Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: New Study Claims People Who Post Inspirational Quotes On Facebook Have Lower IQ

Saturday, December 05, 2015

New Study Claims People Who Post Inspirational Quotes On Facebook Have Lower IQ

We've all seen them. Beautiful images overlaid with a profound and meaningful quotation, draped across our Facebook or Instagram news feed by a well-meaning friend.
Well, according to a new study, people who post these  'inspirational' quotes also have lower levels of intelligence.

They're also more likely to hold religious beliefs and be taken in by conspiracy theories.

The study, called: " On the reception and detection of pseudo-profound  bulls**t" measured 845 volunteers across four different experiments.
The psychologist team behind it asked the volunteers to evaluate several 'profound' statements and say if they agreed with them or not.

Inspirational messages on social media
To mix it up, the team also concocted several buzzword-filled sentences into a meaningless or blatantly obvious statement.

A follow-up test recorded the participants' cognitive ability through a series of tests.
"We focus on pseudo-profound bulls**t, which consists of seemingly impressive assertions that are presented as true and meaningful but are actually vacuous," explained Gordon Pennycook, a cognitive psychologist, in the journal Judgement and Decision Making.

"Our results support the idea that some people are more receptive to this type of bulls**t and that detecting it is not merely a matter of indiscriminate skepticism but rather a discernment of deceptive vagueness in otherwise impressive sounding claims."

The researchers particularly highlighted social media guru Deepak Chopra, who is known to post inspirational quotations.
Chopra even got a little ribbing over it from physicist and TV star Professor Brian Cox over Twitter.

Of course, it doesn't matter whether you believe these quotes or not. You're still a beautiful and unique snowflake.

-UK Mirror

*Bollock!

152 comments:

1. Goodmorning members of b.v. This research is so true.

1. I agree with them Stella. The other day Toke Making a (madam IG inspiration) tried defending why she loved Kylie Jenner for selling out her lippy in seconds, after her fans cussed her for being materialistIc.
      Long and short.... She couldn't pass a convincing message across. It was auitr daft, IMO. Lol

2. Stella I agree with you its bullocks indeed

3. LIE!!!! I post them sometimes, and my IQ ain't low one bit. Two BSc's, one MSc, one MBA and a PhD! Yup, that's me blowing my trumpet. Let me see the low IQ person that can bag all that before 30.

1. Well done dear is not easy, blow the trumpet hard i dey your back. I am proud of you @Prof Moi.

2. WoW...Hw did u do all dat??? LoL
      U try...kudos!!!

3. U did all b4 30? Oshi kaaaa

4. PhD and shit has nothing to do with your IQ and yes the research is 100% right. Check yourself with the Stanford-Binet IQ Test, u'll be shocked on what ur PhD ddnt do...lmao

5. Almost thought you're my brother but for the 2 BSc.

My cousin is 21 and doing his PhD.

Congrats. Not an easy one. Blow the trumpet very well.

Will join you next year to blow the trumpet. I'm just 25 and a PhD student in engineering.

6. You didn't study in Nigeria, did you?

7. Ha ha ha ha shm. I laff tire o with all these degrees ! Typical Naija! You better not come slap me with your degree holder .

8. Mumu does low IQ only mean academic achievement??? What about self worth esteem

9. Bravo! Results and conclusions drawn from researches doesn't necessarily include the total 100% of the research population. You can generalise if your findings is above 50% and draw conclusions from 70% of a population. Considering all your degrees you should know this.

10. All of that, how have you improved the society? How many original theories have you postulated and how many have been effected? Heck, how many papers have you had published in reputable journals?
      If you were as smart as you claim, you would know a degree isn't a true measure of one's intelligence. And before you begin to think I am uneducated, I just finished my M.sc and I am 25.

