Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BODMAS Wahala

Sunday, December 06, 2015

BODMAS Wahala

LMAO!

''Hi Stella, how are u? Happy Sunday o, Please help me post this because you caused wahala in my house yesterday with this POST after we all fought about the answer to your maths question , I had to teach 5 people individually how to use Bodmas ( including my mom and dad o) . Only a few people got it right on the blog too but they still didn't explain how, and it just means people don't understand BODMAS, so I've decided to share.

So we all been taught that  BODMAS means Bracket before Of, Division before Multiplication and Addition before Subtractions, but unfortunately if we solve maths with this rule we will go wrong.

E.g yesterday's question 

7-1 x 0 ‎+ 3 ÷ 3

No bracket, no "of" so we move to division 
3÷3 =1, Multiplication 1 x 0 = 0

So we have 

7 - 0 + 1

So we do Addition because addition comes before subtraction = 0 + 1 = 1, then we finally subtract 7 - 1 = 6

Plenty people got 6....this answer is wrong!!!!!.

BODMAS means 

Bracket first, Orders ‎( i.e powers and square roots), Division and Multiplication rank equally  (and go left to right), Addition and subtraction rank equally ( and go from  left to right)  

This means after you have done B and O just go from left to right doing any D or M as you find them. Then go from left to right doing any A or S as you find them.

So our maths problem is solved thus : 
‎ 
No brackets, no orders so we move to D and M

7-1 x 0 ‎+ 3 ÷ 3

‎Going from left to right solving D and M

1x0 = 0, 3÷ 3 = 1 

We have 

7 - 0 + 1 

Solving A and D from left to right 

We have : 7 - 0 = 7 
And 7 + 1 = 8

So 8 is the right answer because we decided to solve from left to right and that's what B‎odmas states addition and subtraction rank equally, you just need to solve from left to right . Please let's not forget this because we will definitely need to teach our kids.

WHO AGREES WITH THIS?

77 comments:

1. See as this gist dey turn my eyes...

1. I was not taught BODMAS this way in school. I did. Mathematics, further mathematics and did mathematics from 100l to 500l. Thanks for your method.

2. I know where d confusion is from and thank God maths is a 2way ffn. If -0+1=-1. Then -x+1=-1. Solving this, -x=-2. Which means x=2. 2doesnt mean 0 in any way. Please please and please -0 and 0 equals 0. And it cant be -(0+1) kos d invisible bracket has already been inserted and cant come in again. This thing simple na. The answer is correct dou I dont no about left to right

2. Okay!! Though who don't know bodmas can learn from it if it's right

3. I do not agree abeg.....Poster,na you be the olodo for here

4. No comment! Even the explanation sef i no understand. My brain and maths no be friends.

5. Happy Sunday everyone, thanksgiving service was fun mehn! God I thank You wellu wellu oh!

6. Over to the gurus.... It's now I wish Albert Einstein was alive, there wouldn't be need for arguments... *sheds tears..

7. Stella the correct answer is 8. Was surprised to see pple solving 7-0+1=6...like how the fuck is that possible, are y'all forgetting that it's actually the 0 dats carrying the minus sign, whc makes it -0+1=1...(there's even nothing like -0) in the number series, 0 is 0. Olodo rabatas

1. U are the olodo, of the minus sign is for 0 and u get 1, I get 7 and 1 not 7+1 so how did u get ur 7+1

8. Did you study mathematics in school?

9. The question I keep asking myself is; how did you graduate without resit in laplace transformation when u don't even know when t>0. Guess oluwa was involved in my matter.

1. Google BODMAS and receive sense! U just made yourself a fool. Attention seeker

10. Replies
    1. "Deconfuse" urself if u care to
      https://www.mathsisfun.com/operation-order-bodmas.html

11. You go fear maths teacher o. You sabi no be small.

12. Who cares!
    Not in d mood for maths jare
    Don't know aw I passed it self!
    Thank God for His mercies nd grace

13. Gat no time for this..math not my cup of cake

14. I should get paid for getting it right.
    I am too intelligent for my own good.

15. You are wrong, the answer is 6. Too busy to explain.

16. Na lie biko! Some people will go extra miles to prove a wrong point!

17. The answer is still 6 cos -0+1 will give u -1 .... Then +7-1 will give u 6

18. If I'm not going to apply this in my Job and I'm my daily activities why do why give my self a headache under this PH harmattan?

1. Sweetheart you need addition and subtraction for almost every job in the world. Unless you are a gigolo sha. I guess I guess u won't need to add or subtract anything.

2. You are right. You actually don't need brains to advertise a lounge.

19. The problem this faceless BODMAS will cause.

20. Wotever,somepple ar born to be gud at it.

21. Dint even under stand it.

* Ayah Shehu *

22. I genuinely disagree with this answer...

This is pure case of "Teacher teach me nonsense"....

In as much as this poster thinks the "B" aspect is correct;the correct answer remains six(6)...

Abeg poster no use this pattern teach WAEC students ooo;else na f9 all through...BODMAS remains BRACKET of DIVISION,MULTIPLICATION,ADDITION and SUBTRACTION..

