Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section..

Sunday, December 06, 2015

Doctors In House Section..

Huh?

BABY REFUSING BREAST IN MOUTH

Hello bvs...my 3 months old baby has refused to suck breast but enjoys bottle feeding though he can take breast milk when you express it out and give him with spoon or feeding bottle.this behaviour started a week ago and its making me sad.  

Please what do I do to make him suck my breast as my breast milk production quantity is decreasing...

60 comments:

1. The first thing that came to my mind is that, hope ur body smell nice. Hope the bras too are not smelling

Not abusing you o. #IMO

1. I guess u are a first time mum, there is notin to worry about, some babies feel comfortable eating from a feeder cos the mouth of a feeder is longer n so the baby easily grab onto the mouth of the feeder. Some babies finds it difficult to latch on the nipple. As long as ur baby is eating well, you ve notin to worry abt. He just feels comfortable eating from a feeder.

2. No matter how much a breastfeeding mother stinks, d baby must suck, just natures way, it wires d baby dat way so the baby dsnt perceive the foul smell

3. Dat baby is jst being lazy. Just does not want to stress his jaws. Leave d baby jor and find other means to feed him. Wait oooo abi d baby is jealous da Oga too is sharing, and does not want to put mouth where anoda mouth don touch

4. There's nothing to worry about. If you're worried what will women that didn't lactate at all do?

You should worry when your baby refuse your breast and feeder.

5. Why will u say her bra is smelling? My dear maybe u have big nipples. It happened to him with my 2nd child. I have to pump all the time. Or maybe the baby got use to the bottle.

2. If him no gree lef am na! Shuoooo na by force? Start making normal baby food for him now so if d milk stops coming he has an alternative.
    There's no one size fits all rule. Go with what u have!

3. Take him to a paediatrician to examine inside the mouth in case of rashes or sumthin that wil discourage him from sucking.keep expressin for him. Keep in mind bottle feedin is highly discouraged by paediatricians.

4. Something must be wrong with the breast, it happened to my friend, her mother took her to ochie dike midwife (old in profession), who examined her breast and washed her breast with palm kernel and her baby started sucking her breast again

1. Pls nothing is wrong with breast.i had same issue.if I gently force d breast into his mouth ,he strts suckling, bt when I try to make him suck d 2nd breast d same issue comes again.i strted expressing d breast milk for him,which he drinks up sharply.the mum may have large nipples,so it may be difficult for d baby to suck on easily.It happens.At some point I got tired of expressing with d breast pump,cos using it is so uncomfortable (kinda of painful). And dt was how d lil dude stopped breast milk.He is 5yrs nw and a very smart kid.

5. I find this funny lolz. babies are always right ,they know but cnt say .maybe a check up would do.

1. If the baby refuses to suck, express for him/her...

6. Change ur breastfeeding position cos may be the baby isnt feeling comfortable. I didnt experience that so dont know what to say.

7. Some kids are like that, he will eat solids quivk

8. me don't know truth be told doc come over

#GODWIN™

9. Keep expressing, it won't decrease if u do.

10. You don't have any problem.
    My friend daughter stop sucking breast milk at 3months just like that.
    Relax n enjoy

11. Baby boys don't reject breast feeding..
    Madam,something is wrong with your breast milk...I think it's infected!...
    Take him to a peadiatrician biko...

1. Is it dat ure dumb or u can comprehend simple English? ?? Breast milk is infected yet baby sucks from bottle? ???? One advice, GET A LESSON TEACHER!!

2. I think u av a brain disorder

3. Foolish fool nd 2 think i thot u were knew better,ewu gambia...Breast is infected but baby sucks from the bottle??Jesus biko receive sense inugo...

4. Foolish fool nd 2 think i thot u were knew better,ewu gambia...Breast is infected but baby sucks from the bottle??Jesus biko receive sense inugo...

12. Well I'll just read comments, could it be your nipple?

13. Simple: rub honey or sometin sweet on ur Nipple! And hope d nipple hole is clean and u always smell nice too!
    Du all these and ur baby would suck nd even chew away ur nipple wit its gum! Thank me latter

1. Honey is not good for babies..do ur research biko before you come on the internet and give advice

2. Thank fire, who gives a baby under 1year honey.

3. And can babies bite off nipples With their gums, where is ur ssense of humor! Everytin na war for this blog!@ anon 12:53

4. Ure obviously not married!! I dont blame u...

5. Shame on u ! Brainless mofos @ forshizzle! Hear ursef! Only married pipu av kids! God u so dafft! Who are u blaming! Illitrate. Like urself! Smell off trash like u! Affi married woman put a crown on it na! M waiting for ur chronicles, na by marriage ni! Shame on u girl!

14. Not all babies like to suck suck breast..no b by force...pump n let d baby suck from bottle

15. Hahahaha.I just had to laugh.not cos of ya situation but cos i was in d same situation 5yrs ago.I was behaving exactly ds way or even worse. I even cried.I was asking myself what is in my breast that she was rejecting.yours s even taking from a feeder,mine was strictly s.m.a .she totally stopped at 3months.

