Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ArmsGATE -Sun Newspapers Returns N9 Million Compensation Dasuki Gave Them.

Monday, December 21, 2015

ArmsGATE -Sun Newspapers Returns N9 Million Compensation Dasuki Gave Them.

The Sun Newspaper announced on Saturday that they have returned the N9million compensation it received from the Newspaper Proprietors Association of Nigeria (NPAN), paid to them by Sambo Dasuki. The money was said to be compensation given to newspaper houses whose offices were raided by the military last year.

In a statement signed by the Sun Managing Director/Editor-in- Chief, Mr. Eric Osagie, the paper said it took the decision to return the money following the controversy the episode generated:

The Man­agement of The Sun Publishing Limited has considered the public outcry and diverse controversies generated among media hous­es, the Newspaper Proprietors Association of Nigeria (NPAN) and the public over the N120 million paid by the Goodluck Jonathan administration as compensation to newspaper companies for the unlawful seizure of their newspapers and stoppage of circulation by armed soldiers in several cities across the country in June 2014.

• After the unlawful action of the military, to which The Sun lost millions of naira, we had signified the intention to commence liti­gation against the Federal Government along with other affected newspaper companies. 2. However, at the level of the NPAN, which The Sun is a member, a de­cision was collectively taken to accept the Presi­dency’s offer of peace­ful settlement in place of litigation in the interest of peace and national se­curity.
  • We were later in­formed of the payment of N120 million compensa­tion out of which the sum of N9 million was paid to The Sun Management by the NPAN.
  • At the time the com­pensation was paid, we had no inkling whatso­ever under which expen­diture sub-head in the Presidency the fund was sourced and that it was al­legedly part of the funds meant for the purchase of arms.
  • As a very responsible newspaper organization, which places premium on ethics, individual and cor­porate integrity, we are certainly embarrassed by the turn of events and the unfortunate insinuation of involvement in the illegal sharing of the nation’s commonwealth and the feasting on the blood of soldiers fighting the war against insurgency.
  • We believe strongly in our corporate integrity and principles of fairness and social justice, which have driven our business considerations over the years.
  • In the light of the foregoing, we have re­turned the cheque of N9 million to the NPAN for onward transmission to the source through which it came.
  • We have seen that the good intention not to seek redress in court has seem­ingly backfired.
  • We have also given notice to our lawyers to immediately commence the process in court to redress the huge loss suf­fered through the actions of the military.
  • We assure our teem­ing readers of our com­mitment to serving them faithfully and conscien­tiously by upholding the time-tested principles of fair business ethics, eq­uity and social justice.

Source: BreakingTimes

Well done for doing the honourable thing. 

79 comments:

1. So good of them. At least the conscience of the Sun management is clear now.
      Others should follow suit.

2. Stella you did not post my All i want for Christmas..pls santas in the house,i want a good phone that i can use to browse,atleast i will be able to have my own blog id. thanks santa inadvance......dat UnitedBabe

3. Mr Osagie, with all due respect you and your entire SUN crew are suffering from an intractable mental sickness.
      I lost all the respect I had for you when I read the part that says that your lawyers will be suing the federal government. You must therefore be very stupid and crazy at the same time. You had your chance to sue but you decided to water your pocket with the water that is purging you all of a sudden. Then you woke up to the realisation that the appropriate thing you would have done was to have sought for a legal redress.
      If there was a murder and you happened to be caught with an property containing the Victims DNA which you willingly collected a compensation for whatsoever then all of a sudden the case is blown wide open and you ran to return the property to the deceased family, the first thing you should do is to pray that DNA analysis should exonerate you from the said crime but at the moment you are an accomplice till proven otherwise. Come off your high horse and shut the fuck up, people like you should be in custody at the moment and not ranting bullshit. Ignorance is never an excuse to crime. We are talking about innocent lives that were lost, children born and unborn,generations wiped out, and you sick fuck are talking about few naira lost. Shut up and hide your face in d mud, all businesses encounter losses once in a while, do you come telling us of the billions you make as profits esp the adverts you did during the elections. Did you not have profits??? So shut d fuck up and apologise to the people you murdered.

4. Wowww!
      See honorable moves.
      Nice 1 to aply empathy to our Soldiers.
      Don't get d lawyer part cos Eguity aids d vigilant. Na d same govt get judiciary n we r still crying for money.
      Best wishes to The SUN Newspaper!

2. In China and other civilised countries where corruption is frowned at Dasuki would have been killed. When would Nigeria get to that point.
    No need for rigorous court cases that bring no results, kill all the Braggarts kill them all.
    This thief would still go Scot free like many of his cohorts.

