Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Godwin Ekpo,The Motorcyclist Whose Life Was Ripped Apart By The Shot Fired By A Police Corporal

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Godwin Ekpo,The Motorcyclist Whose Life Was Ripped Apart By The Shot Fired By A Police Corporal

......So on Tuesday December 8,2015,I did a post HERE asking for the whereabouts of Godwin Ekpo Udoh who was shot by a police corporal in September 2015. Here is what I found out. Read through please. 

Recap of What Happened
For those who haven't been following up the story. Godwin Ekpo Udoh was a tricyclist living with his wife, Comfort and four kids-two boys and two girls. They were happy even though they were low income earners. 
That was to change on September 16, 2015, when life as they knew it changed irreparably. He was shot by one Coporal Musefiu Aremu of the Isheri Oshun Police Division, at the Ijegun area of Lagos.
Not only was he shot in the jaw, tearing off his lower jaw, he also lost his wife and companion, Comfort. To crown it all, all these happened right in front of his kids. His sole crime was that he didn't give the policemen bribe. For that, he paid dearly and he is still paying. 

Present Ordeal 
At present, his kids-Mary, 12; Blessing, 9; Abraham, 7; and a year-old Elijah are now living with him. They are trying to begin life all over again. Now they have begun extra mural lessons so that they can catch up with their academics.
However, Udoh is yet to be gainfully employed so they live at the mercy of kindhearted people. Because of his shattered hand, he simply can't go back to driving a tricycle again. 
He also has to deal with the iron plate in his jaw, which has rendered him unable to eat solid foods and chew it. 

The Private Lessons
To enable the kids catch up after all they have lost, the father approached the Cornerstone Private School and they worked out a modality. They were assigned a teacher, who comes by every morning to take them to school to teach them and then bring them back home to continue the lessons. This is in preparatory to their starting a fresh session next year. 

The teacher, one Augustina Okechi said, "I started teaching them last month. They are trying now to pick up. When we started, their performance was very poor but they are picking up gradually."

His Expectations
According to him, his expectations from the police are- 1) health insurance because of the constant visit to the hospital.

2) A befitting burial for his wife because she is still at the morgue of Mainland Hospital at Yaba.

3) Scholarship for his kids.

4) Speedy prosecution of corporal Musefiu Aremu.  

On the Issue of Scholarship 
The police said they have penciled down the names of the four kids to join the new Nigerian Police Force Scholarship Scheme. A senior police officer who would not want to be mentioned said the Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni was detailed by the Inspector General of Police, Solomon Arase to include their names.

This means that they would join the 320 other recipients of the scholarship scheme to enjoy free schooling up until university level. The scholarship scheme which the IG would unveil onWednesday, December 16, 2015, is for children of policemen and also children of policemen who have lost their lives in the course of duty. 

In the Spirit of Xmas To Help Udoh get back on his feet
Here are his account details.Those BV's who are looking for anyone to bless this Xmas,please reach out to this man.Thank you God bless.

1) GTB- Godwin Sunday Udoh -0017110629
2) Ecobank- Godwin Sunday Udoh- 5321029038

His Phone number is 08091102696

53 comments:

1. God bless everyone reaching out to him

2. Him and his children deserve the best Christmas ever!!!!!!

3. It took his wife to die for God to raise helpers for him. What a price to pay. Of course he would rather have his wife alive and live in penury, than have her dead in the morgue and enjoy the police scholarship. What a sad story. May God heal this man and his children. Thanks for this detailed info. I hope for his sake that he's the only one who has access to this account. Cos even though it was opened in his name, some people can still take advantage of his vulnerability to swindle him. Just saying.

1. Victim name is different from account name
      Scammers everywhere Stella take note

3. Awwww.
    Calling d number right away 2gv out d little i can

4. thelma enemuwe said...
    So sad
    It z well with dem
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

1. Lol what's up with this "Thelma enemuwe said" lol u never tire

5. I pray this whole incidence turn out to be a blessing in disguise for him and his kids.
    And their life will change for the best.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

6. Jeez
    God w send helper his way

7. May God send him help. Police is our friend indeed.

8. but why shoot someone in the jaw!
    people are wicked o!

9. Hmmmmm it is well. The all merciful God

10. May God give them an helper

May d soul of d departed continue 2 rest in peace

*****MhizDerbyViaIG*****

11. Awww
    Jst look at his kids..
    i pray d last one wnt start asking where mum is

12. Awww
    Jst look at his kids..
    i pray d last one wnt start asking where mum is

13. God bless you Stella for all the follow up you ve done.Sometimes is not all about bringing stories that will increase traffic but also about touching lives.Youre lifted and keep doing wat u do pls don't forget onyinyechi too.God bless,yours sdkly dazzlinglizzy

14. Chai Stella nwanyi Oma . Na now you come . Godwin u don hammer this Christmas o . I go christmastise you this Christmas. And give u a monthly stipend. I feel you bro . When I was down and out ,strangers helped me ,even spirits helped me ,my enemies helped me without knowing. . I went thru pain unimaginable.but God saw me thru . My bro help has come .

1. Amen. Thank you so much for trying to help.x

15. It is well with him and his children. May God nt allow those happy triggered uniform men see us and our family in Jesus name, Amen.

16. Blessings shall arise from the ashes...Comfort RIP as angels guide your children

17. Well-done Stella..God bless ur kind heart.

May God provide succour for this family.
    I pray they meet all his expectations.
    RIP to the deceased.

18. Thank you Stella for doing this. God bless you.
    NPF and their wahala...FG should do something about them cos it's time already.

19. My condolences to d family.
    May dey found help soon

20. Thank you Stella for this, God reward u bountifully. Just can't stop crying each time I come across this man ordeal

21. Our Nigerian police don really commit for this life.. bunch of heartless mofos!

22. Our Nigerian police don really commit for this life.. bunch of heartless mofos!

23. Thank you Stella for doing this. Mr help has located you. Merry Xmas.

24. So sad. This country, ehn. We are in God's hands

25. Stella, any update on 9year old Onyinyechi? That girl has been on my mind..

1. And I remember that young boy in the village too. The one with his grandma with an impaired sight. Stella, kindly update us.

26. I noticed the prosecution of the idiotic corporal was not mentioned in the response from the police.

I have these questions to ask...where is the shooter/corporal? Has he been relieved of his job yet? Will he be charged to court?
    These questions needs to be answered b4 the police can say they have done their duty to this man.
    Also, 'until university level' i hope means that the scolarship covers up to University.

Thanks Stella for being the voice of the voiceless

1. With Arase's involvement, I don't think he'll go scot free. I stand to be corrected. Time will tell. The bastard must be jailed or executed.

27. thank you stella for this platform to help the needy. It is well with u mr Godwin Ekpo, ur children shall be great

28. I hope the Nigerian police live up to their expectation and do the needful for this family,God bless u stella.

29. Stella you are really a blessing to this generation.

30. Thanks Stella, God bless you and your kids.
    I will send him 2,000 naira. thats all i have for now

31. Nigerian police. Killing and maiming people upandan anyhow since ninty korodom.

32. Please if any one can help the kids with counseling, it would be great. I can't even imagine what they're going through psychologically.

33. when I saw the video of this man,i cried because life isn't fair, what kind of people join the Nigerian police force?

34. For the first am giving arm to someone story I read on line, I must give dis man even if its 2k. Ppl pls no amount is too small

35. Sigh .. God pls have mercy, dis is unfair

36. please sign up and report crimes on www.pageomni.com

37. So moved! Need to give this family something. If not this month, January unfailingly, I hope we can all help them ... Let us make a commitment to give them something no matter how small