Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ten Of The World's Most Beautiful Cities

Monday, November 09, 2015

Ten Of The World's Most Beautiful Cities

Experience the beauty of these ten magnificent cities by Huffpost:

10- Zanzibar, Tanzania

Zanzibar is as magical as it's name alludes. Surrounded by miles of turquoise sea and palm-packed beaches, this timeless and cultural city allures travelers from across the world. Zanzibar's historical center city, Stone Town, is a fascinating maze of winding lanes, where stone houses and mosques line the streets, as do wonderful cafes, restaurants, shops and bazaars.

9-Sarajevo, Bosnia

Sarajevo, the capital and largest city in Bosnia and Herzegovina, has a dreamlike authenticity. Sarajevo is nestled in the Alps, and sits on the Miljacka river. It is overflowing with with beautiful mosques, churches, and historical architecture as well as local shops and stalls selling merchandise. What makes this city extremely unique is the evidence of past wars that remains. Shells of buildings stand where bombs went off in or near them and monuments that had been erected since the war have been damaged by opposing sides.

8-Florence, Italy

Florence in itself is a work of art. The medieval age city offers some of the most breathtaking frescoes, sculptures, churches, palaces, and architecture, as well as tucked away, romantic restaurants and trendy nighttime atmospheres. Florence is also home to some of the most famous tourist attractions, including Piazza Del Duomo, Ponte Vecchio, and Palazzo Pitti. Florence's charm is everlasting with a unique combination of both nature and culture that forms an eye opening experience.

7-Seville, Spain

Seville is a city rich in culture and abundant in beauty. Sitting in the center of Andalusia and cut in half by the Guadalquivir River, Seville is flourishing with exquisite palaces, and wealthy industries that took up residence locally thanks to American gold. Some of the must-see attractions include The Cathedral and Giralda -- the third largest cathedral in the world -- and the The Alcazar -- the oldest royal palace in Europe. The Río de Guadalquivir is another of Seville's stunning attractions. People are seen relaxing riverside almost daily, since the weather in Seville is rarely poor.

6-Prague, Czech Republic

Prague is the striking capital city of the Czech Republic. Though it is possible to spend months exploring Prague's cobblestone pathways, the historical areas of Old Town Square and New Town are rather small, making it feasible to see all of the major sites in only a day or two. Prague is home to one-of-a-kind art, such as the Lennon Wall and the giant David Cerny babies, both of which can be found on Kampa island right off the Charles Bridge. The city is also home to famous beer gardens, Czech restaurants and clubs that make the nightlife in Prague an experience of a lifetime.

5-Reykjavik, Iceland

The capital city of the "Land of Fire and Ice" boasts a unique beauty unlike any other place in the world. With a skyline dominated by the Hallgrímskirkja, a volcanic mountain range named Esjan, and the dark blue waters of the harbor, Reykjavik should not be missed. During the winter months in Reykjavik, tourists and locals alike can catch a glimpse of the Aurora Borealis, or the Northern Lights as it is more commonly called. In contrast, the midnight sun is one of the most beautiful sights to experience during Iceland's summer months.

4-Chiang Mai, Thailand

Chiang Mai is a cultural and religious city that has a exquisiteness all of it's own. Located in the mountainous region of Northern Thailand, the city is known for its importance to the Buddhist religion and for it's importance to regional trade. Hundreds of Buddhist temples are scattered throughout the city, each displaying varying designs with accents of gold. The streets of Chiang Mai are crowded with merchants selling assorted fruits, flowers, crafts, and jewelry, and the best food the city has to offer is the local food found at hole-in-the-wall, authentic restaurants. Just wandering the different streets of Chiang Mai is a cultural experience that is unique to Thailand's people.

3-New York City, United States

New York City is one of the most fascinating cities on the planet. With attractions such as Broadway, Central Park, the Flatiron building, Chelsea Market, Times Square, and of course high-end shopping, New York City has entertainment for everyone. There's always new food to eat, new clubs to try, and new shows to watch. Although NYC is always crowded, the parks that are scattered throughout the city provide a change of pace for tourists who are ready to get out of the hustle and bustle. The parks also offer great views of the skyline, quaint cafes, espresso huts and games spread out on picnic tables.

2-Milan, Italy

Located in the Lombardy region of Northern Italy, Milan is a vibrant city with a mixture of both ancient and modern influences. Milan is the global capital of fashion and design, producing designs from Giorgio Armani, Valentino Garavani and Gianni Versace. Milan is also the hub of Italy's stock exchange, making it the country's main financial center. Aside from Milan's working world, the city's architectural design is brilliant and their food is delicious. Similar to most Italian cities, foodies flock to Milan Italian restaurants to eat dishes from some of the best chefs in the culinary world.

1-Paris, France

Paris has so much to offer, be it museums, restaurants, theatre, parks or simply charm. Since World War II, Paris has been caught up in a storm of modernization and a simultaneous desire to remain a traditionally charming city--a no high-rise policy with neighborhoods with local boulangeries, cafes and patisseries. Paris is considered not just the capital city of France but also the capital city of fashion, gastronomy and culture. Paris is truely a city of light, love, fashion and epicurean delights whose charm captivates all visitors and residents alike.