1. @Doppelganger, my heart haven't stopped bleeding one bit.
      I know the law will set him free.
      If only people will think. What this man did is worst than murdering. Damn. I don't even wanna have a reflection of the ugly incidence perpetrated by bokoharam.
      And our armies complained severally of shortage/poor arms yet this monster of an animal turned deaf ears and was wallowing his life away with the said fund.

3. Wth is cbn governor doing????
    How dare you say Nigeria's can't use their atm abroad. You guys r killing pipol's bizness and enriching ur pockets.
    May fire burn every1 involved in that law come jan1st 2016. Wicked leaders!!!!!!

1. @ crazyHoneyWife I tell you. Am so angry @ the stupid law. U can't pay usd into your acct now u can't use ur atm for purchases abroad. And annoying is the 250 daily usd daily usage am so angry right now.

@ sun newspaper well done. Hope others would also return theirs.

2. Same here. That stupid law is killing peoples business. Next year is gonna be bumper to bumper. Ogbaogu ga adi tight.

4. And the drama continues. Good morning "members of bv"

5. This man sent men/soldiers to war without arms, men returned dead with 700 thousand as compensation to their families.
    Why does he deserve to live. Enriching himself at the expense of others.
    I am so upset that this same scenerios keep playing out and after all the noise the music always fades.
    Able bodied men dying in numbers because their leaders keep failing them. Yes they signed up for it but what chance do they have going to the farm with no hoe or cutlass.

6. Great news and a very good move.

7. Good for them..... Good morning bvs

8. Simple, let them all return and vomit all the money. The Sun have set the space, oya others follow and go and sin no more.

1. How I wish returning the money will bring back the soldiers loss.

How I wish returning the money will bring back the innocent civilians loss

How I wish returning the money will bring back the Lives of the kids their dreams where shattered. ‎

How I wish returning the money will heal the pain suffered by the love ones of those who were killed

‎How I wish returning the money.....

*too broken to continue with this

9. Na wa for this Dansuki oooo!
    Good one SUN.

10. This is right but all these money being recovered, what are they doing with it?
    Na question ooo

11. Lord before this year totally runs out,please let me meet my Dasuki in Jesus Name

1. You had better rewire your brain and think, nuisance!

12. So dansuki just went around sharing "our" money.
    This guy isn't just corrupt bt a wicked greedy old scumbag.
    Imagine sharing funds meant 2fight boko haram huh? Are sure are we he isn't one of their sponsors

13. thelma enemuwe said...
    See them scrambling up and down trying to save their necks from entering into Efcc wmf pot....Thank God for the breeze dat blew open the anus of d fowl..
    *faithful bv enemuwe thelma*

14. HAaaaaa, fear dey catch una make dem no go mention ur name. Oriegwu.
    The remaining one's should start vomiting their own. Smshh.

15. New day
    New week
    New beginning
    God bless our hustle in this new week

AMEN!

16. I must commend this act, now that's integrity at its peak. Well done!

17. Hold on for a second! I have few questions to ask;
    Is returning the money necessary?

Did they and many others involved in this saga ever asked for this Money in the first place?

As this 9m have been returned, do they expect others involved to do the same? And what if they have spent the money?

And is PMB going too return the cars given to him by this same harbourer of a man called Dasuki?

And how about the hundreds of soul 'we lost' vis a vis...?

1. Ur head is there...
      Let the sun be playing.
      Every one is asking for dasukis head, and praisin the sun for returning the money. If pmb is clean like we all want to believe amd sure he know he shld have returned the cars given to him but he hasnt because he knows its in the purview of the nsa to make such disbursements. And mind u, this money was paid to the sun and others in order to avoid a court case

18. 9m returned. Abeg someone join me calculate so that naija govt no go cheat us.

19. In the spirit of returning both legit and illegitimate funds, I hereby pledge to return all monies collected from clients pre dasukigate to May, 2015. Clients una know where to find me.

20. END TIME'S LOOTERS

We don't seem to need it for now. By the time you are arrested by the EFCC and you are meant to be bailed with #400million, that's when you will feel the change

21. Returning the money is not the problem but i hope they will make use of it in order to better the lives of Nigerians. Cos Even the one abacha looted since then i havent heard of what exactly they did with the money

Anyway na sit don dey look i dey. Phewww..

22. They had to Retain their Dignity

23. Replies
    1. How is that honourable? People like playing to the gallery.
      Sad that even people at the sun are not knowledgeable. Who saif the money is from funds for arms? Or u think the ONSA is just for arms procurement? They have security votes for things like this and those votes are appropriated for but not detailed. Even the cbn too has such vote though economy related and its nt subject to appropriation else it will defeat the purpose

2. Tuscany and did you know that Femi Adeshina used to work with the sun?? Connect the dots.

24. Thumbs up
    They did the right thing

25. Kai. They dont want any teouble with anybody. But this Dasuki was a generous fellow sha. The sharing really went round.