Don't worry yourself.nothing you will do will make her take it.make sure she get enough nutrient from other foods you r giving her(milk).some kids r just like that.she WL so suck d bottle that u WL be begging her to rest for a while before continuing. Dunno how yours WL turn out but mine took d milk for 2yrs .I mean she won't take other foods wen she clocked 6months, so brace up (pocket wise)and be ready to buy s.m.a or her choice of milk for a looooooonnnnng time to come.

Stay calm dear.BUT, check your breast o,hope there s no lump or swellings.ask ur hubby to help in d tasting and checking for ya.as long as you r clear,let d pretty baby be.

16. Madam na by force? If the breast milk dries up, feed him formula and save ur breast for another baby. My younger brother refused breast milk at 2months, even if expressed into a bottle he refused to take it! He only drank NAN and he is married today. Children differ. For whatever reason my brother stopped sucking at 2months and anywhere u put d breast milk he would not take it! Nothing was wrong with d breast milk o cos my mum went as far as checking in d hospital. So don't be sad. Go find d best formula for ur child and package ur breasts inside bra for d baby that will take.

17. Please don't worry about it. Some babies refuse to be breastfeed on their own. I know someone whose baby refused being breastfeed after a month, she hand to switch to the bottle. It's normal. Please get her checked by a doctor first though.

18. Some babies are like that, my friend's baby rejected her breast milk from day one sef.. Just make sure you're not the problem, and if he still refuses, them let him be.... Your next baby may suck you sotey na you go dey beg.. All the best!!

19. Madam go visit a pediatrician. Good luck. I hate when babies refuse breastfeeding milk.

20. Don't worry my son was like that too. But I kept on giving him breast milk by force and after some days he stopped regecting it and everything went back to normal. He took breast milk till he was 1year 6 months this time I had to stop him with all d tricks I knew. So pls just keep on forcing it on him.it normal.

21. Hahahhaah sharp baby. Babies shall not live by breast milk alone but by oda foods dat are nutritious and healthy for dem. Keep calm madam some babies are like dat.

1. You see how dumb you are? Breast milk contains all the essential nutrients a baby needs.
      Wawuya! Jaka kawai!

22. thelma enemuwe said...
    Babies and their different patterns of feeding, calm ur nerves madam
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

23. I hope ur husband is not suckling u and the baby saw him....lol...I think u should check ur bread well

24. My son did same thing when he was four months old, so I introduce formula don't worry nothing is wrong some babies are like that.

25. This happens sometimes. Maybe you need to clean out your nipples properly. Pull up the nipple and clean the tips and the inside properly with olive oil. It helps get out all the dirt. You'd b surprised at how much dirt gets stuck there cos of the milk coming out. Maybe that's what's changing the taste of the milk in the baby's mouth

26. Make your baby jealous by giving your breast to your hubby to Suck in his presence, he will start crying and begging for it

27. Don't worry yourself new mama your baby is okay. I had the same problem with my first son 22yrs ago,he too refused to suck and since he was my first I didn't know what to do but doctor said to let him be and give him milk which I did, Nan to be precise and he was fyn then came my second son who nearly sucked me dry. Ha that boy gave real trouble when I wanted to wean him. I can't believe that great sucker is a four hundred level student today, may God be praised.

1. So you have kids that old but yet your brain has refused to reach age of maturity. Hmm!

2. Anonymous u must be stupid for what u just said

28. Go check yourself if you're preg..It has happened to a friend before. Exactly 3months old, her baby girl stopped sucking breast. Two weeks later, it was discovered that she was with another child already. So just go check yourself cuz nothing is impossible in life!

29. The breast milk may be sour. May be you feed the baby more on a particular breast. This happened to me.
    My son refused to suck my right breast bcos i was always putting him on the left side. It has got nothing to do with hygiene.

Keep expressing it for the baby.

30. it's a normal thing, nothing is wrong with you or your baby. Some babies are like that. My parents told me I stopped taking breast milk at three months, they tried everything, finally they settled for other baby milk as option.

31. Why did u start using feeders? Is there a particular reason why? Your baby got used to taking feeding bottle. One thing about suckling the breast is that it takes work to suckle but with feeding bottle the baby just opens his mouth and the milk flows in as per gravity. In other words he's become too lazy to suckle. I think that's what happened in this case. I'll advice u keep putting him to breast so he can relearn how to suckle. And instead of feeding bottle stick to using cup and spoon.

32. Are u back to work, has the interval u beastfeed changed, do u leave your baby for a long time with other people thereby making the baby adjust to the change in feeding pattern and mode of feeding.

33. Continue giving him,am sure he would accept later

34. This happened to me. The baby decided she preferred the bottle. After two weeks of pumping and cajoling her, I gave up. It was sad, I understand how you feel. Keep trying n maybe eliminate bottle for now

35. My baby wanted to do that when I gave birth to her few months ago. I found out that the breast milk wasn't coming out much until one day I bought Yoghurt (sugar free), the milk increase and when she tested it, she started sucking it by force by force.

Girls can behave like that but my boy didn't show me mercy at all.

If it's not flowing much, millet (pap), kunu can help you a lot but try breastfeeding at night. Probably you offended your baby, so play/beg/talk to him/her.

That was how one woman went to the market without telling the baby and when she came back, the baby refused sucking, and her breast was paining her until she complained to one woman and the woman took the child, played with the child, told the child to forgive her mother for not telling her/him that she was going to the market, it took hours before the child started sucking...

#notallbabies