Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Shell, Chevron Allegedly Set To Sack 8,000 Staff

Monday, November 16, 2015

Shell, Chevron Allegedly Set To Sack 8,000 Staff

Palpable fear has gripped the Nigerian staff of Chevron and Shell as the two multinationals begin compilation of 8,000 names for sack. New Telegraph had exclusively reported plans by Chevron and Shell to sack 8, 000 staff in addition to the 8, 000 employees they announced earlier this year as the accounts of the oil firms slips into red. 

Further checks by this newspaper at the weekend revealed that managements of the two oil companies have begun to compile names of those who will be affected in Nigeria. This action, sources at the two oil firms told this newspaper, was occasioned by earlier correspondences sent to managements of the companies’ subsidiaries in Nigeria.

“That is what everybody is talking about here,” a Shell staff said after his anonymity was guaranteed. “The situation is even worse for some of us who are nontechnical staff,” his Chevron’s counterpart added. He continued: “Up till now we do not know how many staff in Nigeria will be affected but we are aware that the list being compiled has a mandate to include about 95 per cent of staff from finance: audit and accounting; human resources, government, public relations and communications among others. “The remaining five per cent will make up technical staff, who are due for retirement and those with incriminating memos in their files,” he said.

The New York Times had reported penultimate Sunday that Chevron would axe 7,000 staff in addition to the 1,500 it announced early this year while Shell, according to Reuters, also plans to sack 1000 more staff different from the 6,500 it announced for sack in the first quarter.
Although the two multi-nationals did not give a break-down of how many staff in their Nigerian operations will be affected, Chevron said on its website that Nigeria “is an important part of Chevron’s business globally” while Shell, which is also the biggest oil firm in Nigeria in terms of assets and production, “produces substantial volume of its global output from Nigeria.”

Like Chevron and Shell, other international oil companies (IOCs) at the weekend posted unprecedented losses in the third quarter, which is the worst since the downturn started. The trio of Chevron, Shell and Eni, with heavy assets and production in Nigeria, posted $12 billion losses in three months as their outlooks dimmed.

-New Telegraph

Do we have any Shell or Chev workers here that can confirm if this is true?

67 comments:

1. Gobe! Wahala!

Your comment will be visible after approval.

1. All na change. Change is Change. GEJ was bad but let's wait till a year into PMB.

2. It's been rumoured for a while. I thought the stalling meant the storm was over. Oh well!

3. All na change. Change is Change. GEJ was bad but let's wait till a year into PMB.

4. Stella we need more Enterrprenures in this country! FG should support and make finacial assistant available for we enterprenuers!

We need more employers from our graduates and our hardworking people!

Aka sumborri

5. The truth is that it's not only the oil company's letting staff go. Also the servicing company's have been sacking people since bringing of the year. There are no jobs coming in and they are running @ a lost. But I no managers are not spared oh. They are even the ones mostly hit by the sack. It's well and it's not a buhari thing it's a global thing.

1. If I hear......

2. All the girls who left their hustling bfs for oil company boys..... I hope they won't cry?
      Stella, they have been downsizing small small for about 2 years. Oil isn't gonna solve our issues. Countries like Dubai have diversified their income stream from oil to other things, especially tourism. It's better to be an entrepreneur in naija, or work in a firm that constantly develops businesses for people and companies. This is why I was happy when the current government stopped banks from leverage on federal government accounts. Now they would be looking for entrepreneurs with bright ideas so they can make profit. And that their useless 25% on loans would be cut off! Na small small

1. The rate of armed robbery go too bad o. Okay o

4. That's much oh!! To add to the already huge amount of people looking for jobs!! Nigeria why na.

1. Those affected will be given heavy severance packages. They should put their thinking caps on and invest in sound businesses. Change is a constant fact of life. It is inevitable. If the job does not leave you, one day you will leave the job.

5. May God help us.
    8000 people to join the overpopulated labour market.

6. There hs bn rumours about this for sometime now.quite sometime if u ask me.and there is a bigger rumour sef...about some acquisitions. And some doing away of some residential quarters.

It is well.

7. It is true. Nija is messed up. People voted for CHANGE. Now CHANGE is sweeping everywhere clean.

I dont know if they want people to have good christmas

1. Receive brain

2. It has little or nothing to do with this current administration, it's all about the drastic fall in crude oil price.
      GOD BLESS NIGERIA

3. Loveme jeje, these are international Organisations not just Nigeria. This will affect their staff of various part of the globe.

4. Must u ppl blame Buhari and APC for everything? Oil prices have fallen world wide. So the oil and gas industry is highly affected.

5. No be so una blame GEJ?????!!!!!????? *smh*

8. This country has been in shits since dis guy took over. Businesses are stagnant, food expensive, salaries being owed by private firms cos no money in circulation, boyfy being owed salary and allowance for four months(never happened before), nothing is working.

Buhari, where are ur magical hands.

