Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Reasons NAFDAC Slammed Guinness N1bn Fine

Friday, November 13, 2015

Reasons NAFDAC Slammed Guinness N1bn Fine

The National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control, NAFDAC, was said to have slammed a fine of N1 billion administrative charges on Guinness Nigeria Plc for its failure to adhere to the recommended good manufacturing practice procedures.

A source from the Enforcement Department of the agency, who pleaded anonymity, told Vanguard that the agency had conducted a routine check on the company’s factory in Ikeja, Lagos on November 5, 2015 where shocking revelations were made.

According to the source, the NAFDAC team came back with unsatisfactory appraisals about how some of the materials used in the production processes were being handled.

Further findings revealed that the team that visited Guinness was worried about the manner the raw materials used in the factory were stored.
“The unhygienic storage condition of the raw materials was a major source of worry for the agency,” the source said.

They reportedly found that the raw materials used in their factories were exposed to rodents, and some of the expired products were discovered to have been revalidated.
The source said following the startling discoveries and a report made by the team to the enforcement team, a letter to the effect was actually conveyed to the firm.

The source, who said NAFDAC was yet to make an official statement on the development, told Vanguard that the N1 billion mandatory administrative charges may just be the basic action to be undertaken by NAFDAC.
“Our team visited Guinness and the reported findings were true. The agency is, however, going to make a public statement to this effect at the appropriate time, as the management is still studying the reports submitted by the team,” the source said.

Reacting, yesterday, Mr. Peter Ndegwa, Managing Director of Guinness said the said raw materials store is not a production facility and that “we are engaging National Agency for Food Drugs Administration and Control, NAFDAC, for clarifications and resolution of the issues.”

Vanguard reportage

NA WAH OH...people who drink guinness should read this report with crossed eyes abeg.

50 comments:

1. And to fine them is the solution to this? SMH

1. They should close it down.

I don't drink anything apart from smoothie prepared by me and water. Even the water is not safe, but I have friends and relatives that drink them.

These people don't have conscience at all.

NAFDAC please close down Guinness,
      money is not a way out.

2. Read with crossed eyes!? I dey come then, make I take 2 cold big stout...

3. AND U WONDER THE CAUSE OF KIDNEY LIVER FAILURE PLUS CANCER

4. And dey are busy doing make of black campaign now we knw how black dey are really made

2. Na wa o! A company that big, with such reputation? This is going to cause bad market for them.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

1. Story. Chocolate Royal is reopened, despite the terrible things found in their warehouses, food & ingredients expired over a decade ago etc. Yet Lagosians still dey chop daily for dia.

2. Not true If Chocolate Royale was opened after their disturbing revelations, Guiness will too. But its so sad that all these so-called companies are just interested in making money without considering the health implications of what their products will cause people. By the time they pay this amount, their eyes go clear small.

3. Gbam @ Teddy, exactly what i wanted to type. I lost faith when they reopened Chocolate Royale so quickly. Let them keep feeding us expired things. I feel bad for Nig many times

4. Gbam @ Teddy, exactly what i wanted to type. I lost faith when they reopened Chocolate Royale so quickly. Let them keep feeding us expired things. I feel bad for Nig many times

3. Imagine using expired products for their productions.... Unhygienic storage of raw material and exposure to rodents...those who drink Guineas take note!

4. If we add this Guinness N1 billion join the MTN N1.4tr, budget for 2016 don dey complete be that o. Talk about not relying on oyel money. Make NAFDAC fine Imperial Bakery, Abuja too, their N300.00 sliced bread no dey reach me do 'toast' 3x again. I shall have faith in this Government if this is done.

1. Lolz
      Ake biko save the N300 for agege bread.
      Come lemme 'teash' you how to toast agege for frying pan.
      Hehehehhehe

2. Hahahaha, I so miss imperial bakery nd oceanic bakery. I miss abuja

3. Kehinde Ake so good to read from you after a very long time.

4. Lol, ur line of thot is d truth!!!!!!!

5. Start eating agege bread.

Even the monthly charges on prepaid meters

6. Lol @ TGW - Dstv sure need to be fined for ripping is off. They repeat the same thing over n over again. Rain falls or not it starts to break n crack, yet they increased their fees. Rubbish. Paying more than what i would ordinarily pay for Netflix abroad n av mad fun. Hisss

5. Na wa oo. Thank God i have stopped drinking beer. Thank God for Red Wine. Make i continue with that.

1. Lol! U know wetin dey inside? Pour small on any fabric, see how it refuses to wash away! Na God go help us!

6. They won't finish us in this country.
    No wonder the high rate of diseases which were unknown to us before is now rampant.

But I will finish my carton of Malta Guinness. Na another one I won't buy.

7. The bottle is black, the drink is black too.
    Someone will not know if there's a small cockroach or worm in their guinness.
    That's why I prefer to drink water now o.

8. Hmnnnn! Guinness of all drinks!

9. Every section of the Nigeria is in serious need of leadership

10. Am in support of this fine. I am a fan of Heineken but couldn't find it so went with cans of stout to treat my self after a hard day job. Thank God I decided to pour the content of the can in a glass first. What came out of that can shocked me to my marrows, found tree roots and insects inside(guess the brewer thought he was making abgo Jedi jedi) I jeje opened all 4 cans and threw the content away. Me and stout no more. If no be Heineken e no fit be Heineken

1. Nigeria breweries staff, well done o!

2. Nigeria breweries staff, well done o!

3. And you didn't retain me to sue those bastards?

4. NBL staff trying desperately to Demarket Guinness brands on Stella's blog...watching you in 3D . Hit the road with impressive Outdoor campaigns and your products will sell better.

As for this nonsense here just stopeeeet

5. Nonye Nonye nonye....akporom gi ugbolo ole?

Go sue the carpenter who made the "coat" in that ya pic! K'odi

11. Heineken and vodka hmmm now that shit is cray

12. After they will say there is this and that disease, na wa.

13. Na wa. Water is the surest drink jare.

14. Wickedness of the highest order,
    To think that it's coming from Guiness is a big shame. God help us!

15. Wickedness of the highest order,
    To think that it's coming from Guiness is a big shame. God help us!

16. Anything goes in naija....... Anyway water naim sure pass

17. Why does it feel like all the corporate brands that supported the previous govt are being tackled one after the other..... #vendetta maybe?

18. Health
    And Sanitary inspectors should be resurrected

19. Pls NAFDAC should come to their Aba plant where they brew Malta Guinness mennn these people are pigs and their environment terrible!

20. Guinness is on the ropes. Can it get any worse for one company. First their quarterly profit dropped by 76%, and now this.

Now we know why the profit is dropping. They are not selling enough of their products. And instead of destroying expired raw materials, they are revalidating it. The company needs a complete overhaul. The sad part is that Diageo, the parent company is selling off most of its brewery businesses world wide. Not sure why they are still keeping Guinness. Then, they have often said it gives them a route to market for their spirits. The least they can do is not to let the goose that lays the golden egg die.