfast in a hotel room kehh, abeg I like the feeling and I celebrate it wella.

4. The prices will come down after 2nd week of January Stella. It's normal and Nigerians always prepare for it

1. Stella we are used to it esp here in Lagos.

2. SDK it's not just xmas that's causing it....
      High rate of dollar exchange has generally affected everything both indegineous and foreign goods.

5. Christmas coupled with fuel scarcity made the price of items in the market rise.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

6. God will always make a way...

7. Since the ban on importation frozen foods have gone up, also things are always expensive during this time

1. Hmmm, and I havenot bought anything.
      Please someone help me with a market that sells foodstuffs cheap in abuja

8. Yea it's everywhere. Was at a poultry yesterday d chicken I normally buy at 2500 was sold to me at d rate of 4500.

9. Onions is very expensive now
    SMH at the economy

10. STELLA AND SENSE "i jut plan a trip away from home and wake up with my family on Xmas morning in a hotel room with breakfast waiting".

11. Na wa for Naija.
    Must they capitalize on every situation to make profit? How do they expect d masses to survive? So annoying.

12. This is the change regime, fuel scarcity still on even after liar Muhammed said there would be fuel

13. When has the prices ever come down?
    It's always soaring.

Stells, I want to be like you when I grow up o. #yimu

14. They keep increasing everyday ooo just want this festive period to come and go joooo. Everything is just so dry

15. I felt like crying yesterday at the market. Medium sized Tin tomatoes that I was even complaining that they recently started selling 150 instead of 100, was sold for 170 yesterday. Na so everytin take cost oo.. The worst part is that DH will till give me the same amount every weekend!

God help us oo. Na make we see food chop we dey pray na sef.

1. Stop cooking with tin tomatoes...
      That's shit is made with flour and colour...

16. Enter your comment... How do I survive?

17. God bless my aboki customers no matter how expensive market women want to sell theirs, my aboki customers ll always sell better

18. Heavenly Father save our economy, it's just too disastrous *sighs*

19. really prices have gone right through the roof.onions is gold here in abuja.my fresh chicken seller just dey call me since make i come buy chicken asmarket no dey.chicken of 2000 now about 4000.i no buy abeg.

20. Just coming back from the market and things are quite expensive. May be its due to Christmas i guess.

21. I bought a basket of tomatoes for 9,000 naira.But it would always come down. It was worse 7 months ago when it went as high as 16,000 for a basket.

22. After reading this post I added chicken, turkey and fish to my shopping list. Bought at same old price from the lady.selling in my estate. Obviously she had old stock. Now its to fast and pray that almighty PHCN will give us light.