11. 2 Bsc, Msc, PhD b4 30. Liar. Except u got all dat outside Nigeria sha

12. Well done. I ain't surprise at all going about the way you correct grammatical errors in the comment section.

13. U didn't get dat from Nija Uni

4. Emjay. *side eyes*

5. Yinmu for them.... They are jobless conducting useless studies.

6. A study, which study? I so detest quotable quotes but this study is bulls**t

7. Hahahaaaaa..I agree 😊

8. Very funny.
    Eeh they should leave them with their low IQ
    Imagine

9. I know a couple of them... they soon be acting high IQ by stopping the posts

10. Hahahahaha *side eyes* to....

11. I was about to say this study was from hell until I remembered that just last night, I thought about something similar. Lol. This one is about low IQ but what I thought about was inferiority complex. I believe that there's a problem somewhere once a person starts posting too many quotes of mistrust and how we all should be wary of friends. The quotes are usually correct but once a certain individual starts posting similar things (quotes of mistrust and doom) everyday then the populace should become worried.

1. You're kinda right.... When the quote centres on that same thing always, it implies that the person has some issues relating to that particular quote

2. Lol. I also think people that go on and on about haters and frenemies should ask themselves if they are true friends. You hang with your kind

12. Who are those who conduct all these funny researches? Shinu ebea puo biko

13. I do not think they have lower levels of intelligence.

14. Hehehehehe... I agree

15. CONCERNED CITIZEN5 December 2015 at 10:10

Which kain O.P lahlah talk be this one fa?

16. Does this mean our Stella has low IQ cos posts inspirational pics?

17. I agree. Tired of so 'them quotes' on social platforms!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

18. Terrific article. I appreciate you for sharing it to us. I have learned a lot.

Here is my webpage :: psychic love readings

19. The terminals are built to the highest standards and
    have received very good feedback from customers. What if your movie collection does not
    work with your favorite software. This is a free app
    which can be also deemed as a functional SSH terminal client
    app.

Feel free to surf to my homepage: videotante.com (videotante.com)

20. Loads of superb writing here. I wish I saw it found the website
    sooner. Congratulations!

21. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog site
    is in the very same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.

Please let me know if this ok with you. Thank you!

my web page ... buat email baru di gmail

22. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I'll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

Feel free to surf to my web-site; daftar email yahoo

23. É neste momento que a bruxa inicia a ocorrer.

24. Very nice blog post. I absolutely love this website.
    Keep it up!

25. The three adidas sneakers that outlined the 70's within the NBA and ABA have been the
    beforehand mentioned Pro Model, Top Ten and
    the adidas Superstar.

26. Hurrah, that's what I was exploring for, what a information! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this web site.

27. Additionally, it's that passion that is going to drive you to do the work you might want to do to build a successful business.

28. It has been nearly 4 years since Jeff Johnson launched an updated
    model of his hottest promoting Tube Site visitors Secrets and techniques
    (Jeff Johnson's YouTube visitors-getting, checklist constructing
    and buyer discovering coaching program).

29. The shortcoming is, it's not exactly actual-time, since according to the
    software developer, Jstock grabs the information from Yahoo!

30. Hi there to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web
    site, and your views are pleasant for new users.

31. Keep them with you at all times. Umrah is complete.

32. Currently it looks like Expression Engine is the best blogging platform out there right now.

(from what I've read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

33. Ahaa, its fastidious discussion about this
    post at this place at this blog, I have read all that, so at this
    time me also commenting here.

34. According to the survey, Nielsen play within the World Cup eleven open one month ago, Internet
    related dialogue virtually one-third of the main target of
    worldwide soccer is Nike Air Max , is the official adidas designated
    companions twice.American sports activities provides manufacturers Nike World Cup in South Africa is just not the sponsors, but it by followers within the extent to which the
    community, however the official sponsors adidas forward.

35. I really like it when individuals get together and share thoughts.
    Great website, keep it up!

36. You can get them interested in promising that you will
    be going to refer clients too . However, a project motivated person just like you would not want
    to cover your dollars for any task which is too all to easy to accomplish.
    The leftover solids begin to build rising volume of sludge that eventually leaves incoming wastes insufficient space to stay and, therefore, commence to flow
    from your tank taking a liquid.

37. Our clinics do not settle for insurance coverage.

38. Durability: Adidas is thought for using Continental Rubber (yes, the same used for
    tires) as outsole materials.

39. Great work! That is the type of information that are meant to be shared around
    the web. Shame on Google for not positioning this post upper!

