Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Huge Money Mistakenly Paid Into Account !...Oops!

Monday, December 07, 2015

Huge Money Mistakenly Paid Into Account !...Oops!

I did a post last week asking you all if you would return a wallet found with money inside....

We all saw a post here referring to when an alert hits your phone that money has entered your account and you know it is a mistake from the bank and the issue of if you would return it arose...

Now let me ask again..what if you didnt do anything but waited for the Bank to remove the money and they havent and its been months? What would you do?Note that i have removed the amount to allow advise be clear headed here.

''Stella. there is this thing troubling my mind for the past 2 months now and I want a good answer from you and your intelligent blog visitors.

Huge money was mistakenly paid into my account since October by one of our banks in Nigeria here. people advised me to spend the money,that it is my luck,because most bankers too are thieves. despite all,I never touched the money cos I believe somebody somewhere most have suffered for it.

My problem now is how to refund the money,and for it to get to the person responsible. if I go to any of the cashiers,customer care or anyone,do you think they will give the money back to the person or keep it personally for themselves?I don't trust any of their workers not even now that the economy isn't smiling. what's your take Stella? I would like if a banker who is a blog visitor here can also chip in some advise.... Thanks''.
(Name and email protected)

*Well giving that Money back would not ensure the owner gets it back,infact after you return it,it is officially no longer your business what happens to the money.

What if someone you know paid it in without telling you?.Happens to me all the time.

If you do not feel comfortable keeping the money (which might actually be yours) then give it up to Charity or donate it to a Church that really needs it.
....or just give it back to the Bank believing that the Owner will get it
I dont know what else to say and i am trying not to give bad advice.

187 comments:

1. Wrong advice.
      Poster,
      Go to the bank, ask for your bank statement.
      Try to trace the depositor.
      If possible, get the number. Most bank tellers have that slot for phone numbers.
      Try all you can to reach whoever deposited that money.
      If you meet a brick wall, transfer the money to a fixed deposit.
      If the owner comes for the money in future, return the original amount and take a drink with the interest generated.
      That way you are safe.
      #My 5 quid.

2. Don't give it to a church they are worse than armed robbers

3. While the cash is on fixed deposit, just keep
      rolling-over for as long as it takes the owner to return.
      You can even make the said amount from roll over sef. Kikikikikiki.
      See as awoof come meet you meanwhile you didn't touch nor spend someone else's money. Choi!
      Be wise. Act fast, Act smart

4. That was how NYSC over paid me for six months #19800*6, after my relocation from the north. Chat! I told myself that's my compensation for sending me to the north in the first place. Oh my, if am the poster I will move the money out to another account. Just like I did my NYSC compensation allawee.

5. Hello poster, you can go to any branch closest to you and tell them you the details of the person who paid into your account to confirm the authenticity.

6. Bloglord, you are smart. I didn't even think of that. How I wish Dangote or patience Jonathan will mistakenly pay billions into my account

7. Bloglord how can the bank give u someone's phone number? Why go through the whole private detective stress.

8. Bloggy apt advice. Poster that's the best thing to do dear. Just meet them in the bank for your statement, that way you will know who made the payment and the person 's phone number .

9. If the bank made a mistake, it would have been traced dt very day.
      Secondly maybe one of the staff wanted to play wise by taking one money miss road money and mistakenly deposited into your acct.
      Or maybe somebody wanted to surprise you. Go check your transaction.

10. Why not put the money in a fixed account whilst making ur investigation as to who paid it into ur account,rather than given out the money to charity?

11. Send a mail to the customer care of your bank to have the funds recalled to the sending bank. Whether they steal it or not is not really your problem. Do tour part have the funds debited from your account. I'm a banker and I know its possible cos I have rested requests like these for various customers

2. Its a very slim chance that the real owner will get it. Please spend the money wisely o jare,or DASH ME if you don't want....I asked first oo*holds ear*

1. I asked second. Take am sow seed for my life.

2. Just go to your bank.Tell them you want to know who transferred the money to you and through which platform . When they get the details let them know you want to return the money back to that source they provided and that you request to be copied in every mail they send to the bank that the money came from. By copied I mean you should give them your email address so that whatever message the other bank sends to them, you will equally receive same.You can request for a screen shot of the transfer or confirmation when the issue has bin resolved.

3. Please bring the money sow seed in the life of bv. Could this be miracle money? Just asking.

1. Who told you the money won't get back to the person? One "poor" teller that's probably not earning that much must have paid that money.

They must have done their best to trace the money, if they saw it that same day...they would have reversed the transaction or call you, obviously they didn't.

You are not a very nice person dear. How do you plan tracing the person, are you EFCC?
      If you are that nice, you would return the money, clear your conscience and let fate take charge.

2. Keep the money, don't spend and don't dash out or donate the money...leave it into your account cos something might still come up.

4. Madam poster, it's been some months and you r still waiting for the bank to remove it which they've not done. Open your eyes plz. Spend the money. Haba!!!
    Why I no dey get this kind luck self?

