Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Christmas Facts You Probably Didnt Know....

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Christmas Facts You Probably Didnt Know....

Millions of Nigerians are set to celebrate Christmas regardless of the bad economic situation in the country at the moment. It's just one day to go before its Christmas day,.......
Did you know that...?

– In the 4th century, when the Catholic Church decided to recognize Jesus’ birth as an official holiday, Pope Julius I chose December 25 for the Feast of the Nativity known as the birth of Jesus.

– Five months into the first World War, troops along the Western front took a Christmas Eve break from fighting to sing carols to one another across the battlefield. The following morning, German soldiers emerged from the trenches and began to approach Allied troops while calling out “Merry Christmas” in English. Luckily, it wasn’t a trick; dozens of British fighters came out to greet them and shake hands, some even exchanging cigarettes as gifts. Later dubbed the Christmas Truce of 1914, it was one of the last examples of wartime chivalry.

– Some school of thought believe December 25 was probably chosen because it coincided with the ancient pagan festival Saturnalia, which celebrated the agricultural god Saturn with partying, gambling, and gift-giving. They believe that many of the popular Christmas traditions today found their roots in Saturnalia: like the Christmas tree.

– The Christmas tree made its way to America in the 1830s but wasn’t popular until 1846, after Germany’s Prince Albert brought it to England when he married Queen Victoria. The two were sketched in front of a Christmas tree and the tradition instantly became popular. Royal fever was real even back then.

– The well-known reason we give presents at Christmas is to symbolize the gifts given to baby Jesus by the three wise men.

– Because some people believe Christmas isn’t biblical, a lot of puritans did not accept it. In fact, from 1659 to 1681, it was illegal to celebrate Christmas in some parts of the world and people risked fines and even imprisonment if you were caught celebrating.

– Though Santa Claus has worn blue and white and green in the past, his traditional red suit came from a 1930s advert by Coca Cola.

– “Silent Night” is the most recorded Christmas song in history, with over 733 different versions copyrighted since 1978.

– Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas Is You” is considered to be the most popular Christmas song now. In the music video, Santa is played by Mariah’s then-husband, Tommy Mottola.

culled from informationng.com

84 comments:

1. Wow 1 day to xmas anyways am not celebrating I have no dime so hw will I do it?its going to be lik every other day 4 me going to bed hungry as usual God bless me 2016 I can't cont to be a broke ass with no kobo al d tym bless me if just for my kids.super mama

2. That one where on the battle field they exchanged gifts nd took a moment to sing carol songs is epic. Haha

2. Owu wey dey this period dey blow pass the harmattan sef, jehovah meranyi ebere,anyhow I am free now and enjoying the holiday and anyhow we shall celebrate.Udo!

1. Reason some of us do not celebrate Christmas. Ignorance is no more an excuse :) majority do not care to know the truth everyone just wanna celebrate n v fun, may God help us all.

3. Thanks for the facts,Stella.......I really love "Silent Night"...I listened to "All I want for christmas is You" today.

4. The first world war fact sent shivers down my spine.
    WOW!
    The image is forming in my head like I was there!
    OMG!

1. You might wanna use search engines for some research.Religious leaders misleading pple since only God knows wen.

5. Oh! How I love that song

Silent night*

6. Wise men o not three wise men.
    Thank you stella for this information.
    Merry Christmas, Jesus is the KING

7. Wise men o not three wise men.
    Thank you stella for this information.
    Merry Christmas, Jesus is the KING

8. The third point though, I hope we have not been celebrating paganism under the guise of celebrating Jesus oo. Fear don de catch me...

1. Christmas isn't biblical. Do your research Right. Jesus wasn't even born on December 25, and December the 25th was originally that pagan celebration listed up there until they chose to change it to the celebration of the birth of Jesus.

2. You're the only one so far who picked the most vital point. & yes, as a matter of fact we have been celebrating a modernised pagan festival. The pope chose! Its not in our bibles! Time we start to question stuff.

3. U r very correct jesus wasn't born in December jesus christ was born in October let dem go and do der own research.

4. Whatever is agreed on earth (in the name of Jesus) is agreed on earth... it's biblical.
      End of discussion!

5. Anon 16.36,with this comment of yours,I'm sure you're a 'witness'

6. Well, sadly that is what it is. Did Jesus instruct us to celebrate his birth?no, Whl he was on earth did he ever celebrate his birth?no. Not stated anywhere in the bible,u might wanna ask your pastor if you r in doubt to show u if there is any lol. So who con send us work?