Come on over and talk over with my web site .
    Thanks =)

40. The Air Jordan line success opened the door for Nike
    to sign many different NBA gamers to endorse shoe strains.

41. Many film stars and fashions have worn silver shoes to star-studded events to enhance their outfit
    or to make a statement.

42. I love looking through a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, thanks for allowing for me to comment!

43. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have really loved browsing
    your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing on your rss feed and
    I am hoping you write once more soon!

44. I think everything posted made a ton of sense.

But, what about this? what if you typed a catchier post title?
    I ain't saying your content is not solid, but suppose you added
    a title that grabbed folk's attention? I mean "New Study Claims People Who Post Inspirational Quotes On Facebook Have Lower IQ" is a little boring.
    You ought to glance at Yahoo's home page and see how they write
    article titles to get people to open the links. You might add a video or a related picture or two to grab readers interested about everything've got
    to say. In my opinion, it might make your posts a little livelier.

45. It's actually a cool and useful piece of info.
    I am satisfied that you shared this useful information with
    us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Also visit my web blog - Tyvek overshoes

46. I used to be there too the place I wallowed in self-pity.

47. CignaTTK Health Insurance Company Limited.

48. Hey I'm Joey and I've been making a full time earnings
    online for the past few years.

49. I have to thank you for the efforts you've pput inn penning this website.
    I really hole to see the same high-grade content by you in the future ass well.
    In truth, your ccreative writing abiilities has motivated me to get mmy very own blog now ;)

50. Cool thank you for posting! btw are there feeds to your blog?

I’d love to add them to my reader.

51. You could definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write.

The world hopes for even more passionate writers ssuch ass you whho are not afraid to say how
    they believe. Always folow your heart.

52. What's up mates, good article and fastidious arguments commented at this place, I am actually enjoying by these.

53. You've made some good points there. I looked on thee
    web to learn more abouht the issue and found most individuals will go
    along with your views on this site.

54. Avaliação: Espalhe no máximo que a pele absorva artigo.

55. Bem como Green Coffee Turbo contém estas parâmetros.

56. We see this on a regular basis with massive firms on Twitter.

57. A jejum detox é substancialmente alguém limpeza no organismo.

58. Amazing, I’ve never supposed that anyone will reveal %BT% in this manner.
    Thanks! It was very appealing to read. I would like to start my personal weblog too but I
    have not much time. Caused by my job I can’t even prepare all the papers and tasks for
    university. Looking at this, I couldn’t just imagine how can I cope with the problem without this site .
    In-depth overviews of the most popular academic composing companies can aid every visitor to
    decide on an appropriate organization.

59. Os resultados podem variar de um indivíduo para outro.

60. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the finest websites on the
    internet. I will recommend this site!

61. This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost...HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

62. So please help us save the ocean's gentle giants".

63. That is a very good tip particularly to those fresh
    to the blogosphere. Simple but very precise information… Many thanks for sharing this one.
    A must read article!

64. Smith L, et al. Sexually transmitted infections.

65. m confident Bruce Springsteen fans, ɑnd Rocck fans alike ѡill ƅe pleased with tһiѕ οne.
    Christy һas put together a grewt new collection of pants,
    tops, ɑnd skirtys tһat wіll wake up you sleepy wardrobe.
    Ꮃhat inspired you to ᧐pen the Animals RPeople 2 Ettsy shop.

66. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article posted at this
    web page is really fastidious.

67. After chlamydia, gonorrhea is the most typical STI.

68. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.
    I'll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

69. Be both a helpful guide through complex issues with an informed judge when choices must be made.
    Cross out any irrelevant ones to make your very best self that will put them right into
    a logical order. Remember that if you are new at college you'll only improve if
    you practice, so work tirelessly on each assignment
    as you will be enhancing academic ability as a copywriter with each
    one.

70. Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue concerning this article at
    this place at this weblog, I have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

71. It's important to market your services and products nicely.

72. This post is worth everyone's attention. When can I find out
    more?

73. Additionally it is pretty straightforward to fill and clear.

74. Thank you for some other informative site.
    Where else may I get that kind of info written in such an ideal
    means? I've a project that I am simply now operating on, and I've been on the glance out for such information.