5. Well for me I don't play wen money is involved, u can return the money if u're financially ok!

6. Stella your head dey therejare u just spoke my mind.the bank will never refund the money to d owner .

7. Omo since u are waiting, then chill for a year, if u know the amount u had in there b4 write it down and leave the account for a year to see if something would be done and make sure u continue to use the account eg make deposits and withdrawals so it won't b dormant... that's what i'll do if it's my account

8. omo see awoof ooooooo, enjoy yourself my dear.... if i hear say you report yourself penren.... you be omoale jati jati

1. My wife this kin Bobby for ur moniker Na wire o, hahahahahahah.

2. lol,,i missed you jare chyAda, hope you are fine??

9. Let me send my acct num,i will locate the owner for you.for this kind bad economy u still dey reason good Samarithan? Abeg send the money to me

10. Later u wud be praying asking God to provide for u and give u miracle that wud shock people.... Now He has answered ur prayers and u thinking of returning d miracle... Na wah for u o. God pls give me dis kind of miracle. Amen

11. if the bank hasn't called you till now, then it may most likely not be a mistake. but lets assume it is, the cashier would have paid for it by now so returning it will go back to the person who already paid for it. have you tried asking for the narration to actually see who paid it in, it may not be a mistake o. please confirm before you dash away your money or better still , bless some widows this Christmas.

12. After 2 months? I would keep it.

Years ago bankers did this randomly because they needed accounts with which to siphone and hide money. They would later approach you to withdraw 70/80% for them & keep the rest. It was really common. So maybe this is such gone wrong.

Really, in these hard times, me wey dey ordinarily pristine and would never ever steal would keep this o!

1. *hands behind my back, looking at the ground ashamed...

Bloggie ur on point, that's what I should have done; fix the money and make sincere efforts to locate the source/owner of the funds.

2. How much do you think 30m(that's if the "huge" money is up to that) will fetch you in a month?

Banks are too liquid right now and discouraging people from fixing money by reducing the interest to the barest minimal.

Lol. You guys are just funny.

13. If you don't know what to do with the money, pls I will suggest you give it to the orphanage. At least you have touched someone's life with the money.

14. Well, talking from a bankers point of view, no one has the ability to take d money from ur account.it is safe to go to the bank to report. Because they will get in touch with the sender from whichever bank and then get approval to reverse it. As long as u dont withdraw it and take the cash there.
    Even if u do, no operations manager or branch manager will want to be dismissed dishonourably for suppressing cash. U need to return it to avoid issues so that u dont seem like a criminal when mopol officers come to start looking for you. Cos soon; reconciliation will be done and it will be discovered. These mistakes happen everyday.walk up to the bank and report it

1. God bless you Tilde, am so freaking. Our from some.of.the negative comments and reading her, are people that hungry? It's a bank for God 's sake. That is stealing people.

2. Mtchewww!!! Story for the gods

3. A lot of people here are commenting based on ignorance and their level of reasoning. You cannot blame them. No one can reason beyond their intellectual capacity. Go to the bank and report it and stop looking for an excuse to keep someone else's money. It is the banks job to keep and protect funds.why have u not questioned ur bank that u keep ur money in. Ur money has been safe right? But suddenly, money is mistakenly paid into ur accounts and banks are not safe. U better not allow "koba" urself and go and report it.

4. Hehehehehe. ..

Who told you transactions can't be reversed? Lol

15. Babe, pls no matter what u do, do not give that money to the bank Coz they wl spend it. U can give it to charity, use it or do a giveaway here. God bless as you decide.

16. U either leave d money in your account or lodge it in2 anoda account...*mind u i never spend it* in that case,if the bank ever comes to ask for it,u'd simply return it.
    I wouldn't advice u go spending d money,u just never know nor can tell when d bank wld come for it,if indeed it was an error transaction

17. Let me give you an advice. Open a bank account in another bank, then transfer the money to your new account and just forget about it.

Why I will advise you to do this i sbecause incase the bank comes up later to claim the money, then you can easily give it back. But my brother abi sister, after like one year and nobody questions about the money and you are still thinking of giving it back to the bank, then the Jazz from your village is working seriously on you.

What of if someone had wanted giving out free money to you and wouldn't want you to know.

Remember as a Christian, God helps those who help themselves. Even if it was your pastor that got the money, believe you me he will never think of whether the money is meant for somebody else. As a christian I will advise you to keep the money but incase you are so righteous and this is the only sin you are about to commit in your life time, then what I will advise you to do is to give it out to the nearest charity.

Another, dont put your brother into temptation because if you report this to an officer in the bank you are seriously tempting the person.

Hope this time I wasted will put sense back into your head.

18. To poster and stella, for every money mistakenly post into an account, can be reverse or trace back to the payer, before I started working in a bank, it has happened to me before, when to a teller, told me what happened ,I filled a withdrawal teller and the money left my account, it's not my money, am at rest with my self and God.
    My advice, you don't have to wait this long, walk up to the head of operation in the bank or see your account officer, explained about the money, am sure someone must have a paid the gbese,the bank will verify how the money miss Road into your account, my little advice.
    It is well with you

1. It can but are u bankers ready to send it back to the right channel that is the issue.

2. Abi o before The head of operations gains weight

19. Simply go to the manager of the bank and return the money; it is not your business anymore. Your conscience is free. What if your account is being used to launder funds that these politrictians are trying to hide; won't spending it be getting closer to Krikri when the chips are down? The scriptures says; "do not follow the multitudes to do evil".
    Stella, you have already given bad advice.

