Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lola Omotayo Recounts Past To Motivate Young Ladies

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Lola Omotayo Recounts Past To Motivate Young Ladies

Lola Omotayo-Okoye recounts how she was molested while in Kinabuti Dare2Dream project, encouraging and motivating young ladies to pursue their dreams.According to her, “You shouldn’t let your past determine what your destiny will be, we all have our past whether good or bad or makes us unhappy, we all had a life that we lived that we are not happy about,you shouldn’t let it bother you from succeeding.

“When I was a young girl in my early teens in high school, I was molested by a catholic priest, I blamed myself, I didn’t tell anyone because I was ashamed,couldn’t tell anyone cos I felt everyone would blame me, so I carried on the guilt and bitterness with me for years. I was filled with hate and I became a angry person, I was rebellious, I didn’t want to listen to
anybody and because I wanted to be expelled from school to avoid seeing this person, I would do so many terrible things, everything around me was just so negative, I felt I wasn’t good enough.”

“I felt like a loser, so it was hard for me to focus. One day I woke up and said I am going to change my story and I dumped that person, focus on my education and decided to be serious and be something. I decided to get a job and go to school full time in America.
“I worked hard. My parents were sending me money cos I didn’t tell them I was working but I was working because I wanted to be independent. I didn’t want to depend on any man or on my parents even though they would have done anything for me, so I did all sorts of job; I was a make up artiste, I worked in a cafe, school library, I did so many things and I didn’t realise that these jobs were building me up as a person, building my resume, my confidence.

“People began to like me because I was adding value to their lives. At work I was excellent and so was i in school and that built me as a strong woman and at some point, I sought counseling to get over my molestation issues where I was made to see reasons why I wasn’t at fault cos I was a child then. 

Today I am accomplished.“Look at my husband,” she continued, “when I met him peeps were like what are you doing with him, he has nothing but I stood my ground and choose to stick with him cos he had a dream. He and his twin brother did not let their dream die, they worked hard; look at them today! I stuck by him cos he had focus and drive and today I am happy, I have a good life, we are happy and we have got a beautiful family. No one can make you a loser,” Lola added.

“You can be whatever woman you want to be but you have to believe in yourself, if they reject you today, it doesn’t mean you should let your dreams die, you have something unique about you.

culled:dailypost

Message received...

122 comments:

1. Yes o..better message stella

1. Nice one.
      He who has ears, let him hear.

2. Aptly said, God bless you Lola
      Merry Christmas SDK and beautiful BVs

3. Munji
      Atigbor
      We Don hear
      We've heard
      Tewor (Ogori)

4. Which kind yeye message be this..mtcheew I don't wanna rain on anybody's parade but what has she accomplished. Maybe she forgot that her husband is the one who is successful. I commend her for getting over her rape experience because I know it's not easy but I don't get all this other crap she's been saying. She is not an inspiration to me what so inspiring about her? That she is married to a successful man? I beg she should go ahead and do something for herself, open a business or create something of value to her and to others.

5. E don do nau We've heard this before. She doesn't need to recount it all the time. Just say your project is to fight/speak againt sexual abuse.

6. Nana Mansa, ur ignorance knows no bounds

So to u Peter is more successful than Lola?? Because he is a musician??? I smdh...

Women their own worst enemies! You sound personally pained and bitter she is with Peter. You probably skipped the part where she stuck with him when he was nothing??? Or she studying abroad and working off her ass? Please, go fish Peter's interview where he also explained her HELP towards him...

All you ladies that don't want to suffer for anything, Buh as soon as a man becomes successful, ur brains start telling u u deserve him more are stupid!! If Peter toasted someone like you when he was poor u woulda called him names...

Rubbish comment!!!

Kudos to u Lola... I am happy for u and Peter. God'll continue to prosper your home. Anybody that tries to destroy your happiness will never succeed IJN

7. Nana sorry to dissappoint you, she is richer than her husband by far.

8. Anon 12:22 exactly what I was thinking... "Today I am accomplished, look at my husband" I am not trying to rain on your parade Mrs Okoye. Whatever makes you happy

2. Haba,how many times will she tell this story?We don hear na.Morning all.

1. Lol...My sentiments exactly.
      I saw your Shoutout, I was just looking at that your 1st list with side eyes, until I scrolled down. Kikikikiki
      Compliments of the season dear.

2. Sassy as many X as possible, am just knowing , many r not awear, don't b negative

3. Lol...@Quickie,no mind me jare.Hope you're enjoying the holidays?

1. OMG we went to the same sec (our great senior)...where r the SLA girls in the house.Hain!!!! Chai dos fathers hen, boarders used to brief us small small den how they stare at d girls and all but noone listens to them cos nah to "face your book" mode everyone dey. Hearing dis now its a real shame,Sleep on rev sis Lucy(our fav sister).smh ths life is just a pot of beans.

