Facebook's Mark Zuckerberg and his wife Priscilla Chan say they will give away 99% of their shares in the company to good causes as they announce the birth of their daughter Max.
Mr Zuckerberg made the announcement in a letter to Max on his Facebook page.
He said they are donating their fortune to the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative because they want to make the world a better place for Max to grow up in.
The donation amounts to $45bn (£30bn) at Facebook's current value.
However the shares will not be donated to charity immediately, but over the course of the couple's lives.
Max was born last week, although her birth was only made public public on Tuesday.
In his letter Mr Zuckerberg said the aim of the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative is "to advance human potential and promote equality for all children in the next generation".
Its initial areas of focus will be personalised learning, curing disease, connecting people and building strong communities.
"Your mother and I don't yet have the words to describe the hope you give us for the future," Mr Zuckerberg said at the start of his letter to Max.
"You've already given us a reason to reflect on the world we hope you live in," it added.
Billionaire investor Warren Buffet congratulated Zuckerberg and Chan, proclaiming that when it comes to giving away your fortune, "30 is the new 70".
No longer should billionaires wait to die before handing over money to a different generation, Buffet said, in a gushing approval of Silicon Valley's newest and most influential power couple.
Everything Mark Zuckerberg does is eyed with intense scrutiny, not least due to the nature of Facebook's business of making money from personal data.
But while the 31-year-old's previous charitable efforts have been criticised for being too focused on building Facebook's user base, this latest pledge appears to leave the Facebook business to one side.
It's a continuation of what we've seen developing over the past six months, where Zuckerberg appears at ease hosting heads of state as he does in the company of his own development team.
The days of Mark Zuckerberg being seen as a nerdy, awkward tech dork are well behind us.
His ambition now is clearly to be a significant figure on the global political stage.
The letter highlighted the important role of technology in achieving the couple's goals of advancing human potential and equality.
"Many of the greatest opportunities for your generation will come from giving everyone access to the internet," Mr Zuckerberg wrote to his daughter.
He said more details about the donation will be released once he and Ms Chan return from paternity and maternity leave.
Mr Zuckerberg, who Forbes estimate is worth some $46.8bn, said he will remain chief executive of Facebook for "many, many years to come".
In a filing to the US Securities and Exchange Commision, Facebook said that Mr Zuckerberg "plans to sell or gift no more than $1bn of Facebook stock each year for the next three years and that he intends to retain his majority voting position...for the foreseeable future."
BBC.
Awwww...
ReplyDeleteCongra to them...
What their doing is so nice
DeleteCongrats to them
DeleteRead about it yesterday. Such a selfless act. Congrats to them.
DeleteNice!
DeleteTo me this is honestly too huge to giveaway while u are still alive and daughter young
Reasons: Nobody knows tomorrow and what happens after the *awwww, he's very generous*? Hope u can stand trying times cos humans are not smiling and forget good deeds very easily
1billion dollars donation or even 10billion to this wouldn't have been bad!
Buh this? I don't know...
Certainly he knows what he is doing and have further plans. Else....
Nice and congrats to them on the arrival of their baby
ReplyDeleteCongrat to them
DeleteHello ugly Stella
ReplyDeleteMay God forgive you
DeleteUgly?...
DeleteIs that the only insult you know?...try harder cos Stella tired of hearing that..
Bastard!...
She's ugly, so what are you doing here?
DeleteShe/we knows she's ugly. Any new insult?
DeleteStupid thing
*is...
DeleteThe fact that she posted your comment should tell you that you're a sore self made loser
DeleteMay amadioha wipe out ur generation.she's ugly yet she's married with kids.so what's ur achievement?spill let's see.
Delete@La Fresh, we know she's ugly? If I just stated the obvious then why are you'all woried?
DeleteAnyway I dont have time for y'all December giveaway voltrons
Nawa
DeleteAwwww...very thoughtful of him.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations to mark and wifey. Welcome baby girl.
ReplyDeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteAwww congrats to the couple and nice one.
ReplyDeleteWow! How nice of them!
ReplyDeleteNice one. Congrats to them.
ReplyDeleteNice one
ReplyDeleteCongratulations to them
ReplyDeletethelma enemuwe said...
ReplyDeleteWow,what a selfless man he is
Welcome to the world max
*faithful bv enemuwe thelma*
His wife looks like his mother
ReplyDeleteChoi
DeleteWhy evils?
Good one!
ReplyDeleteI love this couple..
ReplyDeleteRich,powerful n simple.
ehen
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
Welcome to the world lil max. Your birth is a blessing to the new generation...what a noble, selfless n amazing act from your parents. May God continue to guide and keep this family.
ReplyDeleteHey Mark, need a nanny. I too will give away my salary. Winks*
ReplyDeleteCongrats to Mr zuckerberg and lovely wife.
ReplyDeleteEnd time giveaway
ReplyDeleteCongrats Mark!
ReplyDeleteWhat a selfless generous man.
ReplyDeleteGod bless you and your little family.
Very kind of them
ReplyDeleteThat's amazing!
ReplyDeleteGood
ReplyDeleteThis is wonderful. God bless and keep them
ReplyDeleteCongrats Sir and Ma
ReplyDeleteWelcome little one
Nothing is greater than giving.
ReplyDeleteA millionaire with a very large heart. Kudos to him.
ReplyDeleteHe's a billonaire,in dollars. God bless Max and her parents.
DeletePOC, billionaire. In naira, trillionaire
DeleteWow
ReplyDeleteCongratulobia to them on the arrival of their baby.
Your comment will be visible after approval.
Born with a silver, gold, diamond, spoon...
ReplyDeleteAwww
ReplyDelete*dat messed up silly girl*
This is amazing, this is total selflessness.
DeleteThat is a good man up there. Not foolish ones in Nigeria
ReplyDeleteCongrats.....
ReplyDeleteI'm sure he made a pact with God.If God blesses him with a child,he would do this because I heard he and his wife have been trying to conceive anyways congrats on the arrival of your daughter.
ReplyDeleteCongrats to them
ReplyDeleteWow...so generous.
ReplyDeleteCongrats to them.
a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
ReplyDelete.
That pikin like that na billionnaire nobi lie.. #NowPlaying>> take it: sean tizzle...
Nice nice.congrats to them
ReplyDeleteCongratulations and God bless you.
ReplyDeleteNice. Congratulations to you both.
ReplyDeleteGod bless them