Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Breast Cancer And Why It Is More Likely To Kill African Women‏

Friday, December 18, 2015

Breast Cancer And Why It Is More Likely To Kill African Women‏

In West Africa, six women out of eight with breast cancer will die in five years. In the West, those numbers are reversed

• New study in Ghana confirms that black women are more likely to suffer from a rare form of breast cancer called triple-negative, which attacks women younger, is more aggressive and is harder to treat

• Full Al Jazeera documentary with Chika Oduah and Anas Aremeyaw Anas available  HERE 

In Ghana: Cancer Ward, two of Africa’s top journalists team up to investigate why breast cancer is killing so many women in sub-Saharan Africa, despite being treatable if detected early. The 24-minute documentary premiered last night on Al Jazeera English as part of the third season of the award-winning Africa Investigates.

“Africa is unprepared for cancer,” says Nigerian journalist Chika Oduah, the 2014 recipient of the Trust Women Journalist Award from the Thomson Reuters Foundation; a winner of the 2015 African Story Challenge; and a 2015 finalist for a Livingston Award. “Many African languages don’t even have a word for the disease. Of those who have breast cancer in West Africa, six women out of eight will die in five years. In the West, those numbers are reversed. Six women out of eight will live.”

Oduah and Anas Aremeyaw Anas, Ghana’s leading undercover journalist, travel to Kumasi, the capital of the Ashanti region. They discover that women there often seek the help of alternative healers such as priests, herbalists or spiritual healers first, which dangerously delays when they receive medical help.  

For example, Oduah meets Naomi Nyarkoh, who sells her homemade herbal cures for cancer at $2 a time, and Anas’ team films Pastor OP, who claims to heal cancer with prayer and a mystery oil, for $50.

They also speak to Dr Beatrice Wiafe-Addai, a breast cancer specialist, who explains the cultural stigmas in the region. “We are in a society where breast cancer is surrounded by myths and misconceptions. People think when you remove her breast, she is not a complete woman.” She explains that many women with breast cancer are divorced or driven from their matrimonial homes, rather than supported at their time of need.

Anas and his team also go undercover at The Peace and Love Hospital, where they discover that patients are being over-medicated even before they’re diagnosed, and where they find a case where patient files were alarmingly mixed up.

As if this combination of late-stage presentation, social stigmas and poor medical care weren’t already a perfect storm, Oduah and Anas discover there may be even more devastating news for cancer sufferers in the region.

The doctors at Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital in Kumasi are working with the University of Michigan in America on a new study. Its initial findings confirm that black women are more likely to suffer from a rare form of breast cancer called triple-negative, which attacks women younger, is more aggressive and is harder to treat. Oduah is also told that chemotherapy treatment has historically been developed and tested on white people, which may contribute to its disappointing results in West Africa.

Dr Baffour Awuah, medical director of Komfo Anokye Teaching Hospital, says,It all started with the fact that in the United States, stage for stage, the black Americans are doing worse than the white… For now at least it’s become obvious that the biology of the tumours between blacks, black Americans and white Americans are not the same.”

While Awuah says this may contribute to why cancer is deadlier for women of African descent, he says the primary challenge remains late stage presentation.

“Unless patients can be convinced to go to the hospital earlier, then even the development of the best drugs in the world won’t help,” says Oduah.

Africa Investigates is a groundbreaking Al Jazeera series that gives some of Africa’s best journalists the opportunity to pursue high-level investigative targets across the continent - using their unique perspective and local knowledge to put corruption, exploitation and abuse under the spotlight. Previous documentaries in the series have won One World Media and Mohamed Amin Africa Media awards.

Ghana: Cancer Ward repeats on Al Jazeera English on 18 December 2015 at 04:30, 19 December at 17:30, and 20 December at 06:30 WAT.

Watch  full documentary HERE 

45 comments:

1. Na religion dey finish us for Africa. Religion that came to us and those that brought it to us don't carry it on their heads the way we do. Oyibo woman will heal from chemotherapy and she will tell you it's a miracle. But an African woman will keep going to church and be expecting magic to happen. Faith without work is invalid.

1. Hypocrite, u claim u go to church cos u speak christianese yet u never make any sensible comment.....who told u most people who go to hospital don't still pray for healing? Stop generalizing cos of one or 2 foolish people....don't know people u hang out with but I know a lot of Christians who pray and still do the works...

2. Opium of the masses as th3y said. Na God hand we dey

2. This ain't good.
    Oh mama Africa! Who shall save her and deliver her?

Your comment will be visible after approval.

3. More awareness should be created most for women in the rural areas.

4. More awareness should be created mostly for women in the rural areas.

5. It is not my portion and that of my relatives in Jesus Mighty Name..Amen!!
    Cancer biara abia, let it go back to where it came from biko

6. odiegwu.........

Breast cancer or any type of cancer is not my portion in JESUS name AMEN

7. This can help House..if you have anyone suffering from cancer... Aside doing chemotherapy and taking drugs....The person should take "Sawashup"...I don't know if I got the spelling right...you can Google it....it's a fruit.... The person can also boil the leaves of the sawasup and drink daily.... It helps

More importantly... Pray....God heals completely

@GaloreGalore

1. 'Soursop'...our friends in the east especially onitsha call it 'chowanchop'. The botanical name is Graviola

2. We can avoid cancer by eating right and exercising regularly. Sugar must be eliminated from our diet too. Trust me, it's the truth. The I've treated cancer before and know how I felt when I started eating right even in the course of treatment.

