Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Waje Sets Up Scholarship Fund For 5 Young Nigerian Girls + Launches Campaign #AfricanWoman + New Pics

Monday, November 16, 2015

Waje Sets Up Scholarship Fund For 5 Young Nigerian Girls + Launches Campaign #AfricanWoman + New Pics

Award winning singer and United Nations/ONE AND Purple ambassador Waje is launching a worldwide campaign for gender equality and opportunity. Tagged #AfricanWoman, the singer aims to empower and enable African women and girls to have a qualitative education through her foundation www.waje.global  

She made the announcement via her social media pages on Instagram, Facebook, Google + and Twitter. "The most important and often misunderstood concept in the narratives for gender equality is OPPORTUNITY. One of our key goals for this project is to create awareness about the need to guarantee the same opportunities for education and life choices for the African girl or woman.

To make gender equality a reality in Africa, we must educate and empower women. I believe that the only way to do this is by being an example and a voice for our women who do not have the opportunity to speak for themselves. We must enlighten them. We must let them know that they can be the driving force of African growth. Through www.waje.safehouse.org , we will be touring the continent and kicking off a scholarship fund for 5 bright young women who are unable to fund their tertiary education. ”

To kick off the project, on November 16,  the respected vocalist will be launching a global petition simultaneously in cities across the world where women and like-minded men would add their signatures in support of the equality of the African woman. The cities for this campaign include Nigeria, Ghana, Rwanda, Tanzania and Liberia.  To participate, people would be required to sign on banners in designated locations and post selfies on social media to spread the message.

Waje will also be launching a scholarship fund for 5 bright young women who are unable to complete their education through financial difficulties. While the scholarship fund will commence first in Nigeria, it will be extended throughout Africa in the future. 

This campaign comes at a critical time when worldwide conversations have kicked off around the subject of gender equality with world leaders and influential personalities like Nobel laureate Malala Yousafzai and actress Emma Watson some of its biggest supporters.  Waje will be supported by major organisations including ONE for which she is an ambassador and headliner of the song ‘Strong girl’

For more information on the project follow the conversation #AfricanWoman on social media 

Social Media
Facebook.com/OfficialWaje | Facebook.com/WajeSafeHouse
Instagram.com/OfficialWaje | Twitter.com/WajeSafeHouse
Twitter.com/OfficialWaje | Instagram.com/WajeSafeHouse
Gplusid.com/Waje

www.wajesafehouse.org 

ABOUT WAJE
Waje, also known as ‘The Voice’ is one of Africa’s most respected and iconic female entertainers and vocalists, ONE ambassador and U.N ambassador for Peace. Her debut album, the eponymously titled W.A.J.E was released on the 1st of May 2013 via a historic live Google+ hangout with fans joining in from around the world, trending globally at no 4 on Twitter. Her hits include Coco Baby ft Diamond Platnumz of Tanzania which was MAP’s Nigeria’s most played song of December 2014, and the multiple award winning sleeper hit ‘I wish’

ABOUT WAJE SAFE HOUSE
Set up in September 2012, Waje Safe house helps raise funds and support for indigent women and children across Africa. In 2014, she was one of the few Nigerian artistes at the front of the #BringBackOurGirls campaign and was featured by the BBC on her role in the campaign.

Through the foundation, she has donated proceeds from her earnings to schools such as the primary school in the Makoko slums of Lagos and partnered with tech giant HP to distribute e-notepads to her fans across Nigeria. Waje’s Safe House has also partnered with retail giant Kaymu to give to orphanages in February 2015 and donated to an orphanage in Kenya in July 2015.

44 comments:

1. Waje, doing big things. Kudos to her.

2. Good. I hope they will keep to their promises

3. Very nice of her
    Even though she is a single mother.

1. Wats bad in been a single mother? Please grow up

2. baptism of stupid...just for you @money maker.

4. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Waje come and spend the night with me and i will give yu all the money yu need though no doubt.... #NowPlaying>> ohoin: yetty gold...

5. Its aabout u! Its about packaging urself! Loving urself! Appreaciating yourself! Confidence! I love myself! I love my curves, I love my big frame, my 6.1 height, my big bones! I stand out, am SEXY! M AWESOME! M ME! Thank u LORD for making me BEAUTIFUL

SO HALLO FROM THE OTHERSIDE

6. A good initiative. Doing a good job so far.

7. God bless u waje,for this.....

8. Oh! That's very thoughtful. Kudos to her.

9. A very good initiative coming from Waje. I wish other celebrities will give back to the society no matter how little.
    Keep up the good work!!!

10. Nice!!matured pic,no be all these show body

1. Bb your head dey there, d pics are matured.

Mummy sinach

11. May God Almighty bless Waje's endeavours.

12. Great initiative. Keep it up, waje.

13. Me love my Waje. My best of all times. She's gradually going back to her old size. You know what I mean?!

May God give you the grace you need to carry on with this.

14. That's a nice way of giving back to the society.