Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saraki And Tinubu Sat Close To Each Other At Atiku's Daughters' Weddings

Saturday, November 14, 2015

Saraki And Tinubu Sat Close To Each Other At Atiku's Daughters' Weddings

Until Friday, the last time that Bola Tinubu, national leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and Senate President Bukola Saraki were seen together in public was during the buildup to the general election.

Both men toured the length and breadth of the country canvassing votes for the ruling party, but all that ceased shortly after APC won the presidential election. The decision of Saraki to defy the leadership of the party in his quest to lead the senate pitched the former governors of Lagos and Kwara states against one another. Saraki confirmed this when a newspaper reported that both men were plotting to work against the government of President Muhammadu Buhari.

“Most Nigerians are aware that there has been no meeting or communication between me and Asiwaju Tinubu since I was elected Senate President,” he had said. However, as guests of Atiku, who gave out three of his daughters in marriage in Yola on Friday, Saraki and Tinubu sat close to each other. 

Yakubu Dogara, speaker of the house of representatives, who like Saraki also refused to heed APC’s wish, was also at the occasion......

Before now, Tinubu did not spare Saraki the length of his tongue any time the opportunity presented itself. Last month, the APC leader ruled out any form of reconciliation with the two-time senator. “The manner by which Saraki captured his current seat travestied party discipline. 

It was a crass act of disloyalty showing that Saraki may have joined the APC on paper but has remained true to the malpractices and wrong aims of the reactionary PDP in his soul,” Tinubu had said in a statement. Tinubu also taunted Saraki during the period when the senate president was evading the summons of the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT). “Government officials are no longer believed by the citizens. When one has a public responsibility, the citizens look at it as if the source of wealth to steal and mismanage public funds and do things not included in the democratic norms and values,” he had told reporters after observing Eid prayers back in September. “It is not what I haven’t personally experienced. I have been through it. Go through it at once and have a nation that we will all be proud of. “We have to live by example and by our words. We can be talking about it alone.

We have to work it without any iota of blackmail.” On his part, Saraki maintained that his trial was nothing but “witch-hunt” “I strongly believe that I am here because I am the senate president. I have come here to subject myself before this tribunal not because I am guilty … I am a firm believer of the rule of law,” he had said on his first day at the tribunal. 

Whether the verbal exchange between the influential leaders will stop as a result of this weekend’s meeting, will be known in the days ahead.

Culled from www.thecable.ng

26 comments:

1. I do not want to imagine how they really feel about each other.
    The mind is deep and far.

2. Politics! Story for d gods!

Aka sumborri

3. They are politicians they know what they are doing.

4. Ok...
    Good for them, but who them help??

5. Anyone that takes politicians seriously is on a long thing.

6. Like seriously............who cares?
    If they like they should sit on each other's laps!

7. Na dem sebi,if dem like make dem settle am less concerned abt them.

8. God knows if I was in Saraki's shoes, I would have done the same thing.
    I don't think Bola Tinubu has any other problem apart from jealousy and the thing is burning inside of him because you told a man not to progress to the next stage and he did..... you became so furious....if I'm Saraki sef I won't even sit close to him.

Chukwudera Michael

9. Saraki somehow reminds me of d movie "Sleeping with d Enemy"
    Let's see how dis pans out.or should I say "how many more moons till S boy resigns.

Whatever,dese peeps aren't loyal.

*skips away while whistling the Godfather's Soundtrack*

Heard not just 3 of his daughter got married.but a son as well.Congratulations to dem.

10. It was really a terrible 'friday the 13th' in paris yesterday...my prayer n thoughts go out to d victims..religion of peace? *lipsealed* @iyabeji lati paris,hope u r ok...

Has anyone seen Diezani's latest picture?...if dat pic circulating on d web is truky what she looks like now,den she needs a lotta prayers

11. Their business... They could be enemies today, friends tomorrow..

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Gud to knw though.....

13. Has he finally accepted Saraki as the Senate President? That will be cowardly after all the empty threats.

14. Stella no...
    I refuse to read about Tinubu and Saraki this morning.
    It haff do.