75. cheap wigs,human hair wigs,hair extensions,wigs,wigs online,wigs for women,cheap wigs human hair,Lace Wigs,costume wigs hair extensions 82387

76. Hallo zusammen wollte Ihnen einen schnellen Heads-up geben. Die Worte in Ihren Post scheinen aus dem Bildschirm
    in Lauf Firefox. Ich bin nicht sicher, ob dies ein Format Ausgabe oder etwas mit
    Browser tun Kompatibilität, aber iich dachte, dachte, ich
    würde schreiben, um Ihnen mitzuteilen. Der Layout gut aussehen aber!
    Hoffe, Sie bekommen daas Problem gelöst bald. Danke

77. You are so interesting! I don't believe I've truly read through a single thing like that before.
    So nice to find somebody with a few original thoughts on this
    subject matter. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up.

This website is one thing that is needed on the internet, someone with a bit
    of originality!

78. This arrangement іs extremely simple for аn agent who has suԀdenly bееn hit by tһе financial crunch and Ԁoesn't
    otherwise want tⲟ gеt oᥙt of tһeir residence ɑnd dispose off property.

But ѡhen the marketplace іs own and there іs no buyuer in the market, hоw wilⅼ you achieve a timely property sale.
    Oncе a purchase avaіlable f᧐r sale (which include a
    purchase forr possession) оr an ordser fоr possession is obtаined, а
    warrant for eviction іs rеasonably straightforward.

79. Those same sort of companies аге inclined to hhire less
    experienced ⲟr poorlу qualified drivers аnd
    may n't have any traininhg programs sеt up tο educate drivers on safe practices.

Ѕoon aftеr tһese effects werе submitted,
    a frfee net based calculator, Ᏼefore Yoou Buy RV,
    originated tһat y᧐u should useable on mⲟѕt Smartphones аnd larger
    mobile devices. Ⴝome companies ѡill even visit tһe point οf
    serving іn the documentation neϲessary ffor insurance providers.

80. Hi there i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this piece of writing i thought
    i could also make comment due to this brilliant article.

81. At this time I am ready to do my breakfast, afterward having my breakfast coming yet again to read additional news.

82. Hallo zusammen! Ich möchten bieten Ihnen eine große
    big thumbs up für Ihren ausgezeichnete Informationen Sie haben hier zzu diesem Beitrag.
    Icch bbin immer wieder auf Ihre Website für mehr bald.

83. Ignatius Piazza, the Millionaire Patriot, wants you to see one of the most awe inspiring reality show series ever, called Front Sight Challenge.
    There these folks were, anticipating their forthcoming experience and joyously reliving the final one -- Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy,
    within the guises of actors William Moseley (now a dashing
    20-year-old), Anna Popplewell (a newly minted Oxford freshman),
    Skandar Keynes (with vocal octaves further at 15), and Georgie Henley (approaching teenhood, a fantastic six inches taller than we
    last saw her). Technology is driving dynamic advertising into new areas which brings from it some potential challenges,
    well its not all companies have enough money to pay for a lot of money in electronic advertising, well the
    2 options highlighted can offer the same final results with low investment of your energy
    and funds, so now any organization from mechanics to dentists can have these within their guest waiting rooms.

84. isi websitenya memberikan ilmu yg amat sangat berhuna buat saya

85. It's gоing toо Ƅe ending of mіne day, howevеr ƅefore finish І
    am reading tһis fantastic piece оf writing to increase
    mʏ know-һow.

86. You can guarantee that, in those times, the need for pound
    sterling will take a nosedive. Certainly,
    the best possible method to correct hostile humor should be
    to uncover one more anecdote to work with in the pulpit.
    They were trying to find someone and located out that I knew
    this person so asked about if I would assist them in locating him.

87. It has 9 ones including an interval workout and also the the one that gets me each
    and every time - the rolling hills workout. These two factors alone should be sufficient enough
    for fitness instructors to make a women's workout that can profit the female gender.
    Everyone within the business world sees that presence and
    image go an extended way.

88. I do believe all of the ideas you have presented to your post.
    They are really convincing and will certainly work.
    Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for beginners.
    May you please extend them a bit from subsequent time?

Thanks for the post.

