Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: China Announces Fines For Dirty Vehicles....

Wednesday, December 02, 2015

China Announces Fines For Dirty Vehicles....

A city in eastern China is trying to clean up its image - starting with the vehicles on its roads.
The authorities in Nanjing, capital of Jiangsu province, say that drivers of dirty vehicles will be fined in future because they affect the appearance of the city, the official regional newspaper Nanjing Daily reports

Small fines of up to 100 yuan ($16; £10) will be dished out if the body, wheels or chassis of a vehicle are muddy, and the owner will be told to clean the offending areas, according to the report.

Things get more expensive if the number plate is obscured by dirt, but the highest fines are for exterior damage or peeling paintwork, which will land a driver a penalty of between 500 and 2,000 yuan, as will posting "unauthorised advertising" on their cars. Luckily for motorists, they'll be let off if the dirt is a result of wet or snowy roads.

Implementation of the new rules will be gradual with an initial focus on work vehicles, according to Liu Guozhang from the city's management committee. But that hasn't calmed Chinese social media users, many of whom are unhappy about the fines. 

"If my own car's dirty, what concern is that of yours?" asks one user on the Sina Weibo microblogging site, while another dismisses the rules as "nonsense". Others think it's a money-making scheme, and one person thinks the city authorities have bigger problems, asking: "And what are you doing about the dirty air?"

BBC Reportage.

28 comments:

1. I enter one cab last year, cockroach begin climb my legs. I wish it can happen in naija.

2. That's good. IT can't ever happen in Naija.

3. Lol they should bring this kind of law to niajia naa mtewww naa bad road or erosion they make car dirty.

4. See law hahahaha. Good for then anyways

5. Lmao
    They should bring it down to nigeria also.

6. Cool.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

7. Would send this link Asap to my driver. Dude can "rub and shine" my car. Mtcheew

***dat messed up silly girl***

8. thelma enemuwe said...
    They sud take several seats biko
    Nsogbu China diwka too mux,the authorities are seriously making life difficult for her citizens,no wonder they're so plenty in computer village.....
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

9. They should come to Nigeria and take all vehicles to lagoon

10. This needs to take effect in Nigeria too, u see some cars and be like someone drives this worse part, they take it to the car wash and expect it to be as clean as others!!

11. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    So no dirty cars allowed.. Lolx... Wahala dey o... #NowPlaying>> rara: sean tizzle..

12. Even if paint clean off they wil be charged ?? Na wa o, they should provide money for car owners o.

13. Nice one! Nigerians should adopt cos if u see some cars eh u go nearly puke..

14. Might work there but won't work in Naija

15. Good for them ooooo..... Nigeria will never practice this because of our bad and muddy roads

16. They shuld com n fine pple in oba-ile akure, cos dirty vehicles plenty 4 here

17. I guess they've solved all their problems then?

18. Hahahaha this will never happen in Naija my country,

19. We need this here o