9. Aawwww@the War time Chivalry. So touching. Thank God it didn't turn into another "Trojan gift"

No matter where the origin of Christmas first started,i celebrate it with my heart knowing my Christ was born on that day. Biko no one should take my Christmas from me.lol

I also love Breezy's christmas song.
    I like:
    silent night
    O come all ye faithful
    Joy to the world
    The first Noel
    We 3kings of Orient
    Oh christmas tree
    Drummer boy
    Etc.

10. The third point though, I hope we have not been celebrating paganism under the guise of celebrating Jesus oo. Fear don de catch me...

1. My dear. The day one Jehovah Witness guy preached to me was when I started having doubt about this 25th of December.

If we're wrong, God forgive us for we know not we're doing

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. Sure @cheryl u are very correct dats wot we are doing.pang worship of d SUN GOD is DEC 25th not GOD,s son for Jesus wasn't born 25th DEc its just a date dey pick its a pang holidaY.

4. To worship pagan and to worship God's son on anyday which is more important? Jesus supercedes any other and He doesn't need any body's permission to be celebrated. It's important we think out of the box.

11. Does it mean 25th dec isn't d actual birth of baby jesus bt rather a date choosen by pope julius 1...*pensive*

1. You are right Elena. A date chosen

2. Google is your friend lesbo. Am surprised we all never thought to confirm.

3. @Elena,you mean you didn't know?

12. I always knew 25 dec is not jesus real birthday.some saturnalia traditions were merged into christianity so that the people will accept christianity if they see similarity with their own religion.

13. Coca cola?? Now trendsetter.

14. I've always wondered how the 25th came to be. It feels so good to know now. This has got to be my worst christmas ever. I am sick but recovering (glory to God) and to hear my parents arguing over the little amount (not up to 5k o) that they have to spend for this yuletide period this morning is just so heartbreaking. I pray for a better 2016.

15. Hmmmmm...
    I'm not feeling this xmas at all,I'm so broke! I hope the new year brings me joy,laughter and money!
    Thank God I'm alive!

16. So it was the catholic church that decided to celebrate Christmas, it wasn't a clear command from Jesus Christ to have His birthday celebrated

1. God bless you m.i.e couture

2. I think we now just adopt it since when he was born, the three wise men came to worship him asper the messiah. And he died for our sins soo I don't think it's outta line sha.

3. The Catholic Church is the first church, most things other churches do, they copy from the Catholic Church.

17. Thanks for this information beautiful Stella. I didn't know most of the things stated above. Knowledge is power.

18. christmas is a lie nothing like it dont be decieved and carried away

19. Santa Claus was originated from Saint Nicholas, the catholic Bishop that gave money secretly through the chimney to poor sisters that couldn't afford the the groom price those days. The money he dropped through the chimney in the middle of the night entered into the washed stokings of the first girl hung at the fireplace to dry. He did that secretly for the second and I think was caught the third time as the anonymous groom price donor to that poor family.

20. Mehn I just hope they don't finish the money on this ATM,the queue no be here o lollllllllll

21. Merry Christmas everyone,want to use this medium to thank everyone who have put a smile on others they barely know using this blog,God bless us all

22. Nice.

Was wondering why my church used blue and white decoration this year.

23. Interesting facts.

*no condition is permanent*

24. thelma enemuwe said...
    A round of applause!!!!
    The facts are interesting, that of the fighting troops warmed my heart...
    Ho ho ho!!!!
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

25. So cocacola changed santa's uniform

1. I even heard these coca cola people once approached the Pope so the Lord's prayer would be changed to "give us our daily cola" instead of the give us our daily bread. Nawa

26. In my life,Everyday is christmas so long as i wake up and am breathing..season on the other hand is just according to the weather we are into!!

@MARTINS ABOY

27. Its all about the rice n stew with the big chicken for Nigerians and an excuse to visit other peoples homes.

28. Mary never carry belle this side o...it doesn't seem like Christmas one bit.

1. Lol, it's well. I was at the market this morning before 8am and by the time I was leaving by 9, you needed to see how everywhere was full. Haaa

29. Merry christmas in advance to you all. FAMIEBEE

30. Merry Xmas every one. Money is good. I pray God bless and touch every one.

Love o holy night when stars are shinning brightly

31. I always know that about Christmas

32. We know already dat 25 ain't d lord's birthday....but I still choose to celebrate xmas....I don't do so with a pagan mindset...I worship only d true God...stella thanks for d info dear

33. That one where on the battle field they exchanged gifts nd took a moment to sing carol songs is epic. Haha

34. Wow its informative...I really learnt a lot stella

35. Christmas Celebration=Pope +Coca Cola+Pagan Worship. Lol

36. I knew before now that Jesus wasn't actually born on 25 Dec. It is just a chosen date.