2. hmmmm. so u r an SLA product. ut sint num, deu le veut. U must b a product.Xoxo

4. Great Words of Encouragement

5. Beautiful message this morning fam. Thanks ma for sharing your story with the world.

6. What happens to those who can't decide to go to school in America?
    Okay Lola we hear you.

1. You are becoming somewhat annoying lately with your comments. Start considering a positive new year resolution. If you like, take the comment personal, I care not!

2. Smh Small minded pple just like sassy

3. @La katie,becoming somewhat annoying lately is an understatement...she sounds deranged!hopefully it's just a phase and u are probably on ur period...u are better of,nice than this bitter-you!

4. Go and play outside with sand dear.

5. Madam Katie what has she said now that's annoying u? Ve u made ur own resolutions? I admit her comments cn b annoying bt Abg nt dis one cos all I seeup there is jst a question.

6. Mehn.@katie, she is becoming arrogant.

7. Doppe headed bitch.....wear your thinking cap before you type

7. Replies
    1. Patt and emjay don't know who is more daft.....let's vote guys

8. I love lola,she isn't as bad as people portray her.

1. Never blv what pple say about others, always get to know them b4 drawing ur conclusion

2. Never blv what pple say about others, always get to know them b4 drawing ur conclusion

9. Okay o. I only wish you people could tell your story exactly as it is without jumping issues and making it seem somehow.
    Anyway, as they were telling you that your husband had nothing, that's how they were telling get him you are too old but he stuck by you too
    Happy at your good life Lola. You are a very beautiful woman. Congratulations.

1. And you had to bring old into the matter? Hian!!!

2. Ehen nao, anony 7:39 is right. Is it not part of the story? Plus it helps coming from a monied family.

10. Ok ma, we haf hear...Sofar he has focus, it's good to stick together cos you don't know what tomorrow holds. Nice 1

Chincobee.blogspot.com

11. Nice one ma'am. Shout out to iphie dearie, queen and boss, north Dakota and other bvs, complements of the season to y'all.

1. Should out to you hun...
      May your days be merry.

Muaaaahhhhhh!

Where is pipilee and her blow job kisses? Lol

12. She said all this or it was written for her?

Ok. We have heard.

13. Ok seen.Happy boxing day peeps

14. Inspirational... Never let your past define your future.
    Meanwhile, I'll start trolling Osasere now.. Bring back the blog bae

1. Lmao,i just write when I'm in the mood,i have too many things going on so im lazy with the blog

15. Please we've heard it before.
    Stop recycling this gist Aunty.

16. Beautiful lola....message received and digested

17. Quiksilver, portable viv,sisi eko and sexy boocaller too. Love y'all.

1. Right back at you dear.
      Compliments of the season.

2. Love u loads honey....
      Nextyr shall b greater for us...

18. It haff do na!
    Must she always remind us?
    @Peter,pls tell your wife to shut up!

19. I have read this article here before. She is saying it again ni?

1. Miss Ess
      Some stories can actually be told severally especially if there is a message in it.

I have heard successful men and women/pastors recount stories each time they are asked to speak.

I have read this too,but won't be bad if she recounts it a million times..maybe a teen was molested yesterday,maybe she didn't see the message we saw.

Merry christmas.

2. Gbam! @iphie dearie,"IDI TOO MUCH"! Tell them o

20. Thanks for sharing.

@ Reigning Queen
    Christabel
    Etc.
    Thanks for the shout out. Lots a love.

21. Beautiful piece from a beautiful woman. #noonecanmakeyoualooser#

22. Shame on all molesters! Repent...
    Nice one Lola..i still see sadness in your eyes.

Didn't even know she met Peter when he was still building his career,people be talking trash when they don't even know half of your story.

1. Everybody knows she met Peter when he was still struggling nau

23. These are the kind of things young people need to inspire them...not unclad pix, cars, money new houses and all..

24. The earlier we start killing rapists the better for the entire country.

25. Thanks so much for the beautiful message...a wonderful way to start the morning

26. Hmmmmm!
    Thinking hard and trying to remember that Stella has made this story as a post before...
    Whatever!

27. Stella ocho okwu 1... "message received" abi? Yes, message received.

28. I'm impressed by how she's able to cope with a younger man #ThisIsNotAshade. I tried it, hmmmnnn. I had to leave.

1. How are u sure that he is a younger man? I hope you know say na football age them P square dey use sha.

2. Palomino Perhaps because your mind was too old as well, or maybe you looked like his mother and you were uncomfortable with the stares.

Bottom line, if both are you are mature and on the same page, sure it will work.
      Husband is 5years older and wise beyond his years.