I wished I knew earlier what I know now and during treatment about eating and living right.

3. Until recently I found that the spelling is "soursop". Almost seems like there is nothing it can't help relieve.

4. LMAO @ "...Sawashup".

It's called 'Soursop' fruit.

8. I have immunity. The floodgates of heaven was opened and it washed every diseases and sickness from my life

1. Amen! But nne biko do a regular medical check as you be woman. Cancer isn't your portion IJN

9. Breast cancer is not our portion.

10. Scary. Early detection is key. Ladies, please always examine your breasts as often as you can, eat healthy and stay safe. play your part, since the causes are still a mystery.

11. People really need the awareness..We need to learn more about it

chincobee.blogspot.com

12. Cancer kills!
    Atleast i just heard a news of how it killed a very nice woman ystrday...*sobbing*
    Rip ma!

13. Wicked illness .please let's endeavor to do check up regularly. Cancer takes so many people more than accident. I had a scare once, thank God it was detected early. I was so scared to go to hospital. I'm glad I did

14. The failure of African leaders to do right by us which has advertently led to increased poverty in the region coupled with our polytheist and monotheist approach to resolution of problems will eventually and continually ensure that the region is beset with a very high mortality rate especially in relations to cancer.
    Even the good book says that God created physicians to attend to our earthly aches so I wonder why our people continue with the tradition of visiting so called MOGs for healing? I guess it all boils down to our leaders who have ensured that we remain in the stone age. May God continue to protect fearless journalists such as Anas for the good work they do trying to expose the ineptitude of African leaders.

15. May God spare us and lay His healing hands upon the affected.

16. Jeeeeez!
    Which kind news be dis?
    God help us oh

17. Articles on Cancer breaks my heart
    Breast Cancer took my mum in her prime, 9years ago.
    The pain cancer patients go through is simply out of this world and sadly, there is no cure. Chemo and Radio is just to buy them time...

I keep telling people. Cancer is worst than H.I.V

1. Chemo and radiotherapy do not just buy time. They actually work if administered correctly and if the patient is well informed and knows how to manage him or her self. I'm sorry about your mum. Quit being negative. Your statement is very discouraging for people going through cancer now or who have even come out of it. It can happen to anyone!

2. So sorry about ur loss.the pain is out of this world.pls ensure you carry out breast self examination every month and continue to enlighten people around you.you need to see a new case of a 17yrs old girl with the two breasts already completely damaged by cancer.the parent claimed its just 6months ago it started.and the thing is those cells spread more rapidly in younger girls than an elderly woman.there is no option now than to remove the two breasts and start chemo.the prognosis is sooooo bad.as you say,chemo and radiotherapy just buy more time and to relieve their pain.palliative care is just what can be offered to ds innocent young sec sch girl.

Pls everyone that read ds post shld try as much as possible to educate a girl child or any woman around him or her.you might be surprised at the ignorance of most people on this deadly disease..it is a painful silent killer if joked with.I hope our people stop visiting local med practitioners and clerics all in d name of faith when the truth is staring at them m.they WL now come to the Hosp and expect you to perform a miracle at the end stage.

18. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    That disease and aids i dont knw which one wicked pass shah.....

19. Self examination and early detection is the only key

20. We are not prepared for it at all. For instance how many Nurses do we have in this field in Nigeria? And more often than not the administration of Chemotherapy is left to the Nurses and Medical Officers who know little about it. In my opinion, Chemotherapy and Radiotherapy kill more than Cancer itself in Nigeria.

21. My aunt had lump on her breast some yrs ago nd d doc told her that they wil ve to remove it, she didn't go bck to d hospital again, they were going to herbal home nd church only for the lump to grow bigger into cancer, lot of money was spent,she was even taken to TB joshua's church sef, she eventually died sef. It was after wen I was operated for the lump on my breast nd d lump was taken to pathology nd was confirm nt a cancerous lump that my other aunt told me abt wat happened to dt my other aunt. I wish she has done d surgery, a minor one for that matter,i remembered hw some pple were telling me nt to do it,that I shd go to church for prayers. I told them that I wil go for the surgery nd pray to God to be in the theatre nd grant me successful surgery, jan nxt year wil make it 2 yrs nd d scars is wat is left on my breast nd I am fyn. Sometyms we nid to do the right thing nd involve God in it.

1. Thank God for your life, how can people say you should not go for surgery? Some people's mind set, kwa...

22. My aunt had lump on her breast some yrs ago nd d doc told her that they wil ve to remove it, she didn't go bck to d hospital again, they were going to herbal home nd church only for the lump to grow bigger into cancer, lot of money was spent,she was even taken to TB joshua's church sef, she eventually died sef. It was after wen I was operated for the lump on my breast nd d lump was taken to pathology nd was confirm nt a cancerous lump that my other aunt told me abt wat happened to dt my other aunt. I wish she has done d surgery, a minor one for that matter,i remembered hw some pple were telling me nt to do it,that I shd go to church for prayers. I told them that I wil go for the surgery nd pray to God to be in the theatre nd grant me successful surgery, jan nxt year wil make it 2 yrs nd d scars is wat is left on my breast nd I am fyn. Sometyms we nid to do the right thing nd involve God in it.

23. Education is key. Self-examination can also help. Do not delay that medical examination!