89. These are in fact great ideas in about blogging.
    You have touched some pleasant factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

90. Woah! I'm really digging the template/theme of this site.
    It's simple, yet effective. A lot of times it's hard to get that "perfect balance" between user friendliness and visual appeal.
    I must say you've done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads super quick for me on Internet explorer.
    Superb Blog!

91. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of precious knowledge
    concerning unpredicted emotions.

92. Miele dishwashers work most effectively choice,
    if you're thinking to exchange their old dishwashers or buy a new one.
    The drawer's are of fine size, you can find extra cases for cups, along with the design too is great.
    Use of boiling water for cleaning highly stained dishes with stubborn dirt is a second feature adopted
    in modern dishwashers.

93. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of
    precious familiarity regarding unexpected feelings.

94. Fantastic beat ! Ι woᥙld like to apprentice even as yⲟu amend уour website, how could i subscribe fⲟr a
    weblog site? Ƭhe account aided me a applicable deal.
    І were tiny bit acquainted ⲟf thіѕ y᧐ur broadcast ρrovided bright transparent
    concept.

95. A person essentially help to make significantly articles I would state.
    This is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far?
    I surprised with the research you made to create this particular put up amazing.
    Wonderful activity!

96. What's up colleagues, how is all, and what you would like
    to say regarding this post, in my view its truly amazing for me.

97. Excellent blog post. I definitely love this website.
    Stick with it!

98. You made certain nice points there. I did a search on the topic and found a good number of people will consent with your blog.

99. After looking into a number of the blog articles on your site,
    I truly appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be checking
    back soon. Please visit my website too and let me know how you feel.

100. Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of information on your
    blog. Im really impressed by it.[X-N-E-W-L-I-N-S-P-I-N-X]Hello there, You've done an incredible job.

I'll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.

I'm confident they'll be benefited from this website.

101. Some non-public lenders challenge scholar loans.

102. So, it's not hard to note that you can create bets with low house advantages but still be fairly near to a 50-50 game.
    They are regulated by electronic micro generators called random number generators.
    If you bond with other people's experiences, you may invariably find out which casinos are fair
    and truthful and that are controversial.

103. How to get gone coons? quality leg-hold trap, those skins are worthy of good money, an excellent winter coon could be $100

104. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came
    to “return the favor”.I'm attempting to find things to enhance
    my web site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

105. online blackjack
    online gambling
    best slot machines to play
    real money slots
    roulette for fun

106. 247 blackjack
    online gambling
    russian roulette
    online gambling
    online slots

107. Trump is the BEST president in history. He's
    not here for the money or fame like the weasel
    Hussein Obama. He is here cause he is a patriot? He's been one of
    the few with the guts to stand up for what is right. One of the few to stand up to illegal immigration. In spite of
    all criticism, where many would simply "go with the flow" in order to not be shamed, he will always stand
    for what is right and good for America. He gave everything...

show more Hi Hannity

108. It's wonderful that you are getting ideas from this piece of
    writing as well as from our dialogue made at this place.

109. Your means of explaining all in this post is
    genuinely pleasant, every one be able to easily know it, Thanks a lot.

110. You've made some good points there. I checked on the internet to learn more
    about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this web site.

111. Mallie Coggin is how I'm called and Really feel comfortable ordinarily think about
    use complete name. To act may be the thing Truly like most involving.
    The job I have been occupying for years is a bookkeeper this is something I enjoy.

She currently lives in Montana. Check out the news in my website: http://peniksen-pidennys-fi.eu/machoman.html

112. Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the
    issues. It was truly informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

113. I've been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog
    posts in this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this info So i'm glad to show that I
    have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed.
    I so much surely will make sure to do not disregard this website
    and give it a glance regularly.

114. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This post posted at this
    website is genuinely fastidious.

115. Incredible! This blog looks just like my old one! It's onn a
    entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same layout annd design. Superb choice of colors!

116. It is built with a stylish design and robust
    outlook as well as attractive features. In thhe front side, you wll note some pots making possible
    external devices connectivity. The 4520s ofrers significantly
    better performance than the 4510s in many respects.

117. Thank you, I've recently been looking for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I've discovered
    till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you positive about the supply?
    công ty thiết kế kiến trúc https://nhalouis.com

118. This paragraph will help the internet users for setting
    up new web site or even a weblog from start to end.