26. Hmmmmmmmm Nigeria my country getting there

27. Thank you Sun Newspaper, this is the kind of a Nigeria I want to see, a Nigeria that people take responsibility for their actions no matter what. I normally do not read the Sun but I will start....their online platform that is. B'cos I no fit carry plenty papers dey waka everywhere...haahahahahah!!!

*Ghanaman signing out*

28. I would have showered more accolades but for "We have also given notice to our lawyers to immediately commence the process in court to redress the huge loss suffered through the actions of the military". This smacks of double speak!

Why would The Sun want to further embarrass themselves in a court case?

Lives were lost,mistakes were made and realising this mistake,you came out publicly to dissociate yourself from the "compensation" having realised the source of the fund is questionable but going further to seek redress is a way to pacify the "fallen heroes" whose lives you cut short by sharing in the loot that would probably have kept them alive? What happens if the federal government decides to "seek redress" by pressing charges against your newspaper for being a partaker of the loot? Ignorance is no excuse in law remember?

I would advise the management of the sun newspaper not to seek whatever they term as redress as losses of human lives which the nation suffered as a result of the ArmsGate cannot be quantified!!

Make everything wey bite for night be mosquito abeg!!!

*Ghanaman signing out*

1. They are not seeking redress on armsgate but for unlawful invasion by military men

29. Drama and more Drama!!...
    Orji Uzor Kalu is now playing holier than thou...
    Oriegwu!...

30. Can I have part of the money?

www.ckjacob.com

31. DivineOlive68@gmail.com21 December 2015 at 08:09

Good of them to return the money. Good to know that Nigeria still have good hearted citizens.

In other news...
    Christmas is almost here and I don't know where to turn to. Nothing for me, nothing for my boy, no food in the house sef and to crown it all, no job.
    4days to go, nothing. Not even a slight hope from any angle. Sometimes I do not blame people that steal, life is frustrating. Who no know, no go know. Honesty is unattainable when one is hungry. It is well.

32. However though, i'll want to see the glass as half full rather than half empty. Let's look at the positive side and applaud Mr Osagie's Sun Newspaper for being the only media house to show such high level of intergrity to even consider returning the money.I mean there's a lot to do with N9 million. Big ups to u sire!!!

No wonder many of these guys cried out that investigating the looting of Nigeria was a waste of time. They wailed and wailed even on this blog.

Truth is coming out gradually from all facets of governance and from even outside it. I now see why there was so much vehemence in the attacks of Buhari before he became president against all odds.

We expect more to return monies taken even during the campaigns if indeed they have the conscience (but I doubt they do)!

*Ghanaman signing out*

33. Good of yoy to return the money having discovered that they fraudulently took money for sharing while pretending to buy weapons, and mindful of the possible aftermath if the sleeze became problematic, they decided to involve as many innocent people as possible, those who didn't know the source of the money, so they wont go down alone. My opinion is that government should recover all the money from those who received but didn't know the source of the money and let them go but for those who planned and executed the crime of deliberately using a legitimate subhead to siphone money they knew was not for the stated purpose, recover everything and JAIL them to the MAXIMUM term. This is possible because... WiGATAP
    As for the Sun newspaper, I support your litigation and I believe you will triumph because..WiGATAP

34. This is so cool. I'm proud of their management

35. The press and media houses had a fill day with SantaSuki loot. Interesting

36. Dem wan just clear their name.... d fear of buhari is d beginning of wisdom!!! lols

37. Kikikiki...
    Honourable thing indeed.

Singed: Lolashow

38. Una do well. Let others follow suit.

39. I totally have respect for this media house now.if na me I no go return ooh..#dasukigate rocks mehn.....stella I'm back....and u must enjoy me

40. I totally have respect for this media house now.if na me I no go return ooh..#dasukigate rocks mehn.....stella I'm back....and u must enjoy me

41. People who got better money should start coming out with it now not this 9million 10million things, the billions are the koko. But why bring it sun newspaper shebi it's compensation abi was your office not raided by the military as stated? Sha what's my own, every one in possession of Nigerias money find no peace and this includes Babangida because his own na story for the next century as every body seems scared to talk to the guy.

42. This is good,dnt like Sun NP,but I'm impress with this

43. It's an honourable thing to do.
    Since they initially wanted to go to court, they should proceed. They will even get more money than the 9m naira offered them by NPAN.

44. Never break!!!... Ma niqqa

#ONE OF A DOPE

45. It's time to invite the man giving the nod to spend the money unlawfully, no wonder the wife was crying she does not I husband to go to prison.