Any other thing you do in any BODMAS related question is totally not accepted..stop confusing yourself and other people..The eyes is so sensitive to whatever it sees bikokwa!! Before person read this come put wahala for him head...

XTREME NAIJA AFRO-DANCEHALL MIXTAPE;CLICK TO DOWNLOAD

@MARTINS ABOY

1. Dullard Google BODMAS and receive sense!

2. Hi martin please open this link and study.
      http://www.skillsyouneed.com/num/bodmas.html

This is not about me being right. It's just sad that u think u know but you actually don't know because of what u have been taught in your schools. There's always time to "unlearn" and relearn. I mean this is too basic.

3. Asin eh the poster is a clear busy body!
      The answer is 6

4. Bros, take correction, the poster is right!

23. Hmmmmm.. Ok na... Those that know math should come and agree or disagree..

*getting ready for my church's xmas carol*

24. I agree and I commented yesterday that the so called mathematician engine that was praising himself and shading others for getting it wrong because he is a mathematician and know it all also got it wrong.

25. Dat was how my ss1 teacher taught us but my ss3 teacher taught us d method she used to get "6"..
    If u use calculator u will get 8...she's correct

26. I got 8 yesterday shaa.

But this ur explanation too long jor.

27. Dude go and sleep!!!! D Ans is 6!!!!!!!!!!

1. Odi please Google how to solve maths using BODMAS or PEDMAS, because I have been taught rubbish since u were a child does not mean u can't open your mind and learn the right thing now.

2. Poster be coming as anon and replying peeps who say he is wrong! Bvs are funny.

28. Yes the right answer is 8 but I don't get this "left to right" rule.

Using bodmas
    7-1x0+3÷3

D, 3÷3= 1
    M, 1x0= 0

Bringing it to

7-0+1
    A, -0+1= +1
    Therefore, 7+1= 8

That's what I understand.

1. Esohe thanks ur explanation is clearer than the posters own.

29. We re here again Una get time

30. Abeg make una continue.After solving what appeared a straight forward question & even praising my six year old son for being smart, you guys had to get everything complicated.Pls.I finished secondary school 25 years ago & university 17 years ago.I work hard to pay my kids school fees well.Let those I pay teach him.Lolz.

31. Yes the right answer is 8 but I don't get this "left to right" rule.

Using bodmas
    7-1x0+3÷3

D, 3÷3= 1
    M, 1x0= 0

Bringing it to

7-0+1
    A, -0+1= +1
    Therefore, 7+1= 8

That's what I understand.

32. I just got a massive headache... This is a blog not my SS3 Maths class... na wa o

33. I hate maths
    Tank God I didn't try or attempt solving it

34. Still, you got it wrong. You are applying BODMAS wrongly dude. BODMAS means you should apply bracket to the equations in BODMAS order, it doesn't have to have parenthesis before applying BODMAS.

7 - 1 * 0 + 3 ÷ 3 will be solved thus:

B of Division = (3÷3)
    B of Multiplication = (1*0)
    B of Addition = ((1*0) + (3÷3)) = (0+1) = 1
    B of Subtraction = (7-1) = 6

If you want it on the same line, it will be:
    7-(1*0) + (3÷3)
    7 - 0 + 1
    7 - 1
    Answer is equals 6.

The person that solved this equation needs his or her Maths skills brush up.

1. Sharap anon...
      7-0+1=8........ why?
      7+(-0+1)=7+(+1)=8

2. I got this same answer too 6!!

35. This is my irst time to comment here, yes I'm doing it under anonymous. I have never seen a bunch of dim witted I too know olodos in my life! All of you are using smart phones and can't use it to upgrade your pebble data processing brains. The poster is 100% right, the rest should Google BODMAS and receive sense!!!

36. Pls d answer is 6.. u just confusing peeps y
    Here..

37. Issorite because I didn't understand nothing, even the explanation was more confusing. Fight btw my brain an maths start since 1800. Is even worse now because all I think of now is how to hammer.

38. What do they teach people these days...of course the answer is 8. After leaving secondary school over 21years ago.....

39. Actually, the correct answer is 8.
    Using BODMAS and without confusing people will give you
    7-(1x0)+(3/3)=>
    7-(0)+(1)
    Rearranging for clarity by opening the brackets
    7+1-0
    8-0
    final answer = 8.

By the way, some people got it wrong when they got confused by saying that (-0+1) = -1
    which is SO WRONG because (-0+1)= 1 = (1-0) anywhere in the world,
    As a matter of fact 0 is zero, there's nothing like -0 or +0.
    This is not a legal tussle open to all shades of interpretations and arguments like you have concerning law and politics. Maths is so exact that it's the same and universal once you know how to apply the relevant formula.

GAUSS commenting for the first time...

40. 7 + (-1 x 0) + (3 / 3) = 8
    It's very easy when you simplify it.

41. the poster is 100% right, I just saw someone saying that -0+1 = -1, WTF. How will you teach your children maths if this is what you guys can't solve this ordinary calculation using BODMAS or BIDMAS, it is such a shame, and most of you are adults, smh.