1. God bless you, am even shocked stella gave such an advice.

20. Sincerely speaking, I will go to the bank and complain if I were you. No need taking the money.

21. Pls is it BLOGLORD or Okija wife that did role call the last time, pls kindly repeat it so that we will know ourselves, some strange people have bombarded here because of December give away.

22. Dont bother giving it to the bank..chop the money joor.

23. Still keep the money oh
    Make EFCC no come knock for your door one early morning.

Since it was paid into your account,they would always trace the money somehow.
    If you had seen it on the road or something then I would have asked you to just spend the money lavishly this xmas and enjoy your life.

Do not return the money to the negligent bank.
    Just still let it breath in your account and wait a little longer.

24. Find a way and return it. But its strange after two months and the money could not be traced to you. Pls do as Your heart desires.

25. For starters, after you got the credit alert for the said money in october, has any money been paid into your account since then?

If money has been paid into your account several times since the money has been in your account, it means the money might actually be yours and someone paid it in.
    If it was an error from the bank, it should have been reverted.

Try this, go and withdraw the money,and then give someone the same money to pay into your account.if your account gets debited after you've paid it in, it means the bank has taken the money back.
    However,if you withdraw and pay in same amount,and the money remains there,naim be say person don dash you money oo.

26. If it was a mistake, the bank would have reversed it. Most likely some one That you knew paid it in your account or God answered your prayer. Or maybe it was a customer that paid into a wrong account and the bank couldn't figure it out.

1. My suspicion is that someone did online transfer of money using either internet or atm and mistakenly put the wrong account number. The real owner of the money go dey provoke somewhere now

27. Why not go to the bank, request for your statement of account to know if someone paid it in or it was a mistake from the bank itself....but make sure they don't know why you are requesting for the statement

If you spend it at the end of the day and it was a mistake from the bank, they will trace you no matter what even now that we are in the era of bvn shii

28. Poster,take the money if it's huge biko...
    Manna from heaven!...

29. Poster
    You are not going to give anybody cash.
    Walk into any of their branches,complain that a sum was paid into your account mistakenly...
    It will be reversed immediately.
    Lol@wont they take the money...
    Someone,somewhere has been laid off for that error or about to.

The bank owes the money,not an individual,so whether you go or not,the bank must credit the ideal owner....the bank paid for that error,and the teller that made the error will pay dearly for it.

Please save that teller by going to the nearest branch of that bank.

Well,you can decide to eat the money,but remember,investigations are on going,oneday,the printout of their transactions for that day will show that your account was erroneously creditted.

It might take you 1year to finish eating the money,or 10years... but it will not clear your conscience.

That teller that made that error probably has dependants...or will pay from his salary for a very long time before they lay him off.

Do not listen to anyone that will tell you that it is a miracle..or that your account was used for something... go to the bank!

1. @ poster,when the transfer was made to your account;didnt it come with "A Name" of who paid in?? Or an Organization probably??

If you dont want to go to the bank;why not use the internet to search the name up on the web and see what the results would be??

Bydway;why would someone pay in A huge sum of money into another person's account and for two months you(they) havnt noticed that such amount was missing from your bank account;talkmore of not laying A complaint to your bank to know what went wrong??

Dont be surprised this could be laundering gone wrong! Maybe the account was dormant for so long and they(Bank) thought the owner might have kicked the bucket;Cos i doubt Nigerian banks not finding out A mistake in creaditing an account mistakenly within 48hrs or so..

@poster;better look for A way to return the money sha;cos money wey you no suffer get no too dey make sense when expenses calls..

XTREME NAIJA AFRO-DANCEHALL MIXTAPE;CLICK TO DOWNLOAD

@MARTINS ABOY

30. 1st ask for your statement of acct. From there you would no were d debit came from and u can start tracing from there. Or wait another 6months is its still not removed, my dear spend it.

31. You can't be too sure that the money will get to the rightful owner if you're to tell the bank.... Just as stella said you can donate it as charity. Since you seem to be feeling guilty bout spending it on yourself.

32. Go through the message (Alert) again, check who deposited the money (clues are usually found in alert).. If the alert doesn't provide u with any clue.... Go to the nearest bank nd make inquires about who deposited the money (provided u know the date nd time the money was deposited) still, if no clue is provided, I'd suggest u act according to ur conscience....

1. You don't have any business with who gets the money or not. The money is for the bank

If anyone made an error in transaction, the bank would have paid the person back and investigations on going. It might take months or years but they will finally trace it to you. Then you would be called a thief for not returning it and just keeping it. Don't wait for them to come for you

Go to your nearest brand and report to the operation manager

33. I agree with Stella on dis. Give it back to charity, or if u know d cashier incharge, u can give it directly bc d bank will only debit d cashier dt handled d transaction.

34. Stella I know you will keep the money and spend it if it was you.

35. Complicated, but I agree with Stella, if it is actually your money God will reward you for giving it out.

36. Check yr statement to be sure before letting them know. D money isn't yours so return and be at peace.

37. Contd:
    Don't use money that does not belong to you for charity!
    There is no free money in the bank.

If 10kobo is missing somewhere,an innocent person goes down for it.

