Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Dissociates Self Fom Media Muzzle Law And Says He Is Committed To Free Speech...

Monday, December 07, 2015

Buhari Dissociates Self Fom Media Muzzle Law And Says He Is Committed To Free Speech...

President Muhammadu Buhari has reaffirmed the commitment of his administration to the protection of free speech in keeping with democratic tradition.

This is contained in a statement issued in Abuja on Monday by Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant to the president on media and publicity.

The president was reacting to the widespread condemnation of a bill proposed by the Nigerian Senate that seeks to hand down heavy sanctions for comments made on the social media that are perceived to be false.

The controversial bill is sponsored by Bala Ibn Na’allah, a member of the governing All Progressives Congress, from Kebbi State.

If the bill becomes law, people found guilty of making false remarks on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and other similar media, will face a two-year jail term or N2 million fine.

Many Nigerians want the bill immediately scrapped, but the senate claims its contents have been misunderstood.

If the bill is eventually passed at the senate, it must receive an approval from the House of Representatives and President Buhari to become law.
Mr. Buhari’s spokesperson said the president had sworn to defend the constitution of Nigeria and will not lend his hand to anything that is inconsistent with the constitution.
“But he (Buhari) is not averse to lawful regulation, so long as that is done within the ambit of the constitution which he swore to uphold.

“The president said free speech is central to democratic societies anywhere in the world.
“The president explained that without free speech, elected representatives won’t be able to gauge public feelings and moods about governance issues.

“As a key component of democratic principles, the president acknowledged that people in democratic societies are so emotionally attached to free speech that they would defend it with all their might,’’ he said.
Mr. Shehu explained that President Buhari was fully aware of public reservations about the proposed legislation but assured that “there is no cause for alarm because the Senate is a democratic senate”.

He assured that the president would not assent to any legislation that might be inconsistent with the constitution of Nigeria.

(NAN)

*I am doing a post Tomorrow Morning which clearly explains this bill in simple terms.

41 comments:

1. Awww Tony it's bn a long time, hope you good? 😀

2. Tony Ihekire!!!where have you been hiding? Good to have you back.

Are we still on this social media case? They might as well ban the use of the Internet so we can just know we are back to the 14th century.

3. Thank God Stella is doing a post on it. Some people really need to read and understand it.

4. Am fine dear. I wish all the best.

5. Tony went off ever since APC party won. He go hide him sef for shame, Tony u could Av act like ur other failure and shameless colleague on dis blog people like Linda, Eka joy etc

2. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    In baba the tourist we trust no doubt.....

3. Dats my bu bu! The man is always on point!
    Aisha pls Borrow me bu bu for one week make I groove small!
    Kisses my love!

1. Ahahaha. This lady u no serious. As for me, I love him like a father figure. I have so much respect and admiration for him ehn, sooo much. Kai!

2. Father, lover, bu bu all na d same! Love him like kilode!
      Bu bu gba si be mweeeeeeeh!

4. They keep "dissociating" themselves in this government.
    I wonder if they don't put heads together behind close doors.

1. Duh, the presidency is in a different arm of govt from the legislature. What closed doors are you then talking about. Didn't u read that the bill will eventually get to PMB for approval? EVENTUALLY!

2. Idiot is he senate

5. Okokobioko I knew he will try to deny it. Dats his nature liar. World class liar, dats wat u are. Oya come send me to jail. Yeye dey smell.

1. Everyone reads but not everyone can comprehend. He has nothing to do with the bill. It was proposed by a senator and is so far being read in the senate.

2. U are just an idiot!

3. Steffy your stupidity knows no bounds. I wonder how you carry out conversations in real life.

4. You're so dumb. Like anon 23:45 said, everybody reads but not everybody can comprehend

6. wonder what we got ourselves into with our own very hand. The APC that campaigned with the help of media and finished former president Jonathan now wants to imprison all of us with the same media. CHANGE INDEED

7. Akuko ifo..mtcheeww

8. PMB, your statement did not go far enough. It seem like a man who's indirectly supporting such ridiculous bill. If you supporting the bill, just remember social media made you a president today and without social media you would not have won an election.
    You need condemn such bill in clear term and distance yourself by calling those senators to order. You are very much in a position to do so.

1. Calling senator to order. Re u okay? U think dats how it works. My dear d man has said he's not part of it so he has distanced himself

2. Calling senator to order. Re u okay? U think dats how it works. My dear d man has said he's not part of it so he has distanced himself

3. Three arms of government.
      Executive, legislative and judiciary.
      Go and read further before you spew thrash.

4. @Nwa Amaka, Are you truly alright this morning? It seem your hormones are about to explode right? Aunty please kindly behave yourself OK? I wouldn't like to enter nasty words with you please next time act like an adult when you want to menstruate under my comment. There are better ways for you to express your disagreement if you find any in my comment.

@anonymous 7.36am, i can understand you did not make sense out of my comment. Government is all about negotiation, presidency as the main arm of government negotiate with other arms of the government on any issue relating to bills and laws. Calling them to order means talking to them about looming crises such bill might create among Nigerians who depend on social media platform to express themselves.

9. Of course he had no business with it

10. Calling Senators to order? do senators not have a right to propose a bill??

11. @an0n and lafresh u all are indeed stupid. I d0nt bliv wat dat stupid daura dullard said, he will c0me 0ut and deny it den g0 behind d00r and agree with dem. Stupid fell0ws

1. Steffy is this the right path you were thanking Chris Oyakhilome for showing you? To be insulting people upandan? Issorai