29. Am happy for you. Thank God for your life.

30. Stella wtf is message received

31. Nice one..........next plz!!!!

32. God bless you for this.. Amen

33. The part I saw was the molestation,that was a sad one

34. Stella Pls do u have an app? If yes can someone drop it d name here for me so I can download it? Thanks

35. I was verbally molested by my mum's relations. I was called names like,good for nothing, was accused of witchery,and a lot of unthinkable things. I felt as if my world has crashed right before my eyes. I will cry for several days,i will not eat and I will pray and fast without ending. At the end of the day I was send back home to my parents. The day I was told I will be send back to the village I cried from the bus down to the villa,thinking where will I ever see the kind of life and education I enjoyed in the city. Anyway,i went home and was found by one monastery close to my house,where one sister offered me scholarship and I went to the best secondary school(private)in Ogun state. After that God favoured me and I got admission to study nursing,which I graduated. Now,the rejected stone has become the chief corner stone. All those that have mocked me and called me names in the past are now looking for how to see my face even if it's for 2seconds... who says our God is not awesome? Nobody should ever allow the names they were being called or the circumstances that happened in there past to determine there glorious future. Am a living testimony of God's faithfulness to the helpless and hopeless...

OVE: from USA

1. Awesome one, God is indeed good.

2. Omg I was sad reading down, until I saw how u turned out! My dear,u are indeed a testimony and an inspiration! God will keep blessing you! E-Hugs!

3. Your story is inspiring thankGod for ur life, God is faithful

4. @anon:your story is really inspiring.

5. The "you were 'send' back" part, i'd like to believe that was a mistake (twice)?

6. Kai! I praise God for you!

7. anonymous 10:55, fear God. Sometimes, you need to ignore, and not take away from a beautiful read.

8. Glad you turned out okay poster. God be praised.

9. Your story has inspired me even more than Lola's own cause you trully were helpless. Thank You Jesus.

36. Nice one, its encouraging to hear stuff like this once in a while.

37. You can fck an older woman but you don't have to live with him all your life.

38. I love LOLA buh cant stop thinking about the age difference bw her and PETER..Its working for her though and even though her marriage aint perfect buh she's happy and PETER can cross seven oceans for her..@Palominogeh,ne don't try it again..nuffin beats an older boo,u'll feel like a baby in his arms and he will treat u right...don't mind Toyin Lawani and her son oo..lol

As for LOLA's message,everyone has a past buh u shldnt let ur past define u..We all make mistakes u know?...GOD BLESS U LOLA..

1. I don't know, this age difference is it like 10-20years? How much younger is he? I thought it was a one to two year thing?

2. My Babest,merry christmas to you too.

Ibari ogwa ona akpotukwa? I lurrr that place.

Nda leti nko?

39. Auntie Lola you hv shared this gist before and we received. Why repeating yourself???

1. Well I am just reading it for the first time,and I'm sure so many other girls are also just reading it for the first time,so shut up and gerrara hia

40. I understand the pain of feeling like the guilty one. "it's my fault" was my song for over a year. I wasn't raped but i wished i was, i felt i could handle it better than the various hands on my 5 years old body, 10 years, 12 years old. I remember crying every morning as soon as i left the house for school, getting to school all teary eyed. I swear my tears would've filled a tanker. All because some foolish people felt i was too young to understand being violated even though i didn't know how to tell my mom. I was beaten when one heediot was touching my non-existent breasts and since then, i took the blame for their stupidity.

I am glad Jesus found me and restored my mind. Now i know the truth, i was the victim. I didn't tempt anybody because i was a naive child who wanted to grow up like her peers. I forgave one of them recently, and i'm happier. I sometimes flash back but i don't cry, don't feel depressed.

I hate sexual offenders. They need Jesus.

41. Today ,she accomplished and the next thing she says is her husband is her accomplishment? like seriously??

42. Pls aunt Lola tell us the name of the priest,same story everyday.

GOLD

43. She will keep talking about it to encourage young girls going through the same faith to speak out. Until those Catholic priest stop abusing both young male and female and men stop abusing their wives Lola will speak on.

44. I was molest by my cousin at age 7yrs . I have not been able to tell anyone the full story . I just feel that have cause the delay in my marriage because it hurt every day . The devil is not doing well . The most annoying part I didn't not my mum and she is late now😢. I want to do my cousin some tin bad still thinking and plannine God help me

1. Turn to Jesus and forgive. Let go and let God. You are precious in Gods' eyes, beautiful, fearfully and wonderfully made. God bless you sister.

45. Merry Xmas to all bvs.I miss all the old bv sha especially ezewanyi.shout out to Genny baby( I love your personality) iphie teterina dairies etc.may we all see next year in good health of mind and body.amen

46. Iyalaje of SDK....I am proudly an SLA girl. Yes, Its possible she was molested. She was very rebelious then also. Senior Lola Omotayo was one psyco senior. If I am not mistaken, she was 91 or 92 set. Hmmm...how time flies.

1. She's 90set. she was my snr 2.