Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: South Africa's Covenant Voices becomes an International multi award winning group

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

South Africa's Covenant Voices becomes an International multi award winning group

Covenant Voices have now become an International multi award winning group after they won their second gong within 16 weeks of releasing their debut single and music video - CHILDREN MEDLEY. They won the Akademia Music Award for Best Contemporary Christian Music Video for ‘Children’ in the November 2015 Akademia Music Awards, adding to their previous success 3 months ago when they won, 'Best Gospel Song' at the August 2015 edition of Akademia awards in Los Angeles, United States of America.

An 80 band South African mass gospel choir with a handful of Africans, Covenant Voices are mentored by Rev. Tim Omotoso, the senior Pastor of Jesus Dominion International (J.D.I.) and founder of Tim Omotoso Global Outreach (T.O.G.O.). They are based in Durban, South Africa, and their music has Traditional Zulu, Jazz, R&B and Contemporary influences. Their ages range between 16 and 39.

Covenant Voices dropped their debut single in July, 2015 and their debut music video a month afterwards. This blockbuster video was produced by Ray Magagula at 3 separate locations in South Africa - The Phezulu Safari Park Hillcrest; uMhlanga Lighthouse, and uMhlanga Pier in Durban. 

The song (available for download on all good online stores) which is in a mixture of Zulu (South African language) and English illustrates how Children are singing, how Parents are praising and worshiping God till they come to joyful tears, making everyone happy. The song explains to all that Jesus died for our sins, and took us out of darkness. It also praises Jesus as the King of Heavens, and encourages every nation to arise and be ready because Jesus is coming back soon.

The choir was founded and named in 2007 by Rev. Tim Omotoso, after he hosted gospel music auditions, a first for the organization in Durban. This became the first initiative of the Youth Empowerment Project (Y.E.P.) of Tim Omotoso Global Outreach. It has to be said that the singers had no previous training or experience when the choir was formed, just raw talent polished with 'the Triple T' of Rev. Tim Omotoso.

Social networks:
(Twitter) @CovenantVoices_ 
(Instagram) CovenantVoices 
(Google+) +CovenantVoices 

16 comments:

1. Congrats to South Africa's convenant voices. They have the best voice. I dont know how they do it but south africans can sing. Goodluck to them

2. Nice
    how i love singing with the choir not this hello rubbish

Singing to the Lord!
    Everyday...
    Is all i need my heart desire
    Praising the Lord!
    O my soul
    Is all that he desires
    And i will sing a melody
    Of the sweetest music
    I will make harmony
    I wii sing allelia to the Lord of host
    With the choirs of angels
    I will sing to the Lord of host
    Beautiful songs i will sing forevermore
    With harps
    I will sing
    With piano i will sing
    With guitar
    I will sing to the lord
    Alleluia! Praise he lord with stringed instruments!!!

1. So who stops you from singing with your choir,
      Aboki brain

3. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Gud for them though.... #NowPlaying>> boo boo me:

4. What was patience Emmalina thinking?*jeeex*this novel is killing me with all this intrigues *hahan kilode*The author*Lisa Valdez*must be high when writing PATIENCE..now let me run along between
    Congrat South africa

5. CONGRATS TO THEM.. GOSPEL MUSIC ALL THE WAY

6. Congratulations to them,more grace upon them.