As you have heard that some bankers are thieves,so have innocent ones lost their jobs to dubious customers.

Most tellers use their salaries to pay off monies that they never ate because of fraudulent customers.

38. Return the money, I think that's the best option. You seem to be a nice person, u may not get over the guilty conscience if u spend the money. Worst still, u might go to jail if the bank finds out someday.
    To be on the safe side, I will also advice u to go to a Police station and make an "entry", it wont cost u more than #500.

39. Follow Stella's advice only. I won't even advise you either as we no dey smile for this blog. Hehehe, I wish say na me this happen to.

Jesus is Lord.

40. My dear if your not comfortable keeping it then I would advice u give it to charity, don't give it to d bank oh, they wouldn't give it to d person.

Another one u can go meet the customer care to give u d details of d sender and phone number, u can call d person yourself and see what head way u can get.

41. Return the money, I think that's the best option. You seem to be a nice person, u may not get over the guilty conscience if u spend the money. Worst still, u might go to jail if the bank finds out someday.
    To be on the safe side, I will also advice u to go to a Police station and make an "entry", it wont cost u more than #500. Am not telling u what I haven't done before.

42. Stella your advise is wrong. Keep it for a while, then go and report it formally in writing to customer service. Why I said wait for a while is because someone paid money into my account without telling me and then after a few weeks told me. Also the fact that it's huge after giving it to charity like Stella suggested and the real owner shows up, what would you do?

1. She said the money is huge
      And it's been month
      She definitely knows no one that knows her would have paid in such money hence her question

If she knew someone who would make such huge deposit in her account, she exult be worried..

43. I WILL ADVISE YOU STILL WAIT TILL JANUARY ENDING IF THEY DID NOT COME FOR IT, DON'T RETURN IT IN A HASTE IT MIGHT BE YOUR MONEY AFTER ALL, MAY BE SOMEONE PAID IT IN WITHOUT YOU KNOWING IT. BANKS DOES NOT MAKE SUCH MISTAKE TO LEAVE MONEY IN SOMEONE'S ACCOUNT FOR 3 MONTHS ITS LONG TIME.

MEANWHILE AFTER JANUARY IF NOT RETRACTED DON'T SPEND IT LOUDLY LIKE THAT, INVEST IT INTO SOMETHING TANGIBLE THAT CAN YIELD BACK INTEREST OR PLACE IT ON FIXED DEPOSIT FOR 6 MONTHS, SO THAT PARA-VENTURE THEY WILL ASK, YOU KNOW YOU HAVE MADE SOME PROFIT FROM IT AND RETURN THEIR MONEY, BUT IF NOT USE IT.

1. Sometimes they make mistakes

Payment was made into my account and reversed back after 30 mins

But I have seen an instant were Payment was made into a girls account and wasn't reversed. She waited a week and went to report in. Immediately the removed it.

44. I WILL ADVISE YOU STILL WAIT TILL JANUARY ENDING IF THEY DID NOT COME FOR IT, DON'T RETURN IT IN A HASTE IT MIGHT BE YOUR MONEY AFTER ALL, MAY BE SOMEONE PAID IT IN WITHOUT YOU KNOWING IT. BANKS DOES NOT MAKE SUCH MISTAKE TO LEAVE MONEY IN SOMEONE'S ACCOUNT FOR 3 MONTHS ITS LONG TIME.

MEANWHILE AFTER JANUARY IF NOT RETRACTED DON'T SPEND IT LOUDLY LIKE THAT, INVEST IT INTO SOMETHING TANGIBLE THAT CAN YIELD BACK INTEREST OR PLACE IT ON FIXED DEPOSIT FOR 6 MONTHS, SO THAT PARA-VENTURE THEY WILL ASK, YOU KNOW YOU HAVE MADE SOME PROFIT FROM IT AND RETURN THEIR MONEY, BUT IF NOT USE IT

45. Truthfully after a few months,I won't return it..I will withdraw it and use it..God works in mysterious ways..

46. Gbagbe osi.. You don craze o, you wan return wetin ? See somebody forming saint o. You better chill with it

47. Honestly....I'll keep some and give some to charity.

48. Oh Stella you don't know d half of it.
    On monday 9th Nov at Zenith Bank by Ozumba Mbadiwe in V-Island instead of 5wraps of N100notes = N50,000, one chic tied 5wraps of N1,000 = N500,000 all mint notes in a paperbag n handed over to me. I just peeped to be sure of d wraps n drove away. 2hrs later I handed d paperbag to my hubby's nephew,a student, was meant for some bills in his school, he took poured out d cash on my desk n it was MORE. We drove back 2 the bank straightaway to meet a wailing teary-eyed chic. She knelt down n kept thanking me. There was confusion already amongst Tellers. Since dat 9th, her hubby, her landlady, her 2 brothers, they've been calling n sending me Bible n inspirational texts.

It can come anytime from anybody's blunder.
    #do not eat another man's harvest#

In Nollywood actor Tony Umez's voice "GOD IS WATCHING".

