Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Protest In Port Harcourt As Army Officer Kills Driver .....

Monday, November 09, 2015

Protest In Port Harcourt As Army Officer Kills Driver .....

There is a protest currently in Port harcourt and public vehicles are not allowed to operate and people are trekking whilst the protesters are calling for Justice for the Driver that was shot in cold blood....

This Is a blog visitor situation report....

''Stella Please post this amebo gist I experienced this early morning. Thank you ma'am.

So I left my sister's house this morning at Alakahia / Uniport going for an interview at Aba road and I decided to take Rumuokoro route that's how the taxi got to Rumuokoro and then I saw a very huge population of people, standing, walking, those going to mile 3, rumuigbo, Rumuola etc.  No vehicles to take, be it bus or taxis.   

I asked what was going on and why no vehicles are going or allowed to go and here's the most sensible version of the story I got.

They said that yesterday a bus driver ‎was running one way (Ikwerre/mile3 road to romuokoro) and he got caught by the army people at Bori camp. 
After they obviously stopped him and asked him to turn back and take the right road he still put his head and tried to escape "still on the one way" and then an army officer shot him in cold blood.
He was rushed to the University of Port Harcourt Teaching Hospital but sadly, he passed on.

This gave all the abgeros, touts, and hooligans  of Rumuokoro and beyond the power to stop and possibly harm any driver that decides to pick up any passenger this morning.  
They're going round in buses and on foot carrying sticks and stones parading that the army guy must be brought to justice and that there shall be no movement whatsoever. 

On the other hand, school children, people going to their various work places and other innocent passengers ‎are suffering, trekking from Rumuokoro to where ever they may be going to because there's no public vehicle allowed to pick up passengers. 

I'm not saying the army man was right to shoot at a harmless Nigerian, no! He wasn't, he had no right... even if using the gun was called for he should have shot at his bus tyre not at him. 

There's every possibility that he's left a wife widowed, children fatherless, family members hopeless shedding tears and all these could be avoided. 

Nigerian force members seem to forget the psychological and rational acts before acting out because it seems they're taught only the hard and forceful laws.

I couldn't take pictures then because my phone was switched off and I didn't want to bring it out of my handbag in such a rough environment, you never can tell, snatchers everywhere. I'm sure someone else will send in more gist and pictures about it. 

As for me, I continued with the trekking till we got to rumuigbo o then saw a good samaritan going to Rumuola and rushed into his car with others; that's how I got to Rumuola this morning... Anyway, wish me luck with my interview.  
Have a blessed week BVs.''

41 comments:

1. Good luck dear, you shall ace that interview

1. Best of luck with ur interview
      Heard of the incident yst eveni on my way frm Rumuigbo......shooting the bus driver was barbaric

2. Good luck dearie.....

Waiting for ur testimony soon.

3. Good luck.

The bus driver would have just obeyed and turned back.

Shooting into the air would have put fear into him but our naija force men were not trained that way. Too bad. They should fish him out and punish him accordingly.

4. Seems like we blacks have a problem obeying simple instructions! The bus driver brought this upon himself, he was breaking the law and was warned to turn back and do the right thing! Still, he insisted and tried to continue! Please before you blame the army officer, who knows what mission he was on? what if he had explosives in the bus and was on a suicide mission? a terrorist? Only a criminal will act in such manner.
      Hope you got to your interview on time, all the best.

5. Can I change nationality?
      Am tired of nigeria!

6. Am not in support of what the army guy did, but come to think of it the driver killed himself, taking one way is not good, he was told to turn back but he insisted on putting on goat ears.Rip when u reach heaven tell God what brought u back home.#Ntiikeadironma

2. can you fit but imagine they intimidate civilians with their camouflage

#GODWIN™

1. Madam poster knw the difference btw officers and soldiers! An officer doesn't stay on the road but a soldier that went through depot stays on the road! Na soldier b that not officer! U made a blunder correct ur sef! I just hate it went pple can't make such diff! Plz

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. Sweet Jesus. What a sad way to start a week

5. Such a sad news. He who kills by the sword, shall die by the sword.judgment awaits you, army officer. RIP to the driver. God's grace to you, dear poster.

