Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Un-Making Of Miss Nigeria 2015...A Must Read.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

The Un-Making Of Miss Nigeria 2015...A Must Read.

Pamela Peter-Vigboro Leesi, representing Cross Rover State, was crowned Miss Nigeria 2015 in the early hours of Sunday at Oriental Hotel, Victoria, Lagos.
Very little is known about the winner.

In fact very little is known about this year’s competition – the 39th in the series.
Grace Oyelude, the 84-year-old winner of the inaugural the contest in 1957, was a more trending topic in the hours leading to the final.
Musician, Yemi Alade, was the star performer on the night

Ruth Osime, Lanre Da Silva, Audu Maikori, Adebola Williams and Mai Atafo joined others to decide who got the tiara.
Even Twitter, the platform for everything serious and banal, largely ignored the contest.

Daily Times, owners of the Nigeria’s oldest beauty competition, was as uninformed as million of Nigerians.
The media organisation has only copied and pasted tweets from the competition on its website as at the time of writing this.
Precious little has happened since the now 24-year-old Ezinne Akudo won in 2013.The last entry posted in the news category on the pageant’s website was on October 12, 2014.

A last minute attempt at generating media buzz few days before the competition ended in a whimper.
AIT did broadcast the event live but it was too little too late.
Organisers now have the task of playing post-event catch-up.
Miss Nigeria has evolved over the years but what is left is a shell of the glitz and glamour perhaps last witnessed with the crowning of Bibiana Ohio in 1991.

The scrapping of the swimsuit segment, stiff competition from the Most Beautiful Girl in Nigeria (MBGN) which produced Miss World Agbani Darego in 2001,  age and certificate scandal, and change of franchisees – from Nike Oshinowo in 2010 to Elizabeth Aisien in 2012 – have all conspired to rob the pageant of its shine.
Miss Nigeria winners no longer represent the country at international pageants after Nwando Okwuosa at Miss International 2003, focusing now on charities and soirees at home.

Pamela may therefore not achieve the fame of Oyelude, Rosemary Anieze (1960), Yemi Idowu (1962), Helen Prest (1979), Binta Sukai (1990), Vien Tetsola (2000) and Sylvia Edem (2002) but she has been promised N5million, an SUV, six-month skill acquisition programme in any institution, one-year paid apartment and all expense paid trip to three different countries for her trouble.
That, and an escape from Twitter troll, should make the 22-year-old happy. For now.

Maybe there is some truth in the tweet below.

''Because you twitter people are very bad, the organisers of the Miss Nigeria pageant decided to keep it low key and away for you guys''

— Zizi (@Black_Velvette) November 8, 2015

Culled from : Q‎ed.ng.

39 comments:

1. Miss Nigeria lost its shine due to bad management, fringe benefits and publicity accrued to the contest are no longer there... but what more do we expect from something handled by "our dearest country".

Figuratively speaking, decline in government projects and institutions is prevalent here, thus the need for privatisation (MBGN).

Thank God for social media, the past queen wouldn't have gotten any fanbase, I pity this current one sef... her own go worse.

2. Still trying to understand this post and the tweet above...

3. The pageant is dead
    Is time to move!
    Promised not given, voice mail
    At least give her d SUV 1st na,
    Where dey wan find 5M to give her, plus vacations to 3 countries.
    Ok o

4. Whatever!

Your comment will be visible after approval.

5. Not interested in watching Miss Nigeria. It lost its value 5 years ago.

6. I can't find IhN again ooooo...is it just me???

7. So what are they are trying to say now.

8. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Who get the tym to read all this abeg....

9. Okay oooh
    I hope flavour won't impregnate this one
    And she's way older than 22

10. With so many "miss this" & "miss that" why won't it loose its shine & glamour especially if there's no adequate media expose.

11. Ok o.
    Qed.ng and you signed out with QED yesterday, if what I just said doesn't make sense please ignore and move on , I nor well.

12. Miss who!!! Naija need to start MiSS Big Bold N Beautiful @least money maker go hug transformer

13. The pageant doesn't hold much appeal these days..
    My mum is one of the past winners, and I have heard of the fame that normally comes with the title in the past.
    These days the only pageant everyone seems to be interested in is MBGN.
    Well,change is of course constant.

1. Wow!
      Ur mom must be a stunner!
      I bet u have her pic all framed and sitting majestically in d sitting room.
      Choi....I used to love peagants before before but not anymore.too many of dem have spoilt d show.