1. Wow xp am so proud of u, thanks for going bk.

This same thing have happened to me in pH, the lady over paid me wen I noticed, I had to go bk and return it, she was so happy, I can imagine she would have paid for d loss.

49. successful success7 December 2015 at 12:12

Biko send the money to me please oo. do not return that money, i repeat do not return that money. God can bless us in various ways so you better go and pay your tithe and enjoy the rest cash.

50. Wait till the end of the first half of next year and if the money is still there abeg spend it ooo it's a miracle from God but just disguised in that way

51. Please return it to the bank , a banker will be going through hell now trying to pay back this money in question so giving it back will be a huge relief......Who gets it is not your business just return it same way it came

52. Mr goody goody
    Use it to do xmas giveaway
    I rly need it

53. Pls my advice is for u to keep d money, God can bless us in a mysterious ways.
    If u return d money to d bank aw re sure they will return it to d owner since October.
    Pls be wise.

54. At poster I will forward my acct details to u soon. Please transfer the money into my acct since u don't wanna touch it or you don't know what to use it for... Thanks in advance lol

55. calculate the tithe and go give to God. Then you can use the rest of the money. Aferall you have tried not to touch it for months.

I still dey await mistakenly money to be paid to my account. God of Miracle oya ooo

56. Stella advised to "give it back to Charity". Here I am o. Give it back to me.

57. Return the money back to the bank. Its not your money to give to charity. Stella how can you advice somebody to give money that is not his to charity. Its someone's money. Sometimes bankers themselves make mistakes and credit money into someone else's account. Someone probably must have lost their jobs because of that.Why are you even still with that money? Give it back to the bank .Its their problem whatever they do with the money.

58. Pls gradually invest the money into a business!! Let it be a loan which u can pay bck anytym wen d owner cms!! Dnt return d money pls invest wisely

59. What I know is that if a money is mistakenly transferred to you the person that is supposed to receive the money would have told the person sending it and they would have contacted the bank and the bank would have traced it back to you and they would have contacted you to refund it,but if none of this happened,the money may be for you,if you feel uneasy about it you can go the bank and ask for information on the sender of the money.I think it's better you check who the sender is before spending it and indebting yourself

60. Transfer the money out of the account into another account and fix it (fixed deposit) and enjoy the interests on it.
    This way, if the bank calls back for the money, you can return it untouched while having enjoyed huge interests on it.
    Also, moving the money if really big always raises a signal and will lead the money to their attention. Now, if the bank is at fault, they will contact you abt the money but if it's a valid transaction, they will just perform ur transfer transaction as normal.

Then try to keep the funds as fixed deposit for like a year in the new bank. If you hear nothing afterwards, brother/sister it is your money! Maybe sent by an anon or a diverted favour!

But if I hear say you returned that money to the bank.... !!!
    Good citizen no dey this one again. Banks launder money thru pple's acct. So you return it and they will just keep it and u have no right to ask abt it again.

My advice tho.

61. What I know is that if a money is mistakenly transferred to you the person that is supposed to receive the money would have told the person sending it and they would have contacted the bank and the bank would have traced it back to you and they would have contacted you to refund it,but if none of this happened,the money may be for you,if you feel uneasy about it you can go the bank and ask for information on the sender of the money.I think it's better you check who the sender is before spending it and indebting yourself

62. How much is d money so I will know where to start from?

63. Stella dis happened to me just last month and I returned it, all N200k. So I just received an alert from an account I don't usually even use. I was first confused, then got e-mail alert again and saw it was credited from a guy I knew, I buy stuff from him.
    In my mind I knew it had to be a mistake, at d same time I started thinking well maybe I get alert as loyal customer. I begin plan d stuff I may buy with the money. The guy didn't call me thruout dat day,but I told my hubby about it and he said I shdnt spend d money o.
    Next morning na so d guy call me, Madam I mistaken did transfer to you, same name different surname. I said cant do d transfer today o, its 2mrw morning.
    Next morning d guy calls me as early as 6.30 to remind me.
    This was a month ago, till today no call or text to say thankyou and that he received the money.
    Its not his fault na, if I had gone to ATM and withdrawn his money, spent it and I tell him I didn't receive it.
    Or even tell him my account was in debit so bank has taken it, he shld wait till mnth end, then start giving him story like that poster of 'HAVE U ALERT'

64. Good morning, Stella there's no way anyone will "dash" u money for over 2 months without contacting u or letting u know.not with the present economic situation in Nigeria....then again,you didn't do any business,transaction or contract with any individual or corporate body that you're expecting payment for?! Please for God's sake approach any branch of that bank and ask to see the Head of Operations or the chief compliant officer of that branch and present a written request for the money to be investigated,if it's truly urs they will give u details of the person paying you...if not appropriate action will be taken and u will be saving someone's job,and saving some people troubles. Karma is a bitch! There's no such thing as someone paying u some money without u knowing....go back to the bank and verify and clear all doubts. 80% of bankers have integrity! They work so hard to shoulder their family and extended wards...at the end of the year or after three months if call over is eventually done they will still trace the money to ur account.. why not blow the whistle first and save urself the embarrassment of being termed a thief...Banking has gone digital....anyone u complain to will escalate it to the appropriate head,theres nothing like taking it into their personal pocket???!.....how???? You won't want ur integrity questioned when they finally find out and label you a "crook" or fraudster. Blow the whistle to the Bank/Branch!!! That's my 2 cent!

