Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal High Court Orders The Freezing Of All Kanu Nwankwo’s Accounts

Saturday, December 12, 2015

Federal High Court Orders The Freezing Of All Kanu Nwankwo’s Accounts

A Federal high court sitting in Lagos, Nigeria has ordered that all accounts belonging to former captain of the Super Eagles, Nwankwo Kanu and his company, The Hardley Apartments anywhere and in any bank or financial institution in Nigeria should be frozen pending the hearing of suit filed for the recovery of a debt of N924,788,754.56,

The Asset Management Corporation Of Nigeria (AMCON) filed the suit against the defendants, Also affected by the order of the court is a Director of Hardley Apartment, Ayoola Gam-Ikon.

In an affidavit sworn to by a Credit officer in the Directorate of AMCON Mr Victor Igabor, filed and argued by Barrister Niyi Olopade, the deponent averred that sometime between May, 2008 and January 10, 2011 Skye bank offered The Hardley Apartments engaged in business of Hospitality located at Plot 46 Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Victoria island, Lagos a loan of N520,457,000. 

The loan was secured by a mortgage on the company’s three blocks of 40 accommodation units estimated in open market value of N395million as well as unconditional personal, joint and several guarantee of Ayoola Gam-Ikon and Nwankwo Kanu.

The defendants failed to repay the loan with the accrued interest despite repeated demands, consequent upon which Skye bank Plc assigned the defendants indebtedness in the sum of N558,313,905.37 as at 1st April, 2011 to the AMCON as a toxic bank asset in line with the establishment objective of the said AMCON.

Mr Igabor averred further that, this development was communicated to the defendants by Skye bank who admitted their indebtedness but praying that the assignment to AMCON be revoked. The defendants’ indebtedness as at the 15th October 2015 stood at N924,788,754.56 representing principal and interest while interest is still running.

Consequently, Igabor contended that The Hardley Apartments is in imminent of being dissipated, therefore if the application is not granted, Ayoola Gam-Ikon and Nawankwo Kanu could dissipate the assets of the company therefore urged the court to issue interim order of possessing of all movable and immovable properties known as Plot 46 Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Victoria Island.

An order attaching the debt due from Hardley Apartments as well as debts accurring from the defendants jointly and severally and freezing all accounts belonging to the defendants jointly and severally in any bank or financial institution in Nigeria.
The presiding judge, Okon Abang while acceding to the request of AMCON, ordered that, AMCON shall in the interim possess all the movable and immovable properties known as Plot 46 Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Victoria Island, Lagos.

That in the interim the debt due or accruing from the Hardley Apartments as well as the debts accruing from the defendants jointly and severally and freezing all accounts belonging to the defendants jointly and severally anywhere and in any bank and any financial institution in Nigeria are hereby attached pending the hearing of this suit.
The matter has been adjourned for hearing.

Source: BreakingTimes

Awwwww..I am sure they will sort this out properly if it is true otherwise this is serious GGBEGE!

48 comments:

1. Shuooo, mouth open, closes, opens again, shakes head. It is well

2. Huh.. upon the whole money he earns

pls I need serious help cause am confused. I just found out that my girl friend is SS. I met Lora, she was so innocent and calm , we got talking And we clicked , I lived in ph while she schooled in Lagos, I came visiting once in a while, or she comes around 2, I noticed she was always sick, but I felt it was the normal regular sickness , and no one told me any thing .

We dated and I decided to propose to her , and she agreed to marry me. I went to see her parents officially and we started making arrangement for the wedding.. Few weeks to our wedding we stepped out to watch a movie, as we got to the movie house,my girl friend just fell to the ground and fainted ,so I rushed her to the hospital,,were I found out that she was...

Continue...

3. My handsome crush , I know it will be sorted out.

4. Pay your bills if its true
    Fake life everywhere

5. Oh,this is not good for Nwankwo and OGb and GAM,I feel for them

6. I first thought he also ate our yam o. They should please sort it out

1. Lol, me too...hahaha #yam, you're a crazy gal lol

7. Kamburoubanchan!!! Hands on my head...

8. Awwww.... this cool man. I pray he finds a way to settle this debt. It's not just advisable to take loans in this country. wahala too dey follow the matter.

9. Why didn't he separate his personal account from official account? Poor him

10. God should help him cos kanu is a good man ooo..

11. God should help him cos kanu is a good man ooo..

12. Hian, what of his startimes decoder endorsement na, he should stop over charging brands, accept lots of endorsement so he can pay up atleast

13. That is the problem with banks,they won't give people that requires small loan instead they give large loans. How can you give one person all that money? Is this not greed? They hound these guys everyday begging them to collect loan meanwhile small business owners are looking for loan. God don catch them

14. May it be sorted out. The accused side please.

15. Choi! Upon how we begged and harassed papilo back then it had to get to this!

Banks need to do more of this, if I mention names of customers and companies owing and refusing to pay back people no go believe. Living off borrowed funds, when banks die dem go abuse bankers say dem dey spend anyhow. Shame to all debtors, including that fine girl wey Stella post recently, ordinary few clothes she no fit pay, na dat one go return bank loan!?

1. Bella Davies Onigbese, end time customer. LMAO!!

2. After running, cajoling and harassing intending customers with your fictitious loans, you now foolishly say banks should do this often. Do what often. Useless bankers with no other forms of generating monies other than chasing business men and women with their stale prick and Toto to hook them with bad debt.

3. Lovelace I feel for you. I pray next year is better for you! Sorry!

4. Lovelace, I am an ex banker. I could start to educate u on the ignorance in ur comments but it would turn into a full post. Just leave it alone

5. *hiss* at both teddy and anon21:25. Ain't trading words with nitwits.

16. Shm dis guy right here won't pay dt money! Freezing his account won't affect him cos he has moved out reasonable amount from his personal account to his wife and kids account.

17. Awwww...
    And Kanu has a heart of Gold for this sort of mess.
    I trust it will be sorted.

18. People like KANU can do no wrong in my eyes ..... if I even read the post well, the asset, Hardley apartment isn't even worth half of the loaned money and freezing his accounts? haha! laughable one.
    Banks are very very stupid and these kind of things are what ought to happen to them.

Thank you Stella, I was informed.

19. Na wah ooo
    I pray they sort it out soon.

20. May God help himEnter your comment...

21. May God help himEnter your comment...

22. Serious gbese. I pray it's sorted

23. Kanu please sort yourself out. Still love you.

24. that is the problem with lending on the term that the person is a well known international figure. imammadu no dey work for money tinz