6. It's true, when I was comin bk Frm church, dats when it happend, dey blocked d road, dad had to revise nd take another rout. Justice must be served to d army man o. Does army men at Bori camp lyk to misbehave always bc dey hv guns

1. You reverse not revise. Was you dad driving revised standard version of the bible?

2. You are fool. I am very sure you did not ever revise your school work. Make corrections based on the exact context. Let me correct you as well nwa teacher "dad had to reverse and take..."

7. All the best in your interview.
    But why did he shoot him? may his soul rest in peace.

8. Best of luck to you. Sambisa forest is there they won't go. So sad.

9. Na wa...o, why use ur gun anyhow?he should ve shot at the tyrethe driver too should have gone back knowing all these people in uniform know no joy, Ask the army office now he ll say he shot at an arm robber. Goodluck bv on ur interview God help us.

10. Thank God that's not my route, I for hat turn back go house. Good excuse not to go to the office today.

I pray that army man is found and brought to book.

Kai

11. Oh God.
    Army wicked o.
    He should have shot at the tyres Na,eh
    No value for human life again

12. Good luck hun! U re hired already ijn. Amen.
    Sad! Rip driver. Nobody deserves2die lik dis,its a senseless kill.

13. Poster, they are doing nothing wrong by staging a protest. As long as they are not physically harming innocents. If it were someone close to u this happened to (God forbid), will u be of d same mindset?

14. Nigerian armed forces I'll trained since 1800

15. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Rip...

16. Nigerian armed forces I'll trained since 1800

17. It is well, wish you all the best in ur interview

18. The country is just messed up. Too much anger on people nowadays

19. Na wah ooooo. All this sad news dis morng

20. Killing of innocent civilians by military men is becoming alarming...the government should do something about it.

21. Goodluck dear! God will see us all looking or job through.

22. I experienced the stress of no taxi this morning while coming to the office. These Army guys like taking laaws into their hands.

23. We inside the bori camp are scared to come out. Am a corper living in the barracks, I wonder who the officer might be. May God help us.

24. Goodluck in your interview dear........ this is sad RIP to the driver.

25. Eyah... am not praying for anyone's death .. however the late driver had no leg to stand on and sad it may be , the Army can claim justification in what they did...sequence

Driver takes one way,approaching or in front of a barrack
    he was stopped and told to turn back
    he refused and proceeded
    he was shot
    he was taken to the hospital
    he died

fact that he was approaching a security base from the wrong end is a security concern, all guards will go into ALert mode... you were requested to turn back, am sure he with some aggression would have tried to dare them... (Danger to public/and probable danger to base as bus could have been explosive laden)

how to nullify danger, take out the threat... a clean and albeit kill shot .... sad, but logic depicts that would have been one of the possible scenarios issue would have ended, driver pushed his luck too far

i commend the marksman, no collateral damage, intended target was taken out, no stray bullet or accidental discharge issue

doubt anything would happen to the shooter (and rightly so)

if the bus had been explosive laden, everyone would come and say why did they not shoot the driver before getting there

1. Oh shut up, stupid fool. I'm sure u are one of those trigger happy fools. For u to be cleared or required to carry out such action, there must be clear evidence that they needed to be killed. So how does following one way (which is a regular occurrence for such stupid drivers) make u make such a call. What happened to getting into ur vehicle and giving a hot purchase like a sensible soldier would have done.

Stupid fool. May the ghost of Dat dead man hunt u down for this yeye statement.

2. Not a stupid fool Eka , blaze is so correct. Going by d insecurities in our country presently, d soldier did wat is expected of him in dat situation, cos soldiers are nvr careless with thr bullets, and d law upholds such act in defense. That cld hv bn an explosive laden bus targeted at d military base. Learn to b law abiding citizens,to avoid such touching stories. RIP driver