1. Your comment just changed my point of view. Kudos!

65. Pls donate to the money to charity abeg.

66. I will gladly return d money.

I love my peace.

67. Give to gini? For where? As as how? Sey wetin happen? Kai! Why do bad things happen to good pple? Why I no dey fit see this kind luck na? JESUS....just fix me abeg...in this manner!

*Ghanaman signing out*

68. Lool@trying not to give wrong advise

69. My dear, give d back to d bank or to d less previlege home. But, have u made enquiry on who paid in d money into ur account(name and phone contact of d person)

70. As an experienced and truthful banker, this is my advice....

Go to any branch of the bank, ask for your balance(don't express any surprise), then ask to know who paid that amount in your account. Tell them you need the details of the person for business purposes and to reconcile your books( of course you have to dress like a big woman/man). Possibly demand for the copy of the teller used in paying in. They may scan it to the branch you are or if you are lucky it's the branch where the lodgement took place, they will give you the duplicate. If you check the duplicate and you see your name and correct account number on the teller, then the money is yours. just act like you know the person, and of course be generous to them for the stress, cos 'e nor easy'. Write down the phone number and address on the teller(for your personal investigations),Then borrow stella's shoes and run.

If however it's a mistake, they will discover at that point, and forget it, they can't chop that money except if the real owner of the money is dead. It's a matter of time, they will be caught. And likewise if you spend that money and they later discover it was a wrong posting, they will come for you. (Of course they can afford the finest of the lawyers) So if the money was discovered to be a wrong posting, they will just reverse it out of your account.

N.B
    If you account is a c.o.t. Based account, WARN them seriously NEVER to allow the charges drop in your account, otherwise, you are on your own o.

My 2 cents

*** I am tito ****

71. Go to the bank manager and officially return it.

It's none of your business if it gets to the owner or not, afterall, you're not the owner.

About someone you know paying it in without telling you, that's far fetched, considering it's a huge amount of money and it's two months ago and the person has not told you.

In my opinion, giving it to the church, is just like giving stolen money to God, since it's not yours.

Pay no heed to those advising you to 'chop the money'. When repercussions wan land, na only you go carry am.

That's my take on it.

72. I disagree with your charity advice how do you give what is not yours that is theft abeg.

Go to the bank and report to the manager. Put it in writing so you can have evidence tell them you got credit of funds that you are not sure is your own they will look into it and be sure it isn't yours then trace the source and transfer to the right owner.

That cashier must have paid for the shortage or in case of Internet transfer from a customer the customer may be in serious debt because of the mistake imagine if it was you who did Internet transfer for your business and the money goes to another account then the person refuses to be honest.

Let us do to others what we hope will be done to us.

73. My dear chop the money and stop asking questions. I can see dat u dont have any problem at all...

74. See this one forming holy holy ooo, it seems you like poverty abi? Gerraout abeg

75. Stella someone cannot pay in a huge amount and not tell you for over 2months. Stop making exhumes for stealing! And you go to Chuch? Is that what Jesus would do? And now you are telling him to give stolen money to Church or Charity, taking anything that is not yours is stealing. You can ask the bank to please check who transferred the money to you and if you don't know that name Abeg return it. They will soon post your face everywhere saying you are a thief.

76. Honey they're using your account for money laundering. Banks do that all the time. Paying a huge amount of money at once into one person's account can be suspicious. So they 'mistakenly' pay parts into random accounts and try and retrieve it over time. Don't spend it n don't report it cos if the bankers personally keeps it, you are still in trouble for spending money thats not yours. If you have the connections then you can involve efcc for proper investigation. If not biko sit your ass down and pretend you don't have the money till they remove it. I personally know peoole they have screwed cos of this.

77. Simply ask for your statement of account and check who paid in the said amount. Then start your investigations from there through social media especially or reach me via mail to help with the investigations. I can be of help in that area. You are a really good person.

78. Spend the money or invest in a biz. But if you still do not need it, pls send it to me. Will really appreciate.

79. Pay it into my acct

80. Wrong advice.
    Poster,
    Go to the bank, ask for your bank statement.
    Try to trace the depositor.
    If possible, get the number. Most bank tellers have that slot for phone numbers.
    Try all you can to reach whoever deposited that money.
    If you meet a brick wall, transfer the money to a fixed deposit.
    If the owner comes for the money in future, return the original amount and take a drink with the interest generated.
    That way you are safe.
    #My 5 quid.

1. Gbam!!!
      Bloggie chop kiss.
      100likes.

2. Kiss chopped my darling emjay.
      Love you loads

3. Bloggie,
      Whoever deposited that money has been creditted by the bank if the error is from the teller.

4. Stella maris baby7 December 2015 at 14:36

@ Bloggie,dats a lovely idea...
      Good one..

5. Stella maris baby7 December 2015 at 14:37

@ Bloggie,dats a lovely idea.
      Good one..

81. Leave the money in your custody till you hear any news about the money. I bet you, take it to the bank and that will be the end of it

82. why not let it stay in your account a while longer, who knows it may be yours just as Stella says, so you don't regret later.

