Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Woman Whose Family Tagged "A Curse" Faces Deportation From UK

Thursday, December 17, 2015

Nigerian Woman Whose Family Tagged "A Curse" Faces Deportation From UK

A wheelchair-bound student activist who says her family in Nigeria believe she is a “curse” could be deported this Christmas, after the Home Office rejected her plea to remain in the UK.

More than 1,000 people have signed a petition demanding Kelechi Chioba be allowed to remain in the country.
The 35-year-old who originally moved to Britain as a postgraduate student in 2011, has polio and suffers from mental health problems.

She applied for asylum on the basis that she endured severe abuse in Nigeria due to her disability. She says her family believe her to be a “curse” and that people had tried to kill her.
The statement alongside the petition says: “In Nigeria, she is regarded as a curse and a source of shame upon her family, due to her disability. She has suffered severe abuse at the hands of her family, including verbal abuse, beatings and attempts to end her life.”

But the she has been told by the Home Office there was “nothing sufficiently serious in the family or private life circumstances that could possibly outweigh the need for immigration controls to be enforced”.

She has recently returned to National Asylum Support Service (NASS) accommodation after a stay in hospital, and said she was struggling to survive on a budget of £31 per week, after her allowance was slashed by NASS.

Tasmia Salim, education officer at the University of Central Lancashire and a friend of Ms Chioba, said: “Kelechi is always championing other people, and it’s really hard to see her go through all of this.
“You have to ask, are these British values? We take the moral high ground with other governments but people right here in our country are suffering. Who are we to turn our backs?”
Chioba, who studied hospital and healthcare at the University of Wolverhampton before she was forced to postpone her studies, is a keen student disability campaigner and NUS activist.
A fundraising website has also has been started, which organisers say will fund Ms Chioba’s legal costs and go towards her food and medicine.

Source -The Independent

Hmmmm....Okay!

53 comments:

1. Her disability should squeeze out some sympathy from UK.

Disable people are well catered to in western world.

Good luck to her.

2. Liar liar,come back home o jare!

3. Jovita,don't be insensitive.pray that u wont be in her situation.

4. Lord have mercy..
      #MissVa3lla

5. If she feels that she has a better life in the UK, then that's fine. But don't lie on, or malign the values of ur family because u want to garner empathy. Why would anyone want to kill u becos of ur disability? C'mon girl

6. Sisi eko don't u lie

7. Anonymous, I would never lie to the detriment of my family simply becos I want to remain anywhere or want to obtain something from someone. That is cheap and disgraceful.

8. Where is your Knowledge Sisi Eko? An average Nigerian complains about our harsh economy, graduates paid about $200 a month, gas charges for your vehicles electricity supplies, our medical facilities is nothing to write about, which I believe you know all this, if she's been deported will you Happy seeing her struggling to get a water to bath every morning? *think Pls* I bet you've never left Nigeria for Once! May GOD enlighten your wisdom!

2. Nawaooo. A curse kwa. Lies from the pit of hell

1. Real lies from the bottomless pit , same family that sent you for postgraduate studies!

2. As in ehn,just imagine d degrade she leveled on her family cos she wants to live in d Uk.
      One wud wonder who sponsored her dere in d first place2school? Is it not dis same fam? Lies upon lies,This shudnt b news or smtin4 d internet,Its disgraceful abeg.

3. She has mental issues yet she can say all this about herself and family? Iro ni

1. Leave Emma out of this. This lady is a liar

4. Its quit hard to believe her story, how will anyone call you cursed cos you're disabled? Just say you want a stay as a citizen period.
    #emdossupernova

5. what a pity, Let god's will be done in her life

6. Oga ooo its well.we undstand all dis story seeking for a green pasture.

7. Na wa o

*****MhizDerbyViaIG*****

8. Plz they should allow her to stay
    Na wah for her family, when did disability become a curse?

9. Someone that was sponsored to go abroad to do her masters? Is it cheap? Will they do that for someone who they consider a curse? She is even lazy because she didn't even finish her schooling.

10. Eyahhhhh
    See as them wan deport am!
    Bia Stella I hope u won't do Xmas giveaway like linda
    That bitch is stingy, see as see share money
    Mtchewwwwwww

1. Beggy-beggy!
      Jumping from one blog to another, looking for giveaway

11. Some people are just backward thinking animals.

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I knw she is lying... Babe provide a stronger lie to help yu stay there by all means ok.... Naija is not the way at all....

13. I attended same secondary school as Kelechi. This her claim sounds strange though...but what do I know it's been more than 10years

14. You are stupid just say you want to stay in UK slavery mentality dey worry you .no Nigerian family would label you a curse cause of a disability mumu girl

15. Better leave her there ,if u deport her.she will die!

16. This babe can lie
    This her story na to attract sympathy so dem go give her stay.
    Haba!
    Nigerians make una dey fear God dey lie oh

17. This is pure lie from the pit of hell. Why saying such a thing against your family, just because you want to remain in UK ?

18. Hmmmm..curse kwa, this her story no gel

19. So in naija, dey kill people becos dey are disabled? Okay o

20. This just seems like a lie. A family that regards a child as 'cursed' will certainly not permit the child to go to primary school, not to talk of undergrad and postgraduate studies.

21. all these people and the stories they cook up just to remain in the UK, Nigeria isnot that bad sha.

22. Hmm.Anytime I see this I always remember my brother's story in the hand of a British lady 419

23. The hustle is very real..why do this to your family jst to get sympathy to remain in the UK???jst pray you don't get deported because that's when you will know how people who are labled "cursed" are being treated.