Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's $500m Typing Error Over MTN Fine

Saturday, December 05, 2015

Nigeria's $500m Typing Error Over MTN Fine

Nigeria's telecom regulator says it made a $500m (£330m) typing error when announcing a reduction in a massive fine imposed on Africa's largest mobile operator, MTN.
The Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) initially said the $5.2bn fine had been reduced to $3.4bn.

But NCC spokesman Tony Ojobo says the correct amount is $3.9bn (£2.5bn).
The original sanction was imposed in October for failing to cut off unregistered users.
The company has not yet commented.

Since the original fine, the South African company has made a number of senior managerial changes, which included the resignation of the chief executive of its Nigerian unit, Sifiso Dabengwa.

The fine was reduced after MTN complained to the NCC.
"There was a typo. The reduction should have been 25%," Mr Ojobo told the Bloomberg news agency.
"We saw the mistake and had to fix it."

The amount has to be paid by December 31.

MTN has 231 million subscribers in 22 countries across Africa, Asia and the Middle East. However, Nigeria is its biggest market.
In September, the company was named as most admired brand in Africa in the Brand Africa 100 awards, beating Samsung, while it was also awarded the continent's most valuable brand, worth $4.6bn (£3bn).
MTN was South Africa's second mobile operator when it was set up in 1994 after the end of apartheid.
It began its expansion across Africa four years later with operations in Rwanda, Uganda and Swaziland.

BBC Reportage.

31 comments:

1. Afareth, the Helloeth commentseth don finisheth?

All these kind money dey give me BP jare.

1. Mtcheew
      Like I care!
      Probably mtn has bribed them.

2. Stellastic stella na you biko. Its 12am here.

3. What a colossal typing error! So unprofessional of them. Na una sabi shaa!

1. Na real colossal typing error of the century. That's what happens when you have square pegs in round holes all over the place. Naijas need real changes NOW.

4. Stella Stella...this your new icon for "if I hear?" na die. Hahaha.
    But the figure is actually made to exasperate MTN Nigeria Management. It ain't funny abeg.
    Pray they survive this.

God protect and secure top management jobs there for Nigerians.

5. Nigeria they boost international market ehn!! Most things sell in nigeria... but that money is much and someone needs to Sanction DSTV asap

1. Those lebanese , Indian &CO factories across Nigeria especially in lagos need proper safety, health, financial and labour CHECKS.
      Immigration without bribes and clear head go get plenty work to do there

6. Their business. Worse network. Couldn't even browse for days...Mtchewww.

7. mtn pls connect back my mtn line.stop stressing me

1. Go and register your sim. Stop waiting for a miracle.

8. Eyah. This money is too much. na. Cnt dey reduce more? I just pity them

9. Nawa o, y d error. Unproffesional pple

10. All I hear is billions... Whatever for der pocket!!!