83. My dear since it's been months and the bank hasn't removed it, kindly see it as a blessing frm God.

84. Send it to my account@ poster! Don't just return it, allow them to ask for it.

85. Nope, aint giving sh** back. God has blessed me I won't use my hands to curse myself dis period of red eye!

86. Omo see groove ooooo!
    Miracle worker! Come and du a miracle today! Lord come and du a miracle today!

87. That money will enter voicemail if you go give it to the tellers and customer care. Some of them are mini thieves in their own ways. You can meet the manager of the bank. And have it on record that you paid the money to them. If possible get a statement of the date it was paid, withdraw it as cash and return to the manager with him signing for the collection. If yawa gas, you have proof.
    Ehen, collect your transport money from them oh. It is your right. Lol

88. Firstly -My sincere advise is for you to leave the money in your account. it will always be traced back to you when the sender realizes it was sent to a wrong account

Secondly - if the money was posted in error, then bear in mind that the staff who wrongly credited you is paying for it (the bank books it as a loan for the culpable staff)

Thirdly - when you do decide to withdraw the funds (for keeps),you may be arrested on sight.

Sadly, it could also mean that the exact amount that was transferred to your account has been frozen, awaiting your approval to refund back to the sender.

My advice is that you should NOT spend the money. let it just generate interest in your savings account. When the rightful owner comes for it, the bank will contact you.

Don't spend the money. its Robbery/Fraud.

89. Well if after months they don't take it back, me lemme nor lie, I'll start spending it. Please reader if you don't need it, send some to me. So the guilt will be on me and not you please. Me that needs money for soooooo many things. Hian.

For real just don't return it cos someone actually paid it to you o. If it were bank error, trust me, they would've since retracted it.

So poster, Send some to me, you hear.

90. If the bank is Fidelity bank. It might be d fidelity bank royalty reward that's on going now. And if its not, then follow your heart. But if am d one, I'll give 10percent to charity and the rest is mine oh.

91. Pls gimme the money abeg. Make d curse follow me. U fit even come share am ad giveaway here.

1. If she give u, u go get mind chop am talk true

92. Go the bank, ask for the description of the transaction (don't let them know it was a wrong transaction) ask for the details of the person who paid in the money. Contact the person and get the person to confirm the details, date, time, amount, etc. If you are satisfied that the person is the owner, ask the person to make a formal complaint. then go to the bank and file for wrongful transaction and give them all the details, then transfer the money to the person.

93. I would advice you keep the money for something till the bank contacts u or you could go to the bank to ask for details of the person who payed the money into your account

94. Please,...keep the money, just like Stella advised, it could have been paid in for you. But, if you're not comfortable, please.... Do a December give away for a hose in need. Cause as I dey here so, me need cash to take clear debts for school, make I for following collect my statement of results.#okbye

95. Have u been praying 4 financial help? Maybe it's God dat credited ur account lol..This reminds me of how I spent N200 I found while returning from night class in j.ss1. My pocket money hsd exhausted and I prayed and prayed 4 financial assistance after studying , just less than a minute after d prayer I found a neatly folded 200 note on d ground while returning 2 d hostel..I actually believed it was God dat sent it ..

96. Which church? Please give the money to charity if you don't want it.

97. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Am sure an account number was sent with that money... So send it back.....

98. Chai,you are good person.if it were to be someone else .the money go don enter voicemail

Www.bolatitoblog.com

99. Truth is the money is likely not going to be returned or credited to the owner that is if it isn't yours in the first place cos it might be yours you know! Still let it rest in your account abeg till you are sure someone you know didn't send it to you and when you are sure it's not yours, look for someone or a family in dire need around you and be a blessing to them with some of the money in this yuletide season and use up the rest. This is what i'll do if i'm in your shoes.
    All the best to you.

100. If I hear say I no chop am.Sometime this year,some banks made some errors and paid in money to some civilservants in Abuja.One of my colleagues told us his wife was among those whose accounts were credited in error.He said they were rushing to the bank to withdraw it before she received an alert of the reversal.They were very sad.

101. Will keep the money,bcos i am sure the person that paid the money is with the teller.Wil give the person enough time to come for it.
    My tot.

102. I will spend the money and wait for the consequence(s)

#GODWIN™

103. Keep it for a year and after this spend it or give to charity , do not return it to the bank, cos they just keep it for themselves.

104. After two months? If I hear say I return am.Some will go to charity tho.....manna from heaven.

#bekindtooneanother

105. Go to the bank and find out who paid the money. When you have proved that the money isn't yours, return it to the sender.

106. Truth is, I won't return it. Simple!

107. Ask bank for statement and trace all transactions! Just might be from some1 to u

108. Poster Please don't spend the money as it might be a mistake from a customer who was probably doing an online transfer. it happened to me once and i didn't know until after one month.off course i lost my money but not without placing a curse on the thief.
    It was my hard earned money my salary for that matter and just one number was missed and it entered another persons account.
    Poster please go to the bank and report to them they will check your statement and know were the money came in from.God bless.