2. @TGW, yes she is..I guess you are good? Say me hi to your lovely kids..

14. I am not surprised...the pageant has lost all forms of credibility...imagine asking two of the contestants to withdraw because two girls arrived from 'the abroad'...these girls were replaced with these 'abroad' girls o.

15. Yetinde says onpee,aja tukaa niti agbarin,wicked people,they cheated my bestie,may their Queen never know peace after my gorgeous miss jigawa beat her hands down,all the judges especially debola williams only God knows maybe he wants to gbansh the girl,they changed her state sash 2days to d pageant,she got prefential treatment in camp,we heard everything,God is watching u people on 3D,its not everybody that can be cheated o,they'll never understand themselves all of dem.

16. Yetinde says onpee,aja tukaa niti agbarin,wicked people,they cheated my bestie,may their Queen never know peace after my gorgeous miss jigawa beat her hands down,all the judges especially debola williams only God knows maybe he wants to gbansh the girl,they changed her state sash 2days to d pageant,she got prefential treatment in camp,we heard everything,God is watching u people on 3D,its not everybody that can be cheated o,they'll never understand themselves all of dem,awon ika dede.stella post dis comment.

17. I need friends oo, female friends, who are btwn the age of 27 and 30, working. Class, who are based in Ibadan. Am so bored

18. Rubbish! I knew sometin was up wen they crowned miss crossriver instead of miss jigawa!!!

19. Hmmmmm so many miss, am now confused.

20. the most booring part is that winners already know their position...the bribery n corruption is just too much...heard from reliable sources that the latest face of democracy pageant that was held in abuja n hosted by our very own celebrity sweetheart ik ogbonna was scandalous in a very epic way... the "queen" paid for the ride...lool...i heard all of thiswhile watching the gals perform, and behold, it happend just like dey said..there was no question n answer section, according to the host, they judged them based on the tasks they performed in the house....no hating, pageantry shud be scraped out, its just an avenue for glorified prostitution aka runs...the whole idea of scouting for genuine beauty n brain is story for the gods..Aunty Stella, I know you secretly agree with me..

21. Miss Nigeria 2015 ::: dear stella I was a contestant, the pageant first started with auditions in various states, after selecting the girls the where asked to snap with a white top and a blue. Jeans and the pictures will be posted and the highest likes will get into camp, behold stella when they posted all the pictures, the girls started begging for likes just to get into camp. And towards the deadline for voting, the came to announce that they will no more use the votes. On getting to camp, I discovered that some of the contestants in camp didn't even audition neither was their picture uploaded for voting.. the boot camp started with just 30girls. And it was surprising that different girls started joining us, and stella some of these girls never audition or took part in the online voting system. Two days to the grand finale two other girls joined us and we were 38contestants and they said they needed just 36contestants so they will evict two other girls.. why ask more girls to come to camp when you already have 36contestants. The girl that represented Anabra came two days to the grand finale and I heard one of the organizers telling her she finally made up her mind to come after all the begging, that they have been reserving her slot for her..... behold stella the most painful part of the whole event was that 2hours before the show started they came to us and told us that two people will have to leave, and they evicted two people from the competition,just so they can accommodate their candidates , these girls evicted have already invited friends and family to the show, they have worked their ass off day and night but they were evicted just two hours before the show started.... The ojoro they did was unbelievable .. we all wore the traditional attire of the different states we were representing, they asked us 2 introduce ourselves that it wasnt part of the judging, behold after the introduction, as we were changing to evening gown, they came to us back stage that they want to announce top10 , stella can you believe that Top 10. Was announced to us backstage even before they announced to the audience , so that the top 10 can change on time b4 they call them out.. the Top 10 list was fake.. it contained the names of their own candidates. All those girls that came two days to the grand finale were all on the top 10 list. The winner pamela name was on the top 10 list because she was the favourite of the camp matron miss keno, she received preferential treatment all through the camp period. The best girls were not selected, the were not even recognised. Stella so many irregularity happened in the camp..

1. Ewwwoooo!!! See story!!! Stella abeg this one na exclusive! Breaking news. So this is what these people are all about. SHAME on you all! I weep for the poor girls. After everything na wa ooooo

2. Nawa oooooo,it is well.you will shine someday dearie!

3. Ghen ghen. I believe you.