1. Receive sense

2. Receive sense @Eka Joy! U need am badly! Kai!

3. Now you are making more sense....

4. *but it has nothing to do with this administration sha

9. Sack 8000 papers I hope. 8000 workers? So they'll come and join the 1.m5million without jobs? Ok na

1. Globally & not Nigeria only

2. That's why we shouldn't rely on all these companies to help our situation as a country. They can't do more than they can do at every point in time

10. I think it related to fall in crude oil.

11. Work done finish 4 nigeria be dat!
    Virgin Atlantic n now this

12. This is bad on so many levels and considering the fact that all of them have tasted better money, e go hard to survive after this.

13. Menn! This is too much. Lord have mercy.

14. Lmao.
    No bi una want "changi?
    This is just d beginning ooo.
    More suprises is on the way.
    Btw.
    Fuel is now N130/ litre.But the Daura dullard promised to make it N40/litre if elected.

1. Illiterate. Dunce.

2. Ahahah I dey laugh o. Stella, this goes to show that most of ur bvs do not read before passing a comment. Esp the ones known to make baseless attacks. Pls someone should tell this dude that this issue has nothing to do with the Nigerian govt. Can someone pls interpret this post explicitly to this dude? Someone should take up the offer and I don't mind paying the person to school him.

Ahahah... **continues laughing ooo**!!!

15. Why are you surprised Stella? It was bound to happen at some point. The oil price is low. Oil companies are cutting down on production.They are no longer developing fields.Hence the need to reduce staff and cut cost. In Europe here, most of the oil workers have lost their jobs. Drillers, Reservoir Engineers, Geoscientist. As long as the oil price remains low, this will continue to happen. The worst part is Nigeria economy depends solely on sale of crude oil. How long will this economy survive with the wastage and looting if the oil price continues to plunge lower? I feel sorry for those staff that will be laid off into the job market saturated with millions of graduates without jobs.

16. I just hope these guys have businesses to fall back on cuz most of them I know,eat with their 2hands ,thinking it's all luxury forever

17. This is not needed at this point in time of our economy but sadly it has to happen bcos of the Fall in oil price globally.
    So sad about this news.

18. Sighs... 3rd reason why we may not travel home for Xmas. I feel bad cos my brother in-law is in the web already. They make d season rock for the entire household. See sweet period dat one wakes up at 10am after 6am morning devotion under the caress of the windy harmattan haze. Now all these.

Shell and Chevron are on the downlown for now, are they sacking? Yes. Are the staff to go aware of it? Yes. But they are merging jobs and recruiting experts with fore knowledeg of what they are diversifying into. Because numerous of their subsidiaries are shutting down currently. God dey!

It is well.

1. Always claiming ovesabi and still come out as a fool. Xhlrted shit, just shut up! Ur oversabi on dis blog is too much

2. Anon 20:02....just one song for you in Don Jazzy's voice BAD BELLE PEOPLE PLENTY FOR TOWN. Next time they send you to school enter class.
      Go choke on your bile.

19. #prayforNigeria

Mrs N

20. This Eka sorrow why are you so dumb. How can there be money when GEJ, Diezani and PDP have stolen all the money. Now you're asking where Buhari's magical hands are when you and your likes are the same people abusing him and crying witch hunting when he is trying to recover the stolen funds from the thieves that robbed this country.

1. Her opinion not yours, is either you take it or leave it. Stop putting your nose in her comments.

2. Recovering loot*** na today?
      See wetin Buhari supporters still dey claim...*Redirecting loot back to Northern treasuries you say***???

21. Me that am in construction, my company hasnot done any tangible construction since last tnx to election and bad economy,
    We Liv in fear now cos list could come out any day n we ll be sent packing.
    All our expatriates has been relieved and gone back to their various countries.
    Things are really hard,they ve not paid us for 2 months now

22. This is scary...

23. Unemployed me looking for a JOB. All is well in Jesus name

24. but shell is currently recruiting;what is the nexus?

25. I hope say all dis girls that are looking for Oil tycoon would not faint with this news.I be confirm hursler .Thank God i dont depend on any stupid company.And to u girls out there looking for oil company"s workers to date,I SAY WOE unto you.Shior!!!

26. Very true! Sad too......The news alone is making our office here in marina look like a mourning place.....isn't funny at..God help His children as we place our hope in Him. Amen!

1. Liar liar! Who dash you Marina office? Stop day dreaming out of your yaba window

2. False news reporting alert!!!!! The article finally said the number is a GLOBAL number and combined for both Shell and Chevron. Most of the 7,000 at Chevron will be from their headquarters in America and they already know this reduction is coming there (my cousin works for them in America). Shell's own also globally is 1,000 it says so how many of this global total reaches Nigeria is unknown but can't be up to 10% I'm guessing. So we're talking worst case 700 from Chevron and 100 from Shell. And Chevron can't lose that many since their operations are concentrated in Australia and America and not nigeria. Lets not spread unnecessary panic please

27. It is only fools and numb-skull people that will blame PMB for this. Oil well is drying! No new oil fields discovered! Fuel prices falling internationally! Over head costs needs to be reduced by companies! Loop holes for siphoning money sealed! And truly, it is a wind of POSITIVE change!

28. As a commercial oil trader, I put out this warning early this year when Cushing jobs started disappearing and Halliburton started downsizing. People cursed me out then as a conspiracy theorist. Well, reality has finally set in