109. Please dont take the money. Someone will pay dearly for it if its not your own.
    keep using the account so it doesnt go dormant. But dont spend that money for like 1yr max. If not then my dear. ...someone paidit in for you.
    Money business is serious o

110. Hmmmm.....the devil is a liar. All this runs done in the bank this is the end result. Return the money to the bank so your conscience can allow you breathe

111. Enter your comment...Abeg give me, i need it badly.
    Salam-Salam.

112. Linda's protégé7 December 2015 at 14:06

Go to customer service in ur bank and ask to see who deposited money into your account on the said date....that might help unravel the 'mystery'

113. Take 10% of it and go report to the bank. The 10% is your psychological damage settlement,I.e raising your hopes unnecessarily over the money. Please don't return d money without taking your share cos I guarantee the money is not making it back to its original owner

114. Go to the bank and find out who paid that money. You can trace the depositor or whoever that transferred that money.

Your help could save someones job or save someone who might have wrongly deposited that money.

XOXO MYSTERY

115. Enter your comment...
    Stella that is still stealing under the criminal code. he ought to have disclosed this to his bank all along. i handled a case like this of recent. you may not be aware that your account is being used to perpetrate fraud or route stolen monies.
    the bank may institute a criminal action against you if u dint make a full disclosure of this wrongful payment on time.

116. Enter your comment...
    Stella that is still stealing under the criminal code. he ought to have disclosed this to his bank all along. i handled a case like this of recent. you may not be aware that your account is being used to perpetrate fraud or route stolen monies.
    the bank may institute a criminal action against you if u dint make a full disclosure of this wrongful payment on time.

117. u have the right to your account status and from there u can know who actually made the deposit

118. Go to your bank and return the money. Its not yours, posssibly using your account for laundering or a mistake of posting to the wrong account. Wither onw, return for your conscience to be clear.
    Btw, I have had to return 1k paid by a teller to me. Ot was lodged between 500.00 notes and I knew it was a miatake. I was tempted to keep it and buy recharge card, but then my conscience wouldnt allow that. And besides I de pray for blessings from God naa.

119. may this always be my portion till i leave this world in JESUS Name amen.

120. return to which bank nah? is d name of d depositor included? as for me, I will keep eyeing d money in my account.. just pray I am financially buoyant.. cuz if need be to remove from d money.omo! I will ooo.

buh well! I am rich enuf to ignore the lil "change" kikikikiki

121. Didn't it show the name of the depositor? Leave the money in the account, don't spend it so you don't have to scramble to pay it back. If the money isn't withdrawn, try to trace the depositor.

122. That was how I used Zenith eazymoney app to transfer money, missed a digit and mistakenly paid 10k into someone else's account. Went to the bank immediately, they couldn't do nothingg. Wrote countless applications, sent mails to head office sef. They kept replying they're on it. The customer service girl said GTB hasn't responded and I should pray the customer hasnt drawn the money. Till tomorrow they couldnt do anything about it.Nigerian banking system is totally fucked up.that money pain me die.

123. poster if your bank hasnt contacted you about the money. Please use it, because the sender would have gone to complain too but their nonchalance wont let them act.....I hate Nigerian banks....mtcheew

124. Poster pls pay back the money into ur acct den alert your bank, note that the money will be traced to ur acct anytime the real owner reports and somebody will pay for that money and they will put ur acct officer under pressure to provide u and it can get messy most times. I work in a bank and I ve seen tellers pay back gbese due to posting mistakes and most of them are on contracts so u can imagine how painful it will be to them. Pls do not spend that money. God bless u as u do the right thing.

125. Just do the right thing, return it if was not meant for you.

126. Dear Poster
    Please don't listen to most of thesr commenters here o. As an ex- banker , I can tell you how painful it is for a teller to credit wrong account.
    Pleasr leave the money in your account and go to any branch of your bank.Ask fior the operations Manager .
    I have a feeling it was a compensation or transposition error andsuch are mostly not detected on time except the transaction tickets are "called over " same day .
    People have lost their job because of cases like this . Kindly do the right thing and informing any btanch of your bank.
    God blesd you as you do so.Amen.

To the rest of you advising the poster not return the money, it is well with you ooo
    You all forget that you have relatives as banker and some of you might end up working at bank.
    When the wrath of God descends on you. , Sdk blog will not be enough to post your chronicle.
    Keep taking money that is not meant for you..
    Some of you lots don't have integrity.
    I am surprised at the level of greed portrayed by some known BV.

127. Hello Poster. U need not withdraw the money and take it back to the bank. I can assure u that its either its a wrong posting or fraudulent posting. Now if its wrong posting which I doubt anyway cos someone should have detected by now, all u need do is go to ur bank, either ur branch or any branch and complain, believe me they will trace it out. Even if it's fraudulent funds it would be traced out. Systems don't lie, something will be done. Make sure u ask for the most senior person in d branch so one low life will nt advice u to move the money around. Don't be tempted to spend the cash. Remember BVN, u will be found out. Cheers

128. Poster, I will suggest you find out the originating source of the money. That is, the bank and location of the payer. You can also get an Internet banking to do findings yourself. I actually thought banks recall all their transactions for the day for call-over reports. Find a way of reporting it through regulated agency so as to get rewards for your good deeds.