Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Femi Otedola's Forte Oil Fined 4.2 million For Hoarding Fuel By Kano State Government

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Femi Otedola's Forte Oil Fined 4.2 million For Hoarding Fuel By Kano State Government

A Forte Oil filling station which belongs to Nigerian billionaire and business mogul, Femi Otedola has been hit with a huge fine by the Kano state government. 

The Kano State Government had set up a committee to prevent hoarding of petrol and selling above official rate, has fined a Forte Oil filling station in the state the sum of N4.2million.

The state commissioner for Commerce, Rabiu Bako, who is the chairman of the committee, said the stipulated penalty for a filling station found hiding petroleum products and selling above pump price was to make it pay fine by doubling the official pump price of their existing product. 

He added that at the time of the clamp down, the station had already disposed of 26,000 litres from the 34,000 litres allocated to it. The commissioner said when they multiplied the cost of the available litres with the surcharge, they arrived at N4.2million.

culled:premium times

56 comments:

1. Nice move. They will be hoarding fuel, cos they like seeing people suffer. God pass dem.

2. Does a state have powers to fine a fuel station? thats the work of a federal agency DPR.
      What these people dont know is that organizations pay in advance to have fuel reserved for them and as such that might be the case.

3. Just imagine that...4.2m is chicken feed to Otedola right?

2. He's a billionaire, 4.2m is nothing to him.

3. Why should they Hoard PMS? Shame!

4. Way to go! But not only forte oil,others should follow.

5. All of a sudden, no more queues at the filling stations since it was broadcast fuel will be sold at 85naira per litre from January 1st.

That singular act confirmed that the petrol stations created artificial scarcity to extort citizens.... as I always say our government is the reflection of who we are individually... May God save us and this country Nigeria!

1. Now payment of subsidy has been suspended... Hehehehehehehehehehe

6. Otedola is rich!
    That shldnt be a problem.

7. The manager of d said station has lost his job for that act, I hope this will teach others some lessons.

8. Niaja n fake scarcity. Why were they hoarding it for crying out loud. Mtchew. He should pay the fine jor. I wish they do this in other states too

9. Ok. Probably chicken change to him.

10. Well Forte oil have come through several times for me.

I guess they do these things were they feel eyes will not be on them.
    I know what my folks go through in the east to buy fuel...not the normal price dare I say!

Some times sef,task force go to the stations hoarding fuel and give out the reserve for free.LOL

11. I luv El Rufai, he's a no nonsense man.
    Nigerian businessmen thinks they can hold this country to ransome.

12. Nice one. The hoarding is just too much, frustrating citizens. To what end please? They should be slammed with fine higher than this.

13. If not that my boss reserves fuel for workers he would have been fined too.
    As a result of hoarding some even lost their lives.

14. If I hear! Its only him who hoarded fuel Abi, their Muslim brothers didn't? They shouldn't even start this marginalization cos Hes not a northerner..

1. My God, is that what you were able to deduce from this write up?
      My God...

15. Good for him. Yoruba people and greed. Smh

16. This is crazy..Forte oil has been selling fuel in lagos since the beginning of the crisis. BTW I bought fuel at N120 per litre somewhere in Lagos yesterday how do I contact the people in charge?

17. If it's ture, then I hope he will be forced to pay the full fine, instead of just part of it.

18. *openseyewide* anyway money dey...

19. I have always said we don't love each other in this country, imagine all these marketers hoarding fuel not minding how much the masses are suffering.

20. Good for him. Hoarding fuel as if its there fathers properties.

21. Good for them... They should please come down to Jos

22. Nice one jare!
    We need dat law nation wide! Esp Lagos!
    He can afford it jare! Femi pay up
    Just saying

23. That's good for them... End time filling station...lol

24. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Wow... This is really new though no doubt...

25. Pls the task force should come to Anambra and help us. A litre is being sold at 150 naira. It's horrible.

26. Pls the task force should come to Anambra and help us. A litre is being sold at 150 naira. It's horrible.

27. They should visit others and fine them as well.

28. A way to cause artificial scarcity to top up prices - Greedy billionaire who doesn't even care about the masses . Shame on you!

29. Hmmmmm!Nice,if not to witch hunt Otedola.
    Only if all these filling stations around me here hoarding their products wud be hit with such.

30. A lot of people comment like illiterates. The station was fined not Otedola. He probably has no knowledge of what some shady station manager in kano is doing. In fact, in my area in mowe, the Forte oil here is one of the only stations with fairly regular fuel supply and they always sell at the official pump price. They also hardly ever sell to kegs. So all you cussing the man out, cook your beef and eat it!

31. Good for him. Very vindictive man. He should keep paying.

32. Why hoarding for God's sake? When many Nigerians are suffering to buy fuel with their own money.

33. But forte oil is one of the filling stations here that have been selling fuel at d normal price. Only d queue was d problem. They should better not lie against this organization. But if it's true, they should make them a scapegoat

34. Forte Oil has been selling in Gbagada area, also at Surulere. so I dnt know what you people are talking about