69 comments:

1. Lagos,Nigeria should have replaced Zanzibar,Tanzania o jare.......I love Sarajevo,Bosnia

1. Where is nigeria?
      This list is not complete without nigeria in it...

2. Paris, Milan and new York city are cities I'd love to visit someday.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

3. i must travel to paris in Jesus name, amen

4. New York should not be there. Milan should not be there.

5. Amen je vos attend.

6. Whey dubai dey must be joking

7. Where is Dubia Marina. Lies joor.

1. Kikikiki. You read my mind

2. Benin with its red muddy water.
      Tight Oba market
      Tons of makeup on women faces
      Cheap xes

3. Abeg benin join oh. Red sand na tourist attraction. D gutter portholes too...out of this world.

4. Abeg benin join oh. Red sand na tourist attraction. D gutter portholes too...out of this world.

1. Yes Paris my city! We stay winning.

4. I knew Paris would be there, city of love city of lights

1. Pariiiiiiiii. Bless city I looove

2. The list is incomplete with Mauritius(Flic en Flac) not being there.

5. Beautiful places to be hold. We have city from our great country Nigeria with all money being wasted everyday. It is well with Nigeria.

6. I will pick one soon for my honeymoon

7. They would have projected a finer view of Zanzibar naa. This one no be am.

8. There is this particular movie that was shot in Florence it starred Angelina brad.
    My mom said Paris is a beautiful place. She grew up there. She learned hair and makeup.

1. Olodo oshi.. LEARNT*

2. Nwa Amaka
      Please write this down so you won't forget

3. Hey Amaka,I guess you meant to say "learnt".Trust me I'm not hating on you,I really like your guts

4. Learnt’ or ‘learned’?

These are alternative forms of the past tense and past participle of the verb learn. Both are acceptable, but learned is often used in both British English and American English, while learnt is much more common in British English than in American English.

We learned the news at about three o'clock.
      They learnt the train times by heart.

There are a number of other verbs which follow the same pattern in forming the past tense and past participle:

I burned/burnt the toast by mistake.
      He dreamed/dreamt about his holiday.
      Luke kneeled/knelt down to find his contact lens.
      Tanya spoiled/spoilt her dinner.
      She spelled/spelt her surname an unusual way.

Copied from Oxford dictionary.
      You know when u keep hating on someone u don't even realize that you're beginning to mess urself up. Am not perfect but I know my English is queens. You need to hear me speak. Mtcheeew Olodo people calling someone Olodo.

5. USAGE‘LEARNT’ OR ‘LEARNED’?
      ‘Learnt’ or ‘learned’?

These are alternative forms of the past tense and past participle of the verb learn. Both are acceptable, but learned is often used in both British English and American English, while learnt is much more common in British English than in American English.

We learned the news at about three o'clock.
      They learnt the train times by heart.

There are a number of other verbs which follow the same pattern in forming the past tense and past participle:

I burned/burnt the toast by mistake.
      He dreamed/dreamt about his holiday.
      Luke kneeled/knelt down to find his contact lens.
      Tanya spoiled/spoilt her dinner.
      She spelled/spelt her surname an unusual way.

Leap, lean, spill, and others are also verbs of this type. They are all irregular verbs, and this is a part of their irregularity.

Learned (but not learnt) is also an adjective, pronounced as two syllables (ˈlərn|əd) rather than the one syllable verb (ləːnt or ləːnd). The adjective, when said of a person, means 'having acquired much knowledge through study'. It can also be used of objects, meaning 'showing, requiring, or characterized by learning; scholarly'.

She is a learned and respected teacher.
      I read the report in an extremely learned journal.

6. Learned is correct as well. Americans say learned instead of learnt or dreamt, they say dreamed

7. You mean ur foster mother abi cos I'm sure ur biological Mum never enter plane before

8. Thank you sweetie. Shame to people that want to teach you Queens English.

9. Thank you sweetie. Shame to people that want to teach you Queens English.

9. Paris definitely should be no1
    Sarajevo, nice one and for the ppl soliciting for Lagos to be there don't know what it takes for a city to be magnificent.

Dr.Chukwudera

10. New York and Lagos market are exactly the same. Too busy

11. Zanzibar and Seychelles island on my mind,for my dream honey moon.

12. Why is Dubai not there, I don't agree with this list abeg.

13. I only saw paris.
    I heard that the best pastry and sweet shops can be found in paris.
    I long for a croissant from paris, rich buttery croissant that practically melts in your mouth..
    Oh yes...and truffles too...

14. Beautiful, would love to vacay in all of them, some time soon.

15. Thank you Stells...i have bookmarked the page cuz im planning to start visiting exciting and beautiful places soon.

16. New York kwa.. maybe it's because I live here sha.. lol

1. I was wondering the same. NY is too busy mbok

17. Imo state should be the number one city,

18. I agree with Milan, Florence, and Paris . Don't know about New York City . I Visited this place in Italy, cinque terre, it's a beauty to behold. I keep seeing the place in my dreams every night. God bless me with money.

19. Great www.blogmallnigeria.blogspot.com

20. City of light. I must visit dia one day by God's grace.

21. Newyork....Paris...Venice....Spain are gorgeous cities. Santorini in the south aegean region of greece is amazingly gorgeous...

22. Is that Thailand I see? Finally!!! One beautiful place av seen. Venice and Verona should be there too

23. Me and my hubby and kids spent our summer holidays in italy this year.. we visited Florence, milan , Venice , cruised lake Como ,Verona .we had the time of our lives.Gorgeous cities!

24. The bahamas is where I would love to visit one day...

25. Bonsoir Stella greetings from the city of love Light and everything. Ici c'est Paris. Bonjour de Paris. Paris c'est l'amour. Nwaowerri in Paris. Nne oma.

26. Bonsoir Stella greetings from the city of love Light and everything. Ici c'est Paris. Bonjour de Paris. Paris c'est l'amour. Nwaowerri in Paris. Nne oma.

27. Hmmmm God please bless me so that I can visit some of these cities....... Paris my dream city

28. I disagree with this list! New York City is not a particularly beautiful city, it's just tourist friendly because its activity packed! Other than that I would pick Dubai over New York ...

29. Visited Zanzibar and Tanzania last Xmas....still thinking where to go this year